DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and dependent claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the two sides of the housing” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cinque (US 5839204 A) herein referred to as “Cinque” in view of Sivan (US 20190167469 A1) herein referred to as “Sivan”.
Regarding claim 1, Cinque discloses: A cold-hot apparatus ( [(7)]; Cinque discloses an apparatus that applies hot and cold air) with a hidden handle ([Figure 1]; Cinque discloses a handle (2) hidden with the body of the apparatus), comprising a housing ([Figure 1]; Cinque discloses a housing (1)), a cold-hot assembly and a handle ([Figure 2]; Cinque discloses components to provide temperature regulation, which is seen as a cold-hot assembly, and a handle (2) , wherein the housing is internally provided with the cold-hot assembly ([Figure 2]; Cinque discloses components to provide temperature regulation, which is seen as a cold-hot assembly); the side of the housing is provided with fixing grooves corresponding to the handle, which are adapted thereto. ([Figure 2, as pictured below]; Cinque discloses a groove within body (1) that corresponds to the handle). Cinque does not explicitly disclose: with a ring pull, the two sides of the housing are provided with ring pull.
However, Sivan discloses: with a ring pull, the two sides of the housing are provided with ring pull. ([Figure 2]; Sivan discloses a ring shaped handle, which is seen as ring pulls, on each side of the apparatus)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cold-hot apparatus as disclosed by Cinque with the ring pulls as disclosed by Sivan. The motivation being to provide the user an area to place their hands during use ([0021]).
[AltContent: textbox (GROOVE)][AltContent: arrow].
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Sivan further in view of Varma (US 20250031826 A1) herein referred to as “Varma”.
Regarding claim 2, Cinque in view of Sivan disclose: The cold-hot apparatus with a hidden ring pull according to claim 1.Cinque further discloses: The fixing groove. ([Figure 2]; Cinque discloses a groove in which the handle corresponds). Cinque in view of Sivan do not specifically disclose: wherein the ring pull is detachably connected to the fixing groove.
However, Varma discloses: wherein the ring pull is detachably connected to the fixing groove. ([0031]; Varma discloses a detachable handle)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cold-hot apparatus as disclosed by Cinque in view of Sivan with the removable handle as disclosed by Varma. The motivation being to allow for separating handle and components from the body ([0031])
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Varma further in view of Sardar et. al. (US 20230180907 A1) herein referred to as “Sardar”.
Regarding claim 3, Cinque in view of Sivan in further in view of Varma: The cold-hot apparatus with a hidden ring pull according to claim 2. Cinque discloses: A fixing groove and a joint cooperating with the groove ([Figure 2, as pictured above]; Cinque discloses the groove and the joint attachment (4)). Cinque does not explicitly disclose: wherein a snap fit groove is provided in the fixing groove, and the ring pull and a side of the fixing groove provided with the snap fit groove are respectively provided with a snap fit point cooperating therewith.
However, Sivan discloses a ring pull. ([Figure 2]; Sivan discloses a ring-shaped handle, which is seen as ring pulls, on each side of the apparatus)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cold-hot apparatus as disclosed by Cinque with the ring pulls as disclosed by Sivan. The motivation being to provide the user an area to place their hands during use ([0021]).
However, Sardar discloses: wherein a snap fit groove is provided in the fixing groove, a side of the fixing groove provided with the snap fit groove are respectively provided with a snap fit point cooperating therewith. ([Claim 16]; Sardar discloses the body being coupled to the handle by a snap hinge joint, which is seen as a snap fit. [Figure 1]; Sardar discloses hinge joint between (400) between the handle (110) and the body (120), which is seen as the groove. The two pieces are coupled with is seen as cooperating therewith)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the hot-cold apparatus as disclosed by Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Varma with the snap joint as disclosed by Sardar. The motivation being the simple substitution of a known element, joint element (4) as disclosed by Cinque, for another, snap joint as disclosed by Sardar, to obtain the predictable result of attaching a handle to a main body.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Sardar.
Regarding claim 4, Cinque in view of Sivan disclose: The cold-hot apparatus with a hidden ring pull according to claim 1. Cinque does not explicitly disclose: wherein a notch is provided in the middle of one side edge of the fixing groove, and a protruding pulling block is provided on the ring pull, and the pulling block is pressed into the notch.
However, Sardar discloses: wherein a notch is provided in the middle of one side edge of the fixing groove, and a protruding pulling block is provided on the ring pull, and the pulling block is pressed into the notch. ([0183]; Sardar discloses a mating plate shoulder, which is seen as a protruding block, and a receiving portion arranged at a coupling end which is seen as a notch.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the hot-cold apparatus as disclosed by Cinque in view of Sivan mating assembly as disclosed by Sardar. The motivation being the simple substitution of a known element, joint element (4) as disclosed by Cinque, for another, snap joint as disclosed by Sardar, to obtain the predictable result of attaching a handle to a main body.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Wersland et. al. (US 20230074407 A1) herein referred to as “Wersland”.
Regarding claim 5, Cinque in view of Sivan disclose: The cold-hot apparatus with a hidden ring pull according to claim 1. Cinque further discloses: wherein one face of the housing is a working face, ([Figure 1]; Cinque discloses a vent (3) that directs airflow which is seen as a working face) and the cold-hot assembly is provided at the working face ([(7)]; Cinque discloses a variable temperature motor (10) and fan (12) which can produce both hot and cool air which is seen as a cold-hot assembly. [Figure 2]; Cinque discloses the hot-cold assembly at the vent (3)). Cinque does not explicitly disclose: a vibration motor is provided within the housing and abuts against the working face.
However, Wersland discloses: a vibration motor is provided within the housing and abuts against the working face. ([0147]; Wersland discloses a vibration motor (70) disclosed on the main spreader (140) which is seen as the working face)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cold-hot apparatus as disclosed by Cinque in view of Sivan with the vibration motor as disclosed by Wersland. The motivation being to provide vibration treatment easily and precisely to any limb ([0148]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Nazarian et. al. (US 11940163 B1) herein referred to as “Nazarian”.
Regarding claim 6, Cinque in view of Sivan disclose: The cold-hot apparatus with a hidden ring pull according to claim 1. Cinque further discloses: further comprising a fan provided within the housing ([Figure 2]; Cinque discloses fan (12)); an upper side of the housing is provided with an air inlet ([Figure 1]; Cinque discloses an air inlet (6) at an upper side of the apparatus), and an air outlet is provided at a side of the housing ([Figure 1]; Cinque discloses air outlet (5)). Cinque does not explicitly disclose: an air guide lid is provided between the fan and the air inlet, and the middle part of the air guide lid is in communication with the fan; the air guide lid has a disc shape, and an arc-shaped connecting surface is provided between the edge and the middle part thereof.
However, Nazarian discloses: an air guide lid is provided between the fan and the air inlet ([Figure 6]; Nazarian discloses an air guide lid (120)), and the middle part of the air guide lid is in communication with the fan ([Figure 1]; Nazarian discloses middle part (122) in communication with fan (127)); the air guide lid has a disc shape ([(39)]; Nazarian discloses cover (120) having a convex shape which is as disc shape), and an arc-shaped connecting surface is provided between the edge and the middle part thereof. ([(39)]; Nazarian discloses the connecting pieces of (120) and (122) to be of a curved to fit together and forma a convex contour)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cold-hot apparatus as disclosed by Cinque in view of Sivan with t air guide as disclosed by Nazarian. The motivation being to direct air into the housing ([(40)])
Regarding claim 7, Cinque in view of Sivan disclose: The cold-hot apparatus with a hidden ring pull according to claim 1. Cinque further discloses: further comprising a battery, wherein the battery is provided between the side of the cold-hot assembly and the inner wall of the housing, ([(7)]; Cinque discloses compartment (16) that accommodates a battery, which is between the motor, which is seen as the cold-hot assembly, and the wall) the battery is electrically connected to the cold-hot assembly,([(7)]; Cinque discloses the battery being connected to the motor, which is seen as electrically connected to the cold-hot assembly). Cinque does not explicitly disclose: and the battery is a soft-pack battery.
However, Nazarian discloses: and the battery is a soft-pack battery. ([(63)]; Nazarian discloses a Lithium polymer battery which is seen as a soft pack battery)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cold-hot apparatus as disclosed by Cinque in view of Sivan with the soft pack battery as disclosed by Nazarian. The motivation being the simple substitution of one known element, the battery as disclosed by Cinque, for another, the soft pack battery as disclosed by Nazarian, to obtain predictable result of powering the apparatus.
Regarding claim 8, Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Nazarian disclose: The cold-hot apparatus with a hidden ring pull according to claim 6. Nazarian further discloses: further comprising a radiator provided between the fan and the cold-hot assembly. ([(48)]; Nazarian discloses heat sink (132) which is seen as a radiator, between the fan (126) and controllable temperature element (134), which is seen as the cold-hot assembly).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cold-hot apparatus as disclosed by Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Nazarian with the radiator as further disclosed by Nazarian. The motivation being to pull heat from the controllable temperature element ([(49)]).
Regarding claim 9, Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Nazarian disclose: The cold-hot apparatus with a hidden ring pull according to claim 6. Nazarian further discloses: the housing includes upper case and lower case ([(39)]; Nazarian discloses upper cover (122) and lower cover (124)), wherein the upper case is fastened to the lower case([(39)]; Nazarian discloses the covers being coupled to each other which is seen as fastened); a first mounting rack extends toward the lower case inside the upper case ([Figure 6]; (128)), a second mounting rack extends toward the upper case inside the lower case ([Figure 6]; (137)), a fan is provided in the first mounting rack ([(48)]; Nazarian discloses the fan being within fan housing (128)), and a radiator is provided in the second mounting rack. ([(52)]; Nazarian discloses heat sink (132), which is seen as a radiator mounted on support member (137)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cold-hot apparatus as disclosed by Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Nazarian with the case as further disclosed by Nazarian. The motivation being to provide an ergonomic design ([(39)] and the mounting of the fan and heat sink ([(48)], [(52)]).
Regarding claim 10, Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Nazarian disclose: The cold-hot apparatus with a hidden ring pull according to claim 9. Nazarian further discloses: further comprising a battery ([Figure 6]; (130)), wherein the first and second mounting racks have a space with the inner wall of the upper case and the inner wall of the lower case ([Figure 6]; (139)), and the battery is fitted within the space. ([(52)]; Nazarian discloses batteries being placed within space (139).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cold-hot apparatus as disclosed by Cinque in view of Sivan further in view of Nazarian with the battery space as further disclosed by Nazarian. The motivation being to secure batteries within the case ([(52)]).
Conclusion
/CASEY GEORGE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794