DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230217013 A1 (hereinafter Nien)
US 20220256189 A1 (hereinafter Lee)
US 20210281855 A1 (hereinafter Skupin)
US 20240406436 A1 (para 1674-75; BVD sorted based on matching cost)
Claim Objection (Allowable Subject Matter)
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the 112b rejection is overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “ the set of BVD candidates are the first 1/N ……”. The “N” is not defined. Examiner assumed N is 2, 4 or 8, as claimed in claim 4.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “ the set of BVD candidates are the first 1/N ……”. The “N” is not defined. Examiner assumed N is 2, 4 or 8, as claimed in claim 4. Claim 7 also reciting “index of 0~N-1” without defining N. Examiner would assume this N is equal to total number of BVD candidates in the determined set of BVD candidates. It is advised that in 0~N-1, a different letter other than N (such as K) is used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 13, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nien.
Regarding claim 1. Nien teaches a method for video processing, comprising
determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, that a first prediction mode is applied to the current video block [ Para 3, 6 IBC merge, IBC MMVD e mode etc. used by video coding {para 2} coding is conversation of block to bitstream {para 185} ]
reordering, in the first prediction mode, at least a first set of block vector difference (BVD) candidates of multiple BVD candidates corresponding to a first base candidate according to at least one criterion [ Para 99 last 10 lines; the block vector differences candidates from list of candidates are reordered or readjusted according to cost/criterion; also see para 106; the criterion can be direction also {para 190}; Fig.3 step 330 block vector predictor is base candidate]
deriving, based on the reordered BVD candidates, a block vector for the current video block [ Para 197; block vector predictor is selected based on adjusted difference list]
and performing the conversion based on the block vector [(performed during decoding/encoding {para 59, 185})] .
Regarding claim 18. Nien teaches an apparatus for processing video data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to [ please see Para 34-35 and see analysis of claim 1 above for the rest of the limitations]
determine, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, that a first prediction mode is applied to the current video block
reorder, in the first prediction mode, at least a first set of block vector difference (BVD) candidates of multiple BVD candidates corresponding to a first base candidate according to at least one criterion
derive, based on the reordered BVD candidates, a block vector for the current video block
and perform the conversion based on the block vector. [(see analysis of claim 1 above)]
Regarding claim 19. Nien teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to [ see Para 34-35 and see analysis of claim 1 above for the rest of the limitations]
determine, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, that a first prediction mode is applied to the current video block;
reorder, in the first prediction mode, at least a first set of block vector difference (BVD) candidates of multiple BVD candidates corresponding to a first base candidate according to at least one criterion;
derive, based on the reordered BVD candidates, a block vector for the current video block;
and perform the conversion based on the block vector . [(see analysis of claim 1 above)]
Regarding Claim 20: the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises
determining that a first prediction mode is applied to a current video block of the video
reordering, in the first prediction mode, at least a first set of block vector difference (BVD) candidates of multiple BVD candidates corresponding to a first base candidate according to at least one criterion
deriving, based on the reordered BVD candidates, a block vector for the current video block
This is a product by process claim. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing the bitstream.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed computer-readable recording medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in the claim merely provide a support for the storage of the bitstream and have no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data.
If the specification supports, the claim can be amended to recites a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing computer executable program, when the program is executed by a processor…….. performing the steps .
Therefore, the claim scope is taught by paragraph 34 of Nien. Additionally, as can be seen from analysis of claim, after proper amendment as suggested above, the claim is taught by Nien
Regarding claim 2. Nien teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in the first prediction mode, prediction samples of the current video block are derived from blocks of sample values of a same video region as determined by the block vector. [(para 4, same frame)]
Regarding claim 3. Nien teaches the method of claim 1, wherein reordering, in the first prediction mode, at least a first set of block vector difference (BVD) candidates of multiple BVD candidates corresponding to a first base candidate according to at least one criterion comprises
reordering a predefined ratio of the multiple BVD candidates
or reordering a predefined number BVD candidates among the multiple BVD candidates, [(para 106; at least one of the alternatives is taught)]
wherein the predefined ratio corresponding to the first 1/N of the multiple BVD candidates or a subgroup, and N is an integer greater than 0, wherein N is 2, 4, or 8.
Regarding claim 4. Nien teaches the method of claim 1, wherein reordering, in the first prediction mode, at least a first set of block vector difference (BVD) candidates of multiple BVD candidates corresponding to a first base candidate according to at least one criterion comprises
reordering the multiple BVD candidates together [(para 106; at least one of the alternatives is taught)] or
reordering the multiple BVD candidates in a form of subgroup,
wherein reordering the multiple BVD candidates in a form of subgroup comprises
reordering a predefined ratio of a subgroup of the multiple BVD candidates, or reordering a predefined number of BVD candidates among a subgroup of the multiple BVD candidates, wherein the predefined ratio corresponding to the first 1/N of the multiple BVD candidates or a subgroup, and N is an integer greater than 0, wherein N is 2, 4, or 8, or wherein the predefined ratio is corresponding to a ratio of a maximum number of BVD candidates corresponding to the first base candidate.
Nien teaches, with respect to claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein deriving, based on the reordered BVD candidates, a block vector for the current video block comprises
determining a set of BVD candidates from the reordered BVD candidates based on sum of absolute differences (SAD) costs [ Para 190, 153; first reordered according to motion vector difference direction {para 190} then based on matching cost. Cost includes SAD {para 79} ]
and determining the block vector for the current video block based on the set of BVD candidates. [(para 197)]
Nien teaches, with respect to claim 6. The method of claim 5, wherein determining a set of BVD candidates from the reordered BVD candidates based on sum of absolute differences (SAD) costs comprises
determining the set of BVD candidates from the reordered BVD candidates based on template matching SAD costs, wherein the set of BVD candidates are the first 1/N with the lowest template matching SAD costs among the reordered BVD candidates. [(see para 101 teaches 2 or 4 from 8; first reordered according to motion vector difference direction {para 190} then based on template matching cost which includes SAD {para 79)]
Nien teaches, with respect to claim 8. The method of claim 5, wherein determining a set of BVD candidates from the reordered BVD candidates based on sum of absolute differences (SAD) costs comprises
selecting N BVD candidates from M BVD candidates corresponding to the first base candidate, wherein N is an integer greater than 0, and M represents a maximum number of the BVD candidates corresponding to the first base candidate. [(Fig.3 steps 330, 340 and 360 and para 71 & 82; selected from candidate list capacity. The capacity teaches M)]
Nien teaches, with respect to claim 9. The method of claim 8, wherein N is equal to a number of the valid BVD candidates for the first base candidate [(motion vector difference are validated {para 92-91})] .
Nien teaches, with respect to claim 13. The method of claim 8, wherein only a valid BVD candidate is eligible for being selected to perform at least one of
a reordering process, a sum of absolute transformed differences (SATD) process, or a rate-distortion (RD) process. [(invalid BVD are not used {para 92})]
Nien teaches, with respect to claim 16. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream. [(performed during decoding/encoding {para 59, 185})] .
Nien teaches, with respect to claim 17. The method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream. [(performed during decoding/encoding {para 59, 185})] .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nien in view of Lee.
Regarding Claim 10. Nien does not explicitly show N is different for different base candidates
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Lee teaches N is different for different base candidates [(Lee The block vector candidate list may not be shared between upper and lower partition of same block {para 323} i.e. different N. Each partition indicates a different base candidates {para 332, 326})]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Lee additionally teaches with regards to claim 11. The method of claim 8, wherein N is same for different base candidates [(Lee The block vector candidate list is shared between upper and lower partition of same block {para 333-334}. Each partition indicates a different base candidates {para 332, 326})]
.
Lee additionally teaches with regards to claim 12. The method of claim 8, wherein N is determined based on a predefined ratio of the maximum number of BVD candidates corresponding to the first base candidate. [(reject with Lee)]
Nien in view of Lee additionally teaches with regards to claim 15. The method of claim 5, wherein determining the block vector for the current video block based on the set of BVD candidates comprises
determining block vector difference information corresponding to the first base candidate based on the set of BVD candidates [ Para 84 ]
and determining the block vector for the current video block based on at least one base candidate and corresponding block vector difference information, the at least one base candidate comprising the first base candidate [ Para 84 ], wherein the at least one base candidate comprises a second base candidate, and multiple BVD candidates corresponding to the second base candidate are not reordered for deriving block vector difference information corresponding to the second base candidate. [(Lee The block vector candidate list is shared between upper and lower partition of same block {para 333-334}. Each partition indicates a different base candidates {para 332, 326})]
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nien in view of Skupin.
Regarding Claim 14. Nien teaches validity of BVD candidate is cheeked to be eligible for being selected to perform at least one of
a reordering process, a sum of absolute transformed differences (SATD) process, or a RD process. [ Para 92 Nien invalid when vector difference exceeds a boundary]
Nien does not teach clipping at least one component of an invalid BVD candidate into a reference region, wherein, the clipped BVD candidate is eligible
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Skupin teaches clipping at least one component of an invalid BVD candidate into a reference region, wherein, the clipped BVD candidate is eligible [(para 173-174)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts to reduce motion vector cost.
Conclusion
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426