DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 18 of claim 1, it is believed the word --part-- is missing after “structural”.
In line 2 of claim 6, it is believed “mechanicaly” should be changed to --mechanically--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groher et al. (DE 102015101012) in view of Neerincx et al. (US Pat 11,110,635).
NOTE: All references to paragraph numbers are taken from Examiner provided translation.
Regarding claim 1, Groher et al. disclose a method for producing an interconnected component of an interior trim part comprising at least one decorative layer that is translucent at least in areas, at least one body that is light-permeable at least in sections, and at least one opaque structural part, the body that is light-permeable at least in sections and the opaque structural part are produced as a multi-component structural part in a plastic injection molding process, the method comprising: producing the opaque structural part 21 by a plastic injection molding process (see Figures 1-4; Paragraph 33); positioning a carrier film 13 that carries the translucent decorative layer 12 in another part of the second cavity such that a space remains between the decorative layer 12 and the opaque structural part 21 (see Figures 1-4; Paragraph 33; Claim 15); producing the body 16, which is light-permeable at least in sections, in the space by a plastic injection molding process (see Figures 1-4; Paragraph 33; Claim 15); and removing from the mold a composite part comprising the decorative layer 12 that is translucent at least in areas, the body 16 that is light-permeable at least in sections, and the opaque structural part 21 (see Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 37-38). The opaque structural part 21 and the body 16 are produced by a two-component injection molding process (see Paragraph 36).
Groher et al. fail to disclose producing the structural part in a first cavity of a mold and transferring the opaque structural part into at least one part of a second cavity of a mold.
Neerincx et al. disclose a method of two-component injection molding comprising producing a first component 12 is a first cavity 32 of a mold 38 (see Figures 4-8; Col. 11, line 55-Col. 12, line 2) and transferring the first component 12 to a second cavity 30 of the mold 38 in which a second component 14 is produced (see Figures 6-7; Col. 12, lines 2-32). The sequence reduces surface imperfections and produces a product with a Class A surface finish (see Col. 11, line 64-Col. 12, line 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the opaque structural part of Groher et al. in a first cavity of a mold in the plastic injection molding process and transfer the opaque structural part into at least one part of a second cavity of a mold, with a reasonable expectation, to reduce surface imperfections and produce a product with a Class A surface finish, as taught by Neerincx et al..
Regarding claim 4, Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., disclose the method according to claim 1.
Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., fail to disclose the transfer of the opaque structural part from the first cavity into the at least one part of the second cavity takes place in the same mold.
Neerincx et al. disclose a method of two-component injection molding comprising producing a first component 12 is a first cavity 32 of a mold 38 (see Figures 4-8; Col. 11, line 55-Col. 12, line 2) and transferring the first component 12 to a second cavity 30 of the mold 38 in which a second component 14 is produced (see Figures 6-7; Col. 12, lines 2-32). The first cavity 32 and the second cavity 30 are in the same mold 38 (see Figures 4-8; Col. 11, lines 61-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the first cavity and second cavity of Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., in the same mold, such that the transfer of the opaque structural part from the first cavity into the at least part of the second cavity takes place in the same mold, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Neerincx et al., to streamline the process and reduce the number of molds required.
Regarding claim 7, Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the interior trim part is a motor vehicle interior trim part (see Figures 1-4; Paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 8, Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., disclose an interconnected component of an interior trim part comprising: at least one decorative layer that is translucent at least in areas (see Figures 1-4; Paragraph 31); at least one body 16 that is light-permeable at least in sections (see Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 34-35); and at least one opaque structural part 21 (see Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 33-34), wherein the body 16 that is light-permeable at least in sections and the at least one opaque structural part 21 are produced as a multi-component structural part in a plastic injection molding process (see Figures 1-4; Paragraphs 34 and 38), and wherein the interconnected component of the interior trim part is produced by the method according to claim 1.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., in view of Shimoyama et al. (US PG Pub 2007/0194489).
Regarding claim 2, Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the translucent decorative layer 11 is an integral part of a continuous film (see Figures 2 and 4; Paragraphs 31-32).
Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., fail to disclose the carrier film carrying the translucent decorative layer is led through the mold as an unrollable continuous film.
Shimoyama et al. disclose a method of manufacturing an injection molded part having a decorative film 41. The decorative film 41 is carried by a carrier film 40 that is positioned in a cavity 22 in a mold 20 by unrolling (see Figure 4A; Paragraphs 50 and 62). This allows for positioning of the decorative film to be more accurate and secures a high design property of the final product (see Paragraph 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to lead the carrier film carrying the translucent decorative layer of Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., through the mold as an unrollable continuous film, with a reasonable expectation of success, to more accurately position the decorative film and secure a high design property of the final product, as taught by Shimoyama et al..
Regarding claim 3, Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al. and Shimoyama et al., disclose the method according to claim 2.
Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al. and Shimoyama et al., fail to disclose the carrier film is unrolled on one side of the mold and rolled up on an opposite side of the mold.
Shimoyama et al. disclose a method of manufacturing an injection molded part having a decorative film 41. The decorative film 41 is carried by a carrier film 40 that is positioned in a cavity 22 in a mold 20 by unrolling (see Figure 4A; Paragraphs 50 and 62). The carrier film 40 has a feeding side roller and a receiving side roller that carries the decorative film 41 continuously (see Figure 2; Paragraph 43). This allows for positioning of the decorative film to be more accurate and secures a high design property of the final product (see Paragraph 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to unroll the carrier film of Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al. and Shimoyama et al., on one side of the mold and roll the carrier film on an opposite side of the mold, with a reasonable expectation of success, to accurately position the decorative film in the mold and secure a high design property of the final product, as taught by Shimoyama et al..
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., in view of Hala et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0068206).
Regarding claim 5, Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., disclose the method according to claim 1.
Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., fail to disclose the transfer of the opaque structural part from the first cavity into the at least one part of the second cavity takes place using a transfer gripper that acts on the opaque structural part mechanically and/or by negative pressure.
Hala et al. disclose an injection molding method wherein a first part 1 is removed from a first exposed mold half 22 and placed in a receptacle mold half 26 of the same mold by the use of a transfer gripper robot (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 59). The transfer of the part 1 is arranged in such a way to increase productivity of the injection molding plant (see Paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to the transfer of the opaque structural part from the first cavity into the at least one part of the second cavity takes place using a transfer gripper that acts on the opaque structural part mechanically, with a reasonable expectation of success, to increase productivity of the injection molding process, as taught by Hala et al..
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., in view of Hala et al. and Neerincx et al..
Regarding claim 6, Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., disclose the method of claim 1.
Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., fail to disclose during the transfer from the first cavity into the at least one part of the second cavity, wherein the opaque structural part is initially withdrawn from the first cavity, then moved transversely into alignment with the second cavity, and inserted into the at least one part of the second cavity.
Hala et al. disclose an injection molding method wherein a first part 1 is removed from a first exposed mold half 22 and placed in a receptacle mold half 26 of the same mold by the use of a transfer gripper robot (see Figures 1-2; Paragraph 59). The transfer of the part 1 is arranged in such a way to increase productivity of the injection molding plant (see Paragraph 58).
Neerincx et al. disclose a method of two-component injection molding comprising producing a first component 12 is a first cavity 32 of a mold 38 (see Figures 4-8; Col. 11, line 55-Col. 12, line 2) and transferring the first component 12 to a second cavity 30 of the mold 38 in which a second component 14 is produced (see Figures 6-7; Col. 12, lines 2-32). The first cavity 32 and the second cavity 30 are in the same mold 38 (see Figures 4-8; Col. 11, lines 61-63) and the first component 12 is moved transversely into alignment with the second cavity 30 (see Figures 6-7; Col. 12, lines 2-14). The movement of the mold 38 lowers residual stress on the part by allowing for more uniform cavity pressures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to initially withdraw the opaque structural part of Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al., from the first cavity and insert the opaque structural part into the at least one part of the second cavity, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable a different shaped mold to be used for the body, as taught by Hala et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to move the opaque structural part of Groher et al., as modified by Neerincx et al. and Hala et al., transversely into alignment with the second cavity, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow for more uniform cavity pressures in the process, as taught by Neerincx et al..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ito (US PG Pub 2016/0318221) discloses a method for manufacturing a decorative molded article having a carrier film for a decorative layer and an opaque structural part. Hirschfelder et al. (US Pat 7,906,054) disclose a method for manufacturing a decorated injection-molded article using a carrier film and an injection mold. Kauppi et al. (US Pat 6,875,301) disclose a method for manufacturing an injection molded product using a carrier film and an injection mold. Smith et al. (US Pat 6,623,677) disclose a decorated article and a process for manufacturing the article using a carrier film and an injection mold. Hahn (US Pat 12,257,823) disclose a method for manufacturing an article including a carrier film with a roller on a first side and a second side of an injection mold. Aigner et al. (US Pat 11,648,890) disclose a method for producing an interior trim component of a vehicle using a carrier film and an injection mold.
/VERONICA M CONDO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612