DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 63/457,671, 63/347,389, and 18/203,630 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. None of the relied upon applications provide adequate written description support for the claim limitations “receive at least one digital environment security parameter; receive a cyber profile associated with a digital environment, the cyber profile comprising digital asset profile data, … and protective asset data associated with the digital environment; receive a security posture associated with the cyber profile; determine at least one recommended risk remediation action based on the security posture, cyber profile, and the at least one digital environment security parameter; and generate a user interface data structure configured to display the at least one recommended risk remediation action” found in independent claims 1, 7, and 14. None of the relied upon applications provide adequate written description support for the claim limitations “wherein the at least one recommended risk remediation action is determined based on the cyber profile and the security posture” found in claims 2, 8, and 15. None of the relied upon applications provide adequate written description support for the claim limitations “wherein the security posture comprises cyber-attack protection data, degree of single points of failure data, and cyber-attack recovery protocol data” found in claims 3, 9-10, and 16-17. None of the relied upon applications provide adequate written description support for the claim limitations “wherein determining the at least one recommended risk remediation action comprises: determining the at least one recommended risk remediation action using a machine learning model” found in claims 4, 11, and 18. None of the relied upon applications provide adequate written description support for the claim limitations “wherein the machine learning model is configured to determine a cyber profile category risk remediation action for each category of the cyber profile” found in claims 5, 12, and 19. None of the relied upon applications provide adequate written description support for the claim limitations “wherein the machine learning model is configured to determine a security posture category risk remediation action for each category of the security posture” found in claims 6, 13, and 20.
Accordingly, claims 1- 20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior-filed applications.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024, 10/11/2024, 12/19/2024, 03/19/2025, 09/29/2025, 12/05/2025, 03/19/2026, 05/07/2026, 06/02/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
However, the IDS filed 05/03/2026 appears to be missing as of the current record as the two-page Transmittal Letter appears to have been submitted twice.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “700” has been used to refer to different interfaces of Figures 7A-7J. Similarly, Figures 8A-8E utilize the same reference character “800” to refer to different interfaces, reference character “900” for Figures 9A-9H respectively, and so on. This deficiency is found in the following figures: Figures 7A-7J, 7L-7O, 8A-8E, 9A-9H, 10A-10E, 11A-11D, 13A-13E, 14A-14B, 15A-15G, 16A-16D, 18A-18C, 20A-20B, and 21A-21B with the respective reference characters 700, 800, 900, 1000, 1100, 1200, 1300, 1400, 1500, 1600, 1800, 2000, and 2100.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs [0037] and [0041] refer to “Figure 1” generically, while there is no Figure 1 specifically, there is Figure 1A and Figure 1B. The citation to “Figure 1” should be amended such that it properly references the correct figures.
Paragraphs [0049] refers to “FIGS. 2-49” while the originally filed figure numbers only go up to Figure 24.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The specification fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the claim terms:
Cyber profile
Digital environment
Risk remediation action
Single point of failure data
Digital asset profile data
Protective asset data
Digital environment risk record
Cyber profile risk remediation action
A security posture category risk remediation action
Digital environment security parameter
Cyber-attack protection data
Cyber-attack recovery protocol data
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 7, and 14:
Independent claim 1, 7, and 14 recite the limitations “receive at least one digital environment security parameter; receive a cyber profile associated with a digital environment, the cyber profile comprising digital asset profile data, user data, and protective asset data associated with the digital environment; receive a security posture associated with the cyber profile; determine at least one recommended risk remediation action based on the security posture, cyber profile, and the at least one digital environment security parameter”. The limitations in question do not satisfy the written description requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. The specification does not describe the limitation in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure is devoid of any description regarding how the claimed invention performs the specialized claim functions of receiving “at least one digital environment security parameter”, receiving “a cyber profile”, receiving a security posture associated with the cyber profile, determining recommended risk remediation action to be implemented based on the posture, profile, digital environment security parameters, and “digital asset profile data, user data, and protective asset data”. The limitations, at most, only appear as repetitions of claim language in the abstract, or within the originally filed claims themselves, which is insufficient with regard to the requirements under § 112(a) as in MPEP 2161.01, "computer-implemented functional claim language must still be evaluated for sufficient disclosure under the written description". And MPEP 2161.01(I) "generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed." For computer-implemented inventions, the determination of the sufficiency of disclosure will require an inquiry into the sufficiency of both the disclosed hardware and the disclosed software due to the interrelationship and interdependence of computer hardware and software. The critical inquiry is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.
As in MPEP 2161.01 (I), "The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention." It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
AS in MPEP 2161.01 “For instance, generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349-50, 94 USPQ2d at 1171 ("[A]n adequate written description of a claimed genus requires more than a generic statement of an invention’s boundaries.") (citing Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1405-06); Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that generic claim language appearing in ipsis verbis in the original specification did not satisfy the written description requirement because it failed to support the scope of the genus claimed); Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1170, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (rejecting the argument that "only similar language in the specification or original claims is necessary to satisfy the written description requirement").”
“The Federal Circuit has explained that a specification cannot always support expansive claim language and satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112 "merely by clearly describing one embodiment of the thing claimed." LizardTech v. Earth Resource Mapping, Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1346, 76 USPQ2d 1731, 1733 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The issue is whether a person skilled in the art would understand applicant to have invented, and been in possession of, the invention as broadly claimed. In LizardTech, claims to a generic method of making a seamless discrete wavelet transformation (DWT) were held invalid under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification taught only one particular method for making a seamless DWT and there was no evidence that the specification contemplated a more generic method. "[T]he description of one method for creating a seamless DWT does not entitle the inventor . . . to claim any and all means for achieving that objective." LizardTech, 424 F.3d at 1346, 76 USPQ2d at 1733.”
Dependent claims 4, 11, and 18 recite “determining the at least one recommended risk remediation action comprises: determining the at least one recommended risk remediation action using a machine learning model”. There is no support in the disclosure regarding how the inventor intended to perform these various claimed functionalities. The algorithm or steps/procedures for these claimed functions is not explained at all or is not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient) so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure is silent with respect to how the inventor intended to achieve the claimed desired function of configuring a machine learning model to preferably determine the at least one recommended risk remediation action.
Dependent claims 5, 12, and 19 recite “wherein the machine learning model is configured to determine a cyber profile category risk remediation action for each category of the cyber profile”. There is no support in the disclosure regarding how the inventor intended to perform these various claimed functionalities. The algorithm or steps/procedures for these claimed functions is not explained at all or is not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient) so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure is silent with respect to how the inventor intended to achieve the claimed desired function of configuring a machine learning model to preferably determine a cyber profile category risk remediation action for each category of the cyber profile.
Dependent claim 6, 13, and 20 recite “wherein the machine learning model is configured to determine a security posture category risk remediation action for each category of the security posture”. The algorithm or steps/procedures for these claimed functions is not explained at all or is not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient) so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention. The originally filed disclosure is silent with respect to how the inventor intended to achieve the claimed desired function of configuring a machine learning model to preferably determine a security posture category risk remediation action for each category of the security posture.
Respective dependent claims fall together accordingly.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “cyber profile, digital environment, risk remediation action, single point of failure data, digital asset profile data, protective asset data, digital environment risk record, cyber profile risk remediation action, a security posture category risk remediation action, digital environment security parameter, cyber-attack protection data, cyber-attack recovery protocol data” found throughout the original claims are terms which currently render the claims indefinite. The terms “cyber profile, digital environment, risk remediation action, single point of failure data, digital asset profile data, protective asset data, digital environment risk record, cyber profile risk remediation action, a security posture category risk remediation action, digital environment security parameter, cyber-attack protection data, cyber-attack recovery protocol data” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. One of ordinary skill would not be appraised of the scope of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim terms “cyber profile, digital environment, risk remediation action, single point of failure data, digital asset profile data, protective asset data, digital environment risk record, cyber profile risk remediation action, a security posture category risk remediation action, digital environment security parameter, cyber-attack protection data, cyber-attack recovery protocol data” because there are no definitions of the terms provided in the originally filed disclosure as of the current record.
Dependent claims fall together accordingly.
Claims 2, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Dependent claim 2 recites in whole, “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one recommended risk remediation action is determined based on the cyber profile and the security posture”. Claim 2 depends upon claim 1, which already recited in part, “determine at least one recommended risk remediation action based on the security posture, cyber profile…”. Therefore, it is evident that claim 2 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends since independent claim 1 already requires all of the limitations present in dependent claim 2.
Dependent claims 8 and 15 disclose respectively the same content and rejected under the same rationales for failing to limit the subject matter of the claims they respectively depend upon.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claim(s) 1 recite(s) [receive] at least one digital environment security parameter; [receive] a cyber profile associated with a digital environment, the cyber profile comprising digital asset profile data, user data, and protective asset data associated with the digital environment; [receive] a security posture associated with the cyber profile; determine at least one recommended risk remediation action based on the security posture, cyber profile, and the at least one digital environment security parameter; and generate [a user interface data structure configured to display the] at least one recommended risk remediation action.
Under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“2019 PEG”), effective January 7, 2019, independent claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without being significantly more nor being integrated into a practical application. The claimed invention receives “at least one digital environment security parameter”, [receives] a cyber profile associated with a digital environment, [receives] “a security posture associated with the cyber profile”, determines security actions to be implemented based on the profile and posture, “wherein the security posture includes a single point of failure data”, determines at least one recommended risk remediation action based on the security posture, cyber profile, and the at least one digital environment security parameter, and generates a user interface data structure configured to display the at least one recommended risk remediation action. The claim limitations identified above, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are broad enough to encompass limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Except for an apparatus for determining a recommended cyber-attack risk remediation action, the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, the memory containing instructions configuring the at least one processor to language in the preamble of independent claim 1, which does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional generically recited computer elements beyond the abstract idea, taken both individually and as a combination, in independent claim 1 does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The limitation of generate a user interface data structure configured to display the at least one recommended risk remediation action is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. in the context of these claims, as a general way (as claimed receive) of obtaining information and a generic GUI with a generic user interface data structure) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Insignificant extra-solution activity and mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. For example, the originally filed disclosure and claims do not recite a specific improvement to computer technology (a new or novel GUI being defined or implemented).
Accordingly, independent claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional computer elements of an apparatus comprising a processor and a memory, and a generic user interface data structure amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Therefore, independent claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter for the same reasons identified above for independent claim 1.
Thus, the claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter as the claims do not contain any element or combination of elements that is sufficient enough to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent upon the ineligible concept itself.
Dependent claims 2, 8, and 15 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe what the recommended risk remediation action is determined based on.
Dependent claims 3, 9-10, and 16-17 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe what the security posture comprises.
Dependent claims 4, 11, and 18 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe that the recommended risk remediation action is determined “using a machine learning model” which amounts to further data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, further additional observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions that can be practically performed in the human mind, and further mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component.
Dependent claims 5, 12, and 19 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe that the machine learning model determines a cyber profile category risk remediation action for each category of the cyber profile which amounts to further data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, further additional observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions that can be practically performed in the human mind, and further mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component.
Dependent claims 6, 13, and 20 do not contain any element or combination of elements sufficient to incorporate the abstract idea into a practical application because they only describe that the machine learning model determines a security posture category risk remediation action for each category of the security posture which amounts to further data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, further additional observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions that can be practically performed in the human mind, and further mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cross et. al. (US Publication No. US 2023/0351026 A1) hereinafter Cross.
Regarding Claims 1, 7, and 14:
Claim 1. Cross discloses an apparatus for determining a recommended cyber-attack risk remediation action, the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, the memory containing instructions configuring the at least one processor to (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]): receive at least one digital environment security parameter (Cross [0095] “The queried vulnerabilities can be based on the modeler 116 providing one or more parameters to the multi-channel cybersecurity assurance vault 120 and subsequently receiving data matching (e.g., properties in subsets of data and/or packets of data) the one or more parameters to infer that a vulnerability is present. That is, utilizing the metadata (e.g., entity datasets 122, third-party datasets 124, remediation datasets 126) stored within the multi-channel cybersecurity assurance vault 120 and based on identifying properties in the metadata, inferences and determinations can be made regarding vulnerabilities if one or more parameters (or properties) match metadata of entity profiles.”); receive a cyber profile associated with a digital environment (Cross [0249] “In an example arrangement, based on the determined vulnerability data, the remediation manager 1714 may generate or access a security risk profile (e.g., entity datasets 122) for the entity associated with the received device connectivity data. In some arrangements, the entity associated with the received device connectivity data may already have an existing security risk profile. In such an arrangement, the remediation manager 170 may then retrieve the existing security risk profile from the entity datasets 122”), the cyber profile comprising digital asset profile data, user data, and protective asset data associated with the digital environment (Cross [0034-0035] quantifying entities, users, and assets); receive a security posture associated with the cyber profile (Cross [0092] overall cybersecurity level); determine at least one recommended risk remediation action based on the security posture, cyber profile, and the at least one digital environment security parameter (Cross [0092] overall cybersecurity level, [0093-0095], [0034-0035] and [0048] generate automatic remediation recommendations); and generate a user interface data structure configured to display the at least one recommended risk remediation action (Cross [0060] graphical user interface disclosed; [0087] display dashboards using graphical user interfaces; [0124]; [0262-0263] dashboard showing “one or more entities including cybersecurity risk scores (e.g., intelligence, perimeter, technology, and/or security controls), multi-dimensional scores, remediation items, remediation actions/executables, assessments, security reports, data analytics, graphs, charts, historical data, historical trends, vulnerabilities, summaries, help information”).
Claims 7 and 14 contain substantially the same content and are therefore rejected under the same rationales. Cross further discloses a method (Cross [0045], claim 1); Cross further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (CRM) comprising one or more instructions executable by one or more processing circuits (Cross [0185-0186], [0284]).
Regarding Claims 2, 8 , and 15:
Claim 2. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein the at least one recommended risk remediation action is determined based on the cyber profile and the security posture (Cross [0092] overall cybersecurity level, [0093-0095], [0034-0035] and [0048] generate automatic remediation recommendations).
Claims 8 and 15 contain substantially the same content and are therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 3, 9-10, and 16-17:
Claim 3. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein the security posture comprises cyber-attack protection data, degree of single points of failure data, and cyber-attack recovery protocol data (Cross [0137] failures detected, [0032-0034], [0205] response protocols enumerated).
Claims 9-10 and 16-17 contain substantially the same content and are therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 4, 11, and 18:
Claim 4. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein determining the at least one recommended risk remediation action comprises: determining the at least one recommended risk remediation action using a machine learning model (Cross [0118] machine learning models enumerated, [0151] security architecture 500 may utilize a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network, convolutional neural network, recurrent neural network, linear regression model, sparse vector machine, or any other algorithm known to a person of ordinary skill in the art).
Claims 11 and 18 contain substantially the same content and are therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 19:
Claim 5. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 4 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein the machine learning model is configured to determine a cyber profile category risk remediation action for each category of the cyber profile (Cross [0118] machine learning models enumerated, [0151] security architecture 500 may utilize a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network, convolutional neural network, recurrent neural network, linear regression model, sparse vector machine, or any other algorithm known to a person of ordinary skill in the art).
Claims 12 and 19 contain substantially the same content and are therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Regarding Claims 6, 13, and 20:
Claim 6. Cross further discloses the apparatus of claim 5 (Cross [0037-0039]; [0285], [0289-290]), wherein the machine learning model is configured to determine a security posture category risk remediation action for each category of the security posture (Cross [0118] machine learning models enumerated, [0151] security architecture 500 may utilize a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network, convolutional neural network, recurrent neural network, linear regression model, sparse vector machine, or any other algorithm known to a person of ordinary skill in the art).
Claims 13 and 20 contain substantially the same content and are therefore rejected under the same rationales.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the submitted PTO-892 Notice of References Cited and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/M.A.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2496
/JORGE L ORTIZ CRIADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496