DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on July 01, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending, with Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10, and 13 being amended.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed March 13, 2026, the Examiner maintains the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, filed July 01, 2026, pertaining to the teachings of adjusting a time interval or spatial condition to compensate for a latency (see Pages 13-14 of instant arguments), the Examiner is unpersuaded. Sabau teaches that the leader control scheme can be adapted to compensate for the time-delay caused between other vehicles so that the messages may be synchronized with a predecessor (leader’s) control signals, and the time delay may be the same for all vehicles in the platoon, and the time delay may be set by the predecessor vehicle and broadcast to a subsequent follower vehicle (i.e., a leader sends the time-delay information to the following vehicle) (see at least Paragraphs [0039], [0103] of Sabau). As such, Sabau teaches that the leader vehicle considers and transmits time delay and compensated information to following vehicles. The Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are unpersuasive for essentially the same reasons. Therefore, the corresponding rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 11-14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0227972 A1, to Sabau (hereinafter referred to as Sabau; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0096264 A1, to Park (hereinafter referred to as Park; previously of record).
As per Claim 1, Sabau discloses the features of a method for operating a vehicle convoy (e.g. Paragraph [0009]; where a method is provided for operating a vehicle within a string of platooning vehicles),
the vehicle convoy comprising a leader vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0048], [0127]; Figure 1; where vehicle (110A) is the lead vehicle in front of all subsequent or follower vehicles (110B-110D)) and
at least one follower vehicle following the leader vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0059]; Figure 1; where follower vehicles in the convoy receive data from a lead or predecessor vehicle in the convoy), wherein the method comprises steps of:
generating, by the leader vehicle, a control command for the at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0039]; Figure 4; where the predecessor vehicle generates a control action or control signals to a follower vehicle) wherein
the control command comprises a drive action to be performed by the at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0039]; Figure 4; where the predecessor vehicle generates a control action or control signals to a follower vehicle), wherein
the drive action comprises at least one steering the at least one follower vehicle, changing a speed of the at least one follower vehicle, and setting the speed of the at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0175]-[0177]; where the trajectories of all the agents are synchronized with the first vehicle in the string while avoiding collision and regulating relative speed errors); and
a timestamp indicating a time when the drive action is performed by the leader vehicle or the time of generating the control command by the leader vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0012], [0058], [0060]; where the control signal form the predecessor vehicle may have been stamped with a first time, or provided with time stamps indicating the time of execution or transmission of the control signal by the predecessor vehicle); and
a spatial and/or temporal condition to be fulfilled prior to carrying out the drive action (e.g. Paragraph [0011], [0048]; where a control action may include maintaining a desired distance between a follower and a predecessor vehicle),
choosing, by the leader vehicle, the spatial and/or temporal condition and a point in time for transmitting the control command in consideration of the drive action and a latency of processing the control command within the vehicle convoy (e.g. Paragraphs [0062], [0067], [0103], [0149]; where the synchronization mechanism may introduce supplemental time delays in the control scheme, and the supplemental delay may be equal to the latencies of all the vehicles in the string; and where the supplemental time delay may be chosen for each vehicle as a function of the vehicle’s latency; and where the synchronization of the control signal of the predecessor vehicle can utilize time-varying time delays which may be negotiated between the other vehicles);
adjusting, by the leader vehicle, a time interval or a distance of the spatial and/or temporal condition to compensate for the latency (e.g. Paragraphs [0039], [0061], [0127]; where the leader information control scheme can be adapted as to compensate for the feed-forward time-delay included by the wireless transmission for the predecessor’s control signal; and where the control signals of all follower act to compensate the effect on inter-spacing errors in response to receipt of commands from a leader or predecessor vehicle);
transmitting, by the leader vehicle, the control command to the at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0039]; Figure 4; where the predecessor vehicle generates a control action or control signals to a follower vehicle);
receiving, by the at least one follower vehicle, the control command from the leader vehicle (e.g. e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0039], [0063]; Figure 4; where the predecessor vehicle generates a control action or control signals to a follower vehicle and the follower vehicle receives the control signals); and
carrying out, by the at least one follower vehicle, the drive action comprised in the received control command when the spatial and/or temporal condition comprised in the received control command is fulfilled (e.g. Paragraphs [0013], [0048], [0085]; where the communications from the predecessor vehicle may be received by a follower vehicle, which generates a control action in response to control throttling and braking to maintain a desired distance behind the predecessor vehicle).
While Sabau does not explicitly disclose the features of the drive action comprises at least one steering the at least one follower vehicle, changing a speed of the at least one follower vehicle, and setting the speed of the at least one follower vehicle, Park in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for cooperative driving for vehicles in a platoon, where the leader-vehicle cooperative driving device inside the leader vehicle has a function of generating a set speed indication message, which sets the speed (Vs) of the automatic cruise system of the follower vehicle included in the cooperative driving group, and transmits the set speed indication message to the follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0072]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, with the feature of setting a speed or steering action for a follower vehicle in the system of Park, in order to prevent a collision and improve the stability of the cooperative driving system (see at least Paragraph [0024] of Park).
As per Claim 3, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Sabau further discloses the features of wherein the latency or processing the control command is a latency of generating the control command in the leader vehicle and/or communicating between leader vehicle and the at least one follower vehicle and/or processing the control command in the at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0062], [0067], [0149]; where the synchronization mechanism may introduce supplemental time delays in the control scheme, and the supplemental delay may be equal to the latencies of all the vehicles in the string; and where the supplemental time delay may be chosen for each vehicle as a function of the vehicle’s latency).
As per Claim 4, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Sabau further discloses the features of wherein the method further comprises determining the distance travelled by the at least one follower vehicle since the time of a given timestamp by using odometry and/or by approximating the distance using speed data of the at least one follower vehicle recorded since the time of the given timestamp (e.g. Paragraph [0013]; where the distance measuring system may repeatedly measure distances between the vehicle and the predecessor vehicle over time, based on time stamps indicating the time of measurement, and the control action at the vehicle can be generated to maintain a desired distance from the predecessor, where the desired distance may be proportional to the speed of the vehicle).
As per Claim 5, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Sabau further teaches the features of wherein the method further comprises determining a position of the leader vehicle at the time of a given timestamp by measuring the distance between the at least one follower vehicle and the leader vehicle at the time of the given timestamp by at least one distance sensor and/or by approximating the distance using speed data of the leader vehicle and/or speed data of the at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0013], [0060], [0066], [0083]; where the time evolution of the position of the leader vehicle is determined, and used as a reference for the entire platoon, so that the inter-vehicle spacing between the vehicles may be maintained; and where the distance measuring system may be stored with time stamps indicating the time of the measurement, and the controller can generate a control action to maintain a desired distance behind the predecessor vehicle, which is proportional to the speed of the vehicle; and where the data acquired by the following vehicle may be timestamped for measuring the distance/ relative speed with respect to the predecessor vehicle).
As per Claim 11, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Sabau further discloses the features of wherein the vehicle convoy comprises
a leader vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0048], [0127]; Figure 1; where vehicle (110A) is the lead vehicle in front of all subsequent or follower vehicles (110B-110D)) and
at least two follower vehicles (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0059]; Figure 1; where follower vehicles in the convoy receive data from a lead or predecessor vehicle in the convoy), and wherein the method comprises one or more of:
the leader vehicle transmitting control commands directly to each follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0059]; Figure 1; where follower vehicles in the convoy receive data from a lead or predecessor vehicle in the convoy) wherein
the leader vehicle transmitting control commands to at least one follower vehicle acting as control command relay (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0059]; Figure 1; the lead or predecessor vehicle in the convoy transmits control signals to a following vehicle), wherein
the at least one follower vehicle receives the control commands and transmits the control commands to at least one further follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0048], [0127]; Figure 1; where vehicle (110A) is the lead vehicle in front of all subsequent or follower vehicles (110B-110D); and where the control signal of the predecessor vehicle may be broadcast to the subsequent or follower vehicle instead of a local estimate of the leader’s state); and
with the exception of the first leader vehicle and the last follower vehicle of the vehicle convoy, which act as leader vehicle and follower vehicle to their immediate predecessors and successors exclusively, each vehicle acting simultaneously as follower vehicle to its immediate leading vehicle and as leader vehicle to its immediate trailing vehicle (.g. Paragraphs [0009], [0039], [0058], [0068]; where a predecessor vehicle may immediately preceding another vehicle in the string of platooning vehicles, and the control signal of the predecessor vehicle can be broadcast to a subsequent follower vehicle; and each follower vehicle can receive real-time data from its predecessor in the string).
As per Claim 12, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Sabau further discloses the features of a vehicle configured to act as leader vehicle and/or as follower vehicle in a method for operating a vehicle convoy (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0048], [0127]; Figure 1; where vehicle (110A) is the lead vehicle in front of all subsequent or follower vehicles (110B-110D); and where the control signal of the predecessor vehicle may be broadcast to the subsequent or follower vehicle instead of a local estimate of the leader’s state).
As per Claim 13, Sabau discloses the features of a system for coupling the movements of at least two vehicles (e.g. Paragraphs [0038], [0184; where a system is provided for operating a vehicle convoy), the system comprising
a leader vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0048], [0127]; Figure 1; where vehicle (110A) is the lead vehicle in front of all subsequent or follower vehicles (110B-110D)) and
at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0059]; Figure 1; where follower vehicles in the convoy receive data from a lead or predecessor vehicle in the convoy),
each vehicle comprising a control unit (e.g. Paragraphs [0013], [0040]; where the vehicle may have a controller to generate a control action to be implemented by the throttling and the braking system to maintain a desired distance from a predecessor vehicle; and a controller may be onboard each vehicle) and
an external communication unit (e.g. Paragraphs [0013], [0048], [0085]; where the communications from the predecessor vehicle may be received by a follower vehicle, which generates a control action in response to control throttling and braking to maintain a desired distance behind the predecessor vehicle), the control unit being configured to
operate the vehicle according to one or more drive actions ‘…’ (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0039], [0175]-[0177]; Figure 4; where the predecessor vehicle generates a control action or control signals to a follower vehicle; Paragraphs [where the trajectories of all the agents are synchronized with the first vehicle in the string while avoiding collision and regulating relative speed errors);
the external communication unit being connected to the control unit and configured to communicate with an external communication unit of at least one other of the vehicles (e.g. Paragraphs [0013], [0048], [0085]; where the communications from the predecessor vehicle may be received by a follower vehicle, which generates a control action in response to control throttling and braking to maintain a desired distance behind the predecessor vehicle), wherein
the control unit of at least the leader vehicle is configured to generate control commands for the at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0059]; Figure 1; where follower vehicles in the convoy receive data from a lead or predecessor vehicle in the convoy) and
to transmit the control commands to the at least one follower vehicle by means of the external communication unit (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0039]; Figure 4; where the predecessor vehicle generates a control action or control signals to a follower vehicle), each control command comprising
a drive action to be performed by the at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0012], [0039]; Figure 4; where the predecessor vehicle generates a control action or control signals to a follower vehicle), wherein
the drive action comprises at least one of steering the at least one follower vehicle, changing the speed of the at least one follower vehicle and setting the speed of the at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0043], [0050]; where if the time of the time stamp has been reached, the following participant (10b) initiates procedures to maintain the safe driving state by changing speeds; and where the minimum driving distance may be transmitted in the message, and the deceleration of participants takes place according to a defined temporal braking profile);
a current timestamp indicating a time when the drive action is performed by the leader vehicle or the time of generating the control command by the leader vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0012], [0058], [0060]; where the control signal form the predecessor vehicle may have been stamped with a first time, or provided with time stamps indicating the time of execution or transmission of the control signal by the predecessor vehicle) and
a spatial and/or temporal condition to be fulfilled prior to carrying out the drive action (e.g. Paragraph [0011], [0048]; where a control action may include maintaining a desired distance between a follower and a predecessor vehicle), and
adjusting, by the leader vehicle, a time interval or a distance of the spatial and/or temporal condition to compensate for the latency (e.g. Paragraphs [0039], [0127]; where the leader information control scheme can be adapted as to compensate for the feed-forward time-delay included by the wireless transmission for the predecessor’s control signal; and where the control signals of all follower act to compensate the effect on inter-spacing errors), wherein
the control unit of the leader vehicle is configured to choose the spatial and/or temporal condition and a point in time for transmitting the control command in consideration of the drive action and a latency of processing the control command within a vehicle convoy comprising the leader vehicle and the at least one follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0062], [0067], [0103], [0149]; where the synchronization mechanism may introduce supplemental time delays in the control scheme, and the supplemental delay may be equal to the latencies of all the vehicles in the string; and where the supplemental time delay may be chosen for each vehicle as a function of the vehicle’s latency; and where the synchronization of the control signal of the predecessor vehicle can utilize time-varying time delays which may be negotiated between the other vehicles), and wherein
the control unit of the at least one follower vehicle is configured to operate the follower vehicle according to the drive actions embedded in the control commands (e.g. Paragraphs [0013], [0048], [0085]; where the communications from the predecessor vehicle may be received by a follower vehicle, which generates a control action in response to control throttling and braking to maintain a desired distance behind the predecessor vehicle).
Sabau fails to disclose every feature of operate the vehicle according to one or more drive actions comprising at least one of steering, accelerating and braking the vehicle; and the drive action comprises at least one of steering the at least one follower vehicle, changing the speed of the at least one follower vehicle and setting the speed of the at least one follower vehicle.
However, Park in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for cooperative driving for vehicles in a platoon, where the leader-vehicle cooperative driving device inside the leader vehicle has a function of generating a set speed indication message, which sets the speed (Vs) of the automatic cruise system of the follower vehicle included in the cooperative driving group, and transmits the set speed indication message to the follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0072]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, with the feature of setting a speed or steering action for a follower vehicle in the system of Park, in order to prevent a collision and improve the stability of the cooperative driving system (see at least Paragraph [0024] of Park).
As per Claim 14, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 13, and Sabau further discloses the features of wherein each control unit of every vehicle is configured both to be able to generate and transmit control commands in a capacity as leader vehicle and to operate the vehicle according to drive actions embedded in control commands received from another leader vehicle in a capacity as follower vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0009], [0039], [0058], [0068]; where a predecessor vehicle may immediately preceding another vehicle in the string of platooning vehicles, and the control signal of the predecessor vehicle can be broadcast to a subsequent follower vehicle; and each follower vehicle can receive real-time data from its predecessor in the string).
As per Claim 17, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 13, and Sabau further discloses the features of further comprising at least one distance sensor for measuring the distance between the at least one follower vehicle and the leader vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0010], [0013], [0053]; where a ranging sensor can be used to measure the distance to the predecessor vehicle).
As per Claim 20, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Park further teaches the features of further comprising adapting, by the leader vehicle, the control command to individually to each follower vehicle.
Park teaches a method for cooperative driving for vehicles in a platoon, where the leader vehicle performs detection and determination of surrounding conditions necessary for cooperative driving, and generates control data for each of the vehicles included in the cooperative driving group, and transmits the control data to each of the follower vehicles (e.g. Paragraphs [0040], [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, with the feature of determining individual control signals for the follower vehicles in the system of Park, in order to prevent a collision and improve the stability of the cooperative driving system (see at least Paragraphs [0024], [0038] of Park).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Sabau, in view of Park, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0318632 A1, to Sambale, et al (hereinafter referred to as Sambale; previously of record).
As per Claim 2, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, and but the combination of Sabau, in view of Park, fails to teach every of wherein the spatial and/or temporal condition is at least one of: that the at least one follower vehicle has travelled a given distance since the time of the timestamp, wherein the given distance is specified by the leader vehicle; that the at least one follower vehicle has travelled to a position of the leader vehicle of the time of the timestamp, wherein the position of the leader vehicle of the time of the timestamp is determined by the at least one follower; that the at least one follower vehicle has travelled to given absolute coordinates; that a given period of time has passed since the time of the timestamp, wherein the given period of time is determined by the leader vehicle or the at least one follower vehicle; and that a given absolute point in time is reached.
However, Sambale, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method of operating an automated vehicle convoy, where (e.g. Paragraphs [0039], [0042]-[0042]; where the leading participant (10a) transmits periodic messages (M1) to following participant (10b), which each include at least one time stamp and geo position defining a validity period, such that the following participant (10b) knows the distance available in the vehicle of an emergency braking maneuver of leading participant (10a) in addition to the minimum distance (d.sub.v); and messages (M1, M.sub.1) may include pieces of information regarding driving distance (d.sub.d1) (e.g., in the form of a distance dimension, a piece of temporal information, a geo position, etc.) and a time stamp (t.sub.1) which preferably defines an absolute point in time in the future; and where the message (M1, M.sub.1) may include a driving distance (d.sub.1) such as a geo position and a time stamp (t.sub.1), which defines an absolute point in time in the future at which the following participant (10b) may drive until the time of the time stamp (t.sub.1) has been reached or if time of the time stamp (t.sub.1) has been reached, and if no new message including a new time stamp has been received, a procedure is initiated by the following participant (10b) to maintains a safe driving state.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, in view of Park, with the features of determining a spatial or temporal condition in the system of Sambale, in order to improve the flow of traffic and operation of the convoy (see at least Paragraphs [0003], [0019] of Sambale).
Claims 6-7, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Sabau, in view of Park, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0269845 A1, to Calmettes, et al (hereinafter referred to as Calmettes; previously of record).
As per Claim 6, Sabau in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Sabau further discloses the features of ‘…’ wherein the leader vehicle and the at least one follower vehicle exchange regularly current location data as reference (e.g. Paragraphs [0058]-[0059]; where the vehicle maintains a wireless data link in order to receive real-time data from its predecessor in the string).
Sabau, in view of Park, fails to teach every feature of determining a location of the at least one follower vehicle with reference to an absolute coordinate system, by using a global navigation satellite system.
However, Calmettes, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for managing vehicle driving in a convoy, where the absolute location of one or more vehicles forming the convoy are obtained and determined by GNSS coordinates received by the vehicles (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0093]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, in view of Park, with the feature of using a GNSS system in the system of Calmettes, in order to enhance accuracy of the determination of vehicle positioning (see at least Paragraph [0015] of Calmettes).
As per Claim 7, Sabau in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, but Sabau in view of Park, teaches fails to teach every feature of wherein the method further comprises determining a location of the at least one follower vehicle with reference to an absolute coordinate system, by using a convoy coordinate system negotiated between the leader vehicle and the at least one follower vehicle.
However, Calmettes, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for managing vehicle driving in a convoy, where the absolute location of one or more vehicles forming the convoy are obtained and determined by GNSS coordinates received by the vehicles (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0093]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, in view of Park, with the feature of using a GNSS system in the system of Calmettes, in order to enhance accuracy of the determination of vehicle positioning (see at least Paragraph [0015] of Calmettes).
As per Claim 9, Sabau in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, but Sabau in view of Park, fails to teach every feature of wherein each of the at least one follower vehicle and the leader vehicle each comprise an internal clock, wherein the method further comprises synchronizing the internal clock of each of the at least one follower vehicle with the internal clock of the leader vehicle.
However, Calmettes, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for managing vehicle driving in a convoy, where the clocks of the different vehicles in the convoy are synchronized, and the reference clock time can be used to time-stamp the signal transmitted between the vehicles (for example by the transmitting vehicle) (e.g. Paragraphs [0025], [0028], [0093]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, in view of Park, with the feature of synchronizing clocks in the system of Calmettes, in order to enhance accuracy of the determination of relative positionings (see at least Paragraph [0048] of Calmettes).
As per Claim 18, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 13, but Sabau, in view of Park, fails to teach every feature of further comprising an internal clock for each vehicle, wherein the internal clocks are synchronized or configured to be synchronized with each other.
However, Calmettes, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for managing vehicle driving in a convoy, where the clocks of the different vehicles in the convoy are synchronized, and the reference clock time can be used to time-stamp the signal transmitted between the vehicles (for example by the transmitting vehicle) (e.g. Paragraphs [0025], [0028], [0093]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, in view of Park, with the feature of synchronizing clocks in the system of Calmettes, in order to enhance accuracy of the determination of relative positionings (see at least Paragraph [0048] of Calmettes).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabau, in view of Park and Calmettes, as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0309836 A1, to Ollis (hereinafter referred to as Ollis; previously of record).
As per Claim 8, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 7, but Sabau, in view of Park, fails to teach every feature of wherein the convoy coordinate system is a linear coordinate system along a movement trajectory of the vehicle convoy.
However, Ollis, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for operating multi-vehicle convoys, where the vehicle position may be represented in Cartesian coordinates (i.e. linear coordinate system) (e.g. Paragraphs [0052]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, in view of Park and Calmettes, with the feature of using a linear coordinate system in the system of Ollis, in order to improve position estimation of the vehicle convoy (see at least Paragraph [0002] of Ollis).
Claims 10, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabau, in view of Park, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0195982 A1, to El Assaad (hereinafter referred to as El Assaad; previously of record).
As per Claim 10, Sabau in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Sabau further discloses the features of wherein
the leader vehicle and the at least one follower vehicle maintain a communication connection via at least one of a wireless local area network, wireless personal area network, 4G mobile network and 5G mobile network (e.g. Paragraphs [0009], [0012], [0058]; where the communications system may include a receiver to receive communications form a predecessor vehicle and a transmitter to transmit signals to a follower vehicle, and the communication system may use a variety of technologies, such as personal area network, cellular, and wireless technologies), and wherein the method further comprises at least one of the following: ‘…’
the at least one follower vehicle monitoring the communication connection and in case of fulfilling a termination condition stopping the at least one follower vehicle and/or notifying the leader vehicle, wherein the termination condition is a loss of connection and/or connection latencies exceeding a predefined connection latency limit (e.g. Paragraph [0063]; where a data validity link signal may be used as a functioning parameter of the digital controller, confirming that the receiving of data form the predecessor is not disrupted),
the leader vehicle and/or the at least one follower vehicle regularly transmitting vehicle movement data to at least one other vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0057]-[0059]; where the vehicle maintains a wireless data link in order to receive real-time data from its predecessor in the string), wherein
vehicle movement data comprises position data and/or velocity data and/or acceleration data and/or time data of the respective vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0083]-[0085], [0159]; Figure 14; where the time evolution of the position of the leader vehicle, acceleration, and velocity are determined and used as a reference for the entire platoon).
Sabau, in view of Park, fails to teach every feature of the at least one follower vehicle acknowledging to the leader vehicle to have received a control command from the leader vehicle by transmitting a receipt.
However, El Assaad, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the features of the at least one follower vehicle acknowledging to the leader vehicle to have received a control command from the leader vehicle by transmitting a receipt. El Assaad teaches a method for managing vehicle driving in a convoy, where a transportation vehicle in the convoy receives the message and sends back an acknowledgement to the sending vehicle (for example by the transmitting vehicle) (e.g. Paragraph [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, in view of Park, with the feature of acknowledging receipt of messages in the system of El Assaad, in order to determine a transition time for synchronizing clocks (see at least Paragraph [0060] of El Assaad).
As per Claim 15, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 13, but Sabau, in view of Park, fails to teach every feature of wherein each control unit comprises an internal communication unit or interface for communicating with a CAN bus of the respective vehicle and/or control driving movements of the respective vehicle via the CAN bus, wherein the internal communication unit or the control unit is configured to run a command control interface for communicating commands between the control unit and the CAN bus.
However, El Assaad, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a device for controlling a vehicle and outputting platooning information, where the control units may be carried out with a CAN bus system (Controller Area Network) (e.g. Paragraphs [0065], [0070).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, in view of Park, with the feature of using CAN bus communication protocols in the system of El Assaad, in order to increase transmission rate and provide high reliability for safety-critical components (see at least Paragraphs [0009], [0049] of El Assaad).
As per Claim 19, Sabau discloses the features of Claim 13, and Sabau further discloses the features of wherein the external communication units are configured to communicate via at least one of a wireless local area network, a wireless personal area network, a 4G mobile network and a 5G mobile network (e.g. Paragraphs [0009], [0012], [0058]; where the communications system may include a receiver to receive communications form a predecessor vehicle and a transmitter to transmit signals to a follower vehicle, and the communication system may use a variety of technologies, such as personal area network, cellular, and wireless technologies).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sabau, in view of Park. As applied to Claim 13 above, and further in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/054208 A1, to Adachi (hereinafter referred to as Adachi; previously of record).
As per Claim 16, Sabau, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 13, but Sabau, in view of Park, fails to teach every feature of further comprising an odometry unit for each vehicle, wherein the odometry unit comprises at least one rotary encoder for determining the distance travelled by the vehicle.
However, Adachi, in a similar field of endeavor, a method for operating a mobile body, where the AGV comprises internal sensors which include two rotary encoders, and where odometry data for the movement of the vehicle may be determined (e.g. Page 11, Paragraph beginning with “The AGV 10 includes a traveling …”; Page 17, Paragraph beginning with “While the AGV 10 movies from …”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the method for vehicle control platooning method of Sabau, in view of Park, with the feature of using a rotary encoder in the system of Adachi, in order to improve the efficiency of the transportation operation of the vehicle (see at least Page 6, Paragraph beginning with “According to this embodiment …”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Karmoose, et al (U.S. 2019/0044728 A1), which teaches a method for arranging vehicle-to-vehicle communications for vehicle platooning, where the leader determines an end-to-end latency of message transmission so as to trigger behaviors in all other vehicles of the platoon.
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663