DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lai et al. (US 2025/0393076 A1).
Consider claim 1, Lai teaches an energy harvesting electronic device ([0049]) or an ambient Internet of Things (AIoT) device ([0005] and [0062]), comprising: an energy storage device configured to store energy harvested by the energy harvesting electronic device ([0049] and [0098]); memory for storing instructions ([0032], [0198] – [0202]); and a processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the energy harvesting electronic device to ([0198] – [0202]): receive a message on a physical random downlink control channel (PRDCH), wherein the message includes any combination of a paging identification (ID), a reader ID, a paging re-transmission counter, and a type of random access, for random access paging ([0062] – [0063] and [0103] – [0113]); determine that the message is a retransmission of an ongoing paging process for a two-step random access procedure ([0079] – [0086]), and that a first message was transmitted in response to a previous message ([0079] – [0086]); and determine whether a second message is supported by the two-step random access procedure ([0067], [0114], [0124] – [0158]).
Consider claim 2, Lai teaches the processor is configured to determine whether a first message valid timer has expired when the device determines the second message is not supported by the two-step random access procedure ([0089] – [0092]).
Consider claim 3, Lai teaches the processor is configured to transmit the first message following the received message when the device determines the first message valid timer has expired (Upon the expiry/expiration of the first timer (at the reader), the reader may perform a R2D retransmission. [0089] – [0092]).
Consider claim 4, Lai teaches the processor is configured to not transmit the first message and to ignore the retransmission of the message when the device determines the first message valid timer has not expired (The R2D transmission and/or the corresponding D2R transmission may not be considered failed (or not successful) when the first timer is running. [0089] – [0092]).
Consider claim 5, Lai teaches the processor is configured to determine whether the second message has been received when the device determines the second message is supported by the two-step random access procedure (for a 2-step contention based access procedure, the reader may send an initial trigger message (e.g., Msg0). The device may send a D2R message (e.g., Msg1) including (at least) an ID and/or other upper layer data. The reader may (at least) echo the ID (received in Msg1) after (or in response to) receiving the D2R message (e.g., Msg1), via transmitting an R2D message (e.g., Msg2). That is, the device may consider the transmission/reception/contention resolution successful if (at least) the R2D message (e.g., Msg2) includes/indicates the same ID in the D2R message (e.g., Msg1). [0067]. The R2D message may be transmitted via one or more R2D transmissions. The device may be considered to be successful in transmission/reception/contention resolution if (at least) the ID (provided in the (first) D2R transmission) is included in the R2D message (associated with the selected D2R (time/frequency) resource). The device(s) may be considered to fail in transmission/reception/contention resolution if (at least) the ID (provided in the (first) D2R transmission) is not included in the R2D message (associated with the selected D2R (time/frequency) resource). [0075]).
Consider claim 6, Lai teaches the processor is configured to not retransmit the first message and to ignore the retransmission of the message when the device determines the second message has been received (the device receiving the Msg2 (indicating corresponding (ID) of the device in Msg1) may be considered as successful in the transmission/reception/contention resolution. The device receiving the Msg2 (indicating corresponding ID of the device in Msg1) may perform another D2R transmission (e.g., Msg3) corresponding to the R2D transmission (e.g., Msg2). Other devices not receiving the Msg2 (indicating a corresponding ID of the device in Msg1) may be considered as failed/unsuccessful in the transmission/reception/contention resolution. Other device(s) receiving the Msg2 without indicating a corresponding ID of the other device(s) may be considered as failed/unsuccessful in the transmission/reception/contention resolution. The failed devices (i.e., failed/unsuccessful in the transmission/reception/contention resolution, or not indicated in the corresponding Msg2), other than the successful device, may not perform the consequent D2R transmission (e.g., Msg3) and/or R2D reception (e.g., Msg4) (e.g., in the same (or current) access procedure). The reader does not realize the total number of failed device(s) and/or the corresponding device ID(s) of the failed device(s). The failed devices may still need to perform the access procedure by performing a D2R retransmission (e.g., Msg1 (re)transmission). However, the resource(s) for the D2R retransmission is not provided (or indicated). There is an issue on how the failed device(s) acquire resources for performing the D2R retransmissions. [0063]. See also [0067], [0075], [0089] – [0092]).
Consider claim 7, Lai teaches the processor is configured to determine whether a second message response timer has expired when the device determines the second message has not been received ([0089] – [0092]).
Consider claim 8, Lai teaches the processor is configured to transmit the first message following the received message when the device determines the second message response timer has expired ([0089] – [0092]).
Consider claim 9, Lai teaches the processor is configured to not transmit the first message and to ignore the retransmission of the message when the device determines the second message response timer has not expired ([0089] – [0092]).
Consider claim 10, claim 10 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486