The instant application having Application No. 18/913,617 filed on 10/11/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 6, 10, and 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-3, 6, 10, and 14 recite “display”, which should be “display engine”.
Claim 14 states “The weapon display device according to claim 10”, which should be “the display system according to claim 10”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cotton (US 11567263 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Cotton discloses a display system, in at least Figures 3 and 5A-5E, comprising:
a display engine (14 "light source", Figures 5A, 5C) configured to selectively output light (last paragraph of column 9 states "The light source 14 is located to direct a targeting light beam WI to the input diffractive optic IDO of the imaging waveguide 11. In operation of the optical targeting device 100, the imaging waveguide 11 simultaneously transmits incoming light SC from a scene 50 viewable by a user");
a waveguide (11 "imaging waveguide", column 11, paragraph 2 states "This embodiment may utilize a waveguide 11 as illustrated in FIG. 3", Figure 3) configured to receive the light from the display (14 "light source", last paragraph of column 9 states "The light source 14 is located to direct a targeting light beam WI to the input diffractive optic IDO of the imaging waveguide 11. In operation of the optical targeting device 100, the imaging waveguide 11 simultaneously transmits incoming light SC from a scene 50 viewable by a user") and output graphics to the user (last paragraph of column 9); and
a chassis (40 "mounting fixture", 19 “pin”, column 10, paragraph4 states “The first axis 98 may be defined by a pin 19, which pivotably attaches mounting fixture 40 to the weapon 20”, Figures 5A-5E) coupled to the display engine (14 “light source”, last paragraph of column 9 states "The optical targeting device 100 is comprised of a support body 30, an imaging waveguide 11 joined to and in a position relative to the support body 30, and a light source 14 mounted on the support body") and the waveguide (11 "imaging waveguide", last paragraph of column 9 states "The optical targeting device 100 is comprised of a support body 30, an imaging waveguide 11 joined to and in a position relative to the support body 30, and a light source 14 mounted on the support body"), and further configured to releasably mount to one of a weapon (20 “weapon”, Figures 5A, 5B, 5D) or an optic (100 “optical targeting device”) mounted to the weapon (20 “weapon”, column 10, paragraph 4 states "the device 100 is further comprised of a mounting fixture 40 joined to the support body 30 of the device 100 and pivotably joined to a directionally dependent device such as weapon/handgun 20", last paragraph of column 10 states "The mounting fixture 40 is adapted to be removably joined to a directionally dependent device such as the exemplary handgun shown in FIGS. 5A, 5B, and 5D") such that a field of view through the waveguide (11 "imaging waveguide") is aligned with an optical axis of the optic (100 “optical targeting device”, Figure 5C shows that the light entering and exiting 11 "imaging waveguide" is aligned with the optical axis of 100 "optical targeting device").
Regarding claim 7, Cotton discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a lens (15 "lens", Figures 5A, 5C, 5D) that receives light from the display engine (14 “light source”) and transmits the light to the waveguide (11 “imaging waveguide”, Figure 5C shows that WI "targeting light beam" passes through 15 "lens" and is transmitted to 11 "waveguide"), and a focus adjustment ("first adjustment mechanism", "second adjustment mechanism") that axially moves one of the lens (15 "lens") or the display engine (14 “light source”) along relative to the chassis (40 "mounting fixture", 19 “pin”) and the other of the lens (15 "lens") or the display engine (14 “light source”) to focus the graphics for a user (last paragraph of column 10 - first paragraph of column 11 states "The mounting fixture 40 may be comprised of a first adjustment mechanism such as an adjustment screw and cam 28 in contact with the light source 14 or 21 of the incoming targeting light beam WI, which is operable to adjust the angle of the incoming targeting light beam WI relative to the support body 30 around a first axis 96 perpendicular to the incoming light SC from the scene, and a second adjustment mechanism such as e.g., an adjustment screw and cam 27 in contact with the light source 14 or 21, operable to adjust the angle of the in-coming targeting light beam WI relative to the support body 30 around a second axis 97 perpendicular to the incoming light SC from the scene. Adjustment of one or both of the first adjustment mechanism 18 and the second adjustment mechanism 17 causes the point of light 200 superimposed within the scene 50 viewable by the user to move to a different location within the scene 50 viewable by the user").
Regarding claim 8, Cotton discloses all the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses wherein the focus adjustment ("first adjustment mechanism", "second adjustment mechanism") axially moves the display engine (14 “light source”, last paragraph of column 10 - first paragraph of column 11).
Regarding claim 9, Cotton discloses all the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses a display position adjustment (27 "cam", 28 "cam", last paragraph of column 10 - first paragraph of column 11 states "The mounting fixture 40 may be comprised of a first adjustment mechanism such as an adjustment screw and cam 28 ..., and a second adjustment mechanism such as e.g., an adjustment screw and cam 27", Figure 5C) that pivots the display engine (14 “light source”) about two perpendicular axes (last paragraph of column 10 - first paragraph of column 11 states "The mounting fixture 40 may be comprised of a first adjustment mechanism such as an adjustment screw and cam 28 in contact with the light source 14 or 21 of the incoming targeting light beam WI, which is operable to adjust the angle of the incoming targeting light beam WI relative to the support body 30 around a first axis 96 perpendicular to the incoming light SC from the scene, and a second adjustment mechanism such as e.g., an adjustment screw and cam 27 in contact with the light source 14 or 21, operable to adjust the angle of the in-coming targeting light beam WI relative to the support body 30 around a second axis 97 perpendicular to the incoming light SC from the scene. Adjustment of one or both of the first adjustment mechanism 18 and the second adjustment mechanism 17 causes the point of light 200 superimposed within the scene 50 viewable by the user to move to a different location within the scene 50 viewable by the user") to adjust where the light from the display engine (14 “light source”) impinges on the lens (15 “lens”) to adjust a location of the graphics output by the waveguide (11 “imaging waveguide”, last paragraph of column 10 - first paragraph of column 11).
Regarding claim 15, Cotton discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a weapon system comprising: a weapon (20 “weapon”, Figure 5A); an optic (100 “optical targeting device”) coupled to the weapon (20 “weapon”, column 5, paragraph 2, Figures 5A-5E), and the weapon display device according to Claim 1 coupled to the weapon (20 “weapon”, Figures 5A-5E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 11567263 B2)(Embodiment 1), in view of Cotton (US 11567263 B2)(Embodiment 2), in view of Parker (US 20230194207 A1), and further in view of Havens (US 20210348886 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Cotton (Embodiment 1) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the waveguide (11 "imaging waveguide") includes an input coupler ("input diffractive optic IDO", last paragraph of column 9 states "The imaging waveguide 11 is comprised of an input diffractive optic IDO contiguous with a light transmissive body 16, and an output diffractive optic ODO contiguous with the light transmissive body 16") and an output coupler ("output diffractive optic ODO", last paragraph of column 9 states "The imaging waveguide 11 is comprised of an input diffractive optic IDO contiguous with a light transmissive body 16, and an output diffractive optic ODO contiguous with the light transmissive body 16"), that are volume phase holograms (column 4, paragraph 5 states "Input-coupling-elements and output-coupling-element diffractive optics IDO and ODO can be diffraction gratings or formed as volume holograms") and receive the light from the display (14 “light source”, last paragraph of column 9 states "The light source 14 is located to direct a targeting light beam WI to the input diffractive optic IDO of the imaging waveguide 11") and are cooperatively configured to output the graphics (last paragraph of column 9 states "the imaging waveguide 11 simultaneously transmits incoming light SC from a scene 50 viewable by a user (not shown except for eye 4) of the device 100 through the light transmissive body 16, and propagates the targeting light beam WI from the input diffractive optic IDO laterally through the light transmissive body 16 and directs the targeting light beam outwardly from the output diffractive optic ODO as output beam WO, thereby rendering the targeting light beam as a point of light 200 superimposed within the scene 50 viewable by the user. It is to be understood that the point of light 200 is not necessarily a dot of light as shown in FIG. 5E. In certain embodiments, the light source may be a holographic reticle or an illuminated reticle. Thus the point of light may be a reticle pattern superimposed within the scene 50 viewable by the user").
However, Cotton (Embodiment 1) does not disclose a pupil expander, wherein the electronics include a communications interface for receiving signals with information, a processor for processing the signals and providing display signals to the display to output the graphics according thereto, and power electronics for providing power to operate the communications interface and the processor.
Cotton (Embodiment 2) teaches a pupil expander (“beam expander”, column 12, paragraph 3 states "This second embodiment utilizes a beam expander as illustrated in FIG. 4. Beam expander 12 provides an expanded output beam from output-coupling-element diffractive optic ODO by using intermediate grating TG to turn and expand the coupled light WC").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton (Embodiment 1) modified by a pupil expander, as taught by Cotton (Embodiment 2), in order to augmented reality applications in which image content can be superimposed on a real-world view as seen through the transparent imaging light guide (column 4, paragraph 4).
Parker teaches wherein the electronics (160 "input", 156 "processor", Figure 3) include a communications interface (160 “input”) for receiving signals with information (paragraph 0039 states "The sources for inputs 160 can include, but are not limited to, a video input, a rangefinder input, a global position system coordinate or related information (e.g., a direction, an elevation, and/or a cant), an inertial measurement unit, one or more sensor inputs (such as, but not limited to, temperature, pressure, humidity, wind speed, and light), and ballistics information", paragraph 0035) and a processor (156 “processor”) for processing the signals and providing display signals to the display (132 “light engine”, Figures 2B, 3) to output the graphics according thereto (paragraph 0035 states "Light engine 132 includes a processor 156 (FIG. 3) and receives information from one or more inputs 160 (FIG. 3). Processor 156 is preferably a high performance, low power processor, with accelerated image processing, capable of executing a set of instructions (described in more detail below) such that light engine 132 can produce homographic image display 148 from inputs 160").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton (Embodiment 1) modified by wherein the electronics include a communications interface for receiving signals with information and a processor for processing the signals and providing display signals to the display to output the graphics according thereto, as taught by Parker, in order to maintain high performance with low power and accelerated image processing (paragraph 0035).
Havens teaches power electronics (902 "battery") for providing power to operate the communications interface (914 “data input device”) and the processor (910 “processor”, paragraph 0370 states "A battery 902 can provide power to a computational system or control module 904 and an active display 906. In one embodiment, the computational system 904 may include, without limitation, a user interface 908, data input device 914, a processor 910, memory 916, and one or more sensors 912").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton (Embodiment 1) modified by power electronics for providing power to operate the communications interface and the processor, as taught by Havens, in order to efficiently provide power to the components of the invention.
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 11567263 B2)(Embodiment 1), in view of Cotton (US 11567263 B2)(Embodiment 2).
Regarding claim 3, Cotton (Embodiment 1) discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the waveguide (11 "imaging waveguide") includes an input coupler ("input diffractive optic IDO", last paragraph of column 9 states "The imaging waveguide 11 is comprised of an input diffractive optic IDO contiguous with a light transmissive body 16, and an output diffractive optic ODO contiguous with the light transmissive body 16") and an output coupler ("output diffractive optic ODO", last paragraph of column 9 states "The imaging waveguide 11 is comprised of an input diffractive optic IDO contiguous with a light transmissive body 16, and an output diffractive optic ODO contiguous with the light transmissive body 16"), that receive the light from the display (14 “light source”, last paragraph of column 9 states "The light source 14 is located to direct a targeting light beam WI to the input diffractive optic IDO of the imaging waveguide 11") and are cooperatively configured to output the graphics (last paragraph of column 9 states "the imaging waveguide 11 simultaneously transmits incoming light SC from a scene 50 viewable by a user (not shown except for eye 4) of the device 100 through the light transmissive body 16, and propagates the targeting light beam WI from the input diffractive optic IDO laterally through the light transmissive body 16 and directs the targeting light beam outwardly from the output diffractive optic ODO as output beam WO, thereby rendering the targeting light beam as a point of light 200 superimposed within the scene 50 viewable by the user. It is to be understood that the point of light 200 is not necessarily a dot of light as shown in FIG. 5E. In certain embodiments, the light source may be a holographic reticle or an illuminated reticle. Thus the point of light may be a reticle pattern superimposed within the scene 50 viewable by the user").
However, Cotton (Embodiment 1) does not disclose a pupil expander.
Cotton (Embodiment 2) teaches a pupil expander (“beam expander”, column 12, paragraph 3 states "This second embodiment utilizes a beam expander as illustrated in FIG. 4. Beam expander 12 provides an expanded output beam from output-coupling-element diffractive optic ODO by using intermediate grating TG to turn and expand the coupled light WC").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton (Embodiment 1) modified by a pupil expander, as taught by Cotton (Embodiment 2), in order to augmented reality applications in which image content can be superimposed on a real-world view as seen through the transparent imaging light guide (column 4, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cotton (Embodiment 1) and Cotton (Embodiment 2) disclose all the limitations of claim 3 and Cotton (Embodiment 1) further discloses wherein the input coupler ("input diffractive optic IDO") and the output coupler ("output diffractive optic ODO"), are volume phase holograms (column 4, paragraph 5 states "Input-coupling-elements and output-coupling-element diffractive optics IDO and ODO can be diffraction gratings or formed as volume holograms").
However, Cotton (Embodiment 1) does not disclose a pupil expander.
Cotton (Embodiment 2) teaches a pupil expander (“beam expander”, column 12, paragraph 3 states "This second embodiment utilizes a beam expander as illustrated in FIG. 4. Beam expander 12 provides an expanded output beam from output-coupling-element diffractive optic ODO by using intermediate grating TG to turn and expand the coupled light WC").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton (Embodiment 1) modified by a pupil expander, as taught by Cotton (Embodiment 2), in order to augmented reality applications in which image content can be superimposed on a real-world view as seen through the transparent imaging light guide (column 4, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cotton (Embodiment 1) and Cotton (Embodiment 2) disclose all the limitations of claim 3 and Cotton (Embodiment 1) further discloses wherein the graphics include information graphics, an aiming graphic, or both (last paragraph of column 9 states "the light source may be a holographic reticle or an illuminated reticle. Thus the point of light may be a reticle pattern superimposed within the scene 50 viewable by the user").
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cotton (Embodiment 1) and Cotton (Embodiment 2) disclose all the limitations of claim 5 and Cotton (Embodiment 1) further discloses wherein the graphics include the aiming graphic (last paragraph of column 9 states "thereby rendering the targeting light beam as a point of light 200 superimposed within the scene 50 viewable by the user. It is to be understood that the point of light 200 is not necessarily a dot of light as shown in FIG. 5E. In certain embodiments, the light source may be a holographic reticle or an illuminated reticle. Thus the point of light may be a reticle pattern superimposed within the scene 50 viewable by the user"), and a position of the aiming graphic is adjustable by a user relative to the chassis (40 "mounting fixture", 19 “pin”) by the display (14 “light source”, column 10, paragraph 4 states "the point of light 200 superimposed within the scene 50 may be adjusted to coincide with a target point in the scene 50 by changing the angle of the device 100 with respect to the axis 99 of the handheld weapon (which may be defined by the projectile barrel of the weapon) to adjust the sighting of the targeting device 100").
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 11567263 B2), in view of Parker (US 20230194207 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Cotton discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Cotton does not disclose electronics that are configured to operate the display for outputting the graphics to the user.
Parker teaches electronics (160 "input", 156 "processor") that are configured to operate the display (132 “light engine”) for outputting the graphics to the user (paragraph 0035 states "Light engine 132 includes a processor 156 (FIG. 3) and receives information from one or more inputs 160 (FIG. 3). Processor 156 is preferably a high performance, low power processor, with accelerated image processing, capable of executing a set of instructions (described in more detail below) such that light engine 132 can produce homographic image display 148 from inputs 160").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton modified by electronics that are configured to operate the display for outputting the graphics to the user, as taught by Parker, in order to maintain high performance with low power and accelerated image processing (paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cotton and Parker disclose all the limitations of claim 10 and Cotton further discloses wherein the chassis (40 "mounting fixture", 19 “pin”) includes a mounting portion (40 "mounting fixture”) configured to mount to a rail of a weapon (20 “weapon”, column 10, paragraph 4 states "the device 100 is further comprised of a mounting fixture 40 joined to the support body 30 of the device 100 and pivotably joined to a directionally dependent device such as weapon/handgun 20", last paragraph of column 10 states "The mounting fixture 40 is adapted to be removably joined to a directionally dependent device such as the exemplary handgun shown in FIGS. 5A, 5B, and 5D"), a housing (30 "support body") coupled to and supported by the mounting portion (column 10, paragraph 3 states "the support body 30 of the device is comprised of a hollow housing", last paragraph of column 9 states "the device 100 is further comprised of a mounting fixture 40 joined to the support body 30", Figure 5C), and the waveguide (11 "imaging waveguide") coupled to and supported by the housing (30 "support body", last paragraph of column 9 states "an imaging waveguide 11 joined to and in a position relative to the support body 30", Figure 5C).
However, Cotton does not disclose a housing containing the electronics and a waveguide support coupled to and supported by the housing and supporting the waveguide.
Parker teaches a housing (104 "housing") containing the electronics (160 "input", 156 "processor", paragraph 0027 states "Housing 104 is typically sized and configured to couple to a firearm, to protect the lenses included therein, and to provide the foundation for ocular path 124 that is formed by the lens groups as discussed above", paragraph 0045 states "holographic display system 120 is shown mounted outside of housing 104 in FIG. 1", paragraph 0031 states "holographic display system 120 includes a light engine 132", paragraph 0035 states "Light engine 132 includes a processor 156 (FIG. 3) and receives information from one or more inputs 160 (FIG. 3)").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton modified by a housing containing the electronics, as taught by Parker, in order to protect the components included therein (paragraph 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to separate the housing into components including a waveguide support such that the waveguide support is coupled to and supported by the housing and supporting the waveguide, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cotton and Parker disclose all the limitations of claim 10 and Cotton further discloses wherein the optic (100 “optical targeting device”) is a riflescope (column 6, paragraph 4 states "weapons, include but are not limited to a rifle, a handgun, a pistol, a cannon, a grenade launcher, a missile, a crossbow, and an archery-bow", column 5, paragraph 2), and the chassis (40 "mounting fixture", 19 “pin”) includes a mounting portion (40 "mounting fixture") configured to mount to the riflescope (column 10, paragraph 4 states "the device 100 is further comprised of a mounting fixture 40 joined to the support body 30 of the device 100 and pivotably joined to a directionally dependent device such as weapon/handgun 20", last paragraph of column 10 states "The mounting fixture 40 is adapted to be removably joined to a directionally dependent device such as the exemplary handgun shown in FIGS. 5A, 5B, and 5D", column 6, paragraph 4 states "weapons, include but are not limited to a rifle, a handgun, a pistol, a cannon, a grenade launcher, a missile, a crossbow, and an archery-bow"), a housing (30 "support body") coupled to and supported by the mounting portion (40 "mounting fixture", column 10, paragraph 3 states "the support body 30 of the device is comprised of a hollow housing", last paragraph of column 9 states "the device 100 is further comprised of a mounting fixture 40 joined to the support body 30", Figure 5C), and the waveguide (11 “imaging waveguide”) coupled to and supported by the housing (30 “support body”, last paragraph of column 9 states "an imaging waveguide 11 joined to and in a position relative to the support body 30", Figure 5C).
However, Cotton does not disclose a housing containing the electronics and a waveguide support coupled to and supported by the housing and supporting the waveguide.
Parker teaches a housing (104 "housing") containing the electronics (160 "input", 156 "processor", paragraph 0027 states "Housing 104 is typically sized and configured to couple to a firearm, to protect the lenses included therein, and to provide the foundation for ocular path 124 that is formed by the lens groups as discussed above", paragraph 0045 states "holographic display system 120 is shown mounted outside of housing 104 in FIG. 1", paragraph 0031 states "holographic display system 120 includes a light engine 132", paragraph 0035 states "Light engine 132 includes a processor 156 (FIG. 3) and receives information from one or more inputs 160 (FIG. 3)").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton modified by a housing containing the electronics, as taught by Parker, in order to protect the components included therein (paragraph 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to separate the housing into components including a waveguide support such that the waveguide support is coupled to and supported by the housing and supporting the waveguide, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cotton (US 11567263 B2), in view of Parker (US 20230194207 A1), and further in view of Havens (US 20210348886 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Cotton and Parker disclose all the limitations of claim 10 and Cotton further discloses wherein the optic (100 “optical targeting device”) is a riflescope (column 6, paragraph 4 states "weapons, include but are not limited to a rifle, a handgun, a pistol, a cannon, a grenade launcher, a missile, a crossbow, and an archery-bow", column 5, paragraph 2), and the display system includes a display module (14 "light source", 11 "imaging waveguide", 40 "mounting fixture", 19 “pin”); wherein the display module (14 "light source", 11 "imaging waveguide", 40 "mounting fixture", 19 “pin”) includes the display engine (14 "light source"), the waveguide (11 "imaging waveguide"), and the chassis (40 "mounting fixture", 19 “pin”) that is configured to mount to the riflescope (column 10, paragraph 4 states "the device 100 is further comprised of a mounting fixture 40 joined to the support body 30 of the device 100 and pivotably joined to a directionally dependent device such as weapon/handgun 20", last paragraph of column 10 states "The mounting fixture 40 is adapted to be removably joined to a directionally dependent device such as the exemplary handgun shown in FIGS. 5A, 5B, and 5D", column 6, paragraph 4 states "weapons, include but are not limited to a rifle, a handgun, a pistol, a cannon, a grenade launcher, a missile, a crossbow, and an archery-bow", column 5, paragraph 2).
However, Cotton does not disclose an electronics module, a cable transferring power and signals from the electronics module to the display module, and wherein the electronics module includes the electronics, is configured to mount to the weapon, and to mount the riflescope thereto.
Parker teaches an electronics module (see examiner’s markup of Figure 3), and wherein the electronics module (see examiner’s markup of Figure 3) includes the electronics (160 "input", 156 "processor"), is configured to mount to the weapon (“firearm”, paragraph 0027 states "Housing 104 is typically sized and configured to couple to a firearm, to protect the lenses included therein, and to provide the foundation for ocular path 124 that is formed by the lens groups as discussed above", paragraph 0045 states "holographic display system 120 is shown mounted outside of housing 104 in FIG. 1", paragraph 0031 states "holographic display system 120 includes a light engine 132", paragraph 0035 states "Light engine 132 includes a processor 156 (FIG. 3) and receives information from one or more inputs 160 (FIG. 3)"), and to mount the riflescope thereto (paragraph 0027, Figure 1).
Below is an examiner’s markup of Figure 3 of Parker pointing out an electronics module.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton modified by an electronics module, and wherein the electronics module includes the electronics, is configured to mount to the weapon, and to mount the riflescope thereto, as taught by Parker, in order to maintain high performance with low power and accelerated image processing (paragraph 0035).
Havens teaches a cable transferring power and signals from the electronics module to the display module (906 "active display", paragraph 0370 states "A battery 902 can provide power to a computational system or control module 904 and an active display 906", paragraph 0711 states "Power is then sent through two dedicated lines in the cable into the base of the riflescope").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton modified by a cable transferring power and signals from the electronics module to the display module, as taught by Havens, in order to provide power to the display module (paragraph 0370).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cotton and Parker disclose all the limitations of claim 10, however Cotton does not disclose wherein the electronics include a communications interface for receiving signals with information, a processor for processing the signals and providing display signals to the display to output the graphics according thereto, and power electronics for providing power to operate the communications interface and the processor.
Parker teaches wherein the electronics (160 "input", 156 "processor") include a communications interface (160 "input") for receiving signals with information (160 "input", paragraph 0039 states "The sources for inputs 160 can include, but are not limited to, a video input, a rangefinder input, a global position system coordinate or related information (e.g., a direction, an elevation, and/or a cant), an inertial measurement unit, one or more sensor inputs (such as, but not limited to, temperature, pressure, humidity, wind speed, and light), and ballistics information", paragraph 0035) and a processor (156 "processor") for processing the signals (paragraph 0035 states "Light engine 132 includes a processor 156 (FIG. 3) and receives information from one or more inputs 160 (FIG. 3). Processor 156 is preferably a high performance, low power processor, with accelerated image processing, capable of executing a set of instructions (described in more detail below) such that light engine 132 can produce homographic image display 148 from inputs 160") and providing display signals to the display (132 “light engine”) to output the graphics according thereto (paragraph 0035 states "Light engine 132 includes a processor 156 (FIG. 3) and receives information from one or more inputs 160 (FIG. 3). Processor 156 is preferably a high performance, low power processor, with accelerated image processing, capable of executing a set of instructions (described in more detail below) such that light engine 132 can produce homographic image display 148 from inputs 160").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton modified by wherein the electronics include a communications interface for receiving signals with information and a processor for processing the signals and providing display signals to the display to output the graphics according thereto, as taught by Parker, in order to utilize components with high performance and low power with accelerated image processing capable of executing a set of instructions (paragraph 0035).
Havens teaches power electronics (902 "battery") for providing power to operate the communications interface (914 "data input device") and the processor (910 "processor", paragraph 0370 states "A battery 902 can provide power to a computational system or control module 904 and an active display 906. In one embodiment, the computational system 904 may include, without limitation, a user interface 908, data input device 914, a processor 910, memory 916, and one or more sensors 912").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the display system of Cotton (Embodiment 1) modified by power electronics for providing power to operate the communications interface and the processor, as taught by Havens, in order to efficiently provide power to the components of the invention.
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Edwards (US 9389425 B2) discloses a viewing optics positioned upon a weapon including a display with a reticle.
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872