DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 63/457,671, 63/347,389, and 18/203,630 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. None of the relied upon applications provide adequate written description support for the claim limitations “determine a readiness score based on analyzing the organizational data; and generate a resilience based on the readiness score, wherein the resilience comprises a level of preparedness for avoiding an interruption in operation of the plurality of organizational resources” found in independent claims 1, 10, and 19.
None of the relied upon applications provide adequate written description support for the claim limitations “wherein analyzing the organizational data comprises analyzing the configuration settings using computer vision to assess a configuration of the plurality of configuration data” found in claims 4 and 13.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior-filed applications.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/11/2024, 11/18/2024, 03/07/2025, 09/29/2025, 11/28/2025, 03/19/2026, 05/03/2026, and 05/12/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “700” has been used to refer to different interfaces of Figures 7A-7J. Similarly, Figures 8A-8E utilize the same reference character “800” to refer to different interfaces, reference character “900” for Figures 9A-9H respectively, and so on. This deficiency is found in the following figures: Figures 7A-7J, 7L-7O, 8A-8E, 9A-9H, 10A-10E, 11A-11D, 13A-13E, 14A-14B, 15A-15G, 16A-16D, 18A-18C, 20A-20B, and 21A-21B with the respective reference characters 700, 800, 900, 1000, 1100, 1200, 1300, 1400, 1500, 1600, 1800, 2000, and 2100.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs [0037] and [0041] refer to “Figure 1” generically, while there is no Figure 1 specifically, there is Figure 1A and Figure 1B. The citation to “Figure 1” should be amended such that it properly references the correct figures.
Paragraphs [0049] refers to “FIGS. 2-49” while the originally filed figure numbers only go up to Figure 24.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the claim terms:
Computer vision
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5 and 14 contain a typo, “automatedly” should read “automatically” as the term “automatedly” is not in the dictionary as of the current record, and is not defined within the originally filed disclosure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 10, 19:
Independent claims 1, 10, and 19 recite “determine a readiness score based on analyzing the organizational data; and generate a resilience based on the readiness score, wherein the resilience comprises a level of preparedness for avoiding an interruption in operation of the plurality of organizational resources”. The limitations in question do not satisfy the written description requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. The specification does not describe the limitation in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure is devoid of any description regarding how the claimed invention actually performs the specialized claim functions of determining “a readiness score based on analyzing the organizational data”, and “wherein the resilience comprises a level of preparedness for avoiding an interruption in operation of the plurality of organizational resources”. The limitations, at most, only appear as repetitions of claim language in the abstract, or within the originally filed claims themselves, which is insufficient with regard to the requirements under § 112(a) as in MPEP 2161.01, "computer-implemented functional claim language must still be evaluated for sufficient disclosure under the written description". And MPEP 2161.01(I) "generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed." For computer-implemented inventions, the determination of the sufficiency of disclosure will require an inquiry into the sufficiency of both the disclosed hardware and the disclosed software due to the interrelationship and interdependence of computer hardware and software. The critical inquiry is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.
As in MPEP 2161.01 (I), "The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention." It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
AS in MPEP 2161.01 “For instance, generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349-50, 94 USPQ2d at 1171 ("[A]n adequate written description of a claimed genus requires more than a generic statement of an invention’s boundaries.") (citing Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1405-06); Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that generic claim language appearing in ipsis verbis in the original specification did not satisfy the written description requirement because it failed to support the scope of the genus claimed); Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1170, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (rejecting the argument that "only similar language in the specification or original claims is necessary to satisfy the written description requirement").”
“The Federal Circuit has explained that a specification cannot always support expansive claim language and satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112 "merely by clearly describing one embodiment of the thing claimed." LizardTech v. Earth Resource Mapping, Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1346, 76 USPQ2d 1731, 1733 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The issue is whether a person skilled in the art would understand applicant to have invented, and been in possession of, the invention as broadly claimed. In LizardTech, claims to a generic method of making a seamless discrete wavelet transformation (DWT) were held invalid under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification taught only one particular method for making a seamless DWT and there was no evidence that the specification contemplated a more generic method. "[T]he description of one method for creating a seamless DWT does not entitle the inventor . . . to claim any and all means for achieving that objective." LizardTech, 424 F.3d at 1346, 76 USPQ2d at 1733.”
Dependent claims 4 and 13 recite “wherein analyzing the organizational data comprises analyzing the configuration settings using computer vision to assess a configuration of the plurality of configuration data”. There is no support in the disclosure regarding how the inventor intended to perform these various claimed functionalities. The algorithm or steps/procedures for these claimed functions is not explained at all or is not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient) so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure is silent with respect to how the inventor intended to achieve the claimed desired function of using computer vision to preferably assess a configuration of the plurality of configuration data.
Dependent claim 6 and 15 recite “wherein determining the readiness score based on analyzing the organizational data comprises determining the readiness score using a machine learning model”. There is no support in the disclosure regarding how the inventor intended to perform these various claimed functionalities. The algorithm or steps/procedures for these claimed functions is not explained at all or is not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient) so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure is silent with respect to how the inventor intended to achieve the claimed desired function of configuring a machine learning model to preferably determine the readiness score using a machine learning model.
Respective dependent claims fall together accordingly.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “a level of preparedness” in claims 1, 10, and 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a level of preparedness” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. One of ordinary skill would not be appraised of the scope of the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a level of preparedness” in relation to the claimed “generat[ing] a resilience based on the readiness score” as currently claimed.
Dependent claims fall together accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claim(s) 1 recite(s) [receive] organizational data associated with a plurality of organizational resources for an organization; analyze the organizational data; determine a readiness score based on analyzing the organizational data; and generate a resilience based on the readiness score, wherein the resilience comprises a level of preparedness for avoiding an interruption in operation of the plurality of organizational resources.
Under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“2019 PEG”), effective January 7, 2019, independent claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without being significantly more nor being integrated into a practical application. The claimed invention [receives] “organizational data associated with a plurality of organizational resources for an organization”, analyzes the organizational data, determines a “readiness score” based on the data, and generates “a resilience based on the readiness score, wherein the resilience comprises a level of preparedness for avoiding an interruption in operation of the plurality of organizational resources”. The claim limitations identified above, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are broad enough to encompass limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Except for an apparatus for analyzing organizational digital security, the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, the memory containing instructions configuring the at least one processor to language in the preamble of independent claim 1, which does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional generically recited computer elements beyond the abstract idea, taken both individually and as a combination, in independent claim 1 does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The limitation of determine a readiness score based on analyzing the organizational data; and generate a resilience based on the readiness score, wherein the resilience comprises a level of preparedness for avoiding an interruption in operation of the plurality of organizational resources is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. in the context of these claims, as a general way of obtaining information and/or are broad enough to encompass limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. The limitation “receives” amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. For example, the originally filed disclosure and claims do not recite a specific improvement to computer technology (a new or novel organizational data analysis is neither defined or implemented).
Accordingly, independent claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional computer elements of an apparatus comprising a processor and a memory amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Therefore, independent claim(s) 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter for the same reasons identified above for independent claim 1.
Thus, the claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter as the claims do not contain any element or combination of elements that is sufficient enough to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent upon the ineligible concept itself.
Dependent claims 2, 11, and 20 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe that the organizational data further comprises user input data.
Dependent Claims 3 and 12 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe what the configuration data further comprises.
Dependent Claims 4 and 13 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe that the organizational data is analyzed using computer vision to achieve an intended use of an assessment of a configuration of the configuration data which is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to further data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, further additional observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions that can be practically performed in the human mind, and further mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component.
Dependent Claims 5 and 14 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe that the organizational resources and configuration data are automatically “survey[ed]” and collected which amounts to further data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Dependent Claims 6 and 15 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe that the readiness score is based on an analysis of a generically recited machine learning model which amounts to further data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, further additional observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions that can be practically performed in the human mind, and further mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component.
Dependent Claims 7 and 16 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe that the organizational data analysis comprises connecting to an application and receiving a profile using the application which amounts to further data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Dependent Claims 8 and 17 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe outputting a notification to perform an intended use of organizational digital security analysis to the application which amounts to mere data gathering and outputting the data to achieve an intended use which amounts to further data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Dependent Claims 9 and 18 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe that the analysis of organizational data is performed using the application which amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component as a tool to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cross et. al. (US Publication No. US 2023/0351026 A1) hereinafter Cross.
Regarding Claims 1, 10, and 19:
Claim 1. Cross discloses an apparatus for analyzing organizational digital security, the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, the memory containing instructions configuring the at least one processor to (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]): receive organizational data associated with a plurality of organizational resources for an organization (Cross [0095] “The queried vulnerabilities can be based on the modeler 116 providing one or more parameters to the multi-channel cybersecurity assurance vault 120 and subsequently receiving data matching (e.g., properties in subsets of data and/or packets of data) the one or more parameters to infer that a vulnerability is present. That is, utilizing the metadata (e.g., entity datasets 122, third-party datasets 124, remediation datasets 126) stored within the multi-channel cybersecurity assurance vault 120 and based on identifying properties in the metadata, inferences and determinations can be made regarding vulnerabilities if one or more parameters (or properties) match metadata of entity profiles.”; [0249] “In an example arrangement, based on the determined vulnerability data, the remediation manager 1714 may generate or access a security risk profile (e.g., entity datasets 122) for the entity associated with the received device connectivity data. In some arrangements, the entity associated with the received device connectivity data may already have an existing security risk profile. In such an arrangement, the remediation manager 170 may then retrieve the existing security risk profile from the entity datasets 122”); analyze the organizational data (Cross [0262-0263] dashboard showing “one or more entities including cybersecurity risk scores (e.g., intelligence, perimeter, technology, and/or security controls), multi-dimensional scores, remediation items, remediation actions/executables, assessments, security reports, data analytics, graphs, charts, historical data, historical trends, vulnerabilities, summaries, help information”); determine a readiness score based on analyzing the organizational data (Cross [0262-0263] dashboard showing “one or more entities including cybersecurity risk scores (e.g., intelligence, perimeter, technology, and/or security controls), multi-dimensional scores, remediation items, remediation actions/executables, assessments, security reports, data analytics, graphs, charts, historical data, historical trends, vulnerabilities, summaries, help information”); and generate a resilience based on the readiness score, wherein the resilience comprises a level of preparedness for avoiding an interruption in operation of the plurality of organizational resources (Cross [0246]; [0262-0263] dashboard showing “one or more entities including cybersecurity risk scores (e.g., intelligence, perimeter, technology, and/or security controls), multi-dimensional scores, remediation items, remediation actions/executables, assessments, security reports, data analytics, graphs, charts, historical data, historical trends, vulnerabilities, summaries, help information”; [0120] and [0133-0135]).
Claims 10 and 19 contain substantially the same content and are therefore rejected under the same rationales. Cross further discloses a method (Cross [0045], claim 1); Cross further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (CRM) comprising one or more instructions executable by one or more processing circuits (Cross [0185-0186], [0284]).
Regarding Claims 2, 11, and 20:
Claim 2. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein receiving the organizational data comprises receiving a user input, the user input comprising a plurality of configuration data (Cross [0034-0035] quantifying entities, users, and assets; [0048] configure dashboards; [0075] and [0095] configuration information enumerated; [0177-0179] updates caused by received user input).
Claims 11 and 20 contain substantially the same content and are therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 3 and 12:
Claim 3. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 2 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein the plurality of configuration data comprises configuration settings (Cross [0034-0035] quantifying entities, users, and assets; [0048] configure dashboards; [0075] and [0095] configuration information enumerated; [0177-0179] updates caused by received user input).
Claim 12 contains substantially the same content and is therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 5 and 14:
Claim 5. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 2 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein receiving the organizational data comprises: automatedly surveying the plurality of organizational resources (Cross [0034-0035] automatic discovery of assets and vulnerabilities; [0095]); and collecting the plurality of configuration data for the plurality of organizational resources (Cross [0095] configuration settings).
Claim 14 contains substantially the same content and is therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 6 and 15:
Claim 6. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein determining the readiness score based on analyzing the organizational data comprises determining the readiness score using a machine learning model (Cross [0118] machine learning models enumerated, [0151] security architecture 500 may utilize a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network, convolutional neural network, recurrent neural network, linear regression model, sparse vector machine, or any other algorithm known to a person of ordinary skill in the art)).
Claim 15 contains substantially the same content and is therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 7 and 16:
Claim 7. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein analyzing the organizational data comprises: connecting to an application; and receiving a profile using the application (Cross [0054-0055] network interface connects to the network and various resources including applications; [0249] “In an example arrangement, based on the determined vulnerability data, the remediation manager 1714 may generate or access a security risk profile (e.g., entity datasets 122) for the entity associated with the received device connectivity data. In some arrangements, the entity associated with the received device connectivity data may already have an existing security risk profile. In such an arrangement, the remediation manager 170 may then retrieve the existing security risk profile from the entity datasets 122”).
Claim 16 contains substantially the same content and is therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 8 and 17:
Claim 8. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 7 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein analyzing the organizational data further comprises: outputting a notification to perform organizational digital security analysis to the application (Cross [0087] transmit notifications; [0123-0124]).
Claim 17 contains substantially the same content and is therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 9 and 18:
Claim 9. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 8 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein analyzing the organizational data further comprises analyzing the organizational data using the application (Cross [0054-0055] network interface connects to the network and various resources including applications; [0249] “In an example arrangement, based on the determined vulnerability data, the remediation manager 1714 may generate or access a security risk profile (e.g., entity datasets 122) for the entity associated with the received device connectivity data. In some arrangements, the entity associated with the received device connectivity data may already have an existing security risk profile. In such an arrangement, the remediation manager 170 may then retrieve the existing security risk profile from the entity datasets 122”).
Claim 18 contains substantially the same content and is therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cross in view of Amir et. al. (US Publication No. US 2019/0268473 A1) hereinafter Amir.
Regarding Claims 4 and 13:
Claim 4. Cross discloses the apparatus of claim 3 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]).
Cross does not explicitly disclose wherein analyzing the organizational data comprises analyzing the configuration settings using computer vision to assess a configuration of the plurality of configuration data.
Amir teaches wherein analyzing the organizational data comprises analyzing the configuration settings using computer vision to assess a configuration of the plurality of configuration data (Amir [0084] computer vision is used to identify setups/configurations allowing for real-time diagnosis).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the entity cybersecurity management disclosed by Cross with the use of computer vision taught by Amir.
The motivation for this combination would be to enhance the security of Cross’ system by taking the trend/pattern data analysis already disclosed by Cross (Cross [0122-0124]) and augment the response by using computer vision to identify and diagnose issues in real-time and produce expedient solutions emphasized by Amir (Amir [0084]).
Claim 13 contains substantially the same content and is therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the submitted PTO-892 Notice of References Cited and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/M.A.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2496 /JORGE L ORTIZ CRIADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496