DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of fig. 6 and paragraphs 0081-0085 of Gabel et al, US Patent Pub. 20190035404 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards, GB 2574803 A, in view of Gabel et al, US Patent Pub. 20190035404 A1.
Re Claim 1, Edwards discloses a system comprising: a microcontroller unit (MCU) comprising one or more microphones (abstract: microphone) and a first network interface (pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command); at least one processor (pg. 11, line 29 through col. 12, line 4: processors); a hub device comprising a second network interface (pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command); and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the system is configured to: capture an input sound data stream via the one or more microphones (abstract: microphone); determine that a first voice input in a portion of the input sound data stream is not processable by the MCU, wherein a first set of Internet-of-Things (IoT) commands are processable locally by the MCU (pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces (first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command); and transmit, via the second network interface to at least one server of a cloud-based voice assistant, data representing the portion of the input sound data stream for processing of the first voice input by the cloud-based voice assistant, wherein the at least one server is outside of the local area network, wherein a IoT device on the local area network carries out one or more IoT commands based on the first voice input (pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command); but fails to disclose a first network interface transmit, via the first network interface over a local area network to the hub device, data representing the portion of the input sound data stream, wherein the MCU and the hub device are on the local area network; determine that the first voice input in the portion of the input sound data stream is not processable by the hub device, wherein a second set of Internet-of-Things (IoT) commands are processable locally by the hub device. However, Gabel et al discloses a system that teaches the concept of a hierarchal voice processing system that transitions from one level to the next level based on voice processing capabilities all the way up to cloud service processing (Gabel et al, fig. 2; paras 0025-0031), whereby the first three levels of voice processing are local voice processing with incrementally alleviating voice processing capabilities wherein connections between the different level local voice processing while the final level of processing is a cloud service processing with unlimited processing capabilities (Gabel et al, fig. 2; paras 0025-0031); whereby the voice processing at the local level can be such that the voice processing can first be carried out at a first device (i.e. smart watch) and alleviated to another local device (i.e. standalone device such as smart phones or smart tablets) (Gabel et al, fig. 6: smart watch 602, standalone device 604; paras 0081-0085). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art to modify the Edwards reference such that it includes more levels between its local processing with a plurality of network interfaces to enable transmission therebetween and transmitting to cloud service levels such that before transmitting to the cloud service, the system of Edwards can first transmit the voice command to local voice processing device with incrementally increasing voice processing capabilities before ultimately transmitting to voice processing in a cloud service as taught in Gabel et al for the purpose of optimizing localized processing before seeking remote processing.
Re Claim 2, the combined teachings of Edwards and Gabel et al disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the system is configured to: receive, via the second network interface from the at least one server of the cloud-based voice assistant, the one or more IoT commands based on the first voice input (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command); and cause, via the second network interface, the IoT device to perform the one or more IoT commands (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces (first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command).
Re Claim 3, the combined teachings of Edwards and Gabel et al disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the system is configured to: receive, via the first network interface from the at least one server of the cloud-based voice assistant, the one or more IoT commands based on the first voice input (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command); and cause, via the first network interface, the IoT device to perform the one or more IoT commands (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command).
Re Claim 4, the combined teachings of Edwards and Gabel et al disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the IoT device comprises the MCU (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device with microcontroller therewithin. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command), and wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the system is configured to: receive, via the first network interface from the at least one server of the cloud-based voice assistant, the one or more IoT commands based on the first voice input (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command); and perform the one or more IoT commands (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command).
Re Claim 5, the combined teachings of Edwards and Gabel et al disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the system is configured to: monitor the captured input sound data stream for local keywords corresponding to smart IoT commands (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command); detect at least one keyword of the local keywords in an additional portion of the captured input sound data stream comprising a second voice input (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command); and process the second voice input into at least one particular smart IoT command from among the first set of IoT commands (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command).
Re Claim 6, the combined teachings of Edwards and Gabel et al disclose the system of claim 4, wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the system is configured to: transmit, via the first network interface over the local area network to the hub device, data representing a further portion of the input sound data stream that comprises a third voice input (Gabel et al, fig. 6: smart watch 602, standalone device 604; paras 0081-0085: the voice processing at the local level can be such that the voice processing can first be carried out at a first device (i.e. smart watch) and alleviated to another local device (i.e. standalone device such as smart phones or smart tablets); where the standalone computer is read as the hub device); and process the third voice input into at least one further smart IoT command from among the second set of IoT commands (Gabel et al, fig. 6: smart watch 602, standalone device 604; paras 0081-0085: the voice processing at the local level can be such that the voice processing can first be carried out at a first device (i.e. smart watch) and alleviated to another local device (i.e. standalone device such as smart phones or smart tablets); where the standalone computer is read as the hub device).
Re Claim 7, the combined teachings of Edwards and Gabel et al disclose the system of claim 6, wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the system is configured to process the third voice input into the at least one further smart IoT command from among the second set of IoT commands comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the system is configured to: determine an intent of the third voice input (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command).
Re Claim 8, the combined teachings of Edwards and Gabel et al disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the second set of IoT commands comprises additional IoT commands relative to the first set of IoT commands (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command).
Claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 2.
Re Claim 11, the combined teachings of Edwards and Gabel et al disclose the hub device of claim 10, wherein the IoT device comprises the MCU (Edwards, pg. 26, lines 4-12: voice commands are processed locally within device and subsequent commands that cannot be processed locally (which could include 2 or more commands) including keywords are transmitted via network interface to remote cloud service to be processed to control smart speakers, whereby smart speaker implies an IoT device with microcontroller therewithin. The system includes one or more network interfaces (pg. 3, line 3 through pg. 4, line 4). The cloud server transmits processed voice signals back to the first or second smart speaker (which smart speaker it transmits to is determined based on the processed voice command requirements) via their respective network interfaces(first or second network interface) for IoT processing of the voice command).
Claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 3.
Claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 7.
Claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 8.
Claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 2.
Claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 3.
Claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 4.
Claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 5.
Claim 20 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 6.
Contact
/GEORGE C MONIKANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692 09/23/2026