DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1, 20, 40, and 41 have been amended. Claims 1-41 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended each independent claim to recite the following new limitations: “wherein the reading action comprises the visitor using a visual token reading application executed by the mobile device to scan the visual token provided external to the mobile device and provided at the location of the building”.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to KAPPELER have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of D’SOUZA et al, US 2020/0101469, PASMA et al, US 2023/0056890, and FRIEDLI, US 2020/0126337.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 1-4, 6-15, 17-23, 25-34, and 36-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’SOUZA et al, US 2020/0101469 in view of PASMA et al, US 2023/0056890 and FRIEDLI, US 2020/0126337.
Re claims 1, 18, 20, 40, and 41:
D’SOUZA teaches a method comprising:
Obtaining, by an apparatus, a request to generate a visual token reading invitation for a visitor of a building, the visual token reading invitation being associated with a visual token [0042]-[0043] [0048];
Generating, by the apparatus, the visual token reading invitation in response to the request [0044] [0048];
Obtaining, by the apparatus, an indication of a reading action of the visual token provided at a location of the building [0048] [0057]; and
Enabling, by the apparatus, at least one access right in the building in response to obtaining the indication of the reading action of the visual token [0063] [0081],
Wherein the reading action comprises the visitor using a visual token reading application executed by the mobile device to scan the visual token provided external to the mobile device and provided at the location of the building [0051] [0052].
D’SOUZA does not teach generating a URL associated with a web application for generating the visual token reading invitation in response to the request or that the at least one access right comprises an elevator call.
PASMA teaches a method wherein an apparatus obtains a request to generate an invitation for a guest, the invitation associated with a guest account and unique enrollment code [0040] [0110] [Figures 8 and 10]. The apparatus generates an invitation URL associated with a web application for generating the invitation in response to the request [0044] [0111] [0112] [Figures 8 and 10]. When the guest selects the link, the guest’s mobile device may operate to open a client application and be directed to a landing page of the client application, if the application is already installed on the device or redirect the mobile device to a location where the client application may be downloaded [0045] [0112] [Figures 8 and 10].
FRIEDLI teaches an access control apparatus (1) that may be included in an elevator system comprising at least one elevator, wherein the apparatus enables at least one access right in a building by allocating an elevator call [0019] [0055] [0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of PASMA in the method, apparatus, and system of D’SOUZA, such that a URL associated with a web application for generating the visual token reading invitation is generated in response to the request. Generating and transmitting to the visitor a URL associated with a web application for generating the invitation advantageously provides the visitor with quick access to the location to download the visual token reading application to be executed by the visitor’s mobile device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of FRIEDLI in the method, apparatus, and system of D’SOUZA, such that the access right further comprises an elevator call. Such incorporation would be for the purpose of directing the visitor to an authorized floor within a multi-story building automatically without having to input an elevator call themselves (FRIEDLI [0019] [0067]).
Re claims 2 and 21:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
Associating, by the apparatus, a validity time for the visual token reading invitation [0045] [0046];
In response to obtaining the indication of the reading action of the visual token, checking, by the apparatus, the validity of the invitation based on the validity time [0049] [0061]; and
Enabling, by the apparatus, the at least one access right when the invitation is valid [0049] [0063].
Re claims 3 and 22:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
Associating, by the apparatus, a visitor identifier with the visual token reading invitation [0044] [0051].
Re claims 4 and 23:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
Obtaining, by the apparatus, a visitor identifier [0057];
Comparing, by the apparatus, the obtained visitor identifier with the visitor identifier associated with the visual token reading invitation [0062]; and
Enabling, by the apparatus, the at least one access right in the building in response to a positive comparison result [0063].
Re claims 6 and 25:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 3 and apparatus of claim 22, wherein the visitor identifier comprises at least one of a phone number a code, a one-time code, identification information or user registration information associated with an application [0044].
Re claims 7, 15, 26, and 34:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, but does not explicitly teach transmission of at least one request to an external apparatus to apply the at least one access right.
FRIEDLI teaches an access control apparatus (1) configured to enable at least one access right in a building by transmission of at least one request to an external apparatus to apply the at least one access right (i.e., access control system transmits a request to release a physical barrier, such as a door [0013] [0026] [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of FRIEDLI in the method and apparatus of D’SOUZA to further include transmission of at least one request to an external apparatus to apply the at least one access right for the purpose of facilitating visitor access in the building.
Re claims 8 and 27:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
Associating, by the apparatus, at least one of an elevator call to be made, guidance information or access information with the visual token reading invitation (i.e., access information [0045]).
Re claims 9 and 28:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
Causing, by the apparatus, transmission of the visual token reading invitation [0043].
Re claims 10 and 29:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, wherein the visual token reading invitation is a unique visual token reading invitation [0043] [0049].
Re claims 11 and 30:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, wherein the visual token is unique to the visitor [0044] [0057] [0062].
Re claims 12 and 31:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, but does not explicitly teach causing, by the apparatus, transmission of an instruction to display guidance with a node to reach a predetermined destination in the building in response to enabling the at least one access right.
FRIEDLI teaches an access control apparatus (1) configured to transmit an instruction to display guidance information with a node (i.e., terminal at access 12) to reach a predetermined destination in the building in response to enabling at least one access right (i.e., the elevator assigned to a destination call may be displayed to the user [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of FRIEDLI in the method and apparatus of D’SOUZA such that the apparatus transmits instructions to display guidance information with a node to reach a predetermined destination. Such incorporation advantageously provides visitors with directions to where they need to go in the building.
Re claims 13 and 32:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
Causing, by the apparatus, an instruction to display the visual token with a system node in response to obtaining an indication of an opening action of the visual token reading invitation [0053] [Figures 6-7].
Re Claims 14, 33, 37, and 39:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1, apparatus of claim 20, and system of claim 38, but does not teach the enabling, by the apparatus, at least one access right in the building in response to obtaining the indication comprises allocating, by the apparatus, an elevator call.
FRIEDLI teaches an access control apparatus (1) that may be included in an elevator system comprising at least one elevator, wherein the apparatus enables at least one access right in a building by allocating an elevator call [0019] [0055] [0067].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of FRIEDLI in the method, apparatus, and system of D’SOUZA, such that the apparatus allocates an elevator call to an elevator in the building for the purpose of automated input of the destination floor for the visitor (FRIEDLI [0067]).
Re claims 17 and 36:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, wherein the visual token comprises a two-dimensional code, a bar code, a QR code, text, an animation, a number sequence or an alphanumeric sequence [0053] [Figures 6-7].
Re claim 19:
D’SOUZA in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, wherein the apparatus comprises a visitor access system apparatus, an elevator controller or an elevator group controller (i.e., visitor access system apparatus [0027]).
Re claim 38:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches a system comprising the apparatus of claim 20; and
At least one node configured to display the visual token [0036] [Figures 6-7].
Claim(s) 16 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’SOUZA et al, US 2020/0101469 in view of PASMA et al, US 2023/0056890 and FRIEDLI, US 2020/0126337, as applied in claims 1 and 20, and further in view of MCCORMACK et al, US 2014/0281534.
Re claims 16 and 35:
D’SOUZA, in view of PASMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, wherein the apparatus can remove the at least one access right [0065].
D’SOUZA does not teach the removal is responsive to obtaining an indication of at least one additional reading action of the visual token.
MCCORMACK teaches an access control device configured to remove access rights to a secure profile from a communication device in response to an additional reading action of the communication device (i.e., when exiting a secure location, a user’s communication device is placed in communication with an access control device [0068] [0071]-[0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of MCCORKMACK in the method and apparatus of D’SOUZA such that the at least one access right is removed responsive to obtaining at least one additional reading action of the visual token. Obtaining a second scan of the visual token and responsively removing access rights ensures access rights for the visitor are revoked when the visitor checks-out of the building.
Claim(s) 5 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’SOUZA et al, US 2020/0101469 in view of PASMA et al, US 2023/0056890 and FRIEDLI, US 2020/0126337, as applied in claims 1 and 20, and further in view of PRABHU, US 2017/0324751.
Re claims 5 and 24:
D’SOUZA, in view of PSMA and FRIEDLI, teaches the method of claim 1 and apparatus of claim 20, further comprising:
Obtaining, by the apparatus, a visitor identifier [0057];
Comparing, by the apparatus, the obtained visitor identifier with the visitor identifier associated with the visual token reading invitation [0062]; and
Enabling, by the apparatus, the at least one access right in the building in response to a positive comparison result [0063].
D’SOUZA does not teach the step of, in response to obtaining the indication of the reading action of the visual token, causing, by the apparatus, transmission of a request to a node to provide a visitor identifier.
PRABHU teaches a method wherein an apparatus obtains an indication of a reading action of a visual token provided at a location of the building [0059] [0060] [Figure 2A]; in response to obtaining the indication of the reading action of the visual token, causing, by the apparatus, transmission of a request to a node to provide a visitor identifier (i.e., an authentication token is sent to an email address of the visitor [0063]); the visitor identifier is received from the node (i.e., visitor enters the authentication token [0064]); comparing the received visitor identifier with the visitor identifier associated with the visual token reading invitation [0065]; and enabling at least one access right in response to a successful comparison result [0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of PRABHU in the method and apparatus of D’SOUZA such that a request to a node to provide a visitor identifier is transmitted in response to obtaining the identification of the reading action of the visual token for the purpose of facilitating an additional avenue of obtaining visitor identification at the apparatus.
Conclusion
/LAURA A GUDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876