DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. TW113123932, filed on 06/27/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20190280374; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim (figs. 2-8) discloses “An antenna device, comprising: a transparent substrate (140A), having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface; and a plurality of antenna units (115A), disposed on the transparent substrate, wherein there is a light-transmitting area between adjacent antenna units, each of the antenna units comprising: an antenna electrode (top of 115A), disposed on the first surface of the transparent substrate; a ground electrode (165A), disposed on the second surface of the transparent substrate, wherein a width of the ground electrode in a first direction is greater than a width of the antenna electrode in the first direction (see fig. 6); a redistribution structure (200A), coupled to the antenna electrode, wherein the ground electrode is located between the redistribution structure and the transparent substrate (see fig. 6); and a chip (300A), bonded to the redistribution structure”.
Regarding claim 3, Kim (figs. 2-8) discloses “The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein each of the antenna units further comprises: a substrate through hole (120A), located in the transparent substrate, wherein the substrate through hole is connected to the antenna electrode, and the substrate through hole is electrically connected to the redistribution structure (see fig. 6)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chen et al. (US20240222844; hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the antenna device according to claim 1 as shown previously.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the ground electrode has a mesh structure”.
However, Chen teaches “wherein the ground electrode has a mesh structure (¶[0089]; Taking the radiation part 221 and the ground layer 230 as an example, the radiation part 221 may be formed by a plurality of mesh wires 1220 and the ground layer 230 may be formed by a plurality of mesh wires 1210, as shown in FIG. 12B)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Chen and make Kim’s antenna device wherein the ground electrode has a mesh structure, in order to make the antenna more lightweight and compact.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the antenna device according to claim 1 as shown previously.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the antenna electrode has a mesh structure”.
However, Chen teaches “wherein the ground antenna has a mesh structure (¶[0089]; Taking the radiation part 221 and the ground layer 230 as an example, the radiation part 221 may be formed by a plurality of mesh wires 1220 and the ground layer 230 may be formed by a plurality of mesh wires 1210, as shown in FIG. 12B)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Chen and make Kim’s antenna device wherein the antenna electrode has a mesh structure, in order to make the antenna more lightweight and compact.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-11, and 14-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein each of the antenna units further comprises an active component layer, the active component layer is located between the redistribution structure and the transparent substrate, and at least one active component in the active component layer overlaps the ground electrode”.
Kim and Cheng are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including “The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein each of the antenna units further comprises an active component layer”.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant. For at least this reason claim 2 is allowable.
Regarding claim 4, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the redistribution structure comprises: a shielding structure; and an antenna signal line, wherein the shielding structure completely surrounds or partially surrounds the antenna signal line on a top surface of an insulating layer”.
Kim and Cheng are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including “The antenna device according to claim 1”.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant. For at least this reason claim 4 is allowable.
Claims 5-11 allowable for their dependance.
Regarding claim 14, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “further comprising: a connecting line, wherein the ground electrode of two adjacent ones of the antenna units is electrically connected to each other through the connecting line”.
Kim and Cheng are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including “The antenna device according to claim 1”.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant. For at least this reason claim 14 is allowable.
Regarding claim 15, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein a width of the chip is less than the width of the ground electrode”.
Kim and Cheng are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including “The antenna device according to claim 1”.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant. For at least this reason claim 15 is allowable.
Regarding claim 16, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein a width of the chip is less than the width of the antenna electrode”.
Kim and Cheng are all cited as teaching some elements of the claimed invention including “The antenna device according to claim 1”.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant. For at least this reason claim 16 is allowable.
Claim 17 is allowable for reciting similar subject matter to that of claim 4.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845