DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
This action is in response to the application filed 10/11/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the low-power mode". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears Claim 11 was intended to depend upon Claim 10 which would negate this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai (US20220311257).
Claim 1:
Lai explicitly teaches:
An electric vehicle, comprising: a body supported by a plurality of wheels; at least one electric motor disposed so that the at least one electric motor drives the plurality of wheels; at least one battery pack in selective electrical communication with the at least one electric motor;
(Lai) – “An electric vehicle (EV), also referred to as an electric drive vehicle, may use an electric motor for propulsion. Electric vehicles may include all-electric vehicles in which an electric motor is the sole source of power, and hybrid-electric vehicles that include an auxiliary power source in addition to the electric motor. In an electric vehicle, energy may be stored in a rechargeable battery system that includes battery cells to power the electric motor. The battery system may typically include a plurality of battery packs that each include a plurality of battery modules. Each battery module may include battery cells. Battery packs may incorporate fixed-size battery modules as building blocks.” (Para 0003)
“FIG. 1A illustrates an electric vehicle 10 having a battery system 14. The battery system 14 may include a plurality of battery packs 20 positioned under the floor of the vehicle. Though shown as a bus in FIG. 1A, vehicle 10 may be any vehicle capable of utilizing battery power, including a bus, truck, car, train, work machine, farm equipment, or the like. Additionally, battery system 14 may be included in any electric vehicle, energy storage device, or another application.” (Para 0089)
Examiner Note: Fig. 1A clearly shows a body supported by a plurality of wheels.
a battery management system configured to output a first signal that includes information identifying whether the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault;
(Lai) – “The electrical connectors 204 may each be configured to interface with a battery management device 810 (also referred to as a battery management system (BMS)) having a plurality of ports 812.” (Para 0109)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1600 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an isolation fault event. In method 1600, the isolation fault in the battery system can occur (step 1603). System isolation resistance may then be measured (step 1606). The battery management device 810 may then determine whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than a system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1609).” (Para 0137)
a transmitter; and
(Lai) – “Each pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 can include one or more signal emitters to transmit a signal from a respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 to a signal receiver (e.g., at a depot or to another pack 20 and/or any system communicatively coupled thereto). Any type of signal can be transmitted… A signal may be from the respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 when the pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 is within some proximity of a location (e.g., a charging station) or encounters some safety event (e.g., overcurrent, thermal runaway, etc.) or at some predetermined power operational parameter (e.g., a state-of-charge or that the pack 20 is being charged and corresponding parameters).” (Para 0114)
a computer system that is in operative communication with the battery management system and the transmitter and that is configured to execute program instructions when the electric vehicle is in an inactive state, so that, upon detection that the first signal indicates that the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault, the computer system transmits a second signal to a remote party through the transmitter that includes information corresponding to the existence of the electrical isolation fault indicated by the first signal.
(Lai) – “Via battery management device 810, battery packs 20 may be connected to vehicles, devices, or other components as desired. For example, battery management device 810 may include a controller which may regulate DC charging of battery packs 20 when connected to a power source. In some aspects, a charge controller can be plugged into or otherwise added in battery management device 810. Each pack 20 can include a respective controller to control operations of the respective pack 20, including but not limited to communicating a state-of-charge (SoC), state-of-health (SoH) pack related diagnostics, as well as other information such as pack shipment status, pack warranty related information, safety critical data (e.g., hours of operation, number of fast charges, fault history, and/or the like).” (Para 0116)
“Each pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 can include one or more signal emitters to transmit a signal from a respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 to a signal receiver (e.g., at a depot or to another pack 20 and/or any system communicatively coupled thereto). Any type of signal can be transmitted… A signal may be from the respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 when the pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 is within some proximity of a location (e.g., a charging station) or encounters some safety event (e.g., overcurrent, thermal runaway, etc.) or at some predetermined power operational parameter (e.g., a state-of-charge or that the pack 20 is being charged and corresponding parameters).” (Para 0114)
“FIG. 15 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1500 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an over or under voltage condition when a vehicle is not in a drive state (e.g., when the vehicle is parked, idle, being charged, or otherwise non-operational and/or not moving).” (Para 0133)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1600 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an isolation fault event. In method 1600, the isolation fault in the battery system can occur (step 1603). System isolation resistance may then be measured (step 1606). The battery management device 810 may then determine whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than a system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1609).” (Para 0137)
“For certain applications, a battery system may include a plurality of battery management devices 810 each interfacing with a plurality of battery packs 20. With such an application, the plurality of battery management devices 810 may, for example, be configured to communicate with each other over a controller area network (e.g., CAN bus). The plurality of battery management devices 810 may further communicate with an external control device and may appear to the external control device as a single device.” (Para 0124)
“If the thermal event is detected, then one or more of the following correction actions occurs (step 1720a, 1720b, 1720n): one or more active fuses of the respective battery pack (e.g., one or more pyro fuses of each battery pack 20) are actuated, contactors of each respective battery pack are opened, the vehicle is informed that a thermal event has been detected, a cooling response is triggered, a thermal event notification is transmitted to a first responder (e.g., via telemetry), and/or the like.” (Para 0144)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, remote party may correspond with any entity separate from the computer system. This includes both the external control device and a first responder. Computer system may correspond with any combination of computer components.
Claim 2:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Lai further teaches:
wherein the transmitter is a wireless transmitter, and wherein the computer system is configured to execute program instructions so that the computer system transmits the second signal to the remote party through the wireless transmitter.
(Lai) – “Each pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 can include one or more signal emitters to transmit a signal from a respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 to a signal receiver (e.g., at a depot or to another pack 20 and/or any system communicatively coupled thereto). Any type of signal can be transmitted… Preferably, the signal may be transmitted wirelessly and examples of wireless signals may include, but are not limited to, radio-frequency (e.g., RFID) signals, Bluetooth, control-area-network (CAN) messages, or any other form of communication. A signal may be from the respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 when the pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 is within some proximity of a location (e.g., a charging station) or encounters some safety event (e.g., overcurrent, thermal runaway, etc.) or at some predetermined power operational parameter (e.g., a state-of-charge or that the pack 20 is being charged and corresponding parameters).” (Para 0114)
“For certain applications, a battery system may include a plurality of battery management devices 810 each interfacing with a plurality of battery packs 20. With such an application, the plurality of battery management devices 810 may, for example, be configured to communicate with each other over a controller area network (e.g., CAN bus). The plurality of battery management devices 810 may further communicate with an external control device and may appear to the external control device as a single device.” (Para 0124)
“If the thermal event is detected, then one or more of the following correction actions occurs (step 1720a, 1720b, 1720n): one or more active fuses of the respective battery pack (e.g., one or more pyro fuses of each battery pack 20) are actuated, contactors of each respective battery pack are opened, the vehicle is informed that a thermal event has been detected, a cooling response is triggered, a thermal event notification is transmitted to a first responder (e.g., via telemetry), and/or the like.” (Para 0144)
Claim 8:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 2. Lai further teaches:
wherein the computer system is configured to execute the program instructions when the electric vehicle is in the inactive state so that, upon the detection that the first signal indicates that the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault and detection that the first signal indicates that a magnitude of the electrical isolation fault exceeds a predetermined level, the computer system initiates a predetermined response.
(Lai) – “The electrical connectors 204 may each be configured to interface with a battery management device 810 (also referred to as a battery management system (BMS)) having a plurality of ports 812.” (Para 0109)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1600 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an isolation fault event. In method 1600, the isolation fault in the battery system can occur (step 1603). System isolation resistance may then be measured (step 1606). The battery management device 810 may then determine whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than a system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1609). If it is not less, then the system isolation resistance may continue being measured, as in step 1606.” (Para 0137)
“If the measured system isolation resistance is determined to be less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold, then the isolation fault event is automatically flagged and the system waits for the vehicle to enter a standby mode (step 1612). Contactors of the battery packs and the primary contactors are then opened to de-energize the vehicle HV system (step 1615). After de-energizing the vehicle HV system, the battery system may again measure system isolation resistance (step 1618). Upon measuring the system isolation resistance, the system determines whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1621). If it is not less, then the isolation fault event can be automatically flagged in the vehicle HV system causing the battery system to be locked from resuming further use (step 1624). A safe state is then considered to be present (step 1627) such that no further corrective action is required.” (Para 0138)
Claim 10:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 2. Lai further teaches:
wherein the computer system, under control of the program instructions, is configured, in a low-power mode in which the computer system deactivates the battery management system, to intermittently activate the battery management system and monitor the first signal, and
(Lai) – “In some aspects, battery management device 810 can be configured with a low power sleep state (e.g., less than 100 uA). Once in the low power sleep state, the battery management device 810 can be configured to wake upon receipt of an ignition and/or key signal and transition to a non-low power sleep state (e.g., an awake mode where the battery management device 810 monitors and/or otherwise regulates parameters of the battery packs 20).” (Para 0112)
is configured to execute the program instructions so that, upon the detection that the first signal indicates that the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault, the computer system exits the low-power mode.
(Lai) – “In some aspects, battery management device 810 can be configured with a low power sleep state (e.g., less than 100 uA). Once in the low power sleep state, the battery management device 810 can be configured to wake upon receipt of an ignition and/or key signal and transition to a non-low power sleep state (e.g., an awake mode where the battery management device 810 monitors and/or otherwise regulates parameters of the battery packs 20).” (Para 0112)
“If the measured system isolation resistance is determined to be less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold, then the isolation fault event is automatically flagged and the system waits for the vehicle to enter a standby mode (step 1612). Contactors of the battery packs and the primary contactors are then opened to de-energize the vehicle HV system (step 1615). After de-energizing the vehicle HV system, the battery system may again measure system isolation resistance (step 1618). Upon measuring the system isolation resistance, the system determines whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1621). If it is not less, then the isolation fault event can be automatically flagged in the vehicle HV system causing the battery system to be locked from resuming further use (step 1624). A safe state is then considered to be present (step 1627) such that no further corrective action is required.” (Para 0138)
Claim 11:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 1. Lai further teaches:
comprising a propulsion system mounted on the body in operative communication with the plurality of wheels, wherein the propulsion system is disabled in the inactive state of the electric vehicle, and
(Lai) – “An electric vehicle (EV), also referred to as an electric drive vehicle, may use an electric motor for propulsion. Electric vehicles may include all-electric vehicles in which an electric motor is the sole source of power, and hybrid-electric vehicles that include an auxiliary power source in addition to the electric motor. In an electric vehicle, energy may be stored in a rechargeable battery system that includes battery cells to power the electric motor. The battery system may typically include a plurality of battery packs that each include a plurality of battery modules. Each battery module may include battery cells. Battery packs may incorporate fixed-size battery modules as building blocks.” (Para 0003)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“In some aspects, battery management device 810 can be configured with a low power sleep state (e.g., less than 100 uA). Once in the low power sleep state, the battery management device 810 can be configured to wake upon receipt of an ignition and/or key signal and transition to a non-low power sleep state (e.g., an awake mode where the battery management device 810 monitors and/or otherwise regulates parameters of the battery packs 20).” (Para 0112)
“FIG. 15 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1500 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an over or under voltage condition when a vehicle is not in a drive state (e.g., when the vehicle is parked, idle, being charged, or otherwise non-operational and/or not moving).” (Para 0133)
“If the measured system isolation resistance is determined to be less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold, then the isolation fault event is automatically flagged and the system waits for the vehicle to enter a standby mode (step 1612). Contactors of the battery packs and the primary contactors are then opened to de-energize the vehicle HV system (step 1615). After de-energizing the vehicle HV system, the battery system may again measure system isolation resistance (step 1618). Upon measuring the system isolation resistance, the system determines whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1621). If it is not less, then the isolation fault event can be automatically flagged in the vehicle HV system causing the battery system to be locked from resuming further use (step 1624). A safe state is then considered to be present (step 1627) such that no further corrective action is required.” (Para 0138)
wherein the computer system, under control of the program instructions, is configured to exit the low-power mode, upon the detection that the first signal indicates that the at least one battery pack has an isolation fault, without actuating the propulsion system.
(Lai) – “FIG. 15 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1500 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an over or under voltage condition when a vehicle is not in a drive state (e.g., when the vehicle is parked, idle, being charged, or otherwise non-operational and/or not moving).” (Para 0133)
“If the measured system isolation resistance is determined to be less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold, then the isolation fault event is automatically flagged and the system waits for the vehicle to enter a standby mode (step 1612). Contactors of the battery packs and the primary contactors are then opened to de-energize the vehicle HV system (step 1615). After de-energizing the vehicle HV system, the battery system may again measure system isolation resistance (step 1618). Upon measuring the system isolation resistance, the system determines whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1621). If it is not less, then the isolation fault event can be automatically flagged in the vehicle HV system causing the battery system to be locked from resuming further use (step 1624). A safe state is then considered to be present (step 1627) such that no further corrective action is required.” (Para 0138)
Claim 12:
Lai explicitly teaches:
A method of managing operation of an electric vehicle, comprising the steps of: providing a body supported by a plurality of wheels; at least one electric motor disposed so that the at least one electric motor drives the plurality of wheels; at least one battery pack in selective electrical communication with the at least one electric motor;
(Lai) – “An electric vehicle (EV), also referred to as an electric drive vehicle, may use an electric motor for propulsion. Electric vehicles may include all-electric vehicles in which an electric motor is the sole source of power, and hybrid-electric vehicles that include an auxiliary power source in addition to the electric motor. In an electric vehicle, energy may be stored in a rechargeable battery system that includes battery cells to power the electric motor. The battery system may typically include a plurality of battery packs that each include a plurality of battery modules. Each battery module may include battery cells. Battery packs may incorporate fixed-size battery modules as building blocks.” (Para 0003)
“FIG. 1A illustrates an electric vehicle 10 having a battery system 14. The battery system 14 may include a plurality of battery packs 20 positioned under the floor of the vehicle. Though shown as a bus in FIG. 1A, vehicle 10 may be any vehicle capable of utilizing battery power, including a bus, truck, car, train, work machine, farm equipment, or the like. Additionally, battery system 14 may be included in any electric vehicle, energy storage device, or another application.” (Para 0089)
Examiner Note: Fig. 1A clearly shows a body supported by a plurality of wheels.
a battery management system configured to output a first signal that includes information identifying whether the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault;
(Lai) – “The electrical connectors 204 may each be configured to interface with a battery management device 810 (also referred to as a battery management system (BMS)) having a plurality of ports 812.” (Para 0109)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1600 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an isolation fault event. In method 1600, the isolation fault in the battery system can occur (step 1603). System isolation resistance may then be measured (step 1606). The battery management device 810 may then determine whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than a system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1609).” (Para 0137)
a transmitter; and
(Lai) – “Each pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 can include one or more signal emitters to transmit a signal from a respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 to a signal receiver (e.g., at a depot or to another pack 20 and/or any system communicatively coupled thereto). Any type of signal can be transmitted… A signal may be from the respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 when the pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 is within some proximity of a location (e.g., a charging station) or encounters some safety event (e.g., overcurrent, thermal runaway, etc.) or at some predetermined power operational parameter (e.g., a state-of-charge or that the pack 20 is being charged and corresponding parameters).” (Para 0114)
while the electric vehicle is in an inactive state, upon detection that the first signal indicates that the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault, transmitting a second signal to a remote party through the transmitter that includes information corresponding to the existence of the electrical isolation fault indicated by the first signal.
(Lai) – “Via battery management device 810, battery packs 20 may be connected to vehicles, devices, or other components as desired. For example, battery management device 810 may include a controller which may regulate DC charging of battery packs 20 when connected to a power source. In some aspects, a charge controller can be plugged into or otherwise added in battery management device 810. Each pack 20 can include a respective controller to control operations of the respective pack 20, including but not limited to communicating a state-of-charge (SoC), state-of-health (SoH) pack related diagnostics, as well as other information such as pack shipment status, pack warranty related information, safety critical data (e.g., hours of operation, number of fast charges, fault history, and/or the like).” (Para 0116)
“Each pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 can include one or more signal emitters to transmit a signal from a respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 to a signal receiver (e.g., at a depot or to another pack 20 and/or any system communicatively coupled thereto). Any type of signal can be transmitted… A signal may be from the respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 when the pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 is within some proximity of a location (e.g., a charging station) or encounters some safety event (e.g., overcurrent, thermal runaway, etc.) or at some predetermined power operational parameter (e.g., a state-of-charge or that the pack 20 is being charged and corresponding parameters).” (Para 0114)
“FIG. 15 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1500 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an over or under voltage condition when a vehicle is not in a drive state (e.g., when the vehicle is parked, idle, being charged, or otherwise non-operational and/or not moving).” (Para 0133)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1600 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an isolation fault event. In method 1600, the isolation fault in the battery system can occur (step 1603). System isolation resistance may then be measured (step 1606). The battery management device 810 may then determine whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than a system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1609).” (Para 0137)
“For certain applications, a battery system may include a plurality of battery management devices 810 each interfacing with a plurality of battery packs 20. With such an application, the plurality of battery management devices 810 may, for example, be configured to communicate with each other over a controller area network (e.g., CAN bus). The plurality of battery management devices 810 may further communicate with an external control device and may appear to the external control device as a single device.” (Para 0124)
“If the thermal event is detected, then one or more of the following correction actions occurs (step 1720a, 1720b, 1720n): one or more active fuses of the respective battery pack (e.g., one or more pyro fuses of each battery pack 20) are actuated, contactors of each respective battery pack are opened, the vehicle is informed that a thermal event has been detected, a cooling response is triggered, a thermal event notification is transmitted to a first responder (e.g., via telemetry), and/or the like.” (Para 0144)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, remote party may correspond with any separate entity. This includes both the external control device and a first responder.
Claim 13:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 2
Claim 14:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 12. Lai further teaches:
comprising the steps of when the battery management system is deactivated in the inactive state of the electric vehicle, intermittently activating the battery management system and monitoring the first signal, and
(Lai) – “In some aspects, battery management device 810 can be configured with a low power sleep state (e.g., less than 100 uA). Once in the low power sleep state, the battery management device 810 can be configured to wake upon receipt of an ignition and/or key signal and transition to a non-low power sleep state (e.g., an awake mode where the battery management device 810 monitors and/or otherwise regulates parameters of the battery packs 20).” (Para 0112)
upon the detection that the first signal indicates that the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault, exiting the inactive state.
(Lai) – “In some aspects, battery management device 810 can be configured with a low power sleep state (e.g., less than 100 uA). Once in the low power sleep state, the battery management device 810 can be configured to wake upon receipt of an ignition and/or key signal and transition to a non-low power sleep state (e.g., an awake mode where the battery management device 810 monitors and/or otherwise regulates parameters of the battery packs 20).” (Para 0112)
“If the measured system isolation resistance is determined to be less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold, then the isolation fault event is automatically flagged and the system waits for the vehicle to enter a standby mode (step 1612). Contactors of the battery packs and the primary contactors are then opened to de-energize the vehicle HV system (step 1615). After de-energizing the vehicle HV system, the battery system may again measure system isolation resistance (step 1618). Upon measuring the system isolation resistance, the system determines whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1621). If it is not less, then the isolation fault event can be automatically flagged in the vehicle HV system causing the battery system to be locked from resuming further use (step 1624). A safe state is then considered to be present (step 1627) such that no further corrective action is required.” (Para 0138)
Claim 15:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 14. Lai further teaches:
wherein the providing step comprises providing a propulsion system mounted on the body in operative communication with the plurality of wheels, wherein the propulsion system is disabled in the inactive state of the electric vehicle, and
(Lai) – “An electric vehicle (EV), also referred to as an electric drive vehicle, may use an electric motor for propulsion. Electric vehicles may include all-electric vehicles in which an electric motor is the sole source of power, and hybrid-electric vehicles that include an auxiliary power source in addition to the electric motor. In an electric vehicle, energy may be stored in a rechargeable battery system that includes battery cells to power the electric motor. The battery system may typically include a plurality of battery packs that each include a plurality of battery modules. Each battery module may include battery cells. Battery packs may incorporate fixed-size battery modules as building blocks.” (Para 0003)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“In some aspects, battery management device 810 can be configured with a low power sleep state (e.g., less than 100 uA). Once in the low power sleep state, the battery management device 810 can be configured to wake upon receipt of an ignition and/or key signal and transition to a non-low power sleep state (e.g., an awake mode where the battery management device 810 monitors and/or otherwise regulates parameters of the battery packs 20).” (Para 0112)
“FIG. 15 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1500 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an over or under voltage condition when a vehicle is not in a drive state (e.g., when the vehicle is parked, idle, being charged, or otherwise non-operational and/or not moving).” (Para 0133)
“If the measured system isolation resistance is determined to be less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold, then the isolation fault event is automatically flagged and the system waits for the vehicle to enter a standby mode (step 1612). Contactors of the battery packs and the primary contactors are then opened to de-energize the vehicle HV system (step 1615). After de-energizing the vehicle HV system, the battery system may again measure system isolation resistance (step 1618). Upon measuring the system isolation resistance, the system determines whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1621). If it is not less, then the isolation fault event can be automatically flagged in the vehicle HV system causing the battery system to be locked from resuming further use (step 1624). A safe state is then considered to be present (step 1627) such that no further corrective action is required.” (Para 0138)
wherein the step of exiting the inactive state maintains the propulsion system disabled.
(Lai) – “FIG. 15 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1500 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an over or under voltage condition when a vehicle is not in a drive state (e.g., when the vehicle is parked, idle, being charged, or otherwise non-operational and/or not moving).” (Para 0133)
“If the measured system isolation resistance is determined to be less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold, then the isolation fault event is automatically flagged and the system waits for the vehicle to enter a standby mode (step 1612). Contactors of the battery packs and the primary contactors are then opened to de-energize the vehicle HV system (step 1615). After de-energizing the vehicle HV system, the battery system may again measure system isolation resistance (step 1618). Upon measuring the system isolation resistance, the system determines whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1621). If it is not less, then the isolation fault event can be automatically flagged in the vehicle HV system causing the battery system to be locked from resuming further use (step 1624). A safe state is then considered to be present (step 1627) such that no further corrective action is required.” (Para 0138)
Claim 16:
Lai explicitly teaches:
A method of managing operation of an electric vehicle, comprising the steps of: providing a body supported by a plurality of wheels; at least one electric motor disposed so that the at least one electric motor drives the plurality of wheels; at least one battery pack in selective electrical communication with the at least one electric motor;
(Lai) – “An electric vehicle (EV), also referred to as an electric drive vehicle, may use an electric motor for propulsion. Electric vehicles may include all-electric vehicles in which an electric motor is the sole source of power, and hybrid-electric vehicles that include an auxiliary power source in addition to the electric motor. In an electric vehicle, energy may be stored in a rechargeable battery system that includes battery cells to power the electric motor. The battery system may typically include a plurality of battery packs that each include a plurality of battery modules. Each battery module may include battery cells. Battery packs may incorporate fixed-size battery modules as building blocks.” (Para 0003)
“FIG. 1A illustrates an electric vehicle 10 having a battery system 14. The battery system 14 may include a plurality of battery packs 20 positioned under the floor of the vehicle. Though shown as a bus in FIG. 1A, vehicle 10 may be any vehicle capable of utilizing battery power, including a bus, truck, car, train, work machine, farm equipment, or the like. Additionally, battery system 14 may be included in any electric vehicle, energy storage device, or another application.” (Para 0089)
Examiner Note: Fig. 1A clearly shows a body supported by a plurality of wheels.
a battery management system configured to output a first signal that includes information identifying whether the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault;
(Lai) – “The electrical connectors 204 may each be configured to interface with a battery management device 810 (also referred to as a battery management system (BMS)) having a plurality of ports 812.” (Para 0109)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1600 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an isolation fault event. In method 1600, the isolation fault in the battery system can occur (step 1603). System isolation resistance may then be measured (step 1606). The battery management device 810 may then determine whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than a system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1609).” (Para 0137)
deactivating the battery management system; intermittently activating the battery management system to monitor the first signal; and
(Lai) – “In some aspects, battery management device 810 can be configured with a low power sleep state (e.g., less than 100 uA). Once in the low power sleep state, the battery management device 810 can be configured to wake upon receipt of an ignition and/or key signal and transition to a non-low power sleep state (e.g., an awake mode where the battery management device 810 monitors and/or otherwise regulates parameters of the battery packs 20).” (Para 0112)
upon the detection that the first signal indicates that the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault, exiting the inactive state.
(Lai) – “In some aspects, battery management device 810 can be configured with a low power sleep state (e.g., less than 100 uA). Once in the low power sleep state, the battery management device 810 can be configured to wake upon receipt of an ignition and/or key signal and transition to a non-low power sleep state (e.g., an awake mode where the battery management device 810 monitors and/or otherwise regulates parameters of the battery packs 20).” (Para 0112)
“If the measured system isolation resistance is determined to be less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold, then the isolation fault event is automatically flagged and the system waits for the vehicle to enter a standby mode (step 1612). Contactors of the battery packs and the primary contactors are then opened to de-energize the vehicle HV system (step 1615). After de-energizing the vehicle HV system, the battery system may again measure system isolation resistance (step 1618). Upon measuring the system isolation resistance, the system determines whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1621). If it is not less, then the isolation fault event can be automatically flagged in the vehicle HV system causing the battery system to be locked from resuming further use (step 1624). A safe state is then considered to be present (step 1627) such that no further corrective action is required.” (Para 0138)
Claim 17:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 16. Lai further teaches:
further comprising, while the electric vehicle is in an inactive state, transmitting a second signal to a remote party through a transmitter, wherein the second signal includes information corresponding to the existence of the electrical isolation fault indicated by the first signal.
(Lai) – “Via battery management device 810, battery packs 20 may be connected to vehicles, devices, or other components as desired. For example, battery management device 810 may include a controller which may regulate DC charging of battery packs 20 when connected to a power source. In some aspects, a charge controller can be plugged into or otherwise added in battery management device 810. Each pack 20 can include a respective controller to control operations of the respective pack 20, including but not limited to communicating a state-of-charge (SoC), state-of-health (SoH) pack related diagnostics, as well as other information such as pack shipment status, pack warranty related information, safety critical data (e.g., hours of operation, number of fast charges, fault history, and/or the like).” (Para 0116)
“Each pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 can include one or more signal emitters to transmit a signal from a respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 to a signal receiver (e.g., at a depot or to another pack 20 and/or any system communicatively coupled thereto). Any type of signal can be transmitted… A signal may be from the respective pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 when the pack 20 and/or battery management device 810 is within some proximity of a location (e.g., a charging station) or encounters some safety event (e.g., overcurrent, thermal runaway, etc.) or at some predetermined power operational parameter (e.g., a state-of-charge or that the pack 20 is being charged and corresponding parameters).” (Para 0114)
“FIG. 15 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1500 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an over or under voltage condition when a vehicle is not in a drive state (e.g., when the vehicle is parked, idle, being charged, or otherwise non-operational and/or not moving).” (Para 0133)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1600 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an isolation fault event. In method 1600, the isolation fault in the battery system can occur (step 1603). System isolation resistance may then be measured (step 1606). The battery management device 810 may then determine whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than a system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1609).” (Para 0137)
“For certain applications, a battery system may include a plurality of battery management devices 810 each interfacing with a plurality of battery packs 20. With such an application, the plurality of battery management devices 810 may, for example, be configured to communicate with each other over a controller area network (e.g., CAN bus). The plurality of battery management devices 810 may further communicate with an external control device and may appear to the external control device as a single device.” (Para 0124)
“If the thermal event is detected, then one or more of the following correction actions occurs (step 1720a, 1720b, 1720n): one or more active fuses of the respective battery pack (e.g., one or more pyro fuses of each battery pack 20) are actuated, contactors of each respective battery pack are opened, the vehicle is informed that a thermal event has been detected, a cooling response is triggered, a thermal event notification is transmitted to a first responder (e.g., via telemetry), and/or the like.” (Para 0144)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, remote party may correspond with any separate entity This includes both the external control device and a first responder.
Claim 18:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai (US20220311257) in view of Grace (US20180212288).
Claim 3:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 2. Lai does not teach the following limitations in full. However, Grace, in the same field of endeavor of battery management, teaches:
further comprising a light system disposed on the body, wherein the computer system is configured to execute the program instructions when the electric vehicle is in the inactive state so that, upon the detection that the first signal indicates that the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault, the computer system controls at least one light in the light system to actuate.
(Grace) – “A thermal event in a module 30 may also be detected by BMS 60 using isolation resistance monitoring. For example, the gas released from an affected cell 50 may be conductive, and the presence of the gas in a battery pack 20 may decrease the isolation resistance between the high voltage system and the low voltage system of the battery pack 20. The BMS 60 may monitor this resistance (for example, using a voltage/current sensor connected between the low and high voltage systems) and detect the occurrence of a thermal event based on the monitored isolation resistance. In some embodiments, a combination of some or all of a pressure signal, a humidity signal, and isolation resistance monitoring may be used to detect the presence of discharged gas in a battery pack 20 (or battery module 30).” (Para 0030)
“When a thermal event is detected in the battery system 14, the BMS 60 may inform the driver and/or other relevant authorities (e.g., service personnel, bus operator, etc.) of the thermal event (step 120). Informing the driver may include one or more of sounding an audio alarm, activating one or more indicator lights, and/or displaying messages on the bus display system (e.g., a display screen positioned in view of the driver within the bus 10). These messages may include, among others, information about the location of the thermal event, and instructions to pull the bus 10 over (if the bus 10 is in motion) and begin an evacuation process. Bus 10 has several doors/hatches that a passenger may use to exit the bus 10 (e.g., front door, rear door, roof hatch, etc.). The messages to the driver may include suggestions to evacuate the bus 10 using a particular exit based on where the thermal event is occurring. For example, if the BMS 60 detects that the thermal event is occurring in a battery pack 20 positioned towards the front of the bus 10, the BMS 60 may instruct the driver to evacuate the bus 10 using the rear door. In some embodiments, the BMS 60 may also automatically open the suggested exit door (and or other doors and windows), and/or activate other systems of the bus 10 (e.g., lights, etc.) to speed the evacuation process. In some embodiments, alternate to, or in addition to, the displayed messages, the BMS 60 may also provide verbal instructions to the driver and passengers over an audio system of the bus 10. The BMS 60 may also automatically contact and report (e.g., wirelessly) the detected thermal event to service personnel (and/or other authorities) so that they can quickly respond to the disabled bus 10.” (Para 0032)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the battery system of Lai with the method of controlling the battery system of an electric vehicle of Grace. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is known that defects in lithium ion battery cells may lead to an unexpected increase in cell temperature. In some cases, the increase in cell temperature may lead to an undesirable thermal event (such as, for e.g., thermal runaway) in the battery system. Embodiments of the current disclosure provide systems and methods to reduce the occurrence or severity of such thermal events.” (Grace Para 0003)
Claim 4:
Lai in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 3 teach those respective limitations. Lai does not teach the following limitations in full. However, Grace, in the same field of endeavor of battery management, teaches:
wherein the at least one light is located on an instrument panel of the electric vehicle.
(Grace) – “When a thermal event is detected in the battery system 14, the BMS 60 may inform the driver and/or other relevant authorities (e.g., service personnel, bus operator, etc.) of the thermal event (step 120). Informing the driver may include one or more of sounding an audio alarm, activating one or more indicator lights, and/or displaying messages on the bus display system (e.g., a display screen positioned in view of the driver within the bus 10). These messages may include, among others, information about the location of the thermal event, and instructions to pull the bus 10 over (if the bus 10 is in motion) and begin an evacuation process. Bus 10 has several doors/hatches that a passenger may use to exit the bus 10 (e.g., front door, rear door, roof hatch, etc.). The messages to the driver may include suggestions to evacuate the bus 10 using a particular exit based on where the thermal event is occurring. For example, if the BMS 60 detects that the thermal event is occurring in a battery pack 20 positioned towards the front of the bus 10, the BMS 60 may instruct the driver to evacuate the bus 10 using the rear door. In some embodiments, the BMS 60 may also automatically open the suggested exit door (and or other doors and windows), and/or activate other systems of the bus 10 (e.g., lights, etc.) to speed the evacuation process. In some embodiments, alternate to, or in addition to, the displayed messages, the BMS 60 may also provide verbal instructions to the driver and passengers over an audio system of the bus 10. The BMS 60 may also automatically contact and report (e.g., wirelessly) the detected thermal event to service personnel (and/or other authorities) so that they can quickly respond to the disabled bus 10.” (Para 0032)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the battery system of Lai with the method of controlling the battery system of an electric vehicle of Grace. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is known that defects in lithium ion battery cells may lead to an unexpected increase in cell temperature. In some cases, the increase in cell temperature may lead to an undesirable thermal event (such as, for e.g., thermal runaway) in the battery system. Embodiments of the current disclosure provide systems and methods to reduce the occurrence or severity of such thermal events.” (Grace Para 0003)
Claim 5:
Lai in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 3 teach those respective limitations. Lai does not teach the following limitations in full. However, Grace, in the same field of endeavor of battery management, teaches:
wherein the at least one light is an interior light in a passenger compartment of the electric vehicle.
(Grace) – “When a thermal event is detected in the battery system 14, the BMS 60 may inform the driver and/or other relevant authorities (e.g., service personnel, bus operator, etc.) of the thermal event (step 120). Informing the driver may include one or more of sounding an audio alarm, activating one or more indicator lights, and/or displaying messages on the bus display system (e.g., a display screen positioned in view of the driver within the bus 10). These messages may include, among others, information about the location of the thermal event, and instructions to pull the bus 10 over (if the bus 10 is in motion) and begin an evacuation process. Bus 10 has several doors/hatches that a passenger may use to exit the bus 10 (e.g., front door, rear door, roof hatch, etc.). The messages to the driver may include suggestions to evacuate the bus 10 using a particular exit based on where the thermal event is occurring. For example, if the BMS 60 detects that the thermal event is occurring in a battery pack 20 positioned towards the front of the bus 10, the BMS 60 may instruct the driver to evacuate the bus 10 using the rear door. In some embodiments, the BMS 60 may also automatically open the suggested exit door (and or other doors and windows), and/or activate other systems of the bus 10 (e.g., lights, etc.) to speed the evacuation process. In some embodiments, alternate to, or in addition to, the displayed messages, the BMS 60 may also provide verbal instructions to the driver and passengers over an audio system of the bus 10. The BMS 60 may also automatically contact and report (e.g., wirelessly) the detected thermal event to service personnel (and/or other authorities) so that they can quickly respond to the disabled bus 10.” (Para 0032)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the battery system of Lai with the method of controlling the battery system of an electric vehicle of Grace. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is known that defects in lithium ion battery cells may lead to an unexpected increase in cell temperature. In some cases, the increase in cell temperature may lead to an undesirable thermal event (such as, for e.g., thermal runaway) in the battery system. Embodiments of the current disclosure provide systems and methods to reduce the occurrence or severity of such thermal events.” (Grace Para 0003)
Claim 6:
Lai in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 3 teach those respective limitations. Lai does not teach the following limitations in full. However, Grace, in the same field of endeavor of battery management, teaches:
wherein the at least one light is a headlight of the electric vehicle.
(Grace) – “When a thermal event is detected in the battery system 14, the BMS 60 may inform the driver and/or other relevant authorities (e.g., service personnel, bus operator, etc.) of the thermal event (step 120). Informing the driver may include one or more of sounding an audio alarm, activating one or more indicator lights, and/or displaying messages on the bus display system (e.g., a display screen positioned in view of the driver within the bus 10). These messages may include, among others, information about the location of the thermal event, and instructions to pull the bus 10 over (if the bus 10 is in motion) and begin an evacuation process. Bus 10 has several doors/hatches that a passenger may use to exit the bus 10 (e.g., front door, rear door, roof hatch, etc.). The messages to the driver may include suggestions to evacuate the bus 10 using a particular exit based on where the thermal event is occurring. For example, if the BMS 60 detects that the thermal event is occurring in a battery pack 20 positioned towards the front of the bus 10, the BMS 60 may instruct the driver to evacuate the bus 10 using the rear door. In some embodiments, the BMS 60 may also automatically open the suggested exit door (and or other doors and windows), and/or activate other systems of the bus 10 (e.g., lights, etc.) to speed the evacuation process. In some embodiments, alternate to, or in addition to, the displayed messages, the BMS 60 may also provide verbal instructions to the driver and passengers over an audio system of the bus 10. The BMS 60 may also automatically contact and report (e.g., wirelessly) the detected thermal event to service personnel (and/or other authorities) so that they can quickly respond to the disabled bus 10.” (Para 0032)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the battery system of Lai with the method of controlling the battery system of an electric vehicle of Grace. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is known that defects in lithium ion battery cells may lead to an unexpected increase in cell temperature. In some cases, the increase in cell temperature may lead to an undesirable thermal event (such as, for e.g., thermal runaway) in the battery system. Embodiments of the current disclosure provide systems and methods to reduce the occurrence or severity of such thermal events.” (Grace Para 0003)
Claim 7:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 2. Lai does not teach the following limitations in full. However, Grace, in the same field of endeavor of battery management, teaches:
comprising an audible alarm disposed on the body, wherein the computer system is configured to execute the program instructions when the electric vehicle is in the inactive state so that, upon the detection that the first signal indicates that the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault, the computer system controls the audible alarm to actuate.
(Grace) – “A thermal event in a module 30 may also be detected by BMS 60 using isolation resistance monitoring. For example, the gas released from an affected cell 50 may be conductive, and the presence of the gas in a battery pack 20 may decrease the isolation resistance between the high voltage system and the low voltage system of the battery pack 20. The BMS 60 may monitor this resistance (for example, using a voltage/current sensor connected between the low and high voltage systems) and detect the occurrence of a thermal event based on the monitored isolation resistance. In some embodiments, a combination of some or all of a pressure signal, a humidity signal, and isolation resistance monitoring may be used to detect the presence of discharged gas in a battery pack 20 (or battery module 30).” (Para 0030)
“When a thermal event is detected in the battery system 14, the BMS 60 may inform the driver and/or other relevant authorities (e.g., service personnel, bus operator, etc.) of the thermal event (step 120). Informing the driver may include one or more of sounding an audio alarm, activating one or more indicator lights, and/or displaying messages on the bus display system (e.g., a display screen positioned in view of the driver within the bus 10). These messages may include, among others, information about the location of the thermal event, and instructions to pull the bus 10 over (if the bus 10 is in motion) and begin an evacuation process. Bus 10 has several doors/hatches that a passenger may use to exit the bus 10 (e.g., front door, rear door, roof hatch, etc.). The messages to the driver may include suggestions to evacuate the bus 10 using a particular exit based on where the thermal event is occurring. For example, if the BMS 60 detects that the thermal event is occurring in a battery pack 20 positioned towards the front of the bus 10, the BMS 60 may instruct the driver to evacuate the bus 10 using the rear door. In some embodiments, the BMS 60 may also automatically open the suggested exit door (and or other doors and windows), and/or activate other systems of the bus 10 (e.g., lights, etc.) to speed the evacuation process. In some embodiments, alternate to, or in addition to, the displayed messages, the BMS 60 may also provide verbal instructions to the driver and passengers over an audio system of the bus 10. The BMS 60 may also automatically contact and report (e.g., wirelessly) the detected thermal event to service personnel (and/or other authorities) so that they can quickly respond to the disabled bus 10.” (Para 0032)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the battery system of Lai with the method of controlling the battery system of an electric vehicle of Grace. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is known that defects in lithium ion battery cells may lead to an unexpected increase in cell temperature. In some cases, the increase in cell temperature may lead to an undesirable thermal event (such as, for e.g., thermal runaway) in the battery system. Embodiments of the current disclosure provide systems and methods to reduce the occurrence or severity of such thermal events.” (Grace Para 0003)
Claim 9:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 8. Lai does not teach the following limitations in full. However, Grace, in the same field of endeavor of battery management, teaches:
comprising an audible alarm disposed on the body, wherein the predetermined response is control of the audible alarm to actuate.
(Grace) – “A thermal event in a module 30 may also be detected by BMS 60 using isolation resistance monitoring. For example, the gas released from an affected cell 50 may be conductive, and the presence of the gas in a battery pack 20 may decrease the isolation resistance between the high voltage system and the low voltage system of the battery pack 20. The BMS 60 may monitor this resistance (for example, using a voltage/current sensor connected between the low and high voltage systems) and detect the occurrence of a thermal event based on the monitored isolation resistance. In some embodiments, a combination of some or all of a pressure signal, a humidity signal, and isolation resistance monitoring may be used to detect the presence of discharged gas in a battery pack 20 (or battery module 30).” (Para 0030)
“When a thermal event is detected in the battery system 14, the BMS 60 may inform the driver and/or other relevant authorities (e.g., service personnel, bus operator, etc.) of the thermal event (step 120). Informing the driver may include one or more of sounding an audio alarm, activating one or more indicator lights, and/or displaying messages on the bus display system (e.g., a display screen positioned in view of the driver within the bus 10). These messages may include, among others, information about the location of the thermal event, and instructions to pull the bus 10 over (if the bus 10 is in motion) and begin an evacuation process. Bus 10 has several doors/hatches that a passenger may use to exit the bus 10 (e.g., front door, rear door, roof hatch, etc.). The messages to the driver may include suggestions to evacuate the bus 10 using a particular exit based on where the thermal event is occurring. For example, if the BMS 60 detects that the thermal event is occurring in a battery pack 20 positioned towards the front of the bus 10, the BMS 60 may instruct the driver to evacuate the bus 10 using the rear door. In some embodiments, the BMS 60 may also automatically open the suggested exit door (and or other doors and windows), and/or activate other systems of the bus 10 (e.g., lights, etc.) to speed the evacuation process. In some embodiments, alternate to, or in addition to, the displayed messages, the BMS 60 may also provide verbal instructions to the driver and passengers over an audio system of the bus 10. The BMS 60 may also automatically contact and report (e.g., wirelessly) the detected thermal event to service personnel (and/or other authorities) so that they can quickly respond to the disabled bus 10.” (Para 0032)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the battery system of Lai with the method of controlling the battery system of an electric vehicle of Grace. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is known that defects in lithium ion battery cells may lead to an unexpected increase in cell temperature. In some cases, the increase in cell temperature may lead to an undesirable thermal event (such as, for e.g., thermal runaway) in the battery system. Embodiments of the current disclosure provide systems and methods to reduce the occurrence or severity of such thermal events.” (Grace Para 0003)
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai (US20220311257) in view of Sufrin-Disler (US20120139549).
Claim 19:
Lai teaches the respective limitations of Claim 16. Lai further teaches:
wherein, if the first signal indicates that the at least one battery pack has an electrical isolation fault, determining the magnitude of the isolation fault [in units of ohms per volt (Ω/V)].
(Lai) – “The electrical connectors 204 may each be configured to interface with a battery management device 810 (also referred to as a battery management system (BMS)) having a plurality of ports 812.” (Para 0109)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1600 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an isolation fault event. In method 1600, the isolation fault in the battery system can occur (step 1603). System isolation resistance may then be measured (step 1606). The battery management device 810 may then determine whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than a system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1609). If it is not less, then the system isolation resistance may continue being measured, as in step 1606.” (Para 0137)
“If the measured system isolation resistance is determined to be less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold, then the isolation fault event is automatically flagged and the system waits for the vehicle to enter a standby mode (step 1612). Contactors of the battery packs and the primary contactors are then opened to de-energize the vehicle HV system (step 1615). After de-energizing the vehicle HV system, the battery system may again measure system isolation resistance (step 1618). Upon measuring the system isolation resistance, the system determines whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1621). If it is not less, then the isolation fault event can be automatically flagged in the vehicle HV system causing the battery system to be locked from resuming further use (step 1624). A safe state is then considered to be present (step 1627) such that no further corrective action is required.” (Para 0138)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Lai does not explicitly teach:
in units of ohms per volt (Ω/V)
Sufrin-Disler, in the same field of endeavor of battery management, teaches:
in units of ohms per volt (Ω/V)
(Sufrin-Disler) - “Some embodiments relate to a system for measuring a voltage of a battery pack and a detecting of an isolation fault.” (Para 0013)
“In practice, values in the range of 100 Ohms/Volt to 500 Ohms/volt for R_Fault are of most interest when operating the vehicle. Values in ranges up to 2000 Ohms/Volt are of interest to the vehicle when non operational. To convert from values in Ohms/Volt to actual resistances, multiply the maximum operating voltage of the battery pack*the value in Ohms/Volt to come up with an actual resistance. Desired measurement times are in the 10 s of milliseconds or faster for isolation measurements when operating. R_Fault is also constrained such that currents should be less than a few milliamps through the measurement resistors when making measurements, and that the measurement circuitry expressed in Ohms/Volt is not a concern to the vehicle manufacturer.” (Para 0066)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the battery system of Lai with the system for making high voltage measurements to measure a voltage of a battery pack and detect of an isolation fault of Sufrin-Disler. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “this system is inexpensive and scalable…The system is reliable and includes multiple methods of self-detection to cover most circuit and system failures. The system is safe, with protection built in to prevent a failure from leading to a hazardous event.” (Sufrin-Disler Para 0031)
Claim 20:
Lai in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 19 teach those respective limitations. Lai further teaches:
wherein the determination of the magnitude of the isolation fault is made by the battery management system.
(Lai) – “The electrical connectors 204 may each be configured to interface with a battery management device 810 (also referred to as a battery management system (BMS)) having a plurality of ports 812.” (Para 0109)
“Battery management device 810 can respond and manage faults in the battery system downstream thereof, including battery packs 20, as discussed more particularly below.” (Para 0111)
“FIG. 16 is a flow chart of an exemplary method 1600 using any of the herein described battery systems to manage an isolation fault event. In method 1600, the isolation fault in the battery system can occur (step 1603). System isolation resistance may then be measured (step 1606). The battery management device 810 may then determine whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than a system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1609). If it is not less, then the system isolation resistance may continue being measured, as in step 1606.” (Para 0137)
“If the measured system isolation resistance is determined to be less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold, then the isolation fault event is automatically flagged and the system waits for the vehicle to enter a standby mode (step 1612). Contactors of the battery packs and the primary contactors are then opened to de-energize the vehicle HV system (step 1615). After de-energizing the vehicle HV system, the battery system may again measure system isolation resistance (step 1618). Upon measuring the system isolation resistance, the system determines whether the measured system isolation resistance is less than the system minimum isolation resistance fault threshold (step 1621). If it is not less, then the isolation fault event can be automatically flagged in the vehicle HV system causing the battery system to be locked from resuming further use (step 1624). A safe state is then considered to be present (step 1627) such that no further corrective action is required.” (Para 0138)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lindsay (US20130300430) teaches a similar isolation monitor.
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658