Claim Objections
Claims 5, 7, 9, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “the second pipe elements” and should be “the second pipe element” because there is only a single second pipe element.
Claim 7 recites “said connecting base for abuts against” and should be “said connecting base for abutting against”.
Claim 9 recites “said deformable pressing ring , and” and should delete the space before the comma to recite “said deformable pressing ring
Claim 14 recites “said third abutting inclined surface has a gradually reducing diameter along a direction toward said sealing ring” and should be “said third abutting inclined surface has a gradually reducing diameter along a direction away from said sealing ring”. See Fig. 2 of applicant’s drawings such that the third abutting inclined surface 8 has a diameter that gradually reduces in a direction away from the sealing ring and not toward the sealing ring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hattori (CN 1267804 A).
In regard to claim 1, Hattori discloses a pipe fitting seal (Fig. 11 shows a pipe fitting seal) for sealing a first pipe element and a second pipe element (Fig. 11, at the junction between two pipes 1 define at least a first pipe element and a second pipe element that are sealed together by a respective sealing ring 3), comprising:
a sealing ring for being arranged between the first pipe element and the second pipe element (Fig. 11, sealing ring 3 arranged between the pipe elements);
a connecting base extended from an outside of said sealing ring (See image below, the sealing ring has a connecting base extended from an outside of the sealing ring similar to applicant’s invention); and
an outer biasing portion extended from an inner side of said connecting base (See image below, indicated outer biasing portion extends from an inner side of the connecting base), wherein said connecting base comprises a first abutting surface (See image below) which is capable of being squeezed to drive said outer biasing portion to abut against an outer wall of the first pipe element (See image below and Fig. 11, the first abutting surface is capable of being squeezed by a clamp at 2 to drive the outer biasing portion to abut against an outer wall of the first pipe element), and a second abutting inclined surface (See image below) which is capable of being squeezed to allow said sealing ring to be driven to abut against an end of the second pipe element (See image below and Fig. 11, clamp at 2 squeezes the second abutting inclined surface which at least allows the sealing ring 3 to be driven to abut against an end of the second pipe element).
In regard to claim 2, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 1, further comprising an abutment ring provided on said inner side of said connecting base (See image below, indicated abutment ring is provided on the inner side of the connecting base and is similar to applicant’s invention such that the abutment ring is a protrusion), and a third abutting inclined surface provided on said connecting base adjacent to said sealing ring (See image below, indicated third abutting inclined surface is provided on the connecting base adjacent to the sealing ring), wherein said third abutting inclined surface is capable of being squeezed to drive said abutment ring to abut against said outer wall of said first pipe element (See image below and Fig. 11, indicated third abutting inclined surface is squeezed by a clamp 2 which at least allows the abutment ring to abut against the outer wall of the first pipe element).
In regard to claim 3, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 2, further comprising an outer sealing inclined surface provided on a side of said outer biasing portion away from said connecting base for abutting against the outer wall of the first pipe element (See image below, the outer biasing portion has an outer sealing inclined surface for abutting against the outer wall of the first pipe element).
In regard to claim 4, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 3, further having a deformation ring groove defined at a side of said outer biasing portion adjacent to said abutment ring (See image below, indicated deformation ring groove is defined at a side of the outer biasing portion and is adjacent to the abutment ring).
In regard to claim 5, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 1, wherein two sides of said sealing ring (Fig. 12, one side at 10 and a second side at 11) are respectively provided with abutting arc surfaces for abutting against the first pipe element and the second pipe element (Fig. 12, the grooves at 10 and 11 are at least abutting arc surfaces for abutting against the first pipe element and the second pipe element respectively).
In regard to claim 6, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 5, characterized in that at least one sealing pressing block is provided on a side of said sealing ring adjacent to said outer biasing portion (Fig. 12, one of the protrusions at 11 define at least one sealing pressing block provided on a side of the sealing ring 3 adjacent to the outer biasing portion).
In regard to claim 7, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 1, further comprising an inner biasing portion provided on a side of said sealing ring away from said connecting base (See image below, indicated inner biasing portion is provided on a side of the sealing away from the connecting base) for abutting against an inner wall of the second pipe element (See image below and Fig. 11, the inner biasing portion is for abutting against an inner wall of the second pipe element).
In regard to claim 11, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 1, wherein said sealing ring comprise a first stopping surface and a second stopping surface at two sides thereof (Fig. 12, first and second stopping surfaces at 10 and 11 which are at two sides respectively), wherein the first pipe element comprises a first connecting end portion having an end wall (Fig. 11, the first pipe element has a first connecting end portion having an end wall that connects with sealing ring 3), the second pipe element comprises a second connecting end portion having an end wall (Fig. 11, the second pipe element has a second connecting end portion having an end wall that connects with sealing ring 3), wherein the first stopping surface is capable of abutting against the end wall of the first connecting end portion of the first pipe element (Fig. 12, first stopping surface at 11 is for abutting against the end wall of the first connecting end portion of the first pipe element), wherein the second stopping surface is capable of abutting against the end wall of the second connecting end portion of the second pipe element (Fig. 12, second stopping surface at 10 is for abutting against the end wall of the second connecting end portion of the second pipe element).
In regard to claim 12, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, wherein said outer biasing portion has an outer sealing inclined surface for abutting against said outer wall of said first pipe element (See claim 3 above for the same reasons), wherein said outer sealing inclined surface has a gradually reducing diameter along a direction toward said sealing ring (See image above for claim 3, the outer sealing inclined surface has a diameter that gradually reduces in a direction toward the sealing ring).
In regard to claim 13, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, further comprising an abutment ring provided on said inner side of said connecting base, wherein a deformation ring groove is defined between said abutment ring and said outer biasing portion (See claims 2 and 4 above for the same reasons that requires the same features of “an abutment ring…outer biasing portion”).
In regard to claim 14, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 13, wherein said connecting base comprises a third abutting inclined surface which is capable of being squeezed to drive said abutment ring to abut against the outer wall of the first pipe element (See claim 2 above for the same reasons), wherein said third abutting inclined surface has a gradually reducing diameter along a direction away from said sealing ring (See image above for claim 2, the third abutting inclined surface has a gradually reducing diameter along a direction away from the sealing ring 3).
In regard to claim 15, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 14, wherein said second abutting inclined surface has a gradually increasing diameter along a direction toward said sealing ring (See image above for claim 1, the second abutting inclined surface has a gradually increasing diameter along a direction toward the sealing ring).
In regard to claim 16, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 15, wherein said first abutting surface is an inclined surface having a gradually reducing diameter along a direction toward said sealing ring (See image below, taken from Fig. 5 as an example of how the clamps 2 are used. When the clamp 2 abuts against the first abutting surface, an inclined surface is formed which has at least a gradually reducing diameter along a direction toward the sealing ring.).
In regard to claim 17, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, further comprising an inner biasing portion integrally extended from said second stopping surface of said sealing ring for abutting against an inner wall of the second pipe element (See image above for claim 7, the inner biasing portion extends from the second stopping surface and is for abutting against an inner wall of the second pipe element).
In regard to claim 18, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, further comprising at least a sealing pressing block which is integrally protruded from said first stopping surface of said sealing ring for abutting against the end wall of the first connecting end portion of the first pipe element (Fig. 12, one of the protrusions at 11 defines a sealing pressing block which is integrally protruded from the first stopping surface for abutting against the end wall of the first connecting end portion of the first pipe element).
In regard to claim 19, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, further comprising at least a sealing pressing block which is integrally protruded from said second stopping surface of said sealing ring for abutting against the end wall of the second connecting end portion of the second pipe element (Fig. 12, one of the axial protrusions at 10 defines a sealing pressing block which is integrally protruded from the second stopping surface for abutting against the end wall of the second connecting end portion of the second pipe element).
In regard to claim 20, Hattori discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, wherein said pipe fitting seal is made of a rubber material (In paragraph [0041] of the English translation discloses the sealing ring 3 can be made of a rubber material).
Claims 1, 7, 11-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (US 2022/0186862 A1, hereinafter “Lu”).
In regard to claim 1, Lu discloses a pipe fitting seal (Fig. 16A shows a pipe fitting seal) for sealing a first pipe element and a second pipe element (Fig. 16A, first pipe element at 201 and second pipe element at 121), comprising:
a sealing ring for being arranged between the first pipe element and the second pipe element (Fig. 16A, a sealing ring at 301);
a connecting base extended from an outside of said sealing ring (Fig. 16A, the portion at 301 defines at least a connecting base extended from an outside of the sealing ring similar to the applicant’s invention); and
an outer biasing portion extended from an inner side of said connecting base (Fig. 16A, portion at 31 defines an outer biasing portion extended from an inner side of the connecting base similar to applicant’s invention), wherein said connecting base comprises a first abutting surface (Fig. 16A, surface at 301 that abuts 24 defines a first abutting surface) which is capable of being squeezed to drive said outer biasing portion to abut against an outer wall of the first pipe element (Fig. 16C shows the surface at 301 being squeezed radially to drive the outer biasing portion to abut against an outer wall of 201), and a second abutting inclined surface (See image below, indicated second abutting inclined surface) which is capable of being squeezed to allow said sealing ring to be driven to abut against an end of the second pipe element (Fig. 16C shows how the second abutting inclined surface is squeezed which at least allows the sealing ring to be driven to abut against an end of 121).
In regard to claim 7, Lu discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 1, further comprising an inner biasing portion provided on a side of said sealing ring away from said connecting base for abutting against an inner wall of the second pipe element (Fig. 16C, portion at 32 defines an inner biasing portion provided on a side of the sealing ring away from the connecting base for abutting against an inner wall of 121).
In regard to claim 11, Lu discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 1, wherein said sealing ring comprise a first stopping surface and a second stopping surface at two sides thereof (See image below, the sealing ring has at least two stopping surfaces between the two pipe elements), wherein the first pipe element comprises a first connecting end portion having an end wall, the second pipe element comprises a second connecting end portion having an end wall (See image below, the first pipe element has a first connecting end portion which has an end wall and the second pipe element has a second connecting end portion which has an end wall), wherein the first stopping surface is capable of abutting against the end wall of the first connecting end portion of the first pipe element, wherein the second stopping surface is capable of abutting against the end wall of the second connecting end portion of the second pipe element (See image below, the stopping surfaces are capable of abutting against the end walls of the pipe elements as shown).
In regard to claim 12, Lu discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, wherein said outer biasing portion has an outer sealing inclined surface for abutting against said outer wall of said first pipe element (Fig. 16A, outer sealing inclined surface at 303 which is for abutting against the outer wall of the first pipe element), wherein said outer sealing inclined surface has a gradually reducing diameter along a direction toward said sealing ring (Fig. 16A, at 303 has a gradually reducing diameter along a direction toward the sealing ring).
In regard to claim 17, Lu discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, further comprising an inner biasing portion integrally extended from said second stopping surface of said sealing ring for abutting against an inner wall of the second pipe element (See claim 7 above for the same reasons).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 2022/0186862 A1).
In regard to claim 8, Lu discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 7, further comprising a deformable pressing ring provided on a side of said inner biasing portion away from said sealing ring (Fig. 16A, the portion at 32 defines at least a deformable pressing ring provided on a side of the inner biasing portion away from the sealing ring), and an outer diameter of said deformable pressing ring gradually decreases in a direction away from said inner biasing portion (Fig. 16A, the portion at 32 gradually decreases in outer diameter in a direction away from the inner biasing portion).
Lu does not expressly disclose the outer diameter of the deformable pressing ring gradually increases in a direction away from the inner biasing portion.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deformable ring of Lu to try forming the deformable pressing ring to have an outer diameter that increases in a direction away from the inner biasing portion with a reasonable expectation of success because there are a finite number of solutions to form the outer diameter of the deformable pressing ring such that the outer diameter increases, decreases, or is uniform in a direction away from the inner biasing portion. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). In this case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deformable ring of Lu to have the outer diameter increase in a direction away from the inner biasing portion in order to have at least the advantage of increased contact between the inner wall of the second pipe element to the deformable ring. See Fig. 16C of Lu, the deformable ring when in the fully connected state, straightens up in order to contact the inner wall of the second pipe element to ensure a sealing contact. This is similar to applicant’s invention shown in Figs. 31-33 such that in the fully connected state, the deformable ring is straight in contact with the inner wall of the second pipe element. Therefore, in the fully connected state, the deformable ring of Lu is the same as applicant’s invention.
In regard to claim 9, Lu discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 8, further comprising a transition arc surface provided on an inner side of said deformable pressing ring (See image below, indicated transition arc is provided on an inner side of the deformable pressing ring), and an inner diameter of said deformable pressing ring gradually increases in a direction away from said inner biasing portion (See image below, inner diameter of the transition arc gradually increases in a direction away from the inner biasing portion).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 2022/0186862 A1) in view of Holloway (US 3,315,970).
Lu discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 9, but does not expressly disclose further comprising a limiting ring integrally formed on an outer side of said inner biasing portion for plug-fitting with the inner wall of the second pipe element.
In the related field of pipe fitting seal gaskets, Holloway teaches a sealing ring with integrally formed limiting rings on an outer side (Fig. 6, sealing ring as shown having integrally formed limiting rings 50 on an outer side) in order to have the advantage of extra sealing strength (In 4:27-40 discloses 50 provides at least extra sealing strength).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner biasing portion of Lu to include a limiting ring integrally formed on an outer side of said inner biasing portion with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of extra sealing strength as taught by Holloway.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 2022/0186862 A1) in view of Hattori (CN 1267804 A).
In regard to claim 18, Lu discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, but does not expressly disclose further comprising at least a sealing pressing block which is integrally protruded from said first stopping surface of said sealing ring for abutting against the end wall of the first connecting end portion of the first pipe element.
In the related field of pipe fitting seal gaskets, Hattori teaches a sealing ring having a sealing pressing block which is integrally protruded from a first stopping surface of the sealing ring for abutting against an end wall of a first connecting end portion of a first pipe element (Fig. 12, sealing ring 3, one of the protrusions at 11 define a sealing pressing block integrally protruded from a first stopping surface for abutting against an end wall of a first connecting end portion of a first pipe element) in order to have the advantage of preventing fluid leaks and preventing corrosion (In [0042-0043] of the English translation discloses the protrusions at 11 provide at least the advantage of preventing fluid leaks and effect of preventing corrosion to the end of the pipe elements).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first stopping surface of Lu to include at least one sealing pressing block integrally protruded from the first stopping surface with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of preventing fluid leaks and preventing corrosion as taught by Hattori.
In regard to claim 19, Lu discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, and Lu in view of Hattori discloses further comprising at least a sealing pressing block which is integrally protruded from said second stopping surface of said sealing ring for abutting against the end wall of the second connecting end portion of the second pipe element (See claim 18 above for the same reasons).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 2022/0186862 A1) in view of Vandal et al. (US 8,550,502 B2, hereinafter “Vandal”).
Lu discloses the pipe fitting seal according to claim 11, but does not expressly disclose wherein said pipe fitting seal is made of a rubber material.
In the related field of pipe fitting seal gaskets, Vandal teaches a gasket (Figs. 4 and 5, gasket 430) can be made of rubber in order to have at least the advantage of a suitable material for forming a seal and deforming (In 5:23-31 discloses the gasket can be made of rubber as a suitable material for forming a seal and deforming).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the sealing ring of Lu to be made of rubber with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a suitable material for forming a seal and deforming as taught by Vandal.
Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of the gasket of Lu to be made of a known material such as rubber with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have at least the advantage of a reliable known material for gaskets, flexible, durability, and wear resistance as disclosed at https://elastostar.com/what-is-a-rubber-gasket-benefits-applications/.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Henry (US 2011/0062706 A1), Bancroft et al. (US 12,338,920 B2), Lippka (US 9,404,608 B2), Young (US 3,680,894), McLennan et al. (US 5,911,446), Thiessen et al. (US 3,977,705), Waters (US 1,905,324), Blakely et al. (US 3,351,352), Radzik (US 2010/0102549 A1), Lippka (US 11,313,496), and Lippka et al. (US 8,646,814) discloses a sealing ring for connecting two pipes and the sealing ring have abutting surfaces to abut against end walls of the two pipes similar to applicant’s invention.
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679