DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “firmly” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “firmly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The same issue arises mutatis mutandis with the term ‘approximately’ in claim(s) 3. Particular to claim(s) 3, the scope of the claim(s) cannot be wholly determined as the claim encompasses an ‘approximate’ range.
Claim(s) 2-10 is/are rejected due to its/their dependence on claim(s) 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Birnboim (US 20130116596 A1).
For claim 1, Birnboim teaches A method of collecting DNA from a human
subject, [entire disclosure see esp. ¶77] the method comprising:
obtaining a collection device comprising an elongate arm and a swab head disposed at a distal end of the elongate arm, the swab head comprising a plurality of bristles disposed on a surface of the swab head; [Fig(s). 1]
exposing the swab head of the collection device by removing the collection device from a first sealed container; [Fig(s). 36 steps 1-2]
inserting the swab head within an orifice of the human subject, [Fig(s). 36 steps 8-9 in view of ¶77]
wherein the plurality of bristles is oriented toward a collection site within the orifice; [¶¶82-83]
firmly moving the swab head over the collection site; [Fig(s). 36 steps 8-9 ¶112]
removing the swab head from the orifice; [Fig(s). 36 steps 9-10]
and placing the collection device in a second sealed container. [Fig(s). 36 steps 11-12]
For claim 2, Birnboim teaches The method of claim 1,
wherein the orifice is a mouth, the collection site is an internal surface of a cheek. [Fig(s). 36 steps 9-10 ¶¶82-83]
For claim 3, Birnboim teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of aerating the swab for approximately 30 seconds prior to inserting in the second sealed container. [see § 112b rejection — consider at least aeration that occurs as part of steps 9-11 in Fig(s). 36]
For claim 4, Birnboim teaches A method of extracting DNA from a collection device, the method comprising:
obtaining a test sample from a subject, [Fig(s). 36 steps 8-9 in view of ¶77]
wherein the test sample is disposed on a collection device comprising an elongate arm and a swab head disposed at a distal end of the elongate arm, the swab head comprising a plurality of bristles for extracting and holding the test sample; [Fig(s). 1]
exposing the test sample; [Fig(s). 36 steps 9-10]
positioning the collection device relative to a collection receptacle; and transferring the test sample to the collection receptacle. [Fig(s). 36 steps 9-11]
For claim 5, Birnboim teaches The method of claim 4,
wherein the collection receptacle is a well plate comprising at least one or more wells. [¶119]
For claim 6, Birnboim teaches The method of claim 5,
wherein positioning the collection device comprises positioning the collection device relative to the well plate, such that at least a portion of the plurality of bristles holding the test sample are aligned with the at least one or more wells of the well plate. [Fig(s). 36 steps 9-12 in view of ¶119]
For claim 7, Birnboim teaches The method of claim 6,
wherein transferring the test sample comprises inserting at least a portion of the plurality of bristles into the at least one or more wells of the well plate. [Fig(s). 36 steps 9-12 in view of ¶119]
For claim 8, Birnboim teaches The method of claim 4,
wherein exposing the test sample comprises removing the collection device from a sealed container. [Fig(s). 36 steps 1-2]
For claim 9, Birnboim teaches The method of claim 4, further comprising a step of assaying the test sample. [¶88 ¶116]
For claim 10, Birnboim teaches The method of claim 9,
wherein the step of assaying the test samples comprises performing one or more genetic test measurements to generate genotyping data. [¶88 ¶116]
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791