DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2691.
This communication is responsive to the claims filed 12/23/2024.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claims 15-21 recite “computer program product” and/or “computer readable medium”, however since the specification does not provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-21 claim the non-statutory subject matter of a computer readablemedium. Data structures not claimed as embodied in computer-readable media aredescriptive material per se and are not statutory because they are not capable ofcausing functional change in the computer. See, e.g., Warmerdam, 33 F.3d at 1361, 31USPQ2d at 1754 (claim to a data structure per se held nonstatutory).
Furthermore, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficiently to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as classifying a sound environment that represents others, does not amount to significantly more.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-28 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,707. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,707 are similar in scope to the rejected claims 1-28 of the U. S. Pat. App (No. 18/914,007) with obvious wording variations.
U. S. Pat. App No. 18/914,007
U.S. Patent No. 12,160,707
8. A hearing device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the hearing device to: receive, via a first microphone of the hearing device, first audio content; receive, via a second microphone of the hearing device, second audio content; and output the first audio content at a first volume and output the second audio content at a second volume, wherein the first volume is higher than the second volume.
9. A device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors cause the device to: receive audio content captured by a plurality of microphones associated with a hearing device; determine that a first portion of the audio content is associated with a first microphone of the plurality of microphones; generate, based at least on the first portion being associated with the first microphone, audio indicative of the first portion; and send, to the hearing device for output, the audio indicative of the first portion.
10. The device of claim 9, wherein the first microphone is a unidirectional microphone configured to capture audio content from a direction, and wherein the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to determine that the first portion is associated with the first microphone cause the device to determine that the first portion originated from the direction.
11. The device of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the device to: determine that a second portion of the audio content is associated with a second microphone of the plurality of microphones; generate, based at least on the second portion being associated with the second microphone, audio indicative of the second portion, the audio indicative of the second portion having a different characteristic than the audio indicative of the first portion; and send, to the hearing device for output, the audio indicative of the second portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-22 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dave et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2016/0044424).
Regarding claim 8, Dave et al. disclose a hearing device (1) comprising: one or more processors (10-11, 26); and memory storing instructions (24) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the hearing device to: receive, via a first microphone (18/20) of the hearing device, first audio content; receive, via a second microphone (20/18) of the hearing device, second audio content; and output the first audio content at a first volume (5) and output the second audio content at a second volume (5), wherein the first volume is higher than the second volume ([0018, 0022-0025]).
Regarding claim 11, Dave et al. further disclose the hearing device, wherein the first audio content comprises speech (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 12, Dave et al. further disclose the hearing device, wherein the second audio content comprises background noise ([0018, 0022-0025]).
Regarding claim 13, Dave et al. further disclose the hearing device, wherein the instructions (24) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the hearing device to output the first audio (5) content at the first volume and output the second audio content at the second volume comprise instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the hearing device to simultaneously output the first audio content at the first volume and the second audio content at the second volume ([0018, 0022-0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Dave et al. further disclose the hearing device, wherein the instructions (24) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the hearing device to output the first audio (5) content at the first volume and output the second audio content (5) at the second volume comprise instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the hearing device to initiate output of the first audio content prior to initiating output of the second audio content ([0018, 0022-0025]).
Method claims 1 and 4-7 are similar to claims 8, 11-14 except for being couched in method terminology; such methods would be inherent when the structure is shown in the references.
Computer software product claims 15 and 18-21 are similar to claims 1, 4-8 and 11-14 except for being couched in computer software terminology; such limitation would be inherent when the structure/method is shown in the references.
A systematic claims 22 and 25-28 are similar to claims 1, 4-8 and 11-14 except for being couched in systematic terminology; such limitation would be inherent when the structure/method is shown in the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-17 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dave et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2016/0044424).
Regarding claim 9, Dave et al. may not specially teach that the first microphone comprises a unidirectional microphone as claimed. Since providing suitable microphone for a hearing device is very well known in the art (Official Notice), and Dave et al. do suggest for modification ([0026]), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable microphone, such as unidirectional microphone, for the hearing device taught by Dave et al., in order to effectively and efficiently receive the user’s voice/speech.
Regarding claim 10, Dave et al. may not specially teach that the second microphone comprises an omnidirectional microphone as claimed. Since providing suitable microphone for a hearing device is very well known in the art (Official Notice), and Dave et al. do suggest for modification ([0026]), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable microphone, such as omnidirectional microphone, for the hearing device taught by Dave et al., in order to effectively and efficiently receive the ambient sound, for noise reduction.
Method claims 2-3 are similar to claims 9-10 except for being couched in method terminology; such methods would be inherent when the structure is shown in the references.
Computer software product claims 16-17 are similar to claims 2-3 and 9-10 except for being couched in computer software terminology; such limitation would be inherent when the structure/method is shown in the references.
A systematic claims 23-24 are similar to claims 2-3 and 9-10 except for being couched in systematic terminology; such limitation would be inherent when the structure/method is shown in the references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691