DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 filed on October 11, 2024 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mallinson (US 2017/0039959 A1, Published February 9, 2017).
As to claim 1, Mallinson discloses an information processing system, comprising;
a station (Mallinson at Fig. 1A, 2, projector 104 and/or computing device 107); and
a mobile body movable with respect to the station (Mallinson at Fig. 1A, HMD 102; Fig. 2, hand-held controller 202);
wherein; the station has a first light source and a MEMS mirror drivable two-dimensionally, and is configured to make a light beam from the first light source be reflected by the MEMS mirror while driving the MEMS mirror to be emitted to a space around the station so as to scan the space two-dimensionally by the light beam (Mallinson at Fig. 1A, 2, beam generator 108 and MEMs mirror 112; ¶ [0055] discloses “A beam generator 108 of the projector 104 emits a beam 110, which is reflected by a Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (MEMS) mirror 112 towards the HMD 102. The MEMS mirror 112 is driven by a driver 114, e.g., an actuator, a magnetic actuator, a thermal actuator, a magnet, etc., at one or more frequencies. For example, the MEMS mirror 112 is driven to move, e.g., translate, rotate, swing, etc., with respect to an X-axis of the MEMS mirror 112 and/or with respect to a Y-axis of the MEMS mirror 112.” ¶ [0059] disclose “In an embodiment, instead of the Lissajous pattern, the raster scan is used.”),
the mobile body has a first photo sensor configured to detect reception of the light beam (Mallinson at Fig. 1A, photosensors 105a-c; Fig. 2, photosensors 204a-b , and
the information processing system further comprises one or more processors configured to identify a value of a direction parameter indicating a relative direction of the mobile body with respect to the station, based on a timing at which the first photo sensor detected reception of the light beam during the scan (Mallinson at Figs. 1A, 2; ¶ [0057] discloses “Multiple photosensors 105a, 105b, and 105c, e.g., photodiodes, etc., located on, e.g., fitted to, placed on, affixed to, etc., an outer surface of the HMD 102 detect the beam 110 to generate electrical sensor signals, which are then used by the computing device 107 to determine a pose of the HMD 102 from the projector 104, e.g., a distance along the beam 110 from the origin of the xyz co-ordinate system of the projector 104, etc., and an orientation of the HMD 102 with respect to the xyz co-ordinate system.” ¶ [0078] discloses “In this manner, orientations of the photosensors 204a and 204b are determined with respect to the xyz co-ordinate system of the projector 104 to determine a pose of the hand-held controller 202 with respect to the xyz co-ordinate system of the projector 104.”).
As to claim 2, Mallinson disclose the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more processors is configured to: determine a position of a virtual object in a virtual space based on the value of the direction parameter; generate image data based on the position of the virtual object; and output the generated image data (Mallinson at Figs. 14, 16-17).
As to claim 3, Mallinson disclose the information processing system according to claim 2, wherein at least one of the one or more processors is configured to output the image data to a display screen placed in real space (Mallinson at Fig. 16, display device 1414).
As to claim 4, Mallinson disclose the information processing system according to claim 3, wherein the station is placed near the display screen so that the light beam is emitted toward the space in front of the display screen (Mallinson at Fig. 16, client system 1602 and camera 1612).
As to claim 14, Mallinson discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein; the station is configured to perform a raster scan in which a linear scan in a first direction by a light beam from the first light source is performed multiple times in parallel while shifting in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and at least one of the one or more processors is configured to identify a value of a direction parameter relating to the second direction of the mobile body corresponding to the orientation of the second direction of the light beam from the first light source when a reception time by the first photo sensor is the longest in one scan in the first direction (Mallinson at Figs. 1A, 1B, 4C, 5. Additionally, Examiner takes an official notice that Time of Flight scanning is well-known in the art).
As to claim 15, Mallinson discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein: the station is configured to perform a raster scan in which a linear scan in a first direction by a light beam from the first light source is performed multiple times in parallel while shifting in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and at least one of the one or more processors is configured to identify a value of a direction parameter relating to the first direction of the mobile body based on a timing of change so that a reception intensity by the first photo sensor becomes higher (Mallinson at Figs. 1A, 1B, 4C, 5, 7).
As to claim 16, Mallinson discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors configured to identify the value of the direction parameter is/are provided at the mobile body (Mallinson at Fig. 1, 7. MPEP 2144.04(IV & VI) establish that changes in configuration and/or rearrangement of parts are obvious)
As to claim 17, Mallinson discloses an information processing method (Mallinson at Fig. 4C) comprising:
making a light beam from a first light source of a station be reflected by a MEMS mirror while driving the MEMS mirror of the station to be emitted to a space around the station so as to scan that space two-dimensionally by that light beam (Mallinson at Fig. 1A, 2, beam generator 108 and MEMs mirror 112; ¶ [0055] discloses “A beam generator 108 of the projector 104 emits a beam 110, which is reflected by a Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (MEMS) mirror 112 towards the HMD 102. The MEMS mirror 112 is driven by a driver 114, e.g., an actuator, a magnetic actuator, a thermal actuator, a magnet, etc., at one or more frequencies. For example, the MEMS mirror 112 is driven to move, e.g., translate, rotate, swing, etc., with respect to an X-axis of the MEMS mirror 112 and/or with respect to a Y-axis of the MEMS mirror 112.” ¶ [0059] disclose “In an embodiment, instead of the Lissajous pattern, the raster scan is used.”);
detecting reception of that light beam by a first photo sensor of a mobile body able to move relative to the station (Mallinson at Fig. 1A, photosensors 105a-c; Fig. 2, photosensors 204a-b); and
identifying a value of a direction parameter indicating a relative direction of the mobile body with respect to the station based on a timing at which the first photo sensor detected reception of the light beam during the scan (Mallinson at Figs. 1A, 2; ¶ [0057] discloses “Multiple photosensors 105a, 105b, and 105c, e.g., photodiodes, etc., located on, e.g., fitted to, placed on, affixed to, etc., an outer surface of the HMD 102 detect the beam 110 to generate electrical sensor signals, which are then used by the computing device 107 to determine a pose of the HMD 102 from the projector 104, e.g., a distance along the beam 110 from the origin of the xyz co-ordinate system of the projector 104, etc., and an orientation of the HMD 102 with respect to the xyz co-ordinate system.” ¶ [0078] discloses “In this manner, orientations of the photosensors 204a and 204b are determined with respect to the xyz co-ordinate system of the projector 104 to determine a pose of the hand-held controller 202 with respect to the xyz co-ordinate system of the projector 104.”).
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mallinson (US 2017/0039959 A1, Published February 9, 2017) in view of Izukawa (US 2013/0070232 A1, Published March 21, 2013).
As to claim 5, Mallinson disclose the information processing system according to claim 3.
While Mallinson strongly suggests it (Mallinson at Fig. 16; ¶ [0096]), Mallinson does not expressly disclose that at least one of the one or more processors is configured to guide a user to place the station near the display screen so that the light beam is emitted toward the space in front of the display screen.
However, Izukawa does disclose that at least one of the one or more processors is configured to guide a user to place the station near the display screen so that the light beam is emitted toward the space in front of the display screen (Izukawa at Figs. 1, 3, laser projection aperture 10C emits light in the space in front of screen 2).
Mallinson discloses a base projection system upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Izukawa discloses a comparable projection system which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Mallinson the teachings of Izukawa for the predictable result of controlling an image projected on a projection region on the basis of the posture (state) of an object to be detected (Izukawa at ¶ [0008]).
Claims 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mallinson (US 2017/0039959 A1, Published February 9, 2017) in view of Wang (US 2023/0305117 A1, Filed as PCT/CN2021/141468 on November 18, 2021).
As to claim 6, Mallinson discloses the information processing system according to claim 1.
Mallinson does not disclose that the station further has a second light source and a second photo sensor configured to detect reception of reflected light beam of the light beam emitted from the second light source, and at least one of the one or more processors is configured to identify a value of a distance parameter indicating a distance between the station and an object around the station, based on reflected light beam detected by the second photo sensor.
However, Wang does disclose that the station further has a second light source and a second photo sensor configured to detect reception of reflected light beam of the light beam emitted from the second light source, and at least one of the one or more processors is configured to identify a value of a distance parameter indicating a distance between the station and an object around the station, based on reflected light beam detected by the second photo sensor (Wang at Fig. 6-7, in particular. ¶ [0157] discloses “The at least one first laser beam can be emitted through at least one first laser device in the at least one laser device 510. the at least one second laser can be emitted by at least one second laser of 510 in the at least one laser, wherein the at least one first laser may be different from the at least one second laser, or, The at least one first laser and the at least one second laser may comprise at least one same laser.” ¶ [0166]-[0168] discloses “the detection device 700 comprises a coaxial transceiver module 1 to coaxial transceiver module 3, MEMS micro-mirror 532 and surface array detector 521, lens assembly 522…. Each coaxial transceiver module comprises at least one laser 510 and a light detector 531. for each coaxial transceiver module, at least one laser emitting laser 510 after emitting the coaxial transceiver module”).
Mallinson discloses a base LIDAR type system upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Wang discloses a comparable LIDAR type system which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Mallinson the teachings of Wang for the predictable result of implementing a dual detection mode to perform long distance ranging (Wang at ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 7, the combination of Mallinson and Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 6, wherein the second light source is configured to emit a light beam so as to enter the MEMS mirror and be reflected by the MEMS mirror (Wang at Fig. 7).
Mallinson discloses a base LIDAR type system upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Wang discloses a comparable LIDAR type system which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Mallinson the teachings of Wang for the predictable result of implementing a dual detection mode to perform long distance ranging (Wang at ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 8, the combination of Mallinson and Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 7, wherein the second light source and the first light source are the same shared light source (Wang at ¶ [0157]).
Mallinson discloses a base LIDAR type system upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Wang discloses a comparable LIDAR type system which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Mallinson the teachings of Wang for the predictable result of implementing a dual detection mode to perform long distance ranging (Wang at ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 11, the combination of Mallinson and Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 7, wherein the first light source and the second light source are separate light sources configured to emit different light beams, beam (Wang at ¶ [0157).
Mallinson discloses a base LIDAR type system upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Wang discloses a comparable LIDAR type system which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Mallinson the teachings of Wang for the predictable result of implementing a dual detection mode to perform long distance ranging (Wang at ¶ [0004]).
As to claim 12, the combination of Mallinson and Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 11, wherein the first light source and the second light source are configured to emit light beams of different wavelengths (Wang at Fig. 6-7. MPEP 2143(E). There only two finite possibilities for the wavelengths: 1) same or 2) different. Therefore it would be obvious to try).
As to claim 13, the combination of Mallinson and Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 6, wherein at least one of the one or more processors is configured to identify a value of a position parameter indicating a three-dimensional position of the mobile body with respect to the station, based on the value of the direction parameter and the value of the distance parameter (Mallinson at Figs. 1A; 4C, 7A; ¶ [0057]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the objected to claim and all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 9, none of the prior art found by the Examiner discloses the claimed aspects of: wherein; the station is configured to alternately perform scan processing for position measurement by making the light beam from the shared light source perform a scan two-dimensionally so as to identify the value of the direction parameter, and scan processing for distance measurement by making the light beam from the shared light source perform a scan two-dimensionally so as to identify the value of the distance parameter, and the shared light source is configured to emit a light beam by different modes between the scan processing for position measurement and the scan processing for distance measurement.
As to claim 10, none of the prior art found by the Examiner discloses the claimed aspects of: wherein the shared light source is configured to emit a light beam comprised of continuous light beam and pulsed light beam superposed, while making the light beam from the shared light source perform a scan two-dimensionally.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Han (US 2018/02316340 A1, Published August 16, 2018) is made of record for its relevance to claims 1, 17 by its disclosure of the following at Fig. 6:
Mutlu (US 2020/0356159 A1, Published November 12, 2020) is made or record for its relevance to claims 1-17 by its disclosure of the following at Fig. 2A:
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
08/14/2026