DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quan et al (US 2013/0230059, “Quan”).
Re claims 1 and 8, Quan discloses sending/receiving a plurality of first data packets from/to a first device/second device (figure 8, step 805), wherein the first device and the second device perform short-range wireless communication; and receiving/sending a second data packet from/to the first device/second device (figure 8, step 809), wherein a first field in the second data packet comprises a plurality of indications indicating whether the plurality of first data packets are successfully received (figure 8, steps 813 and 817).
Re claim 15, Quan discloses a second device generating a data frame, wherein a plurality of bits in a first field in the data frame indicate whether a plurality of first data packets from a first device are successfully received (paragraph [0098]); and sending the data frame to the first device (figure 9, step 909).
Re claims 2 and 9, Quan discloses the first field comprises at least one indication indicating that at least one first data packet of the plurality of first data packets is not successfully received and sending/receiving a plurality of third data packets to the second device, wherein a quantity of the plurality of third data packets is equal to a quantity of the plurality of first data packets, and the plurality of third data packets comprise the at least one first data packet (paragraph [0093]).
Re claims 3 and 10, Quan discloses determining the quantity of the plurality of first data packets through negotiation with the second device (paragraph [0008], block acknowledgement policy are negotiated between the transmitter and the receiver).
Re claims 4, 11 and 16, Quan discloses the first field is in a header of the second data packet, and the quantity of the plurality of first data packets is less than or equal to a quantity of bits of the first field (figure 7b; paragraph [0086]).
Re claims 5 and 12, Quan discloses a second field in the second data packet is used to carry data sent by the second device to the first device (figure 7b, element 705), or the second field in the second data packet is empty.
Re claims 6 and 13, Quan discloses implicitly receiving/sending at least one fourth data packet from the second device, wherein a first field in the at least one fourth data packet comprises the same indications as those in the first field in the second data packet ((figure 7b; paragraph [0086]).
Re claim 17, Quan discloses the data frame further comprises a second field, the second field has a preset second quantity of bits, the second field comprises a payload header field and a payload body field, and a sequence number field in the payload header field indicates a sequence number of data in the payload body field (figure 7b; paragraph [0085]).
Re claim 18, Quan discloses the data frame further comprises at least one of an access code field, a guard field, a synchronization field, and a trailer field (figure 7b; paragraph [0086]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan in view of Rikkinen et al (US 2015/0043456, “Rikkinen”).
Re claims 7 and 14, Quan discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose continuously sending the plurality of first data packets in a frequency hopping manner. However, Rikkinen discloses transmitting data continuously in a frequency hopping way (paragraph [0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Quan with Rikkinen for the benefit of improving security and reliable data communication by applying a known technique to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467