DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/914140, “BATTERY LATCH ASSEMBLY AND RETRACTABLE BATTERY COVER FOR LUGGAGE AND OTHER TRAVEL BAGS”, is a DIVISION of application 17/589741 (now USP 12,114,748), which was filed with the USPTO on 1/31/22 and claims priority from a provisional application filed on 2/1/21.
This Office Action on the merits is in response to communication filed on 6/16/26.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 17-23, and Group c, the embodiment of Figs. 7D-7E in the reply filed on 6/16/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected travel bag, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Additionally, claims 21-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected embodiment (embodiment of Figs. 6A-6C, which comprise a button movable along a defined path), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The elected species is the embodiment of Figs. 7D-7E, comprising a selectively positionable latch, rather than a button movable along a defined path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldenberg (USP 5848719).
Regarding claim 17, Goldenberg teaches a battery retention and release assembly (Figs. 1-7), comprising:
a battery support configured to receive a removable battery (item 28 is a support characterized as a “compartment”);
a latch (including at least items 14, 22), the latch including a body (item 14) having a length that is sufficient in size to fully cover an opening in a top area of the battery support (see Fig. 1); and
a release structure (item 20 and/or 42) operable by a user (nonlimiting statement of intended use, but not that Fig. 7 shows a user’s finger); and
wherein the latch is selectively positionable in at least three positions including a retaining position (Fig. 1), an intermediate position (Fig. 2), and a release position (cover is removable for release of a battery as described in c4:22-24 and c1:8-39).
Claim 17 further requires, wherein user operation of the release structure causes movement of the latch against a bias such that the battery is permitted to move relative to the battery support.
Fig. 7 shows user operation of the release such that a latch is moveable against a bias, so that the battery can be removed. Thus, this limitation is anticipated by Goldenberg as the release structure is actuated by moving the latch against a bias of the release structure, such that the battery may be moved relative to the battery support.
Regarding claim 18, Goldenberg [optionally in view of Roosen] remains as applied to claim 17. Goldenberg further teaches wherein the intermediate position permits partial displacement of the battery while preventing full removal of the battery (As seen in Fig. 2, the battery 30 is partially exposed such that it could be jostled within the compartment, but not fully removed).
Alternatively, claims 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Goldenberg (USP 5848719) and Roosen (US 2021/0093064).
Regarding claim 17, Goldenberg teaches a battery retention and release assembly (Figs. 1-7), comprising:
a battery support configured to receive a removable battery (item 28 is a support characterized as a “compartment”);
a latch (including at least items 14, 22), the latch including a body (item 14) having a length that is sufficient in size to fully cover an opening in a top area of the battery support (see Fig. 1); and
a release structure (item 20 and/or 42) operable by a user (nonlimiting statement of intended use, but not that Fig. 7 shows a user’s finger); and
wherein the latch is selectively positionable in at least three positions including a retaining position (Fig. 1), an intermediate position (Fig. 2), and a release position (cover is removable for release of a battery as described in c4:22-24 and c1:8-39).
Claim 17 further requires, wherein user operation of the release structure causes movement of the latch against a bias such that the battery is permitted to move relative to the battery support. Goldenberg does not teach the battery compartment comprising a biasing element.
In the battery art, Roosen teaches (Figs. 2a,2b) a battery compartment configured such that a battery support (item 10) has a biasing element such as a spring (items 8,9) disposed thereon, so that the battery may move relative to the battery support when a latch/release structure (item 5) is disengaged, enabling facile removal of the battery (see Figs. 2a,2b; paragraphs [0037-0041]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a biasing element in the compartment of Goldenberg, such that the release structure causes movement of the latch against a bias [of the biasing element added by modification] such that the battery is permitted to move relative to the battery support, enabling facile removal of the battery from the battery compartment in view of Roosen.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Goldenberg and Roosen remain as applied to claim 17. Goldenberg further teaches wherein the intermediate position permits partial displacement of the battery while preventing full removal of the battery (As seen in Fig. 2, the battery 30 is partially exposed such that it could be jostled within the compartment, but not fully removed).
Claims 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Goldenberg (USP 5848719) and Roosen (US 2021/0093064).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Goldenberg [optionally in view of Roosen] remains as applied to claim 17. Goldenberg does not appear to teach the battery retention assembly wherein the battery support includes a spring configured to bias the battery toward removal and the latch counteracts a force of the spring when in the retaining position.
However, as described in the obviousness rejection of claim 17 above, Roosen teaches a battery compartment comprising a battery support including a spring configured to bias the battery toward removal and a latch counteracts a force of the spring when in the retaining position (e.g. Figs. 2a, 2b) for the benefit of facilitating removal of the battery from the battery compartment.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to configure the battery retention and release assembly of Goldenerg such that the battery support includes a spring configured to bias the battery toward removal and the latch counteracts a force of the spring when in the retaining position for the benefit of enabling facile remove of the battery from the compartment as taught by Roosen.
Relevant or Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, though not necessarily pertinent to applicant’s invention as claimed.
Majhess (USP 10376031) battery compartment with lid;
Bhatnagar (US 2017/0290401) battery compartment comprising lid which may slide open;
Rubio (US 2019/0254401) battery compartment with slideable door.
Conclusion
/JEREMIAH R SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723