DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/11/2024. These drawings are accepted for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 1, 15, and 20, the recitation of “receiving a user choice via a graphical user interface” is unclear as it does not describe what the user is choosing/selecting at all. This creates downstream issues such as those in claims 2 and 3 (16), where “receiving one or more parameters associated with the user choice” is now unclear because it is unclear if the choice on the user interface in claim 1 is of the ‘parameters associated with the user choice’, or possibly creates some other situation where a parameter is called/stored/manipulated/etc.
Claims 1 and 6 (15, 20) both denote user choice(s), but fail to set forth that the user choice includes particular elements, aspects, or parameters, which also creates indefiniteness in claim 7 where the portion reduction for the user choice is unclear, because it is unclear whether or not the user choice even includes a portion to reduce. Finally in claim 12, the user choice is recited as being recorded as an initial plan, but it is unclear what about the “user choice” denotes a plan or can provide parameters, elements, aspects or other elements to enable the recording as an initial plan. In claim 13 (19), the reception of a second user choice is predicated on adjusting a value of “the user choice”, except the user choice has not been positively set for as including “values” to be adjusted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1) as being anticipated by Wexler et al (US 2020/0375549).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 15-16, and 19-20 Wexler et al discloses and teaches a method including reception of a glucose reading from an in vivo glucose sensor in communication with the data receiving device (Fig 3, 0035), including a recent glucose value at a recent time and data for a predetermined time period (0035, 0061-0075, Fig 2), the generation of a visualization of the glucose reading on a mobile application on the receive device wherein the visualization includes first component for displaying recent glucose and second component for displaying the predetermined time period data (Fig 6c, 0117), receiving a user choice via a GUI of the application, calculating a personalized glucose prediction based on the choice (0039, 0061-0075), user specific parameters, and the glucose reading, wherein the prediction is for a predetermined time in the future, and updating the visualization component to display the glucose prediction as an extension of glucose data (0061-0075, Fig 6c, 0017).
Specific to claims 2, 5, 6, 16, 19, Wexler et al disclose the reception of insulin intake, food intake (including carbohydrates), and/or physical activity (0057) including ranges of values, the input of user choices in temporal order to update predictions (Fig 6c-f, abs, 0014-0019, 0047 (re-updating predictions)).
Regarding claims 8-11 and 17-18, Wexler et al disclose and teach acquisition at a current time (Fig 6c-f), the future time range between 3-5 hours (0061), the reception of physical activity and activity data and calculation from that physical activity, as well as the specifics of the physical activity (intensity, duration, mode, production, insulin, sequence, demographics, (specifically 0057, Fig 2, 0053-0057)).
Regarding claims 12-14 and 16, Wexler et al disclose and teach the recording of a user choice as an initial value/plan, receiving measurements, and providing feedback as to whether the measurement data fits the plan, reception of a second user choice with real-time input to adjust the values of the user choice, and updating the visualization and prediction based on the choice (Fig 6a-c, Fig 4, 0115). Finally, the retrieval of a pre-trained model based on user parameters and production of glycemic profile which utilizes the model and applies it to the personalized data is disclosed (Fig 4, 0076).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wexler et al (US 2020/0375549) in view of Cabrera et al (US 2022/0000432).
Wexler et al discloses all that is listed above, but fails to set forth a positive recitation of retrieving parameters associated with a user choice via a call to an application interface on another system, the display as a single trace line proximate to the glucose readings for the personalized glucose prediction, nor the receiving of a portion reduction for the user choice with the GUI of the mobile application and calculating an updated personalized glucose prediction based on the portion reduction and prediction.
Attention is hereby directed to the teaching reference to Cabrera et al in the same area of endeavor which expressly teaches these elements. Specifically, Cabrera et al discloses and teaches most aspects of claim 1, including reception of glucose readings from in vivo glucose sensor in communication with the data receiving device (Fig 3b, 0202), including a recent glucose value at a recent time and data for a predetermined time period (0251, Fig 19a-b), the generation of a visualization of the glucose reading on a mobile application on the receive device wherein the visualization includes first component for displaying recent glucose and second component for displaying the predetermined time period data (0293), receiving a user choice via a GUI of the application, calculating a personalized glucose prediction based on the choice (0293-0295, Fig 19a-b), user specific parameters, and the glucose reading, wherein the prediction is for a predetermined time in the future, and updating the visualization component to display the glucose prediction as an extension of glucose data (Fig 19a-b, 0293).
Turning then to claims 3, 4, and 7, Cabrera et al discloses and teaches the analyte monitoring application running on the analyte sensor or display device (0198-0200), the personalized prediction displaying a single trace line presented graphically proximate the glucose (Fig 2a-5, 19a-b 0293), and also discloses the reception of portion reduction for a user choice and adjustment of glucose based on the portion reduction (Actions of 19a-b, eat/exercise/no action, 0293). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the teachings of Cabrera et al with those of Wexler for the same intention of monitoring glucose and providing a prediction of glucose (as well as other analytes) during the patient’s life in a graphically presented manner (Abs, Wexler/Cabrera).
Conclusion
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798