DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the arguments on pages 6-7, it is stated that “From the above disclosure of Li, it can be clearly seen that the triangle flag is used to indicate whether the current coding unit uses the triangle mode. That means, the triangle_flag of Li is an enablement flag for the triangle mode. However, the triangle mode (i.e., the triangle prediction unit mode) disclosed in Li is used to predict CU by splitting the CU into two triangular prediction units. This predicting process has nothing to do with "adjustment of samples of the current video block" as recited in claim 1. Therefore, the triangle flag used to indicate whether the current coding unit uses triangle mode, as disclosed by Li, is totally different from "a syntax element associated with adjustment of samples of the current video block' as recited in claim 1.
However, the examiner disagrees and asserts that Li’s teaching of a triangle mode teaches the adjustment of samples of the current block. If a unit is coded using triangle mode, the current block is divided (adjustment of samples) into triangles [88,94,113,125-126]. In contrast, if the block is not coded in triangle mode, the current coding units would by remain as square units.
Therefore, the rejection, as set forth in the previous office action, stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,4,5,6,7,8,16,17,18,19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Li US 20200154101.
Regarding claim 1, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
A method for video processing, comprising:
performing a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video (i.e. encoder converts video into a bitstream) [38,49;],
wherein a syntax element associated with adjustment of samples of the current video block is coded with a bypass mode or a context model (i.e. triangle flag used to signal context model) [88,94,113,125-126].
Regarding claim 2, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the adjustment comprises at least one of the following: reordering the samples, flipping the samples, shifting the samples, rotating the samples, or transforming the samples (i.e. coding order can be signaled and samples can be shifted) [116,140-142].
Regarding claim 4, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the context model is determined based on at least one neighboring video block of the current video block (i.e. context model can be chosen based on statistics of neighboring coding information) [113].
Regarding claim 5, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 4, wherein the context model is determined based on coding information of the at least one neighboring video block (i.e. context model can be chosen based on statistics of neighboring coding information) [113].
Regarding claim 6, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 4, wherein the at least one neighboring video block comprises at least one of the following: an above neighboring video block of the current video block, a left neighboring video block of the current video block, an above-right neighboring video block of the current video block, or a left-bottom neighboring video block of the current video block (i.e. context model can be chosen based on statistics of above and left neighboring coding information) [113].
Regarding claim 7, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein an index of the context model is determined based on coding information of an above neighboring video block of the current video block and coding information of a left neighboring video block of the current video block (i.e. context model can be chosen based on statistics of above and left neighboring coding information and this determines the index) [113].
Regarding claim 8, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 5, wherein the coding information comprises at least one of the following: an availability, a prediction mode, a prediction scheme, or a scheme for adjusting samples (i.e. context model of neighboring blocks would be part of the prediction scheme) [113].
Regarding claim 16, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream (i.e. encoder encodes the video into a bitstream) [58; fig. 4].
Regarding claim 17, Li meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream (i.e. decoder decodes the bitstream into a video) [86; fig 6].
Claim 18 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim 19 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2021/0227222) (hereinafter Lee).
In regard to claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored therein a bitstream generated by acts. Significantly, the claimed non-transitory computer readable medium is NOT implementing any actual method; no instructions/steps are being executed. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data output from and/or generated by a series of acts. In other words, these claims are directed to a mere machine-readable medium storing data content (a bitstream generated by a method).
Applicant therefore seeks to patent the storage of a bitstream in the abstract. In other words, the claim seeks to patent the content of the information (bitstream comprising video information) and not the process itself. Moreover, this stored bitstream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data as there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and the storage medium. In conclusion, claim 13 and any claims depending therefrom are directed to mere data content (bitstream generated by a series of acts) stored as a bitstream on a computer-readable storage medium. Under MPEP 2111.05(III), such claims are merely machine-readable media. Furthermore, the Examiner found and continues to find that there is no disclosed or claimed functional relationship between the stored data and medium. Instead, the medium is merely a support or carrier for the data being stored. Therefore, the data stored and the way such data is generated should not be given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.05 applying In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d 1031, 1035 (Fed. Cir. 1994) and In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (Fed. Cir. 2004). As such, this claim is subject to a prior art rejection based on any non-transitory computer readable medium known before the earliest effective filing date of the present application. Therefore, claim 20 is anticipated by Lee, as Lee discloses a computer readable medium storing a coded bitstream. Lee discloses:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein a bitstream comprising video information generated by acts [¶0024; computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream generated by a video coding method] comprising:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Huang US 20210314598.
Regarding claim 3, Li do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the syntax element indicates at least one of the following: whether the samples of the current video block are adjusted, or how to adjust the samples of the current video block
However, in the same field of endeavor Huang discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the syntax element indicates at least one of the following: whether the samples of the current video block are adjusted, or how to adjust the samples of the current video block (i.e. syntax elements specify max number of subblocks) [135; fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Li with Huang to have the syntax element indicate at least one of the following: whether the samples of the current video block are adjusted, or how to adjust the samples of the current video block.
It would be advantageous because "it may be desirable to limit a number of candidates included in the list of subblock based merge candidates.” [5].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Li with Huang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Claim(s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kang US 20210266531.
Regarding claim 9, Li do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein if samples of a further video block of the video different from the current video block are disallowed to be adjusted, a further syntax element associated with adjustment of the samples of the further video block is not indicated in the bitstream for the further video block, or if the samples of the further video block are allowed to be adjusted, the further syntax element is indicated in the bitstream for the further video block
However, in the same field of endeavor Kang discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein if samples of a further video block of the video different from the current video block are disallowed to be adjusted, a further syntax element associated with adjustment of the samples of the further video block is not indicated in the bitstream for the further video block, or if the samples of the further video block are allowed to be adjusted, the further syntax element is indicated in the bitstream for the further video block (i.e. Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a technique for signaling of high-level syntaxes for controlling on/off of various tools described above. The above-described affine motion prediction, sample-by-sample adjustment for affine motion prediction samples, adaptive motion vector resolution, and illumination compensation are coding tools used to improve the video encoding efficiency. However, for specific content such as, for example, screen content, the aforementioned various coding tools may not contribute to improving compression performance. Accordingly, a coding unit based signaling of whether to apply each coding tool or a coding unit based decision of whether to apply each coding tool may rather degrade coding efficiency or increase computational complexity. The present disclosure provides a signaling technique for efficiently controlling the above-described coding tools.) [199,204].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Li with Kang to have the following: if samples of a further video block of the video different from the current video block are disallowed to be adjusted, a further syntax element associated with adjustment of the samples of the further video block is not indicated in the bitstream for the further video block, or if the samples of the further video block are allowed to be adjusted, the further syntax element is indicated in the bitstream for the further video block
It would be advantageous because "The present disclosure provides a signaling technique for efficiently controlling the above-described coding tools.” [199].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Li with Kang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Kang meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, wherein coding information of the current video block is stored for coding a target video block of the video different from the current video block (i.e. coding information from a neighboring block is used to decode a current block.) [47].
Regarding claim 11, Kang meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 10, wherein the current video block is neighboring to the target video block, or wherein the current video block is adjacent to the target video block, or wherein the current video block is at a left side of the target video block, or the current video block is at a top side of the target video block, or the current video block is at a top-right side of the target video block, or the current video block is at a left-bottom side of the target video block, or wherein the current video block is non-adjacent to the target video block (i.e. context model can be chosen based on statistics of above and left neighboring coding information. This would be done for the current block as well and would be used for blocks that are coded later. If the blocks are processed in a normal order, either the top or left block would be the previously coded block to the current block. Fig. 8 shows an example where the neighboring blocks are to the left or top of the current block.) [113; fig. 8].
Regarding claim 12, Kang meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 10, wherein the target video block is coded with samples of the target video block being adjusted, or wherein the target video block is coded without samples of the target video block being adjusted, or wherein the current video block is coded with the samples of the current video block being adjusted, or wherein the current video block is coded without the samples of the current video block being adjusted (i.e. Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a technique for signaling of high-level syntaxes for controlling on/off of various tools described above. The above-described affine motion prediction, sample-by-sample adjustment for affine motion prediction samples, adaptive motion vector resolution, and illumination compensation are coding tools used to improve the video encoding efficiency. However, for specific content such as, for example, screen content, the aforementioned various coding tools may not contribute to improving compression performance. Accordingly, a coding unit based signaling of whether to apply each coding tool or a coding unit based decision of whether to apply each coding tool may rather degrade coding efficiency or increase computational complexity. The present disclosure provides a signaling technique for efficiently controlling the above-described coding tools.) [199,204].
Regarding claim 13, Kang meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 10, wherein the coding information of the current video block comprises at least one of the following: a dimension of the current video block, a width of the current video block, a height of the current video block, a coordinate of a top-left position of the current video block, a coordinate of a center position of the current video block, information regarding whether the samples of the current video block are adjusted, information regarding how to adjust the samples of the current video block, or motion information for the current video block (i.e. Another aspect of the present disclosure relates to a technique for signaling of high-level syntaxes for controlling on/off of various tools described above. The above-described affine motion prediction, sample-by-sample adjustment for affine motion prediction samples, adaptive motion vector resolution, and illumination compensation are coding tools used to improve the video encoding efficiency. However, for specific content such as, for example, screen content, the aforementioned various coding tools may not contribute to improving compression performance. Accordingly, a coding unit based signaling of whether to apply each coding tool or a coding unit based decision of whether to apply each coding tool may rather degrade coding efficiency or increase computational complexity. The present disclosure provides a signaling technique for efficiently controlling the above-described coding tools.) [199,204].
Regarding claim 14, Kang meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 13, wherein the motion information comprises at least one of the following: a motion vector for the current video block, a block vector for the current video block, or a reference index for the current video block (i.e. reference index used for coding and decoding) [69].
Regarding claim 15, Kang meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 10, wherein the coding information of the current video block is stored in at least one buffer, or wherein the coding information of the current video block is stored in a history motion vector table (i.e. buffer stores the video sequence which would contain coding information) [66].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Jared Walker/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426