Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tontiruttananon et al. (USPN 20130091282A1) in view of in view of Brunk et al. (USPN 20130332614A1).
As per claim 1, Tontiruttananon et al. a computer-implemented method when executed by data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising:
receiving a cluster reliability of a computing cluster comprising a maximum computing capacity, the cluster reliability representative of a reliability of the computing cluster when utilizing an entirety of the maximum computing capacity (paragraphs 0049,0050 – cluster reliability is the reliability system downtime SLA, the maximum computing capacity is the total capacity usage at anytime is not allowed to exceed the purchased 80% capacity level of the CN pool, computing cluster is the distributed PEs system (i.e., a CN pool system) – processing entities systems in the abstract);
receiving a provisioning request from a user requesting provisioning of the computing cluster, the provisioning request comprising a user input indication indicating selection of a threshold reliability (paragraph 0058 - When an order for a new or upgraded capacity and reliability SLA SW license is received (blocks 121-122 in FIG. 8), the ISLM 72 (or, more specifically, the TES system 100 in the ISLM 72) may query its database 98 to obtain the current configuration data of each distributed PEs system or telco cloud (block 124) that may be a candidate to which the user-requested ISL license (if granted) may be assigned, and to also obtain the capacity and reliability performance data of each individual PE (or VM) in each distributed PEs system/cloud under consideration (block 125)…. Thereafter, the ISLM 72 may use the methodology in FIG. 10 (or FIG. 11, as applicable) (both of these figures are discussed below) to determine the optimal enhanced capacity level (i.e., optimal level of spare capacity) e* required to deliver the reliability SLA – the threshold reliability – requested in the user's order (block 128).);
determining, using the cluster reliability of the computing cluster, a reserved computing capacity of the computing cluster based on the selected threshold reliability, the reserved computing capacity less than the maximum computing capacity (Figure 6, paragraph 0051 – the reserved computer capacity is the enhanced capacity level of the distributed capacity system e; (total spare capacity) - The reliability SLA may be realized through an allocation of a sufficient level of the enhanced (spare) capacity S=eC.sub.system-oC.sub.system, 0<o.ltoreq.e.ltoreq.1, where, for a given reliability SLA basic order received by the ISL Manager 72 (shown in more detail in FIG. 7), an optimal enhanced capacity level e* may be determined by the ISL Manager 72 using either of the methodologies in FIGS. 10-11 discussed below. It is noted that the intended use of variable e here is for the enhanced capacity at an unspecified level of reliability SLA, whereas e* is the minimum value of e sufficient to deliver the specified reliability SLA (as also noted in FIG. 6). In FIG. 6, the spare capacity S (across all PEs) is indicated by reference numeral "88" and the remaining unallocated capacity (across all PEs) available for future capacity expansion or reliability SLA upgrade is indicated by reference numeral "90.");
determining, based on the reserved computing capacity and the maximum computing capacity of the computing cluster, an unreserved computing capacity of the computing cluster (paragraph 0051 - A way to provide the on demand integrated capacity and reliability SLA is to provide capacity software licenses for the purchasable operating capacity C.sub.p=oC.sub.system, 0<o.ltoreq.1, together with the purchasable reliability SLA software license. In FIG. 6, C.sub.p (across all PEs) is indicated by reference numeral "86." – purchased (operating) capacity);
reserving the reserved computing capacity of the computing cluster, the reserved computing capacity of the computing cluster initially unavailable for execution of user workloads (paragraph 0051 - A way to provide the on demand integrated capacity and reliability SLA is to provide capacity software licenses for the purchasable operating capacity C.sub.p=oC.sub.system, 0<o.ltoreq.1, together with the purchasable reliability SLA software license.); and
executing a user workload associated with the user on the unreserved computing capacity of the computing cluster (paragraph 0051 - A way to provide the on demand integrated capacity and reliability SLA is to provide capacity software licenses for the purchasable operating capacity C.sub.p=oC.sub.system, 0<o.ltoreq.1, together with the purchasable reliability SLA software license.; paragraph 0095 - The ISL licensing approach according to the present invention can be applied in the distributed PEs systems, such as the MSC pool or SGSN/MME pool systems that have the capability to provide spare capacity at the system level. It can also be applied in the cloud computing model (e.g., a telco cloud) where redundant or spare capacity can be engineered utilizing the virtualization technology to support the many-to-one failover of the VMs in a virtual environment in the cloud. The on-demand ISL licensing approach according to the present invention makes use of an ISL dimensioning methodology (implemented using an ISL Manager) and an ISL Controller (ISLC) that keeps track of the capacity usage at the system level together with the periodic monitoring of health status of PEs or VMs. The ISLC dynamically controls the capacity usage as well as the reliability SLA based on the aggregated workload utilization conditions from all the PEs or VMs, hence allowing appropriate level of workload to be (re-)routed to other PEs or VMs whenever there are partial or total outages of individual PE(s) or VM(s). The total amount of re-routed workload due to outages may be further policed by the ISLC at an optimal level to allow the delivery of the user-purchased level of guaranteed reliability SLA in an economical manner.).
Tontiruttananon et al. fails to explicitly state from a table listing a plurality of different threshold reliabilities.
Tontiruttananon et al. does disclose (paragraph 0058 - When an order for a new or upgraded capacity and reliability SLA SW license is received (blocks 121-122 in FIG. 8), the ISLM 72 (or, more specifically, the TES system 100 in the ISLM 72) may query its database 98 to obtain the current configuration data of each distributed PEs system or telco cloud (block 124) that may be a candidate to which the user-requested ISL license (if granted) may be assigned, and to also obtain the capacity and reliability performance data of each individual PE (or VM) in each distributed PEs system/cloud under consideration (block 125) – the threshold reliability – requested in the user's order (block 128).).
Brunk et al. does disclose from a table listing a plurality of different threshold reliabilities in paragraph 0112 - The user interface also includes widgets 510-525 for the user to specify the customer's storage needs. For example, a first widget 510 provides the user with the ability to select a capacity of Tier 1 storage (which, in this example, can provide 50,000 IOPS) to be provisioned, while a second widget 515 provides the user with the ability to select the capacity of Tier 2 storage (which, in this example, can provide 30,000 IOPS) to be provisioned. Similarly a third widget 520 provides the user with the ability to select a capacity of Tier 3 storage (5333 IOPS, in this example) to be provisioned, and a fourth widget 525 provides the user with the ability to select an amount of Tier 4 storage (1200 IOPS, in this example) to be provisioned. The user interface 500 then might display for the user the total amount of storage that has been requested and Figure 5 – displaying widgets as menus, as further indicated in paragraph 0096.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the ability to select a capacity from a drop down menu of Brunk in an order for a new or upgraded capacity and reliability SLA SW license is received from a user of Tonti. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because it is known in the art to adjust values by way of a drop down menu, as disclosed in paragraph 0112.
As per claims 2,12, Tontiruttananon et al. discloses wherein the threshold reliability comprises an uptime percentage of the computing cluster (paragraph 0043 - the present invention allows a user/customer to purchase any number of ISL software licenses at a desired level of capacity and reliability SLA granularity on demand (e.g., 95.56% monthly uptime for 25% of the deployed system's maximum capacity, or 10.25 minutes of downtime per system per year at 40% of the deployed system's maximum capacity, etc.). Thus, the user can purchase a SW license for user-customized capacity integrated with a SW license for user-customized reliability SLA, up to the maximum capacity rating of the deployed system (or processing resource)).
As per claims 3,13, Tontiruttananon et al. discloses wherein the operations further comprise: detecting a failure of the computing cluster, the failure affecting the unreserved computing capacity of the computing cluster; and based on detecting the failure, designating at least a portion of the reserved computing capacity as available for execution of the user workload (paragraphs 0043,0047 - to ensure conformance with the purchased capacity level under normal operating condition while precise level of spare capacity--needed to meet the requirements of the purchased reliability SLA--can be accessed in the event of PE(s) or VM(s) outage in order to handle traffic load).
As per claims 4,14, Tontiruttananon et al. discloses wherein: the computing cluster comprises a plurality of components (paragraph 0049 – distributed PEs system (i.e., a CN pool system); and
receiving the cluster reliability of the computing cluster comprises: for each respective component of the plurality of components, determining a respective component reliability; and aggregating each respective component reliability (paragraph 0070 - The modeling of fractional PE capacity redundancy for the distributed PEs system is discussed to illustrate how the model may be used to calculate the system downtime target from the individual PE downtime performance rating, or equivalently, to calculate the system availability from the individual PE nodal availability rating. The model may allow continuous adjustment of system-wide spare capacity level (as opposed to discrete adjustment of a whole PE capacity unit), thereby making it possible to determine the minimum required system-wide spare capacity level needed to meet the given (i.e., user-desired) reliability SLA (which may be specified, as mentioned earlier, in terms of either system downtime or system availability requirement) for any purchased capacity level--as discussed earlier in the context of FIGS. 10 and 11.).
As per claims 5,15, Tontiruttananon et al. discloses wherein determining the reserved computing capacity of the computing cluster comprises: receiving a threshold reliability update request comprising a second threshold reliability; and adjusting the threshold reliability based on the second threshold reliability (paragraph 0058 - When an order for a new or upgraded capacity and reliability SLA SW license is received (blocks 121-122 in FIG. 8), the ISLM 72 (or, more specifically, the TES system 100 in the ISLM 72) may query its database 98 to obtain the current configuration data of each distributed PEs system or telco cloud (block 124) that may be a candidate to which the user-requested ISL license (if granted) may be assigned, and to also obtain the capacity and reliability performance data of each individual PE (or VM) in each distributed PEs system/cloud under consideration (block 125)…. Thereafter, the ISLM 72 may use the methodology in FIG. 10 (or FIG. 11, as applicable) (both of these figures are discussed below) to determine the optimal enhanced capacity level (i.e., optimal level of spare capacity) e* required to deliver the reliability SLA – the threshold reliability – requested in the user's order (block 128).).
As per claims 6,16, Tontiruttananon et al. discloses wherein the operations further comprise, after provisioning the computing cluster, monitoring for a failure affecting the unreserved computing capacity (paragraph 0088 - monitoring of health status of each PE (or VM-based processing entity) in the system (task 287)).
As per claims 8,18, Tontiruttananon et al. discloses wherein: the computing cluster comprises a plurality of nodes (paragraph 0049 – distributed PEs system (i.e., a CN pool system) – stated as processing entities systems in the abstract which is inclusive of nodes), each respective node of the plurality of nodes comprising a maximum node computing capacity; and reserving the reserved computing capacity of the computing cluster comprises establishing, for each respective node of the plurality of nodes, a computing capacity limit that is less than the maximum node computing capacity of the respective node (Figure 6, paragraph 0051 – the reserved computer capacity is the enhanced capacity level of the distributed capacity system e; (total spare capacity) - The reliability SLA may be realized through an allocation of a sufficient level of the enhanced (spare) capacity S=eC.sub.system-oC.sub.system, 0<o.ltoreq.e.ltoreq.1, where, for a given reliability SLA basic order received by the ISL Manager 72 (shown in more detail in FIG. 7), an optimal enhanced capacity level e* may be determined by the ISL Manager 72 using either of the methodologies in FIGS. 10-11 discussed below. It is noted that the intended use of variable e here is for the enhanced capacity at an unspecified level of reliability SLA, whereas e* is the minimum value of e sufficient to deliver the specified reliability SLA (as also noted in FIG. 6). In FIG. 6, the spare capacity S (across all PEs) is indicated by reference numeral "88" and the remaining unallocated capacity (across all PEs) available for future capacity expansion or reliability SLA upgrade is indicated by reference numeral "90.").
As per claims 9,19, Tontiruttananon et al. discloses wherein the operations further comprise: detecting a failure of one respective node of the plurality of nodes (paragraph 0088 - monitoring of health status of each PE (or VM-based processing entity) in the system (task 287)); and based on detecting the failure, removing the computing capacity limit from at least one respective node of the plurality of nodes (paragraphs 0043,0047 - to ensure conformance with the purchased capacity level under normal operating condition while precise level of spare capacity--needed to meet the requirements of the purchased reliability SLA--can be accessed in the event of PE(s) or VM(s) outage in order to handle traffic load, spare capacity is used).
As per claim 11, Tontiruttananon et al. discloses a system comprising: data processing hardware (paragraph 0086 - The processor 280); and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (paragraph 0087 - may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable storage medium (e.g., the memory 282) for execution by a general purpose computer or a processor (e.g., the CPU 280)) comprising:
receiving a cluster reliability of a computing cluster comprising a maximum computing capacity, the cluster reliability representative of a reliability of the computing cluster when utilizing an entirety of the maximum computing capacity (paragraphs 0049,0050 – cluster reliability is the reliability system downtime SLA, the maximum computing capacity is the total capacity usage at anytime is not allowed to exceed the purchased 80% capacity level of the CN pool, computing cluster is the distributed PEs system (i.e., a CN pool system) – processing entities systems in the abstract);
receiving a provisioning request from a user requesting provisioning of the computing cluster, the provisioning request comprising a user input indication indicating selection of a threshold reliability (paragraph 0058 - When an order for a new or upgraded capacity and reliability SLA SW license is received (blocks 121-122 in FIG. 8), the ISLM 72 (or, more specifically, the TES system 100 in the ISLM 72) may query its database 98 to obtain the current configuration data of each distributed PEs system or telco cloud (block 124) that may be a candidate to which the user-requested ISL license (if granted) may be assigned, and to also obtain the capacity and reliability performance data of each individual PE (or VM) in each distributed PEs system/cloud under consideration (block 125)…. Thereafter, the ISLM 72 may use the methodology in FIG. 10 (or FIG. 11, as applicable) (both of these figures are discussed below) to determine the optimal enhanced capacity level (i.e., optimal level of spare capacity) e* required to deliver the reliability SLA – the threshold reliability – requested in the user's order (block 128).);
determining, using the cluster reliability of the computing cluster, a reserved computing capacity of the computing cluster based on the selected threshold reliability, the reserved computing capacity less than the maximum computing capacity (Figure 6, paragraph 0051 – the reserved computer capacity is the enhanced capacity level of the distributed capacity system e; (total spare capacity) - The reliability SLA may be realized through an allocation of a sufficient level of the enhanced (spare) capacity S=eC.sub.system-oC.sub.system, 0<o.ltoreq.e.ltoreq.1, where, for a given reliability SLA basic order received by the ISL Manager 72 (shown in more detail in FIG. 7), an optimal enhanced capacity level e* may be determined by the ISL Manager 72 using either of the methodologies in FIGS. 10-11 discussed below. It is noted that the intended use of variable e here is for the enhanced capacity at an unspecified level of reliability SLA, whereas e* is the minimum value of e sufficient to deliver the specified reliability SLA (as also noted in FIG. 6). In FIG. 6, the spare capacity S (across all PEs) is indicated by reference numeral "88" and the remaining unallocated capacity (across all PEs) available for future capacity expansion or reliability SLA upgrade is indicated by reference numeral "90.");
determining, based on the reserved computing capacity and the maximum computing capacity of the computing cluster, an unreserved computing capacity of the computing cluster (paragraph 0051 - A way to provide the on demand integrated capacity and reliability SLA is to provide capacity software licenses for the purchasable operating capacity C.sub.p=oC.sub.system, 0<o.ltoreq.1, together with the purchasable reliability SLA software license. In FIG. 6, C.sub.p (across all PEs) is indicated by reference numeral "86." – purchased (operating) capacity);
reserving the reserved computing capacity of the computing cluster, the reserved computing capacity of the computing cluster initially unavailable for execution of user workloads (paragraph 0051 - A way to provide the on demand integrated capacity and reliability SLA is to provide capacity software licenses for the purchasable operating capacity C.sub.p=oC.sub.system, 0<o.ltoreq.1, together with the purchasable reliability SLA software license.); and
executing a user workload associated with the user on the unreserved computing capacity of the computing cluster (paragraph 0051 - A way to provide the on demand integrated capacity and reliability SLA is to provide capacity software licenses for the purchasable operating capacity C.sub.p=oC.sub.system, 0<o.ltoreq.1, together with the purchasable reliability SLA software license.; paragraph 0095 - The ISL licensing approach according to the present invention can be applied in the distributed PEs systems, such as the MSC pool or SGSN/MME pool systems that have the capability to provide spare capacity at the system level. It can also be applied in the cloud computing model (e.g., a telco cloud) where redundant or spare capacity can be engineered utilizing the virtualization technology to support the many-to-one failover of the VMs in a virtual environment in the cloud. The on-demand ISL licensing approach according to the present invention makes use of an ISL dimensioning methodology (implemented using an ISL Manager) and an ISL Controller (ISLC) that keeps track of the capacity usage at the system level together with the periodic monitoring of health status of PEs or VMs. The ISLC dynamically controls the capacity usage as well as the reliability SLA based on the aggregated workload utilization conditions from all the PEs or VMs, hence allowing appropriate level of workload to be (re-)routed to other PEs or VMs whenever there are partial or total outages of individual PE(s) or VM(s). The total amount of re-routed workload due to outages may be further policed by the ISLC at an optimal level to allow the delivery of the user-purchased level of guaranteed reliability SLA in an economical manner.).
Tontiruttananon et al. fails to explicitly state from a table listing a plurality of different threshold reliabilities.
Tontiruttananon et al. does disclose (paragraph 0058 - When an order for a new or upgraded capacity and reliability SLA SW license is received (blocks 121-122 in FIG. 8), the ISLM 72 (or, more specifically, the TES system 100 in the ISLM 72) may query its database 98 to obtain the current configuration data of each distributed PEs system or telco cloud (block 124) that may be a candidate to which the user-requested ISL license (if granted) may be assigned, and to also obtain the capacity and reliability performance data of each individual PE (or VM) in each distributed PEs system/cloud under consideration (block 125) – the threshold reliability – requested in the user's order (block 128).).
Brunk et al. does disclose from a table listing a plurality of different threshold reliabilities in paragraph 0112 - The user interface also includes widgets 510-525 for the user to specify the customer's storage needs. For example, a first widget 510 provides the user with the ability to select a capacity of Tier 1 storage (which, in this example, can provide 50,000 IOPS) to be provisioned, while a second widget 515 provides the user with the ability to select the capacity of Tier 2 storage (which, in this example, can provide 30,000 IOPS) to be provisioned. Similarly a third widget 520 provides the user with the ability to select a capacity of Tier 3 storage (5333 IOPS, in this example) to be provisioned, and a fourth widget 525 provides the user with the ability to select an amount of Tier 4 storage (1200 IOPS, in this example) to be provisioned. The user interface 500 then might display for the user the total amount of storage that has been requested and Figure 5 – displaying widgets as menus, as further indicated in paragraph 0096.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the ability to select a capacity from a drop down menu of Brunk in an order for a new or upgraded capacity and reliability SLA SW license is received from a user of Tonti. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because it is known in the art to adjust values by way of a drop down menu, as disclosed in paragraph 0112.
Claim(s) 7,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tontiruttananon et al. (USPN 20130091282A1) in view of Brunk et al. (USPN 20130332614A1) in further view of Mashayekhi et al. (USPN 20030051187A1).
As per claims 7,17, Tontiruttananon et al. discloses wherein: the computing cluster comprises a plurality of nodes (paragraph 0049 – distributed PEs system (i.e., a CN pool system) – stated as processing entities systems in the abstract).
Tontiruttananon et al. and Brunk et al. fail to explicitly state reserving the reserved computing capacity of the computing cluster comprises tainting one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes.
Tontiruttananon et al. does disclose in paragraph 0088 - The MPU 284 in the ISLC 77 may perform various tasks (using the CPU 280 as mentioned earlier) such as, for example, monitoring of capacity usage of each PE (or VM-based processing entity) in the system (task 286), monitoring of health status of each PE (or VM-based processing entity) in the system (task 287), policing of user-ordered system reliability SLA (task 288) and related policing of system capacity usage (task 289). The MPU 284 may also perform one or more tasks shown in the flowchart in FIG. 20 as part of ISLC's ISL license monitoring and policing functionality.
Mashayekhi et al. discloses reserving the reserved computing capacity of the computing cluster comprises tainting one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes in paragraph 0010 - Another known failover policy utilizes a separate "passive" node that is present in the cluster exclusively for the purpose of being the failover node for all active nodes in the cluster. As illustrated in the following graph, each node on the cluster that is actively running applications (nodes 1-3) fails over to node 4, which is not tasked with running any applications other than in the event of a failover.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the failover policy of having a node that is not used until a failover event occurs of Mashayekhi in monitoring of capacity usage of each PE (or VM-based processing entity) in the system, policing of user-ordered system reliability SLA and related policing of system capacity usage of Tontiruttananon. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because having a node that is not used until a failover event occurs is a type of failover policy in a computing system as disclosed in paragraph 0010.
Claim(s) 10,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tontiruttananon et al. (USPN 20130091282A1) in view of in view of Brunk et al. (USPN 20130332614A1) in further view of Jain et al. (USPN 10382358B1)
As per claims 10,20, Tontiruttananon et al. and Brunk et al. fail to explicitly state wherein the table comprises listing different quantities of nodes for providing computing capacity to the computing cluster.
Tontiruttananon et al. does disclose paragraph 0049 – distributed PEs system (i.e., a CN pool system) – stated as processing entities systems in the abstract which is inclusive of nodes and paragraph 0058 - When an order for a new or upgraded capacity and reliability SLA SW license is received (blocks 121-122 in FIG. 8), the ISLM 72 (or, more specifically, the TES system 100 in the ISLM 72) may query its database 98 to obtain the current configuration data of each distributed PEs system or telco cloud (block 124) that may be a candidate to which the user-requested ISL license (if granted) may be assigned, and to also obtain the capacity and reliability performance data of each individual PE (or VM) in each distributed PEs system/cloud under consideration (block 125)…. Thereafter, the ISLM 72 may use the methodology in FIG. 10 (or FIG. 11, as applicable) (both of these figures are discussed below) to determine the optimal enhanced capacity level (i.e., optimal level of spare capacity) e* required to deliver the reliability SLA – the threshold reliability – requested in the user's order (block 128).
Jain et al. discloses the table comprises listing different quantities of nodes for providing computing capacity to the computing cluster in column 10, lines 62-65 - For example, a graphical interface may be used to display multiple tiers of computing nodes according to computing capacity and physical location of the computing nodes.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include displaying of multiple tiers of computing nodes according to computing capacity of Jain in processing entities and new or upgraded capacity of Tontiruttananon. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because the management console interface views specifications for computing nodes included in the multi-tiered data processing service, as disclosed in column 10, lines 58-61.
/Yolanda L Wilson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113