DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of”, “arranged to”, “intended to”, "so as", “able to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of”, “arranged to”, “intended to”, "so as"", “able to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of”, “arranged to”, “intended to”, "so as"", “able to” or “operable to”.
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “to be” is not a positive limitation inasmuch as the term is in future tense and implies a change in condition in the future. This does not serve to limit the structure in the present tense. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “being” are not positive limitations inasmuch as the terms including the word "being" are passive and thus do not serve to clearly limit the structure in an active sense. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference of Prior Art
Pusthay et al. (US 20240038418, ASSEMBLIES FOR MITIGATING DRY BAND ARCING ON POWER DISTRIBUTION LINE INSULATORS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Pusthay.
Re claim 1 Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description, Pusthay discloses:
A creepage extender system comprising:
a first creepage extender portion (400A); and
a second creepage extender portion (400B),
the second creepage extender portion being configured to be detachably coupled to the first creepage extender portion (400A, 400B and ¶ 0043),
wherein, when the second creepage extender portion is coupled to the first creepage extender portion (¶ 0043-0045, items 411A,B), the creepage extender system defines an aperture configured to receive an insulation tool (405).
Re claim 15 Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description, Pusthay discloses:
The creepage extender system of claim 1, wherein the aperture is at least one of: a circular aperture, a rectangular aperture, a triangular aperture, and an oval aperture (405).
Re claim 16 Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description, Pusthay discloses:
A kit of parts comprising the creepage extender system of claim 1 together with assembly instructions (¶ 0041).
Re claim 17 Referring to the figures and the Detailed Description, Pusthay discloses:
. The creepage extender system of claim 1, wherein the system comprises one or more materials selected from Ultra-High Molecular Weight Polyethylene, cast nylon, polyurethane, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyvinylchloride, polyvinyl ether, polypropylene, nylon, polycarbonate, HDPE, fiberglass, fiber-reinforced polymer, polyurethane and ceramic (¶ 0045).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcome all the rejections above.
The prior art of record including the disclosures above neither anticipates nor renders obvious the above recited combination.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP ~ 707.07(a).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEDHAT BADAWI whose telephone number is (571)270-5983. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri during office hours. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JOSHUA MICHENER can be reached on 571-272-1467. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEDHAT BADAWI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642