DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 10/25/2024, 07/04/2025 have been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
For claim 8,
a. the gain control unit is configured to obtain…on lines 8-16.
For claim 9,
a. the gain control unit is configured to increase…on lines 8-16.
For claim 11,
a. the power-on detection unit is configured to detect…on lines 5-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8,9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 8 and 9 applicant claims, “the gain control unit” and regarding claim 11, applicant claims, “the power-on detection unit” and functions claimed by the corresponding units (3205 and 3206), see figures 6 and 7 respectively. No details or structure is provided for the corresponding units and thus making the claims vague and indefinite. Appropriate correction is required to make the claim clearer.
Examiner’s Note: Claim 12 is also rejected under 35 USC 112b for being dependent upon the rejection claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,6,7 and 10 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Chiou et al; (US 2003/0219260) in view of Manan (CN 110212869 A).
Regarding claim 1, Chiou discloses an optical receiver ;(optical receiver, see figure 3) comprising a photodetector (photodiode 304, see figure 3) and a trans-impedance amplifier,(transimpedance amplifier 302, see figure 3) wherein the trans-impedance amplifier comprises a first differential branch circuit ;(first input amplifier 310, see figure 3) a second differential branch circuit,(second input amplifier 314, see figure 3) and a differential amplifier,(output differential amplifier 320, see figure 3) wherein the first differential branch circuit comprises a first capacitor ;(first capacitor 308, see figure 3) and a first trans-impedance amplifying unit ;(first input amplifier 310, see figure 3) wherein an input end of the first capacitor receives an input signal from a power supply end of the photodetector,(the optical detector 300 includes a photodiode (D1) 304, a bias resistor (Rb) 306, and an AC-coupling capacitor (Cb) 308. A cathode of the photodiode 304 is coupled to a power source (VCC) via the bias resistor 306, see paragraph 39and figure 3) an output end of the first capacitor is coupled to an input end of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit,(the output of the AC-coupling capacitor (Cb) 308 is coupled with the input of the first amplifier 310, see figure 3) and an output end of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit is coupled to a first input end of the differential amplifier; (the output of the first amplifier 310, coupled with the differential amplifier 320, see figure 3) and the second differential branch circuit comprises a second trans-impedance amplifying unit, (second input amplifier 314, see figure 3) an input end of the second trans-impedance amplifying unit is coupled to an output end of the photodetector, (photodiode 304 coupled with the second amplifier 314, see figure 3) and an output end of the second trans-impedance amplifying unit is coupled to a second input end of the differential amplifier,(the output of the second amplifier 310, coupled with the differential amplifier 320, see figure 3) wherein the first differential branch circuit is configured to amplify the input signal and output a reference signal; the second differential branch circuit is configured to amplify an electrical signal output by the photodetector,(the pseudo-differential input stage is coupled to pseudo-differential outputs of the optical detector 300 to generate pseudo-differential output voltages (Vpd1, Vpd2) for the differential output stage, see paragraph 42 and figure 3) and the differential amplifier is configured to perform differential amplification processing on the reference signal and the amplified electrical signal ;(the pseudo-differential input stage is coupled to pseudo-differential outputs of the optical detector 300 to generate pseudo-differential output voltages (Vpd1, Vpd2) for the differential output stage. The AC common mode voltage at the input of the differential output stage (e.g., variations in summation of the input signals to the differential output stage) is improved (e.g., minimized) by the pseudo-differential architecture, see paragraph 42 and figure 3).
However, Chiou does not explicitly disclose wherein signal physical parameter values of the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal are the same; or a signal physical parameter value difference between the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal is less than a first difference.
In a related field of endeavor, Manan discloses wherein signal physical parameter values of the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal are the same or a signal physical parameter value difference between the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal is less than a first difference; (if the peak difference parameter is greater than or equal to the reference voltage value, it outputs the first control voltage to the gate of the MOSFET transistor, opening the MOSFET transistor, a reference voltage value and if the peak difference parameter is less than to output the second control voltage to the gate of the MOSFET transistor, closing the MOSFET transistor, see page 3 and paragraph 4 and figure 3).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the peak value difference parameter of Manan with Chiou to compare the voltage parameter value differential peak detector output with the reference voltage and the motivation is to provide control voltage to the transimpedance amplifier.
Regarding claim 2, Chiou discloses the optical receiver according to claim 1, wherein the trans-impedance amplifier further comprises a first voltage regulator, wherein an output end of the first voltage regulator is coupled between an input end of the photodetector and the first capacitor; ( a bias resistor (Rb) 306, and an AC-coupling capacitor (Cb) 308 coupled with the photodiode 304, see paragraph 39 and figure 3) or the optical receiver further comprises a second voltage regulator, wherein an output end of the second voltage regulator is coupled to an input end of the photodetector, (Only one the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner) wherein the first voltage regulator or the second voltage regulator is configured to provide a bias voltage for the photodetector (The bias resistor 306 conducts an average level (or a DC component) of the unipolar current signal. The AC-coupling capacitor 308 blocks the DC component of the unipolar current signal to provide a first current signal (Input(+)) of a first polarity at the first output 307 of the optical detector 300, see paragraph 40 and figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Chiou does not explicitly disclose the optical receiver according to claim 1, wherein that signal physical parameter values of the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal are the same; or a signal physical parameter value difference between the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal is less than a first difference comprises: values of the first capacitor and parasitic capacitance of the photodetector are the same; or a difference between values of the first capacitor and parasitic capacitance of the photodetector is less than a second difference; and amplification multiples of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit and the second trans-impedance amplifying unit are equal; or a difference between amplification multiples of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit and the second trans-impedance amplifying unit is less than a third difference.
In a related field of endeavor, Manan discloses the optical receiver according to claim 1, wherein that signal physical parameter values of the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal are the same; or a signal physical parameter value difference between the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal is less than a first difference; (if the peak difference parameter is greater than or equal to the reference voltage value, it outputs the first control voltage to the gate of the MOSFET transistor, opening the MOSFET transistor, a reference voltage value and if the peak difference parameter is less than to output the second control voltage to the gate of the MOSFET transistor, closing the MOSFET transistor, see page 3 and paragraph 4 and figure 3) comprises: values of the first capacitor and parasitic capacitance of the photodetector are the same;(the half parallel capacitance of the MOS device from the perspective of the virtual GND, thereby reducing parasitic capacitance, see Abstract) or a difference between values of the first capacitor and parasitic capacitance of the photodetector is less than a second difference; (Only one the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner) and amplification multiples of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit and the second trans-impedance amplifying unit are equal; or a difference between amplification multiples of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit and the second trans-impedance amplifying unit is less than a third difference ;( two paths of voltage when the input optical signal is increased, pseudo-differential TIA output are increased, across the pseudo-differential TIA output ends of the two differential peak detector calculating the difference between the two paths of voltage peak value, the output difference voltage parameter value, the voltage parameter value and comparing the reference voltage in the comparator, when the voltage parameter value is larger than the reference voltage, see page 5 and paragraph 6). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Chiou does not explicitly disclose the optical receiver according to claim 1, wherein that signal physical parameter values of the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal are the same; or a signal physical parameter value difference between the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal is less than a first difference comprises one or a combination of the following manners: adjusting an amplification multiple of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit; and adjusting an amplification multiple of the second trans-impedance amplifying unit.
In a related field of endeavor, Manan discloses the optical receiver according to claim 1, wherein that signal physical parameter values of the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal are the same; or a signal physical parameter value difference between the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal is less than a first difference; (if the peak difference parameter is greater than or equal to the reference voltage value, it outputs the first control voltage to the gate of the MOSFET transistor, opening the MOSFET transistor, a reference voltage value and if the peak difference parameter is less than to output the second control voltage to the gate of the MOSFET transistor, closing the MOSFET transistor, see page 3 and paragraph 4 and figure 3) comprises one or a combination of the following manners: adjusting an amplification multiple of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit; and adjusting an amplification multiple of the second trans-impedance amplifying unit ;( peak detector calculating the difference between the two paths of voltage peak value, the output difference voltage parameter value, the voltage parameter value and comparing the reference voltage in the comparator, when the voltage parameter value is larger than the reference voltage, the comparer outputs control voltage (VSHNT) to the gate of the MOSFET transistor. so that the MOSFET transistor is turned on, see page 5 and paragraph 6). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Chiou does not explicitly disclose the optical receiver according to claim 1, wherein the first signal physical parameter value or the second signal physical parameter value is obtained in at least one of the following manners: signal peak detection, signal root mean square value detection, and signal direct current level detection.
In a related field of endeavor, Manan discloses the optical receiver according to claim 1, wherein the first signal physical parameter value or the second signal physical parameter value is obtained in at least one of the following manners: signal peak detection, (peak detector (PKD), see figure 3) signal root mean square value detection, and signal direct current level detection (Only one the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner). Motivation same as claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Chiou et al; (US 2003/0219260) in view of Manan (CN 110212869 A) and further in view of Muller et al;( A 4-channel 2.5Gb/s/channel 66dBΏ inductor less Transimpedance Amplifier – 2003 attached).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chiou and Manan does not explicitly disclose the optical receiver according to claim 2, wherein the trans-impedance amplifier further comprises a second capacitor, wherein an input end of the second capacitor is coupled between the input end of the photodetector and the first capacitor, and an output end of the second capacitor is coupled to a reference plane; or the optical receiver further comprises a third capacitor, wherein an input end of the third capacitor is coupled between the first voltage regulator and the photodetector, or coupled between the second voltage regulator and the photodetector, and an output end of the third capacitor is coupled to a reference plane, wherein the second capacitor or the third capacitor is configured to filter out at least part of interferences from the first voltage regulator or the second voltage regulator, wherein a capacitance value of the second capacitor or the third capacitor is greater than a preset capacitance threshold.
In a related field of endeavor, Muller discloses the optical receiver according to claim 2, wherein the trans-impedance amplifier further comprises a second capacitor,(Cfilt, see figure 3) wherein an input end of the second capacitor is coupled between the input end of the photodetector and the first capacitor, and an output end of the second capacitor is coupled to a reference plane;(Cfilt coupled with the photodetector and the first capacitor Cdum and the output of the Cfilt is grounded, see figure 3) or the optical receiver further comprises a third capacitor, wherein an input end of the third capacitor is coupled between the first voltage regulator and the photodetector, or coupled between the second voltage regulator and the photodetector, and an output end of the third capacitor is coupled to a reference plane, (Only one the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner),wherein the second capacitor or the third capacitor is configured to filter out at least part of interferences from the first voltage regulator or the second voltage regulator, wherein a capacitance value of the second capacitor or the third capacitor is greater than a preset capacitance threshold ;( The dummy capacitor connected to the floating amplifier input is matched with the detector capacitance. Noise on the filtered photodiode bias voltage is converted to common-mode noise at the amplifier input and the amplifier has a symmetric load, see page 2, column 1, section 2 and figure 3).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the Muller with Chiou and Manan to filter the photodiode bias voltage and the motivation is to cancel the DC current from the
photodiode and amplifiers offsets.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Chiou et al; (US 2003/0219260) in view of Manan (CN 110212869 A) and further in view of Zhou et al; (US 2015/0180582).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chiou and Manan does not explicitly disclose the optical receiver according to claim 1, further comprising a common-mode filter, wherein an input end of the common-mode filter is coupled to an output end of the differential amplifier, wherein the common-mode filter is configured to filter out common-mode interference signals included in an electrical signal obtained through differential amplification processing.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhou discloses the optical receiver according to claim 1, further comprising a common-mode filter,(low pass filter 248, see figure 2)wherein an input end of the common-mode filter is coupled to an output end of the differential amplifier, wherein the common-mode filter is configured to filter out common-mode interference signals included in an electrical signal obtained through differential amplification processing (the filter 248 (a low-pass filter (LPF)) may be used to extract a common mode from the output signal of the TIA 210, to be used by the differential amplifier 242 and the signal may be DC balanced/averaged, such as by using a LPF to extract the average signal value, for use with the linear differential amplifier 242, see paragraph 26 and figure 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the low pass filter of Zhou with Chiou and Manan to extract a common mode from the output signal of the TIA and the motivation is to convert to convert a single-ended signal to a differential signal.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chiou and Manan does not explicitly disclose the optical receiver according to claim 4, wherein the common-mode filter is disposed in a chip of the trans-impedance amplifier, disposed on a transmission link between the trans-impedance amplifier and a next-stage unit, or disposed in an input stage of the next-stage unit, wherein the next-stage unit is a buffer or an amplifier.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhou discloses the optical receiver according to claim 4, wherein the common-mode filter is disposed in a chip of the trans-impedance amplifier, disposed on a transmission link between the trans-impedance amplifier and a next-stage unit, (the filter 248 (a low-pass filter (LPF)) coupled with the transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 210 on the receiver chip 240, see figure 2) or disposed in an input stage of the next-stage unit, wherein the next-stage unit is a buffer or an amplifier ;( differential output that can be processed by components further downstream, such as other ASICs, see paragraph 24 and figure 2). Motivation same as claim 4.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Chiou et al; (US 2003/0219260) in view of Manan (CN 110212869 A) and further in view of Zhou et al; (US 2015/0180582).
Regarding claim 13, Chiou discloses an optical receiver ;(optical receiver, see figure 3) comprising a photodetector (photodiode 304, see figure 3) and a trans-impedance amplifier,(transimpedance amplifier 302, see figure 3) wherein the trans-impedance amplifier comprises a first differential branch circuit ;(first input amplifier 310, see figure 3) a second differential branch circuit,(second input amplifier 314, see figure 3) and wherein the first differential branch circuit comprises a first capacitor ;(first capacitor 308, see figure 3) and a first trans-impedance amplifying unit ;(first input amplifier 310, see figure 3) wherein an input end of the first capacitor receives an input signal from a power supply end of the photodetector, (the optical detector 300 includes a photodiode (D1) 304, a bias resistor (Rb) 306, and an AC-coupling capacitor (Cb) 308. A cathode of the photodiode 304 is coupled to a power source (VCC) via the bias resistor 306, see paragraph 39and figure 3) an output end of the first capacitor is coupled to an input end of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit, ,(the output of the AC-coupling capacitor (Cb) 308 is coupled with the input of the first amplifier 310, see figure 3) and an output end of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit is coupled and the second differential branch circuit comprises a second trans-impedance amplifying unit,(second input amplifier 314, see figure 3) an input end of the second trans-impedance amplifying unit is coupled to an output end of the photodetector (photodiode 304 coupled with the second amplifier 314, see figure 3), and an output end of the second trans-impedance amplifying unit is coupled, ,(second input amplifier 314, see figure 3) wherein the first differential branch circuit is configured to: amplify the input signal and output a reference signal; the second differential branch circuit is configured to amplify an electrical signal output by the photodetector ,(the pseudo-differential input stage is coupled to pseudo-differential outputs of the optical detector 300 to generate pseudo-differential output voltages (Vpd1, Vpd2) for the differential output stage, see paragraph 42 and figure 3)
However, Chiou does not explicitly disclose wherein signal physical parameter values of the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal are the same; or a signal physical parameter value difference between the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal is less than a first difference; a common-mode filter, to a first input end of the common-mode filter; to a second input end of the common-mode filter and the common-mode filter is configured to perform filtering processing on the reference signal and the amplified electrical signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Manan discloses wherein signal physical parameter values of the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal are the same; or a signal physical parameter value difference between the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal is less than a first difference; (if the peak difference parameter is greater than or equal to the reference voltage value, it outputs the first control voltage to the gate of the MOSFET transistor, opening the MOSFET transistor, a reference voltage value and if the peak difference parameter is less than to output the second control voltage to the gate of the MOSFET transistor, closing the MOSFET transistor, see page 3 and paragraph 4 and figure 3).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the peak value difference parameter of Manan with Chiou to compare the voltage parameter value differential peak detector output with the reference voltage and the motivation is to provide control voltage to the transimpedance amplifier.
However, the combination of Chiou and Manan does not explicitly disclose a common-mode filter, to a first input end of the common-mode filter; to a second input end of the common-mode filter and the common-mode filter is configured to perform filtering processing on the reference signal and the amplified electrical signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhou discloses a common-mode filter,(low pass filter 248, see figure 2) to a first input end of the common-mode filter; to a second input end of the common-mode filter and the common-mode filter is configured to perform filtering processing on the reference signal and the amplified electrical signal; (the filter 248 (a low-pass filter (LPF)) may be used to extract a common mode from the output signal of the TIA 210, to be used by the differential amplifier 242 and the signal may be DC balanced/averaged, such as by using a LPF to extract the average signal value, for use with the linear differential amplifier 242, see paragraph 26 and figure 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the low pass filter of Zhou with Chiou and Manan to extract a common mode from the output signal of the TIA and the motivation is to convert to convert a single-ended signal to a differential signal.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Chiou and Manan does not explicitly disclose the optical receiver according to claim 13, wherein the common-mode filter is disposed in a chip of the trans-impedance amplifier, disposed on a transmission link between the trans-impedance amplifier and a next-stage unit, or disposed in an input stage of the next-stage unit, wherein the next-stage unit is a buffer or an amplifier.
In a related filed of endeavor, Zhou discloses the optical receiver according to claim 13, wherein the common-mode filter is disposed in a chip of the trans-impedance amplifier, (the filter 248 (a low-pass filter (LPF)) coupled with the transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 210 on the receiver chip 240, see figure 2) disposed on a transmission link between the trans-impedance amplifier and a next-stage unit, or disposed in an input stage of the next-stage unit, wherein the next-stage unit is a buffer or an amplifier ;( differential output that can be processed by components further downstream, such as other ASICs, see paragraph 24 and figure 2). Motivation same as claim 13.
Claims 15,16 and 17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Chiou et al; (US 2003/0219260) in view of Manan (CN 110212869 A) and further in view of Tanaka (US 2022/0109507).
Regarding claim 15, Chiou discloses comprising: an optical receiver,(optical receiver, see figure 3) wherein the optical receiver comprising a photodetector ;(optical receiver, see figure 3) and a trans-impedance amplifier, (transimpedance amplifier 302, see figure 3) wherein the trans-impedance amplifier comprises a first differential branch circuit ;(first input amplifier 310, see figure 3) a second differential branch circuit,(second input amplifier 314, see figure 3) and a differential amplifier, (output differential amplifier 320, see figure 3) wherein the first differential branch circuit comprises a first capacitor ;(first capacitor 308, see figure 3) and a first trans-impedance amplifying unit ;(first input amplifier 310, see figure 3) wherein an input end of the first capacitor receives an input signal from a power supply end of the photodetector,(the optical detector 300 includes a photodiode (D1) 304, a bias resistor (Rb) 306, and an AC-coupling capacitor (Cb) 308. A cathode of the photodiode 304 is coupled to a power source (VCC) via the bias resistor 306, see paragraph 39and figure 3) an output end of the first capacitor is coupled to an input end of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit,(the output of the AC-coupling capacitor (Cb) 308 is coupled with the input of the first amplifier 310, see figure 3) and an output end of the first trans-impedance amplifying unit is coupled to a first input end of the differential amplifier; (the output of the first amplifier 310, coupled with the differential amplifier 320, see figure 3) and the second differential branch circuit comprises a second trans-impedance amplifying unit, (second input amplifier 314, see figure 3) an input end of the second trans-impedance amplifying unit is coupled to an output end of the photodetector, (photodiode 304 coupled with the second amplifier 314, see figure 3) and an output end of the second trans-impedance amplifying unit is coupled to a second input end of the differential amplifier,(the output of the second amplifier 310, coupled with the differential amplifier 320, see figure 3) wherein the first differential branch circuit is configured to amplify the input signal and output a reference signal; the second differential branch circuit is configured to amplify an electrical signal output by the photodetector, (the pseudo-differential input stage is coupled to pseudo-differential outputs of the optical detector 300 to generate pseudo-differential output voltages (Vpd1, Vpd2) for the differential output stage, see paragraph 42 and figure 3) and the differential amplifier is configured to perform differential amplification processing on the reference signal and the amplified electrical signal ;(the pseudo-differential input stage is coupled to pseudo-differential outputs of the optical detector 300 to generate pseudo-differential output voltages (Vpd1, Vpd2) for the differential output stage. The AC common mode voltage at the input of the differential output stage (e.g., variations in summation of the input signals to the differential output stage) is improved (e.g., minimized) by the pseudo-differential architecture, see paragraph 42 and figure 3).
However, Chiou does not explicitly disclose wherein physical parameter values of the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal are the same; or a signal physical parameter value difference between the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal is less than a first difference, an optical communication device, and one or more processors coupled to the optical receiver for data reception and process.
In a related field of endeavor, Mann discloses wherein physical parameter values of the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal are the same; or a signal physical parameter value difference between the reference signal and an interference signal included in an amplified electrical signal is less than a first difference, (if the peak difference parameter is greater than or equal to the reference voltage value, it outputs the first control voltage to the gate of the MOSFET transistor, opening the MOSFET transistor, a reference voltage value and if the peak difference parameter is less than to output the second control voltage to the gate of the MOSFET transistor, closing the MOSFET transistor, see page 3 and paragraph 4 and figure 3).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the peak value difference parameter of Manan with Chiou to compare the voltage parameter value differential peak detector output with the reference voltage and the motivation is to provide control voltage to the transimpedance amplifier.
However, the combination of Chiou and Manan does not explicitly disclose an optical communication device, and one or more processors coupled to the optical receiver for data reception and process.
In a related field of endeavor, Tanaka discloses an optical communication device, ;(optical communication device with OLT and Optical network unit, see figure 1) and one or more processors coupled to the optical receiver for data reception and process ;(the signal processor which is connected to a stage subsequent to the amplifier circuit processes the electric signal amplified by the amplifier circuit, see paragraph 31 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the signal processor of Tanaka with Chiou and Manan to provide signal processing of the received optical signal and the motivation is to provide signal processing of the received optical signal.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Chiou and Manan does not explicitly disclose the optical communication device according to claim 15, wherein the optical communication device is an optical line termination (OLT) or an optical network termination (ONT).
In a related field of endeavor, Tanaka discloses the optical communication device according to claim 15, wherein the optical communication device is an optical line termination (OLT) or an optical network termination (ONT) ;(the signal processor which is connected to a stage subsequent to the amplifier circuit processes the electric signal amplified by the amplifier circuit, see paragraph 31 and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, Chiou discloses the optical communication device according to claim 15, wherein the trans-impedance amplifier further comprises a first voltage regulator, wherein an output end of the first voltage regulator is coupled between an input end of the photodetector and the first capacitor; ( a bias resistor (Rb) 306, and an AC-coupling capacitor (Cb) 308 coupled with the photodiode 304, see paragraph 39 and figure 3) or the optical receiver further comprises a second voltage regulator, wherein an output end of the second voltage regulator is coupled to an input end of the photodetector, (Only one the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner) wherein the first voltage regulator or the second voltage regulator is configured to provide a bias voltage for the photodetector (the bias resistor 306 conducts an average level (or a DC component) of the unipolar current signal. The AC-coupling capacitor 308 blocks the DC component of the unipolar current signal to provide a first current signal (Input(+)) of a first polarity at the first output 307 of the optical detector 300, see paragraph 40 and figure 3).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Chiou et al; (US 2003/0219260) in view of Manan (CN 110212869 A) and further in view of Muller et al;( A 4-channel 2.5Gb/s/channel 66dBΏ inductor less Transimpedance Amplifier – 200 attached).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chiou and Manan does not explicitly disclose the optical communication device according to claim 17, wherein the trans-impedance amplifier further comprises a second capacitor, wherein an input end of the second capacitor is coupled between the input end of the photodetector and the first capacitor, and an output end of the second capacitor is coupled to a reference plane; or the optical receiver further comprises a third capacitor, wherein an input end of the third capacitor is coupled between the first voltage regulator and the photodetector, or coupled between the second voltage regulator and the photodetector, and an output end of the third capacitor is coupled to a reference plane, wherein the second capacitor or the third capacitor is configured to filter out at least part of interferences from the first voltage regulator or the second voltage regulator, wherein a capacitance value of the second capacitor or the third capacitor is greater than a preset capacitance threshold.
In a related field of endeavor, Muller discloses the optical communication device according to claim 17, wherein the trans-impedance amplifier further comprises a second capacitor, (Cfilt, see figure 3) wherein an input end of the second capacitor is coupled between the input end of the photodetector and the first capacitor, and an output end of the second capacitor is coupled to a reference plane;(Cfilt coupled with the photodetector and the first capacitor Cdum and the output of the Cfilt is grounded, see figure 3) = or the optical receiver further comprises a third capacitor, wherein an input end of the third capacitor is coupled between the first voltage regulator and the photodetector, or coupled between the second voltage regulator and the photodetector, and an output end of the third capacitor is coupled to a reference plane, (Only one the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner), wherein the second capacitor or the third capacitor is configured to filter out at least part of interferences from the first voltage regulator or the second voltage regulator, wherein a capacitance value of the second capacitor or the third capacitor is greater than a preset capacitance threshold;(the dummy capacitor connected to the floating amplifier input is matched with the detector capacitance. Noise on the filtered photodiode bias voltage is converted to common-mode noise at the amplifier input and the amplifier has a symmetric load, see page 2, column 1, section 2 and figure 3).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the Muller with Chiou and Manan to filter the photodiode bias voltage and the motivation is to cancel the DC current from the
photodiode and amplifiers offsets.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Chiou et al; (US 2003/0219260) in view of Manan (CN 110212869 A),further in view of Tanaka (US 2022/0109507) and further in view of Zhou et al; (US 2015/0180582).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Chiou, Manan and Tanaka does not explicitly disclose the optical communication device according to claim 15, further comprising a common-mode filter, wherein an input end of the common-mode filter is coupled to an output end of the differential amplifier, wherein the common-mode filter is configured to filter out common-mode interference signals included in an electrical signal obtained through differential amplification processing.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhou discloses the optical communication device according to claim 15, further comprising a common-mode filter, wherein an input end of the common-mode filter is coupled to an output end of the differential amplifier, wherein the common-mode filter is configured to filter out common-mode interference signals included in an electrical signal obtained through differential amplification processing (the filter 248 (a low-pass filter (LPF)) may be used to extract a common mode from the output signal of the TIA 210, to be used by the differential amplifier 242 and the signal may be DC balanced/averaged, such as by using a LPF to extract the average signal value, for use with the linear differential amplifier 242, see paragraph 26 and figure 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the low pass filter of Zhou with Chiou and Manan to extract a common mode from the output signal of the TIA and the motivation is to convert to convert a single-ended signal to a differential signal.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Chiou, Manan and Tanaka does not explicitly disclose the optical communication device according to claim 19, wherein the common-mode filter is disposed in a chip of the trans-impedance amplifier, disposed on a transmission link between the trans-impedance amplifier and a next-stage unit or disposed in an input stage of the next-stage unit, wherein the next-stage unit is a buffer or an amplifier
In a related field of endeavor, Zhou discloses the optical communication device according to claim 19, wherein the common-mode filter is disposed in a chip of the trans-impedance amplifier, disposed on a transmission link between the trans-impedance amplifier and a next-stage unit (the filter 248 (a low-pass filter (LPF)) coupled with the transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 210 on the receiver chip 240, see figure 2) or disposed in an input stage of the next-stage unit, wherein the next-stage unit is a buffer or an amplifier ;( differential output that can be processed by components further downstream, such as other ASICs, see paragraph 24 and figure 2). Motivation same as claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is reproduced below.
a. IDE (US 2014/0193164) discloses a first non-feedback amplifier configured to convert a current signal, obtained from a light receiving element in response to an optical signal, into a first voltage signal; a second amplifier configured to convert an input current signal into a second voltage signal, the output signal not being directly fed back to an input side; a differential amplifier configured to perform differential amplification on the first voltage signal and the second voltage signal and to output an in positive signal and a negative signal obtained through the differential amplification; and an offset compensation circuit configured to input, on the basis of the in positive signal and the negative signal output from the differential amplifier, see figure 1.
b. Tanaka (US 2016/0094191) discloses an optical receiver that has a first TIA that converts the photocurrent into a voltage signal and a second TIA . A differential amplifier (9, 11) amplified a difference between voltage signal and reference. The differential amplifier outputs two outputs complementary to each other. An offset canceller (13) extracts a portion of photocurrent based on outputs of differential amplifier. A level detector (17) detects an average of photocurrent and outputs a control current to second TIA to vary reference, see figure 1.
c. Perez et al; (EP 3297184 A1) discloses an optical receiver circuit (200) comprising: at least one photo detector (207) configured to convert a received light signal to an input current signal, a transimpedance amplifier circuit (201) with an input to receive the input current signal from the at least one photo detector (207) and being configured to convert the received input current signal to an output voltage signal to generate an output signal of the transimpedance amplifier circuit (201) and an automatic gain control component (204) configured for controlling via at least one programmable feedback resistor (226, 227) the equivalent transimpedance of the transimpedance amplifier circuit based on the signal output by the DC restoration component (205) to provide a constant output voltage amplitude for different current ranges of the input current signal, see figure 2.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634