DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 9-14, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanzer et al. (Tanzer et al.,"Can bioenergy with carbon capture and storage result in carbon negative steel? 100:15, International Journal of Greenhouse Gas Control (publication date: July 24, 2020), as cited in the IDS dated 7/31/2023, hereinafter “Tanzer.”
Regarding claim 1, Tanzer discloses of a carbon-negative metal product (abstract: "This paper explores the potential of achieving negative emissions in steelmaking routes, including blast furnace and Hisarna smelt reduction, and Midrex and ULCORED direct reduction") that is characterized by a carbon intensity less than O kg CO2e per metric ton of the carbon-negative metal product (page 13 col 2 para 4: "Aggressive deployment of both bioenergy and CCS in the high BECC case resulted in estimates of... slightly negative net CO2 (-0.2 to -0.5 t CO2/t HRC) for Hisarna-BOF, Midrex DRI-EAF, and ULCORED DRI-EAF"; see table 10, Midrex DRI-EAF has a carbon intensity of- 0.5 tons of CO2e, this is about -453.59 kg CO2e per ton of steel), wherein the carbon-negative metal product contains from about 50 wt% to about 100 wt% of one or more metals and optionally one or more alloying elements (abstract: "This paper explores the potential of achieving negative emissions in steelmaking ... "; page 12 col 1 para 5: "The base model assumed the production of unalloyed carbon steel"; carbon steel is an iron-based alloy that can comprise from about 0.05 up to 2.1 percent by weight C (alloying element), if unalloyed the metal product would comprise about 97.9 to 99.95% Fe).
Regarding claim 2, Tanzer further discloses of the carbon-negative metal product of claim 1, wherein the carbon intensity is less than about -100 kg CO2e, -200 kg CO2e, -300 kg CO2e, or -400 kg CO2e per metric ton of the carbon-negative metal product (page 13 col 2 para 4: "Aggressive deployment of both bioenergy and CCS in the high BECC case resulted in estimates of... slightly negative net CO2 (-0.2 to -0.5 t CO2/t HRC) for Hisarna-BOF, Midrex DRI-EAF, and ULCORED DRI-EAF"; see table 10, Midrex DRI-EAF has a carbon intensity of-0.5 tons of CO2e, this is about-453.59 kg CO2e per ton of steel).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 9-13, Tanzer teaches "The base model assumed the production of unalloyed carbon steel" (Abstract, page 12 col 1 para 5) Note that carbon steel is an iron-based alloy that can comprise from about 0.05 up to 2.1 percent by weight C (alloying element), if unalloyed the metal product would comprise about 97.9 to 99.95% Fe. Note that 0.05-2.1 wt.% carbon overlaps with the range recited in claim 9. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Regarding claims 12-13, a carbon range of about 0.05 up to 2.1 percent weight C overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 1-10% C and is thus considered to overlap equilibrium and non-equilibrium concentrations when calculated at 25°C and 1 bar.
Regarding claim 14, Tanzer teaches wherein the carbon is derived from biomass characterized by a negative net CO2 (Abstract, pp. 1-4), which reads on derived from a carbon-negative carbon product that is characterized by a carbon-product carbon intensity less than 0 Kg CO2e per metric ton of the carbon-negative carbon product.
Regarding claim 25, Tanzer teaches that the carbon-negative metal product may be in a form of a coil (Fig. 2, p. 3).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 7, 10-11, and 15-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,851,723. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,851,723 discloses a carbon-negative metal product with the same or overlapping features as that recited in the instant claims 1-2, 7, 10-11, and 15-24.
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, 15-17, 19, 21, 23, and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,655,487. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,655,487 discloses a carbon-negative metal product with the same or overlapping features as that recited in the instant claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, 15-17, 19, 21, 23, and 25.
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, and 15-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,398,435. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,398,435 discloses a carbon-negative metal product with the same or overlapping features as that recited in the instant claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, and 15-24.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734