Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the S&F mode" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the S&F mode" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Catovic et al. US 2024/0063896 A1 hereinafter referred to as Catovic.
As per claim 1, Catovic teaches: A method for a first network node ([0041] says “a network node can be implemented as a base station”) , comprising: receiving a transmission from a User Equipment (UE) ([0080] says “The communication may occur during an uplink data transmission when a backhaul connection is unavailable. As shown in FIG. 5, the UE is in coverage of the beam for satellite BS … the UE starts a RACH procedure with satellite BS … the UE sends a CPSR message, e.g., a CPSR message with CP data or a data packet, to the satellite BS”); and determining to respond to the transmission to the UE based on a feeder link of the first network node being not available and a service associated with the transmission is a Short Message Service (SMS) ([0081] says ”the satellite BS may transmit, to the UE, an indication and/or a release message. This indication may indicate that there is no feeder link, as well as indicate the coverage re-visit time … the UE may enter into idle mode, as well as indicate a delay time to the NAS layer, e.g., via an ACK … the satellite BS may determine that a gateway link is reestablished or in range … the satellite BS may transmit an initial UE message to the gateway. Additionally … the gateway may determine which satellite BS may provide coverage for the UE … the gateway may transmit a NAS response and/or downlink data to the satellite BS. This response may be based on a prior message from the UE, e.g., a short message service (SMS) message … the satellite BS may determine that the UE is within its coverage range … the satellite BS may transmit a paging message to the UE … the UE may be connected with the satellite BS. Also, the satellite BS may deliver a NAS response and/or downlink data to the UE.”).
As per claim 2, Catovic teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first network node is in Store and Forward (S&F) mode or transmits an S&F mode indication to the UE ([0080] says “satellite BS may determine that there is no gateway link and may store the NAS packet data unit (PDU). The storage of the NAS PDU at the satellite BS may be associated with a store-and-forward process and [0081] says “the satellite BS may transmit, to the UE, an indication and/or a release message. This indication may indicate that there is no feeder link, as well as indicate the coverage re-visit time.”).
As per claim 3, Catovic teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first network node determines to respond to the transmission to the UE based on the feeder link availability of the first network node, the service associated with the transmission, and/or whether the first network node is in S&F mode ([0081] says “the satellite BS may transmit, to the UE, an indication and/or a release message. This indication may indicate that there is no feeder link, as well as indicate the coverage re-visit time.”).
As per claim 4, Catovic teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein a response of the transmission is generated by a second network node when the feeder link of the first network node is available and/or the first network node is in normal mode ([0081] says “the satellite BS may determine that a gateway link is reestablished or in range … the satellite BS may transmit an initial UE message to the gateway. Additionally, the gateway may determine which satellite BS may provide coverage for the UE … the gateway may transmit a NAS response and/or downlink data to the satellite BS. This response may be based on a prior message from the UE, e.g., a short message service (SMS) message … the satellite BS may determine that the UE is within its coverage range … the satellite BS may transmit a paging message to the UE … the UE may be connected with the satellite BS. Also, the satellite BS may deliver a NAS response and/or downlink data to the UE.).
As per claim 5, Catovic teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first network node responds to the transmission to the UE on behalf of a second network node ([0081] says “the satellite BS may deliver a NAS response and/or downlink data to the UE.”, the NAS response and/or downlink data comes from the second network node (the gateway) ).
As per claim 6, Catovic teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first network node is on a satellite, a satellite network, and/or comprises a portion of a Mobile Management Entity (MME) ([0080] says “FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating communication between a UE and a satellite access network including satellite base station (BS)”).
As per claim 7, Catovic teaches: The method of claim 4, wherein the second network node is on ground, a ground network, and/or comprises another portion of an MME ([0064] says “Additionally, satellites may or may not have a backhaul connection, i.e., a backhaul gateway, to a core network on the ground. In some aspects, when a UE connects to a particular satellite, the satellite may not have a backhaul connection to a core network. For instance, the backhaul connection between the satellite and the core network may lose connection, or have intermittent connectivity, due to the movement of the satellite. In other aspects, when a satellite has a backhaul connection to the core network on the ground, the UE may be outside of the coverage cell of the satellite.”).
As per claim 8, Catovic teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the feeder link is between the first network node and a second network node (see FIG. 5, the feeder link is synonymous with gateway link).
As per claim 9, Catovic teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first network node stores the transmission when the feeder link of the first network node is not available and/or the first network node is in S&F mode ([0080] says “the UE starts a RACH procedure with satellite BS … the UE sends a CPSR message, e.g., a CPSR message with CP data or a data packet, to the satellite BS … satellite BS may determine that there is no gateway link and may store the NAS packet data unit (PDU). The storage of the NAS PDU at the satellite BS may be associated with a store-and-forward process”).
As per claim 10, Catovic teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the S&F mode enables satellite access providing a level of service when satellite connectivity is temporarily unavailable ([0078] says “In some instances, a UE may initiate a data store-and-forward process when a backhaul connection is not available. For example, a UE may drop or cancel data (i.e., when there is no service), forward data immediately to another satellite with a backhaul connection (e.g., a geosynchronous equatorial orbit (GEO) satellite), or store-and-forward the data at a later time. Also, a UE may be preconfigured with a list of networks that support a store-and-forward service and/or a forward immediately service. As such, when the UE determines it is in coverage of a network that supports either a store-and-forward service and/or a forward immediately service, the UE may utilize either the service in the network. In some aspects, a network may broadcast or indicate its support for each service (e.g., store-and-forward service and/or forward immediately service) in the SIB. A network may also broadcast or indicate its support for each service during a registration procedure over satellite access. Accordingly, upon registration with a network, the network may inform the UE of the supported services. In some instances, this data store-and-forward service may be provided by a network.).
Claims 11-20 which are similar in scope respectively to claims 1-10 are thus rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jain et al. (US 2025/0106804 A1) also teaches a satellite access network comprising a user equipment, and network nodes that can operate in store and forward mode.
Nair et al. (US 2025/0055884 A1) teaches continued communication between a user equipment and a network node despite feeder link unavailability.
Agarwal et al. (US 2026/0213835 A1) teaches a network apparatus able to operate in store and forward mode and communicate which services it supports.
Chen et al. (US 2025/0105913 A1) teaches a satellite base station able to operate in store and forward mode.
Jain et al. (US 2026/0230170 A1) teaches storing data buffering and storage on a satellite when the feeder link is unavailable.
/V.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683