CTNF 18/913,981 CTNF 83586 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 6, 8-11, 15, 18, 19, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Alan Wake (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0RpTykaCVNQ) . Re claims 1, 18, and 20: Alan Woke discloses a method for interacting in a virtual environment, comprising: displaying the virtual environment that includes a first area having an obscured visual state, an interactive object, and a virtual character controlled by a user (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: showing a first area of an obscured forest, an interactive enemy character, and a virtual character controlled by the user); in response to a user input corresponding to an illumination action, modifying a second area within the first area to an unobscured visual state (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: the user performs an illumination feature of pointing a flash light towards a smaller obscured second area); determining whether the interactive object is located within the second area (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: the system determines if an enemy character, i.e. the interactive object, is located where the flash light is directed); and changing an interaction state of the interactive object from a first interaction state to a second interaction state based on the interactive object being determined to be located within the second area (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: the interaction state of the enemy character turns from a first un-attacked state to a second attacked/harmed state), the first interaction state and the second interaction state defining different interactions with the virtual character (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: the first and second states defining different interactions with the player including one in which the player is attacking the enemy and the other where the user is not). Re claim 2 and 19: Alan Woke disclose with respect to the method according to claim 1, wherein the obscured visual state includes a non-illuminated state, the unobscured visual state includes an illuminated state (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: the obscured state is an obscured forest, and the unobscured state is an illuminated state illuminated by the flash light), and the interactive object includes a light-sensitive object (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: the enemy character, i.e. the interactive object, is sensitive to the light as the enemy takes on damage due to the light); and wherein the changing the interaction state of the interactive object comprises: in response to the second area changing from the non-illuminated state to the illuminated state, switching the light-sensitive object from the first interaction state to the second interaction state (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: in response to the flash light pointing in a direction and creating an illuminated state where the enemy character is located, the enemy light sensitive character switches from an un-attacked state, to an attacked and damaged state). Re claim 6: Alan Wave discloses with respect to the method according to claim 2, wherein the light-sensitive object includes a light-adverse object (5:02:43-5:02:53: enemy characters are light adverse objects that are damaged when opposed to light); the switching the light-sensitive object from the first interaction state to the second interaction state (the light-sensitive object switches from an attacking state to a harmed/stunned state) comprises: transitioning the light-adverse object from a battle state to a non-battle state in response to the second area being changed from the non-illuminated state to the illuminated state (as can be seen from the video, the enemy characters switch from an attacking state to a stunned state, due to the effects of the flash bang); in the battle state, the light-adverse object is configured to attack the virtual character (when an enemy character is not effected by light, the enemy character is in a state of attacking the virtual character); and in the non-battle state, the light-adverse object does not attack the virtual character (after being hit with a flash bang, the enemy character is stunned and not attacking the player). Re claim 8: Alan Woke discloses with respect to the method according to claim 1, wherein the unobscured visual state includes an illuminated state (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: the unobscured state is illuminated by the player’s flash light); and the modifying the second area within the first area to the unobscured visual state comprises: displaying the second area in the illuminated state in response to the illumination action (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: the second area illuminated by the flash light is located within the larger obscured first area). Re claim 9: Alan Wake discloses with respect to the method according to claim 8, wherein the virtual environment further includes a first static light source object (3:37:00-03:37:15: a virtual environment includes overhead lamps); the displaying the second area in the illuminated state includes activating the first static light source object to illuminate the second area when a distance between the virtual character and the first static light source object are less than a first threshold (the second area is illuminated when a player is at the power source to the light source to turn on said light source, i.e. a minimum distance to said light source); the second area is determined based on a location of the first static light source object and a predefined illumination radius of the first static light source object (the illuminated second area is determined based off of the height of the lamp and the radius created by the height of the lamp and lamp shade. Such is predetermined as these factors are static); and an illumination duration of the first static light source object after activation is a first duration (the illumination of said lamp lasts until said lamp is turned off). Re claim 10: Alan Wake discloses with respect to the method according to claim 8, wherein the virtual environment further includes a second static light source object (4:46:11-04:45:36: the virtual environment further includes a secondary lamp); the displaying the second area in the illuminated state includes activating the second static light source object to illuminate the second area when a distance between the virtual character and the second static light source object are less than a second threshold (4:46:11-04:45:36: a second area that is obscured is illuminated when the user moves the light source to the second area to be illuminated); the second area is determined based on a location of the second static light source object and a predefined illumination radius of the second static light source object (4:46:11-04:45:36: the second area is determined based on the location of the moved lamp light and the lamp type that creates the radius of the light); and the second static light source object remains activated after being activated (the light source object remains activated after being activated as it remains in the position left by the virtual character). Re claim 11: Alan Wake discloses with respect to the method according to claim 8, wherein the virtual character carries a movable light source object (see 1:50:40-1:54:53 & 5:02:43-5:02:53: the virtual character can carry a flare as opposed to a flash light; see 03:29:24: a virtual character throws flash bang; see 44:34: flare guns); and the displaying the second area in the illuminated state in the first area includes launching the movable light source object to a target location in response to a launch command input for the virtual character (a player can perform specific input commands to cause a flash bang to be thrown, i.e. launched, to a target location on the ground); and the second area is determined based on the target location and a predefined illumination radius of the movable light source object (the second area around a thrown flash bang will be at the target location of the throw and the illuminated area will be the predefined illuminated area caused by the flash bang). Re claim 14: Alan Wake discloses with respect to the method according to claim 8, wherein the virtual environment further includes a light-blocking object that is configured to obstruct light (01:54:35: the virtual environment contains enemy characters that blocks light from passing through them) and the displaying the second area in the illuminated state includes displaying the second area in the illuminated state when the light-blocking object is removed from the virtual environment, the second area corresponding to an area previously obstructed by the light-blocking object (when the enemy character is removed, light can shine to the area behind the enemy character). Re claim 15: Alan Woke discloses with respect to the method according to claim 2, further comprising: detecting a change in the second area from the illuminated state back to the non-illuminated state; and in response to the change, switching the light-sensitive object in the second area from the second interaction state to the first interaction state (see 1:45:34-1:45:44: when the light is no longer on the secondary area, the enemy character returns to being un-attacked) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alan Wake in view of Escape From Bug Island (https://eyzmaster.blogspot.com/2014/03/vgr-escape-from-bug-island.html) . Re claim 3: Alan Wake fails to disclose with respect to the method according to claim 2, wherein the light-sensitive object comprises a light-seeking object; the switching the light-sensitive object from the first interaction state to the second interaction state includes transitioning the light-seeking object from the first interaction state to the second interaction state in response to the second area being changed from the non-illuminated state to the illuminated state; and the transition from the first interaction state to the second interaction state alters an available movement path for the virtual character in the virtual environment. However, Escape From Bug Island teaches a similar game to that of Alan Wake, wherein a user carries a light emitting object, however here the light emitting object attracts light seeking attacking insects. Thus, the light sensitive insects are changed from a calm state to an attacking state (see Escape From Bug Island stating, “The game makes use of fog for the atmosphere... and hide the graphics AND the backgrounds. By using your light (you will get a flashlight at the start but a better light much later on) you can see some nice simple lighting effects. But that attracts more insects. So it's almost better to play completely at night, with the fog hiding everything from you.”). Similar to Alan Wake, in Escape From Bug Island, the player has another weapon that can be used to defeat the incoming enemies, wherein a combination with Alan Wake would defeat the invading insects in a similar manner It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the game of Alan Wake with light seeking insects, for the purpose of adding more enemy diversity to the game and thus, making the game more exciting . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alan Wake . Re claim 7: Alan Wake fails to specifically disclose the specific of the method according to claim 6, wherein the transitioning the light-adverse object from the battle state to the non-battle state comprises: determining a central point of the second area when the second area changes from the non-illuminated state to the illuminated state; calculating a distance between the light-adverse object and the central point in the virtual environment; and transitioning the light-adverse object from the battle state to the non-battle state when the calculated distance is less than a second threshold distance. However, it is obvious from the video evidence that Alan Wake discloses the use of flash bangs that when thrown, i.e. launched, changes a second area from an non-illuminated state to an illuminated state from a central point at which flash bang lands in the virtual environment. In accordance with how flash bangs operate, it is obvious that from the location of a landing point said flash bang, a distance is calculated from the explosion point to enemy characters that were greater effected their proximity to the central point of the flash bang. From there, once the flash bang is exploded said enemy character change from an attack state to a harmed and stunned state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the flash bangs of Alan Wake operate in the above manner, as such would’ve replicated actual flash bangs. Re claim 16. Alan Wake fails to specifically disclose the method according to claim 2, further comprising: determining the interaction state of the light-sensitive object based on a light intensity level at a location of the light-sensitive object in the virtual environment, the light intensity level being based on a brightness value of a light source, and a distance between the light-sensitive object and the light source. However, Alan Wake teaches the use of flash bangs which functions as a grenade wherein the light expelled is the explosive. It is obvious that when functioning as a grenade, the intensity level of the light, i.e. explosion, expelled from the flash bang is stronger nearer to the location of the flash bang. At said location, enemies characters are more likely to suffer more, as opposed to being further away from the location where the effects on the enemy will be less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the flash bangs of Alan Wake operate as light expelling grenades, as such would’ve added to the excitement to the game and versatility of game play . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alan Wake in view of Ark Aberrration glow stick guide (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5-wCgCNVKs) . Re claim 12: Alan Wake fails disclose with respect to the method according to claim 11, wherein the launching the movable light source object comprises: launching the movable light source object in a direction indicated by the launch command input; and at least one of attaching the movable light source object at the target location when the movable light source object contacts an environmental surface. However, Ark Aberration teaches such (see 0:50-0:56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the game items to include a launching and attaching lightsource based item, for the purpose of allowing the user to maintain light in various dark areas where a higher placed item would be more beneficial . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alan Wake in view of The Long Dark (https://web.archive.org/web/20220126235822/https://thelongdark.fandom.com/wiki/Marine_Flare_) . Re claim 13: Alan Wake fails to disclose with respect to the method according to claim 11, further comprising: controlling the virtual character to retrieve the movable light source object in response to a retrieval command input; and updating the second area to revert from the illuminated state to the obscured visual state. However, the game The Long Dark incorporates light flares into the game wherein users can throw said flares and pick up, i.e. retrieve, said flare in response to a pick up command, (see The Long Dark, stating “Thrown marine flares can be picked up even while burning, this makes them an effective tool against multiple wolves (as long as the flare can be retrieved). Marine Flares can even be picked up after they are burned out, though they serve no purpose (marked in the inventory as "RUINED" and red 'X' icon) and will still contribute weight to one's inventory.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the flares and flash bangs of Alan Wake with the pick up feature of The Long Dark, for the purpose of allowing the user to use the items again . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4, 5, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to REGINALD A RENWICK whose telephone number is (571)270-1913. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 11am-7pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kang Hu can be reached at (571)270-1344 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. REGINALD A. RENWICK Primary Examiner Art Unit 3714 /REGINALD A RENWICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/913,981 Page 2 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/913,981 Page 3 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/913,981 Page 4 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/913,981 Page 5 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/913,981 Page 6 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/913,981 Page 7 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/913,981 Page 8 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/913,981 Page 9 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/913,981 Page 10 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/913,981 Page 11 Art Unit: 3715