DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-4,6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon to (US 20250350399 A1) in view of KHAN to (WO2025212033 A1) further in view of Wang to (WO 2026018787 A1)
Regarding claims 1,8, Jeon teaches an energy harvesting electronic device or an ambient Internet of Things (AIoT) device, comprising:( [0074] Discloses an A-IoT device or an A-IoT UE based on energy harvesting with ultra-low complexity and power consumption and for low-end IoT applications. For example, the UE may have limited (or no) energy storage or battery capability (e.g., a capacitor), such as an energy storage unit for amplification)
an energy storage device configured to store energy harvested by the energy harvesting electronic device; :( [0074] Discloses an A-IoT device or an A-IoT UE based on energy harvesting with ultra-low complexity and power consumption and for low-end IoT applications…an energy storage unit for amplification)
memory for storing instructions; ([0057] a processor 340… and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362) and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the energy harvesting electronic device([0057] a processor 340… and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes an operating system (OS) 361 and one or more applications 362) to:
receive a message on a physical random downlink control channel (PRDCH), ([0267] Discloses a device receives PRDCH transmission from a reader. In 1820, the device reads header field of the PRDCH and determines to read or skip the rest of the PRDCH based on the message type or receiver address field. In 1830, the device reads the rest of the PRDCH, if it determines that the message is intended to the device) wherein the message includes any combination of a paging identification (ID), a reader ID, a paging re-transmission counter, and a type of random access, for random access paging; ([0269] The header field of PRDCH/PDRCH carries necessary control information for R2D/D2R signal reception. Some additional control information may be contained in the payload and that handling may be similar to NR MAC CE and MAC service data unit (SDU). Header may include the following sub-elements. [0270] Message type: Indicator for the signal type conveyed in the payload such as R2D data, control information, broadcast information such as paging, if defined, random access triggering, random access response, command for PRDCH. Similarly, it can be D2R data, control information, random access, etc., for PDRCH. [0271] Transmitter ID: Transmitter ID of the signal. For R2D, it's the reader ID)
Jeon does not explicitly teach determine that the message is a retransmission of an ongoing paging process for a three-step random access procedure, that a first message has been reported for a previous message, and that a second message has not been received; and determine whether a second message response timer has expired
However, KHAN teaches determine that the message is a retransmission of an ongoing paging process for a three-step random access procedure, that a first message has been reported for a previous message, and that a second message has not been received([0005] Feedback e.g. 1 -bit ACK/NACK for the previous PRDCH message; and/or for the N previous PRDCH messages where N is fixed in the standard and/or the range of N is fixed in the standard and one value is indicated by the reader to A-IoT device or the range of N is fixed in the standard and one value is reported by the A-IoT device in addition to the feedback)
However, Wang teaches determine whether a second message response timer has expired([0160,[0161] discloses A-IoT device 3-1 is able to indicate to the A-IoT device reader a time period (which may be expressed using a configured timer) within which the A-IoT device 3-1 does not expect (and/or does not want) the A-IoT device reader to schedule a subsequent D2R transmission - i.e., the A-IoT device reader should not schedule a subsequent D2R transmission for that A-IoT device until expiry of the configured timer. It will be appreciated that the A-IoT device 3-1 may not be able generate the next D2R transmission and/or monitor for R2D messages until expiry of that configured timer)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Jeon include determine that the message is a retransmission of an ongoing paging process for a three-step random access procedure, that a first message has been reported for a previous message, and that a second message has not been received; and determine whether a second message response timer has expired, as suggested by Khan and Wang. This modification would benefit the system to reduce collision.
Regarding claim 3, Jeon and Khan and Wang teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a first message transmission maximum has been reached when the device determines the second message response timer has expired(Wang,[0172],[0173] the A-IoT device reader should not schedule a subsequent D2R transmission for that A-IoT device until expiry of the configured timer. It will be appreciated that the A-IoT device 3-1 may not be able generate the next D2R transmission and/or monitor for R2D messages until expiry of that configured timer).
Regarding claim 4, Jeon and Khan and Wang teaches wherein the processor is configured to not retransmit the first message and to ignore the retransmission of the message when the device determines the first message transmission maximum has been reached(Wang,[0172],[0173] the A-IoT device reader should not schedule a subsequent D2R transmission for that A-IoT device until expiry of the configured timer. It will be appreciated that the A-IoT device 3-1 may not be able generate the next D2R transmission and/or monitor for R2D messages until expiry of that configured timer).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon and Khan and Wang teaches wherein the second message response timer is defined from an end of a contention access region indicated by the previous message(Wang,[0162]That selected TBS may be the TBS used by the A-IoT device 3-1 for the D2R transmission at step S504 (e.g., D2R Msg#1). It will be appreciated that the A-IoT device reader may use that indicated TBS to determine/identify the end of the data transmission in D2R Msg#1)..
Regarding claim 7, Jeon and Khan and Wang teaches wherein the second message response timer is defined from a previous first message transmission in response to the previous message(Wang, [0162]That selected TBS may be the TBS used by the A-IoT device 3-1 for the D2R transmission at step S504 (e.g., D2R Msg#1). It will be appreciated that the A-IoT device reader may use that indicated TBS to determine/identify the end of the data transmission in D2R Msg#1).
Claim(s) 2,5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon to (US 20250350399 A1) in view of KHAN to (WO2025212033 A1) further in view of Wang to (WO 2026018787 A1) and Bae to (US20210352735)
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jeon and Khan and Wang does not explicitly teach, wherein the processor is configured to not retransmit the first message and to ignore the retransmission of the message when the device determines the second message response timer has not expired
However, Bae teaches wherein the processor is configured to not retransmit the first message and to ignore the retransmission of the message when the device determines the second message response timer has not expired([0099] [The UE 502 may be allowed to send one or more repetitions of the contention resolution message 504-2 . . . 504-K to the base station 500. Depending on a monitoring technique that may be implemented to enable the UE 502 to determine if the base station 500 has successfully decoded the initial contention resolution message 504-1, the UE 502 may send any number from zero through K of the repetitions of the contention resolution message 504-2 . . . 504-K)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Jeon and Khan and Wang include wherein the processor is configured to not retransmit the first message and to ignore the retransmission of the message when the device determines the second message response timer has not expired, as suggested by Bae. This modification would benefit the system to reduce network resource waste.
Regarding claim 5, Jeon and Khan and Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to transmit the first message in response to the received message when the device determines the first message transmission maximum has not been reached
However, Bae teaches wherein the processor is configured to transmit the first message in response to the received message when the device determines the first message transmission maximum has not been reached(Bae, [0099] [The UE 502 may be allowed to send one or more repetitions of the contention resolution message 504-2 . . . 504-K to the base station 500. Depending on a monitoring technique that may be implemented to enable the UE 502 to determine if the base station 500 has successfully decoded the initial contention resolution message 504-1, the UE 502 may send any number from zero through K of the repetitions of the contention resolution message 504-2 . . . 504-K).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Jeon and Khan and Wang include wherein the processor is configured to transmit the first message in response to the received message when the device determines the first message transmission maximum has not been reached, as suggested by Bae. This modification would benefit the system to reduce network resource waste.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461