Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 – 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Lin (Pub 20210358071).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Lin discloses:
a monitoring image reception unit configured to receive image data output onto a
screen of an equipment monitoring system, (frame analyzer 120 receiving image data output onto screen F9 fig 1);
a monitoring data extraction unit configured to extract monitoring data for equipment
by analyzing the received image data, (see remote controlling unit 130 fig 1 for extracting and recognizing patterns of received images);
and a monitoring data transmission unit configured to transmit the extracted
monitoring data to a process analysis system over a communication network, (communication unit 110 fig 1 for transmitting extracted monitoring data to a process analysis system 900 fig 1 over network 700 fig 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Lin discloses:
wherein the monitoring data extraction unit:
analyzes the received image data to identify a monitoring operation button area and a monitoring data display area; recognizes an image displayed in the monitoring data display area as characters to extract monitoring data; analyzes the monitoring operation button area to generate an operation command; and transmits the operation command to the monitoring system, (see optical character recognizer 131 fig 1 for determining character areas, Para. [0028], and pattern recognizer 132 fig 1 for recognizing buttons, Para. [0028] also see operation command sent by adjuster 133 fig 1, Para. [0025]).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Lin discloses:
wherein the monitoring data extraction unit transmits the operation command to the
monitoring system, and repeats an operation of checking whether the image data has changed and extracting monitoring data when the image data has changed, (see remote controlling unit 130 for transmitting operating command CM9 fig 1. Also note continuous frame extraction Para. [0022] construed as repeatedly receiving images whereby offset calculator determines an offset based on the continued received images and checking image frame changes).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the method of claim 6, (see storage device storing program codes Para. [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Fredericks (Pub 20220171510).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Lin discloses claims 1 and 6. However, wherein the monitoring
data extraction unit: analyzes the image displayed in the monitoring data display area to identify a character indicative of a type of data and a character indicative of the data; and extracts monitoring data by associating the character indicative of the type of data and the character indicative of the data with each other Is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Fredericks discloses wherein the monitoring data
extraction unit: analyzes the image displayed in the monitoring data display area to identify a character indicative of a type of data and a character indicative of the data; and extracts monitoring data by associating the character indicative of the type of data and the character indicative of the data with each other, (see identifying characters indicative of a type of data such as recognizing buttons on a dialing screen and character indicative of the data such as specific numbers/characters associated with each button Para. [0102]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lin by Fredericks to facilitate remote control based on recognized captured image data thereby improving remote control based on analyzed image information.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Lin discloses claims 4 and 9. However, wherein the monitoring data extraction unit: identifies a character or an image representative of each operation button in the operation button area; and analyzes a meaning represented by the identified character or image to determine whether to generate an operation command for the operation button area is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Fredericks discloses wherein the monitoring data extraction unit: identifies a character or an image representative of each operation button in the operation button area; and analyzes a meaning represented by the identified character or image to determine whether to generate an operation command for the operation button area, (see identifying keys and corresponding numbers and characters, Para. [0142]. An action prediction module can dynamically determine which keys/buttons to select to return to the letter- based keyboard and which object is “enter” button). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lin by Fredericks to facilitate remote control based on recognized captured image data thereby improving remote control based on analyzed image information.
Conclusion
HUMAM M. SATTI
Examiner
Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422