DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 06/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacaux (US20220094297) in view of Snyder (US20230373457) further in view of Zhang (US20220131203).
Claim 1:
Lacaux explicitly teaches:
A propulsion system for an aircraft, the propulsion system comprising: a battery including a plurality of battery cells;
(Lacaux) – “The subject matter disclosed in some detail below is directed to a fault-tolerant power system architecture for aircraft electric propulsion. More specifically, systems and methods for protecting an airplane electric propulsion motor drive system are disclosed.” (Para 0006)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
a battery management system including a plurality of temperature sensors, each temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors disposed at a respective battery cell of the plurality of battery cells; and
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
a controller including a first control channel, the first control channel including a first processor connected in signal communication with a non-transitory first memory storing instructions which, when executed by the first processor, cause the first processor to:
(Lacaux) – “FIG. 2 is a diagram showing a propulsor 2′ in which the motor controller 50 has two channels 46a and 46b. Channel 46a receives DC power generated by a first battery 18a via a first power distribution board 20a and a first HVDC bus 4a, whereas channel 46b receives DC power generated by a second battery 18b via a second power distribution board 20b and a second HVDC bus 4b. The first and second batteries 18a and 18b are managed and protected by respective battery management systems 22a and 22b.” (Para 0058)
“In some implementations, the motor controller 50 has multiple channels for providing AC current to respective sets of stator windings in the AC motor 30. Each channel of the motor controller 50 comprises a respective inverter (not shown in FIG. 1) having a set of power switches and an inverter controller (not shown in FIG. 1) which controls the states of the power switches. The power switches are connected to the stator windings of AC motor 30. The motor controller 50 further includes a multiplicity of pairs of sensors (not shown in FIG. 1) which measure the voltages and currents of the AC power signals output by the inverters, which sensor data is fed back to the respective inverter controllers.” (Para 0051)
“The electric propulsion controller and engine control unit (a.k.a. engine controller) disclosed herein may be implemented using hardware or hardware in combination with software. For example, a controller may be implemented using configurable hardware, a programmable device, or both. Configurable hardware may comprise hardware that is configurable to perform one or more functions of the controller. A programmable device may comprise any device that is programmable to implement one or more functions of the controller. For example, without limitation, the programmable device may comprise a central processing unit, a microprocessor, or a digital signal processor. The programmable device may be configured to run software or firmware in the form of program instructions to implement one or more functions of the controller. Program instructions may be stored in any appropriate non-transitory tangible computer-readable storage medium for execution by, or transfer to, the programmable device.” (Para 0118)
monitor a temperature of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells measured using the plurality of temperature sensors;
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
[execute a model trained to] identify a faulted condition or an unfaulted condition of each temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors using one or more operating parameters of the propulsion system; and
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
identify the faulted condition or the unfaulted condition of a first temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors [using the model to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range, wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor].
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Lacaux does not explicitly teach:
execute a model trained to…using the model to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range, wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor
Snyder, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle diagnostics, teaches:
execute a model trained to…using the model to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range
(Snyder) – “Other thermal models may be associated with battery cells in a battery stack, fuel cells, pantographs, or the like, of a powered system having a temperature that is warmer than expected. A thermal signature that matches such a model may indicate that the battery cell or fuel cell is in an abnormal operating state, that a motor that raises or lowers the pantograph may be malfunctioning, or the like. In such a system, a check may be run against an operating state of a battery stack (or a compartment holding the same), if not in use, the expected temperature may be about ambient. If recently used, or currently being charged, the battery compartment may have a temperature that is elevated relative to ambient. If the batteries are overcharging or if there is a thermal runaway, or the like, the battery compartment may be at a temperature that is higher than ambient (naturally) and also higher than the expected normal operating temperature associated with the batteries' current states (are they in charging mode and the normal temperature associated with that, or are they in discharge mode and the normal temperature associated with that).” (Para 0058)
“The diagnostic controller may include a policy engine that may apply one or more policies. These policies may be based at least in part on characteristics of a given item of equipment or environment. With respect to control policies, a neural network can receive input of a number of environmental and task-related parameters. These parameters may include an identification of a condition of a diagnosed component and/or a cause of the condition, thermal data from thermal sensors, etc. The neural network can be trained to generate an output based on these inputs, with the output representing the diagnosed component, cause, and/or an action or sequence of actions to be implemented in response thereto.” (Para 0049)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protection system of Lacaux with the diagnostic system of Snyder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “diagnose and/or predict a condition of components of powered systems” (Snyder Para 0002)
Snyder does not explicitly teach:
wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle diagnostics, teaches:
wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor
(Zhang) – “The following embodiments are to provide a mechanism for determining a sensor fault based on battery highest and lowest temperature trends, and a temperature difference. This mechanism is capable of determining a status of a sensor nearly in real time.” (Para 0038)
“In this application, the stable working condition does not need to meet specified duration, provided that the status of the sensor can be determined based on analysis of data in the stable working condition. In a case that the stable working condition is a single working condition, the vehicle driving condition may be any time period in a process from the start to the end of a vehicle trip, or a constant-speed or approximately constant-speed process in the vehicle trip. In a constant-speed cruise process, battery temperature is more stable, which facilitates determining of a status of a sensor. A fault may occur when values measured by the sensor change drastically. In addition, the vehicle charging condition as the stable working condition is any time period in a process from the start to the end of vehicle charging, or may be the end stage of the charging process. This stage is “trickle” charging, and battery temperature is relatively stable, which facilitates determining of a status of a sensor.” (Para 0043)
“According to the method for determining a status of a battery temperature sensor, the status of the temperature sensor is determined based on the highest temperature reading trend, the lowest temperature reading trend, and the largest temperature reading difference in step S13. As described above, the highest temperature reading trend, the lowest temperature reading trend, and the largest temperature reading difference may be used as indexes for evaluating whether the sensor is anomalous. In this application, whether the temperature sensor is anomalous is determined based on all of the highest temperature reading trend, the lowest temperature reading trend, and the largest temperature reading difference.” (Para 0048)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protection system of Lacaux with the method for determining a status of a battery temperature sensor of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “troubleshooting problems in time and eliminating potential safety hazards in use of electric vehicle batteries.” (Zhang Para 0005)
Claim 2:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux further teaches:
wherein the controller is configured for single channel monitoring, with the first control channel, of the temperature of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells measured using the plurality of temperature sensors.
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
Examiner Note: Fig. 1 shows that one channel operation is possible with Lacaux as contrasted with the two-channel variation shown in Fig. 2.
Claim 3:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux further teaches:
wherein the operating parameters include one or more of a charge current of the battery, a discharge current of the battery, a voltage of the battery, a state of charge of the battery, or an average temperature of the plurality of battery cells.
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
Claim 4:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Snyder further teaches:
wherein the operating parameters include one or more of an air speed, an altitude, an ambient air temperature, or a power output of the propulsion system.
(Snyder) – “The diagnostic controller may examine one or more inputs in addition to thermal measurements to identify or predict abnormal operating components. For example, the diagnostic controller may collect or obtain acoustic measurements (e.g., detected sounds), electric signals (e.g., eddy currents, changes in current or voltage, etc.), on-board operating parameters (e.g., speed, horsepower, voltage and current, speed sensor inputs, terrain, weather or ambient conditions, accelerations, input from wayside monitoring devices or systems, etc.), or the like. Different combinations of these inputs can be used in conjunction with the thermal signature to diagnose or predict a condition of one or more components.” (Para 0060)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protection system of Lacaux with the diagnostic system of Snyder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “diagnose and/or predict a condition of components of powered systems” (Snyder Para 0002)
Claim 5:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Snyder further teaches:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the first processor, further cause the first processor to train the model using the temperature of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells measured using the plurality of temperature sensors.
(Snyder) – “Other thermal models may be associated with battery cells in a battery stack, fuel cells, pantographs, or the like, of a powered system having a temperature that is warmer than expected. A thermal signature that matches such a model may indicate that the battery cell or fuel cell is in an abnormal operating state, that a motor that raises or lowers the pantograph may be malfunctioning, or the like. In such a system, a check may be run against an operating state of a battery stack (or a compartment holding the same), if not in use, the expected temperature may be about ambient. If recently used, or currently being charged, the battery compartment may have a temperature that is elevated relative to ambient. If the batteries are overcharging or if there is a thermal runaway, or the like, the battery compartment may be at a temperature that is higher than ambient (naturally) and also higher than the expected normal operating temperature associated with the batteries' current states (are they in charging mode and the normal temperature associated with that, or are they in discharge mode and the normal temperature associated with that).” (Para 0058)
“The diagnostic controller may include a policy engine that may apply one or more policies. These policies may be based at least in part on characteristics of a given item of equipment or environment. With respect to control policies, a neural network can receive input of a number of environmental and task-related parameters. These parameters may include an identification of a condition of a diagnosed component and/or a cause of the condition, thermal data from thermal sensors, etc. The neural network can be trained to generate an output based on these inputs, with the output representing the diagnosed component, cause, and/or an action or sequence of actions to be implemented in response thereto.” (Para 0049)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protection system of Lacaux with the diagnostic system of Snyder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “diagnose and/or predict a condition of components of powered systems” (Snyder Para 0002)
Claim 6:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Snyder further teaches:
wherein the plurality of temperature sensors includes a plurality of first temperature sensors and a plurality of second temperature sensors, each temperature sensor of the plurality of first temperature sensors has a first temperature sensor configuration, each temperature sensor of the plurality of second temperature sensors has a second temperature sensor configuration, and the second temperature sensor configuration is different than the first temperature sensor configuration.
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
Examiner Note: The recitation of the term configuration is significantly broad. Any difference in configuration may read upon this term including simple difference of location. Therefore sensors of different modules correspond with having different configurations.
Claim 7:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Snyder further teaches:
wherein the controller further includes a second control channel, the second control channel including a second processor connected in signal communication with a non-transitory second memory storing instructions which, when executed by the second processor, cause the second processor to:
(Lacaux) – “FIG. 2 is a diagram showing a propulsor 2′ in which the motor controller 50 has two channels 46a and 46b. Channel 46a receives DC power generated by a first battery 18a via a first power distribution board 20a and a first HVDC bus 4a, whereas channel 46b receives DC power generated by a second battery 18b via a second power distribution board 20b and a second HVDC bus 4b. The first and second batteries 18a and 18b are managed and protected by respective battery management systems 22a and 22b.” (Para 0058)
“In some implementations, the motor controller 50 has multiple channels for providing AC current to respective sets of stator windings in the AC motor 30. Each channel of the motor controller 50 comprises a respective inverter (not shown in FIG. 1) having a set of power switches and an inverter controller (not shown in FIG. 1) which controls the states of the power switches. The power switches are connected to the stator windings of AC motor 30. The motor controller 50 further includes a multiplicity of pairs of sensors (not shown in FIG. 1) which measure the voltages and currents of the AC power signals output by the inverters, which sensor data is fed back to the respective inverter controllers.” (Para 0051)
“The electric propulsion controller and engine control unit (a.k.a. engine controller) disclosed herein may be implemented using hardware or hardware in combination with software. For example, a controller may be implemented using configurable hardware, a programmable device, or both. Configurable hardware may comprise hardware that is configurable to perform one or more functions of the controller. A programmable device may comprise any device that is programmable to implement one or more functions of the controller. For example, without limitation, the programmable device may comprise a central processing unit, a microprocessor, or a digital signal processor. The programmable device may be configured to run software or firmware in the form of program instructions to implement one or more functions of the controller. Program instructions may be stored in any appropriate non-transitory tangible computer-readable storage medium for execution by, or transfer to, the programmable device.” (Para 0118)
monitor the temperature of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells measured using the plurality of temperature sensors;
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
[execute the model trained to] identify the faulted condition or the unfaulted condition of each of the temperature sensors using one or more operating parameters of the propulsion system; and
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
identify the faulted condition or the unfaulted condition of the first temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors [using the model to determine the expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where the first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range].
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Lacaux does not explicitly teach:
execute a model trained to…using the model to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range
Snyder, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle diagnostics, teaches:
execute a model trained to…using the model to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range
(Snyder) – “Other thermal models may be associated with battery cells in a battery stack, fuel cells, pantographs, or the like, of a powered system having a temperature that is warmer than expected. A thermal signature that matches such a model may indicate that the battery cell or fuel cell is in an abnormal operating state, that a motor that raises or lowers the pantograph may be malfunctioning, or the like. In such a system, a check may be run against an operating state of a battery stack (or a compartment holding the same), if not in use, the expected temperature may be about ambient. If recently used, or currently being charged, the battery compartment may have a temperature that is elevated relative to ambient. If the batteries are overcharging or if there is a thermal runaway, or the like, the battery compartment may be at a temperature that is higher than ambient (naturally) and also higher than the expected normal operating temperature associated with the batteries' current states (are they in charging mode and the normal temperature associated with that, or are they in discharge mode and the normal temperature associated with that).” (Para 0058)
“The diagnostic controller may include a policy engine that may apply one or more policies. These policies may be based at least in part on characteristics of a given item of equipment or environment. With respect to control policies, a neural network can receive input of a number of environmental and task-related parameters. These parameters may include an identification of a condition of a diagnosed component and/or a cause of the condition, thermal data from thermal sensors, etc. The neural network can be trained to generate an output based on these inputs, with the output representing the diagnosed component, cause, and/or an action or sequence of actions to be implemented in response thereto.” (Para 0049)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protection system of Lacaux with the diagnostic system of Snyder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “diagnose and/or predict a condition of components of powered systems” (Snyder Para 0002)
Claim 8:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 7 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux further teaches:
wherein the first control channel forms a portion of a first control lane, the second control channel forms a portion of a second control lane, and the first control lane is independent of the second control lane.
(Lacaux) – “FIG. 2 is a diagram showing a propulsor 2′ in which the motor controller 50 has two channels 46a and 46b. Channel 46a receives DC power generated by a first battery 18a via a first power distribution board 20a and a first HVDC bus 4a, whereas channel 46b receives DC power generated by a second battery 18b via a second power distribution board 20b and a second HVDC bus 4b. The first and second batteries 18a and 18b are managed and protected by respective battery management systems 22a and 22b.” (Para 0058)
“In some implementations, the motor controller 50 has multiple channels for providing AC current to respective sets of stator windings in the AC motor 30. Each channel of the motor controller 50 comprises a respective inverter (not shown in FIG. 1) having a set of power switches and an inverter controller (not shown in FIG. 1) which controls the states of the power switches. The power switches are connected to the stator windings of AC motor 30. The motor controller 50 further includes a multiplicity of pairs of sensors (not shown in FIG. 1) which measure the voltages and currents of the AC power signals output by the inverters, which sensor data is fed back to the respective inverter controllers.” (Para 0051)
Examiner Note: See Fig. 2
Claim 9:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux further teaches:
wherein the temperature of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells is directly measured by only one respective temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors.
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
Claim 11:
Lacaux explicitly teaches:
A method for identifying a faulted condition or an unfaulted condition of a plurality of temperature sensors for a plurality of battery cells of a battery of an aircraft propulsion system, the method comprising
(Lacaux) – “The subject matter disclosed in some detail below is directed to a fault-tolerant power system architecture for aircraft electric propulsion. More specifically, systems and methods for protecting an airplane electric propulsion motor drive system are disclosed.” (Para 0006)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
monitoring a temperature of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells by measuring the temperature of each battery cell with a respective temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors;
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
executing, at a controller, [a model trained to] identify a faulted condition or an unfaulted condition of each of the temperature sensors using one or more operating parameters of the aircraft propulsion system; and
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
“FIG. 2 is a diagram showing a propulsor 2′ in which the motor controller 50 has two channels 46a and 46b. Channel 46a receives DC power generated by a first battery 18a via a first power distribution board 20a and a first HVDC bus 4a, whereas channel 46b receives DC power generated by a second battery 18b via a second power distribution board 20b and a second HVDC bus 4b. The first and second batteries 18a and 18b are managed and protected by respective battery management systems 22a and 22b.” (Para 0058)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
identifying the faulted condition or the unfaulted condition of a first temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors [using the model], at the controller, [to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range, wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor].
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Lacaux does not explicitly teach:
a model trained to…using the model… to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range, wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor
Snyder, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle diagnostics, teaches:
execute a model trained to…using the model… to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range
(Snyder) – “Other thermal models may be associated with battery cells in a battery stack, fuel cells, pantographs, or the like, of a powered system having a temperature that is warmer than expected. A thermal signature that matches such a model may indicate that the battery cell or fuel cell is in an abnormal operating state, that a motor that raises or lowers the pantograph may be malfunctioning, or the like. In such a system, a check may be run against an operating state of a battery stack (or a compartment holding the same), if not in use, the expected temperature may be about ambient. If recently used, or currently being charged, the battery compartment may have a temperature that is elevated relative to ambient. If the batteries are overcharging or if there is a thermal runaway, or the like, the battery compartment may be at a temperature that is higher than ambient (naturally) and also higher than the expected normal operating temperature associated with the batteries' current states (are they in charging mode and the normal temperature associated with that, or are they in discharge mode and the normal temperature associated with that).” (Para 0058)
“The diagnostic controller may include a policy engine that may apply one or more policies. These policies may be based at least in part on characteristics of a given item of equipment or environment. With respect to control policies, a neural network can receive input of a number of environmental and task-related parameters. These parameters may include an identification of a condition of a diagnosed component and/or a cause of the condition, thermal data from thermal sensors, etc. The neural network can be trained to generate an output based on these inputs, with the output representing the diagnosed component, cause, and/or an action or sequence of actions to be implemented in response thereto.” (Para 0049)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protection system of Lacaux with the diagnostic system of Snyder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “diagnose and/or predict a condition of components of powered systems” (Snyder Para 0002)
Snyder does not explicitly teach:
wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle diagnostics, teaches:
wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor
(Zhang) – “The following embodiments are to provide a mechanism for determining a sensor fault based on battery highest and lowest temperature trends, and a temperature difference. This mechanism is capable of determining a status of a sensor nearly in real time.” (Para 0038)
“In this application, the stable working condition does not need to meet specified duration, provided that the status of the sensor can be determined based on analysis of data in the stable working condition. In a case that the stable working condition is a single working condition, the vehicle driving condition may be any time period in a process from the start to the end of a vehicle trip, or a constant-speed or approximately constant-speed process in the vehicle trip. In a constant-speed cruise process, battery temperature is more stable, which facilitates determining of a status of a sensor. A fault may occur when values measured by the sensor change drastically. In addition, the vehicle charging condition as the stable working condition is any time period in a process from the start to the end of vehicle charging, or may be the end stage of the charging process. This stage is “trickle” charging, and battery temperature is relatively stable, which facilitates determining of a status of a sensor.” (Para 0043)
“According to the method for determining a status of a battery temperature sensor, the status of the temperature sensor is determined based on the highest temperature reading trend, the lowest temperature reading trend, and the largest temperature reading difference in step S13. As described above, the highest temperature reading trend, the lowest temperature reading trend, and the largest temperature reading difference may be used as indexes for evaluating whether the sensor is anomalous. In this application, whether the temperature sensor is anomalous is determined based on all of the highest temperature reading trend, the lowest temperature reading trend, and the largest temperature reading difference.” (Para 0048)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protection system of Lacaux with the method for determining a status of a battery temperature sensor of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “troubleshooting problems in time and eliminating potential safety hazards in use of electric vehicle batteries.” (Zhang Para 0005)
Claim 12:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 3
Claim 13:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 4
Claim 14:
Rejected based on the same rationale as Claim 5
Claim 15:
Lacaux explicitly teaches:
A propulsion system for an aircraft, the propulsion system comprising: a battery including a plurality of battery cells;
(Lacaux) – “The subject matter disclosed in some detail below is directed to a fault-tolerant power system architecture for aircraft electric propulsion. More specifically, systems and methods for protecting an airplane electric propulsion motor drive system are disclosed.” (Para 0006)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
a battery management system including a plurality of temperature sensors, the plurality of temperature sensors including a plurality of first temperature sensors and at least one second temperature sensor, each temperature sensor of the plurality of first temperature sensors disposed at a respective battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, the at least one second temperature sensor disposed at the plurality of battery cells; and
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, any combination of the plurality of temperature sensors taught by Lacaux may be considered first or second sensors.
a controller including a first control channel, the first control channel including a first processor connected in signal communication with a non-transitory first memory storing instructions which, when executed by the first processor, cause the first processor to:
(Lacaux) – “FIG. 2 is a diagram showing a propulsor 2′ in which the motor controller 50 has two channels 46a and 46b. Channel 46a receives DC power generated by a first battery 18a via a first power distribution board 20a and a first HVDC bus 4a, whereas channel 46b receives DC power generated by a second battery 18b via a second power distribution board 20b and a second HVDC bus 4b. The first and second batteries 18a and 18b are managed and protected by respective battery management systems 22a and 22b.” (Para 0058)
“In some implementations, the motor controller 50 has multiple channels for providing AC current to respective sets of stator windings in the AC motor 30. Each channel of the motor controller 50 comprises a respective inverter (not shown in FIG. 1) having a set of power switches and an inverter controller (not shown in FIG. 1) which controls the states of the power switches. The power switches are connected to the stator windings of AC motor 30. The motor controller 50 further includes a multiplicity of pairs of sensors (not shown in FIG. 1) which measure the voltages and currents of the AC power signals output by the inverters, which sensor data is fed back to the respective inverter controllers.” (Para 0051)
“The electric propulsion controller and engine control unit (a.k.a. engine controller) disclosed herein may be implemented using hardware or hardware in combination with software. For example, a controller may be implemented using configurable hardware, a programmable device, or both. Configurable hardware may comprise hardware that is configurable to perform one or more functions of the controller. A programmable device may comprise any device that is programmable to implement one or more functions of the controller. For example, without limitation, the programmable device may comprise a central processing unit, a microprocessor, or a digital signal processor. The programmable device may be configured to run software or firmware in the form of program instructions to implement one or more functions of the controller. Program instructions may be stored in any appropriate non-transitory tangible computer-readable storage medium for execution by, or transfer to, the programmable device.” (Para 0118)
monitor a temperature of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells measured using the plurality of temperature sensors;
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
[execute a model trained to] identify a faulted condition or an unfaulted condition of each temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors using one or more operating parameters of the propulsion system; and
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
identify the faulted condition or the unfaulted condition of a first temperature sensor of the plurality of temperature sensors [using the model to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range, wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor].
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Lacaux does not explicitly teach:
execute a model trained to…using the model to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range, wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor
Snyder, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle diagnostics, teaches:
execute a model trained to…using the model to determine an expected temperature range for the first temperature sensor based on the one or more operating parameters, the faulted condition identified where a first temperature measured using the first temperature sensor is outside of the expected temperature range
(Snyder) – “Other thermal models may be associated with battery cells in a battery stack, fuel cells, pantographs, or the like, of a powered system having a temperature that is warmer than expected. A thermal signature that matches such a model may indicate that the battery cell or fuel cell is in an abnormal operating state, that a motor that raises or lowers the pantograph may be malfunctioning, or the like. In such a system, a check may be run against an operating state of a battery stack (or a compartment holding the same), if not in use, the expected temperature may be about ambient. If recently used, or currently being charged, the battery compartment may have a temperature that is elevated relative to ambient. If the batteries are overcharging or if there is a thermal runaway, or the like, the battery compartment may be at a temperature that is higher than ambient (naturally) and also higher than the expected normal operating temperature associated with the batteries' current states (are they in charging mode and the normal temperature associated with that, or are they in discharge mode and the normal temperature associated with that).” (Para 0058)
“The diagnostic controller may include a policy engine that may apply one or more policies. These policies may be based at least in part on characteristics of a given item of equipment or environment. With respect to control policies, a neural network can receive input of a number of environmental and task-related parameters. These parameters may include an identification of a condition of a diagnosed component and/or a cause of the condition, thermal data from thermal sensors, etc. The neural network can be trained to generate an output based on these inputs, with the output representing the diagnosed component, cause, and/or an action or sequence of actions to be implemented in response thereto.” (Para 0049)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protection system of Lacaux with the diagnostic system of Snyder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “diagnose and/or predict a condition of components of powered systems” (Snyder Para 0002)
Snyder does not explicitly teach:
wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle diagnostics, teaches:
wherein the faulted condition is indicative of failure of the first temperature sensor
(Zhang) – “The following embodiments are to provide a mechanism for determining a sensor fault based on battery highest and lowest temperature trends, and a temperature difference. This mechanism is capable of determining a status of a sensor nearly in real time.” (Para 0038)
“In this application, the stable working condition does not need to meet specified duration, provided that the status of the sensor can be determined based on analysis of data in the stable working condition. In a case that the stable working condition is a single working condition, the vehicle driving condition may be any time period in a process from the start to the end of a vehicle trip, or a constant-speed or approximately constant-speed process in the vehicle trip. In a constant-speed cruise process, battery temperature is more stable, which facilitates determining of a status of a sensor. A fault may occur when values measured by the sensor change drastically. In addition, the vehicle charging condition as the stable working condition is any time period in a process from the start to the end of vehicle charging, or may be the end stage of the charging process. This stage is “trickle” charging, and battery temperature is relatively stable, which facilitates determining of a status of a sensor.” (Para 0043)
“According to the method for determining a status of a battery temperature sensor, the status of the temperature sensor is determined based on the highest temperature reading trend, the lowest temperature reading trend, and the largest temperature reading difference in step S13. As described above, the highest temperature reading trend, the lowest temperature reading trend, and the largest temperature reading difference may be used as indexes for evaluating whether the sensor is anomalous. In this application, whether the temperature sensor is anomalous is determined based on all of the highest temperature reading trend, the lowest temperature reading trend, and the largest temperature reading difference.” (Para 0048)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protection system of Lacaux with the method for determining a status of a battery temperature sensor of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “troubleshooting problems in time and eliminating potential safety hazards in use of electric vehicle batteries.” (Zhang Para 0005)
Claim 16:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux further teaches:
wherein the at least one second temperature sensor includes a plurality of second temperature sensors, each temperature sensor of the second plurality of temperature sensors is disposed at a respective battery cell of the plurality of battery cells.
(Lacaux) – “The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
Claim 17:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux further teaches:
wherein the plurality of battery cells forms an adjacent group of the plurality of battery cells.
(Lacaux) – “In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
Claim 18:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 17 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux further teaches:
wherein the at least one second temperature sensor includes a single, common temperature sensor disposed at the adjacent group of the plurality of battery cells.
(Lacaux) – “In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
Claim 19:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux further teaches:
wherein the at least one control channel includes a first control channel and a second control channel, the first control channel is connected in signal communication with the plurality of first temperature sensors, and the second control channel is connected in signal communication with the at least one second temperature sensor.
(Lacaux) – “FIG. 2 is a diagram showing a propulsor 2′ in which the motor controller 50 has two channels 46a and 46b. Channel 46a receives DC power generated by a first battery 18a via a first power distribution board 20a and a first HVDC bus 4a, whereas channel 46b receives DC power generated by a second battery 18b via a second power distribution board 20b and a second HVDC bus 4b. The first and second batteries 18a and 18b are managed and protected by respective battery management systems 22a and 22b.” (Para 0058)
“In some implementations, the motor controller 50 has multiple channels for providing AC current to respective sets of stator windings in the AC motor 30. Each channel of the motor controller 50 comprises a respective inverter (not shown in FIG. 1) having a set of power switches and an inverter controller (not shown in FIG. 1) which controls the states of the power switches. The power switches are connected to the stator windings of AC motor 30. The motor controller 50 further includes a multiplicity of pairs of sensors (not shown in FIG. 1) which measure the voltages and currents of the AC power signals output by the inverters, which sensor data is fed back to the respective inverter controllers.” (Para 0051)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
Claim 20:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 19 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux further teaches:
wherein the first control channel is configured to identify the faulted condition or the unfaulted condition of each temperature sensor of the plurality of first temperature sensors and the second control channel is configured to identify the faulted condition or the unfaulted condition of each temperature sensor of the at least one second temperature sensor.
(Lacaux) – “FIG. 2 is a diagram showing a propulsor 2′ in which the motor controller 50 has two channels 46a and 46b. Channel 46a receives DC power generated by a first battery 18a via a first power distribution board 20a and a first HVDC bus 4a, whereas channel 46b receives DC power generated by a second battery 18b via a second power distribution board 20b and a second HVDC bus 4b. The first and second batteries 18a and 18b are managed and protected by respective battery management systems 22a and 22b.” (Para 0058)
“In some implementations, the motor controller 50 has multiple channels for providing AC current to respective sets of stator windings in the AC motor 30. Each channel of the motor controller 50 comprises a respective inverter (not shown in FIG. 1) having a set of power switches and an inverter controller (not shown in FIG. 1) which controls the states of the power switches. The power switches are connected to the stator windings of AC motor 30. The motor controller 50 further includes a multiplicity of pairs of sensors (not shown in FIG. 1) which measure the voltages and currents of the AC power signals output by the inverters, which sensor data is fed back to the respective inverter controllers.” (Para 0051)
“In the system depicted in FIG. 1, the HVDC power source is a battery 18. For example, the battery 18 may include a multiplicity of battery modules 24 arranged to form a battery pack. In the example implementation depicted in FIG. 1, the battery 18 includes a multiplicity of battery strings connected in parallel via respective contactors 8 to positive and negative DC busbars 38a and 38b. The DC current flowing through positive DC busbar 38a is measured by a current sensor 16. Each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules 24 connected in series. The DC current flowing through each battery string is measured by a respective current sensor (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 is a parallel/series arrangement of individual cells (not shown in FIG. 1). Each battery module 24 may be monitored by an associated module monitoring unit (not shown in FIG. 1). Each module monitoring unit includes sensors for independently measuring virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature. The module monitoring unit also includes balancing circuits.” (Para 0052)
“The system depicted in FIG. 1 also includes a battery management system 22. The operation of battery 18 is managed by battery management system 22. Each module monitoring unit incorporated in the battery 18 communicates sensor data representing virtual cell voltage and individual cell temperature to the battery management system 22. The battery management system 22 also receives data from current sensor 16. The battery management system 22 may be configured to ensure redundant protections, fail-safe operation, and selective shutdown of battery strings. The battery management system 22 may be further configured to provide battery overcharge protection or to forestall other events or combination of events that could lead to battery thermal runaway. More specifically, the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by battery management system 22 to open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings.” (Para 0055)
“It is important to distinguish what type of fault is detected and at which location. It is possible to do because each failure has its own specific signature. The motor controller 50 can monitor all necessary signals (input and output DC and AC voltages and currents, motor speed, rotor position, calculate motor torque, etc.) and differentiate which type of fault is detected.” (Para 0102)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacaux (US20220094297) in view of Snyder (US20230373457) further in view of Zhang (US20220131203) further in view of Brochhaus (US20170210229).
Claim 10:
Lacaux in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Lacaux does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However, Brochhaus, in the same field of endeavor of battery management, teaches:
wherein each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells is a lithium-ion battery cell.
(Brochhaus) – “In accordance with the invention, in addition a battery system having a battery that comprises multiple battery cells, and a battery management system of this type is provided. The battery can in particular be a lithium ion battery or a nickel metal hydride battery and can be connected to a drive system of a motor vehicle.” (Para 0022)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the protection system of Lacaux with the battery system of Brochhaus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is necessary for safety reasons to secure the measured data against interference and loss.” (Brochhaus Para 0006)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection mailed 03/30/2026 have been considered but are not convincing.
Specifically, all claims are now rejected further in view of Zhang as necessitated by amendment. Examiner maintains that Zhang resolves any alleged deficiencies in the prior art of record as fully evidenced in the updated rejection rationale.
As such, the prior art rejection of all remaining claims has not been overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tao (US10106142) teaches monitoring temperature sensor performance.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658