DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20210176486) (hereinafter Wang) in view of Zhang et al. (US20210368198) (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method of video processing, comprising: determining, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video [0056-0057; performing coding processes on video data, into and from bitstream].
a chroma interpolation filter for the video unit using a discrete cosine transform interpolation filter (DCT-IF), wherein the number of taps of the chroma interpolation filter is larger than a predetermined number [Figs. 7-9, 0062-0063, 0096-0125, 0130-0133; using cosine function incorporating a variety of interpolation filter options].
obtaining a chroma prediction block by applying the chroma interpolation filter to a chroma component of the video unit [0016-0018, 0079-0085, 0094-0107; performing coding process utilizing plurality of filters including chroma interpolation filters and parameters].
performing the conversion based on the chroma prediction block [0055-0057, 0116-0133; coding video data based on a variety of parameters including chroma].
Applicant is reminded to view the applications as a whole.
Wang discloses the limitations of the claim. Wang discloses various coding modes including a variety of filters. Wang further discloses chroma interpolation filters in various coding modes (Figs. 7-9, Wang 0016-0018, 0100). Wang continues on to disclose a variety of coding modes and filters utilized in the coding process. Wang discloses various transform algorithms utilized such as discrete cosine transform and interpolation filters used in the coding process including DCTIF (0063, 0095-0100).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the number of taps of the chroma interpolation filter is larger than a predetermined number.
Zhang discloses wherein the number of taps of the chroma interpolation filter is larger than a predetermined number [Figs. 26-29, 0102, 0131-0140; predetermined number of taps for chroma interpolation filter].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Zhang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such data optimization for increases in video usage demand is achieved (see Zhang 0002-0006).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the chroma interpolation filter is a long tap chroma interpolation filter, or (0109-0133; performing coding process using a variety filters, taps and parameters and smoothing window function), wherein the predetermined number is 4, or (wherein the chroma interpolation filter is determined using DCT-IF with cosine window, or wherein the chroma interpolation filter is determined using DCT-IF with frequency domain smoothing.
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein a set of filter coefficients of the chroma interpolation filter is determined based on a set of parameters of the DCT-IF with the cosine window, and/or (0109-0133; performing coding process using a variety filters, taps and parameters and smoothing window function) wherein the set of filter coefficients of the chroma interpolation filter is determined using equations as below: Dk=2Size∙cosπ∙k∙(2∙l-2∙Center+Size)2∙Size, Wk=cosπ∙k∙2∙α-2∙Center+Size2∙Size,W0=12,1≤k≤Size-1,Filterlα=cos(π∙l-βN)∙∑k=0Size-1Wkα∙Dlk, pα=∑l=MminMmaxFilterlα∙pl, Size=Mmin+Mmax-1, Center=Mmin+Mmax2, and wherein pl represents a set of sample values at integer position l used to interpolation pα at fractional position α, Filterlα represents the set of filter coefficients, Mmin and Mmax represents a range of neighboring integer-position samples involved in an interpolation process, Size represents the number of reference samples used in the chroma interpolation filter, and N represents a smoothing window size.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses wherein a set of filter coefficients of the chroma interpolation filter is determined based on a set of parameters of the DCT-IF with the frequency domain smoothing, and/or (0109-0133; performing coding process using a variety filters, taps and parameters and smoothing window function)wherein the set of filter coefficients of the chroma interpolation filter is determined using equations as below: Dk=2Size∙cosπ∙k∙(2∙l-2∙Center+Size)2∙Size, Wk=cosπ∙k∙2∙α-2∙Center+Size2∙Size,W0=12;1≤k≤Size-1, W~kα=Wkα1+σ∙k2,σ≥0, Filterlα=∑k=0Size-1W~kα∙Dlk, pα=∑l=MminMmaxFilterlα∙pl, Size=Mmin+Mmax-1, Center=Mmin+Mmax2, and wherein pl represents set of sample values at integer position l used to interpolation pα at fractional position α, Filterlα represents the set of filter coefficients, Mmin and Mmax represents a range of neighboring integer-position samples involved in an interpolation process, Size represents the number of reference samples used in the chroma interpolation filter, N is represents a smoothing window size, and σ represents a smoothing parameter.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses wherein usage of the chroma interpolation filter is dependent on temporal layers, or wherein usage of the chroma interpolation filter is dependent on coding information, or wherein usage of the chroma interpolation filter is dependent on a color component or color format, or wherein a result of the chroma interpolation filter is clipped, or wherein usage of the chroma interpolation filter is indicated from an encoder to a decoder (0109-0133; performing coding process using a variety filters, taps and parameters and smoothing window function)
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses wherein the chroma interpolation filter is used for a layer with a temporal identity that is not greater than a predetermined value, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first number of taps and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second number of taps, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first temporal layer and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second temporal layer, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a filter tap and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second filter tap, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first temporal layer and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second temporal layer [0069-0079; coding process using spatial and temporal prediction stage].
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein the coding information comprises more quantization parameter (QP) values, or wherein the coding information comprises a width and a height of at least one of: a current block, a current tile, or a current picture, or wherein the coding information comprises a precision of motion vector (MV) or motion vector difference (MVD), or wherein the coding information comprises a coding mode [0109-0133; coding information including coding mode].
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first number of taps and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second number of taps, first chroma interpolation filter is used for a first QP value and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second QP value, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a filter tap and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second filter tap, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first QP value and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second QP value [0109-0133; determining and using a variety of filter taps and functions].
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first number of taps and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second number of taps, the chroma interpolation filter is used for one of: a first width, a first height, a first max (W, H), or a first min (W, H), and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for one of: a second width, a second height, a second max (W,H), or a second min (W,H), and wherein W represents the width and H represents the height, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first filter tap and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second filter tap, the chroma interpolation filter is used for one of: a first width, a first height, a first max (W, H), or a first min (W, H), and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for one of: a second width, a second height, a second max (W,H), or a second min (W,H), and wherein W represents the width and H represents the height [0093-0105; variety of filter taps and calculations based on coding mode].
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first number of taps and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second number of taps, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first MV or MVD and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second MV or MVD, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first filter tap and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second filter tap, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first precision of MV or MVD and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second precision of MV or MVD [0093-0105; variety of filter taps and calculations for precise motion vector information].
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first number of taps and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second number of taps, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first intra-prediction mode and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second intra-prediction mode, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first filter tap and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second filter tap, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first intra-prediction mode and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second intra-prediction mode, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first number of taps and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second number of taps, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first inter prediction mode and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second inter prediction mode, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first filter tap and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second filter tap, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first inter prediction mode and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second inter prediction mode, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first number of taps and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second number of taps, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first inter prediction direction and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second inter prediction direction, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first filter tap and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second filter tap, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first inter prediction direction and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second inter prediction direction, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first number of taps and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second number of taps, whether to apply the chroma interpolation filter or the other chroma interpolation filter is based on a resolution of reference picture, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first filter tap and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second filter tap, whether to apply the chroma interpolation filter or the other chroma interpolation filter is based on a resolution of reference picture [0093-0109; plurality of tap filters and prediction modes used in coding process].
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first number of taps and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second number of taps, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first color component or a first color format and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second color component or a second color format, or wherein if the chroma interpolation filter comprises a first filter tap and another chroma interpolation filter comprises a second filter tap, the chroma interpolation filter is used for a first color component or a first color format and the other chroma interpolation filter is used for a second color component or a second color format [0093-0109; plurality of tap filters and prediction modes used in coding process].
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses wherein at least one index or flag indicating the chroma interpolation filter to be used is indicated from the encoder to the decoder [0083-0087; coding information and parameters indicated in flags].
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses wherein the at least one index or flag indicates whether the chroma interpolation filter is used [0083-0087; coding information and parameters indicated in flags].
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses wherein at least one chroma interpolation filter coefficient is derived based on information indicated from the encoder to the decoder [0083-0087, 0109-0125; coding information and parameters used in determining appropriate filters].
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses wherein the usage is indicated in one of the followings: a sequence level, a picture level, a slice level, or a block level, or wherein the usage is indicated in one of the followings: a picture header, a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), an adaptation parameter sets (APS), a slice header, a coding tree unit (CTU), a coding unit (CU) or a prediction unit (PU) [0083-0087; indication of prediction information in flags].
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream [0056-0057; performing coding processes on video data, into and from bitstream].
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses an apparatus for video processing comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to (Figs.1-4; CRM): determine, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video [0056-0057; performing coding processes on video data, into and from bitstream].
a chroma interpolation filter for the video unit using a discrete cosine transform interpolation filter (DCT-IF), wherein the number of taps of the chroma interpolation filter is larger than a predetermined number [Figs. 7-9, 0062-0063, 0096-0125, 0130-0133; using cosine function incorporating a variety of interpolation filter options].
obtain a chroma prediction block by applying the chroma interpolation filter to a chroma component of the video unit [0016-0018, 0079-0085, 0094-0107; performing coding process utilizing plurality of filters including chroma interpolation filters and parameters].
perform the conversion based on the chroma prediction block [0055-0057, 0116-0133; coding video data based on a variety of parameters including chroma].
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to (Figs.1-4; CRM): determine, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video [0056-0057; performing coding processes on video data, into and from bitstream].
a chroma interpolation filter for the video unit using a discrete cosine transform interpolation filter (DCT-IF), wherein the number of taps of the chroma interpolation filter is larger than a predetermined number [Figs. 7-9, 0062-0063, 0096-0125, 0130-0133; using cosine function incorporating a variety of interpolation filter options].
obtain a chroma prediction block by applying the chroma interpolation filter to a chroma component of the video unit [0016-0018, 0079-0085, 0094-0107; performing coding process utilizing plurality of filters including chroma interpolation filters and parameters].
perform the conversion based on the chroma prediction block [0055-0057, 0116-0133; coding video data based on a variety of parameters including chroma].
Applicant is reminded to view the applications as a whole.
Wang discloses the limitations of the claim. Wang discloses various coding modes including a variety of filters. Wang further discloses chroma interpolation filters in various coding modes (Figs. 7-9, Wang 0016-0018, 0100). Wang continues on to disclose a variety of coding modes and filters utilized in the coding process. Wang discloses various transform algorithms utilized such as discrete cosine transform and interpolation filters used in the coding process including DCTIF (0063, 0095-0100).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the number of taps of the chroma interpolation filter is larger than a predetermined number.
Zhang discloses wherein the number of taps of the chroma interpolation filter is larger than a predetermined number [Figs. 26-29, 0102, 0131-0140; predetermined number of taps for chroma interpolation filter].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Zhang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such data optimization for increases in video usage demand is achieved (see Zhang 0002-0006).
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses a method for storing a bitstream of a video, comprising (0079-0085; storing a bitstream): determining a chroma interpolation filter for a video unit of the video using a discrete cosine transform interpolation filter (DCT-IF), wherein the number of taps of the chroma interpolation filter is larger than a predetermined number [Figs. 7-9, 0062-0063, 0096-0125, 0130-0133; using cosine function incorporating a variety of interpolation filter options].
obtaining a chroma prediction block by applying the chroma interpolation filter to a chroma component of the video unit [0016-0018, 0079-0085, 0094-0107; performing coding process utilizing plurality of filters including chroma interpolation filters and parameters].
generating the bitstream based on the chroma prediction block; and storing the bitstream in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium [0079-0085; CRM storing a bitstream and processing video data].
Wang discloses the limitations of the claim. Wang discloses various coding modes including a variety of filters. Wang further discloses chroma interpolation filters in various coding modes (Figs. 7-9, Wang 0016-0018, 0100). Wang continues on to disclose a variety of coding modes and filters utilized in the coding process. Wang discloses various transform algorithms utilized such as discrete cosine transform and interpolation filters used in the coding process including DCTIF (0063, 0095-0100).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the number of taps of the chroma interpolation filter is larger than a predetermined number.
Zhang discloses wherein the number of taps of the chroma interpolation filter is larger than a predetermined number [Figs. 26-29, 0102, 0131-0140; predetermined number of taps for chroma interpolation filter].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Zhang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such data optimization for increases in video usage demand is achieved (see Zhang 0002-0006).
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 03/18/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TALHA M NAWAZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483