DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is responsive to the applicant’s filling on 10/14/2024.
The application has claims 1-20 present. All present claims have been examined.
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and cited references filed 10/25/2024, 04/24/2025 and 07/04/2025 have been reviewed by the examiner.
This action is made Non-Final.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claim 7, 9 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: It recites the term "and/or", which is selective language, the examiner suggests using either the "and" term or the "or" term, otherwise the claim should be worded in a clearer fashion to claim both terms. For the purpose of this examination the examiner is selecting the "or" term from this selective language and interpreting the language associated to the selected limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN JIANJUN (CN113986073A) as provided in the IDS form.
In regards to claims 1 and 15, Chen discloses a scenario setting method, wherein the method is applied to a control device, and the method comprises: displaying a first interface comprising a trigger area, wherein at least one of a first identifier displayed within the trigger area or a second identifier displayed outside the trigger area (see FIG. 1-3, shown scenario (scene) interface where the user can drag the icons identifying appliances and devices into the scenario interface (trigger area). Page 4 middle section: “dragging the icon of the target Internet of things equipment to the icon of the target scene. According to an embodiment of the application, optionally, in the method for constructing an intelligent scene, associating the target internet of things device with the target scene includes the following steps: displaying an icon of the target Internet of things device on the icon on the target scene; and the icon of the target Internet of things equipment is smaller than the icon of the target scene.”. Page 9 last paragraph “It can be understood that when the device dragged by the user meets the scene requirement, the device meeting the attribute is accepted (automatically adsorbed) on the icon of the target scene. and the historical operating parameters or tile preset operating parameters are automatically adapted,”), the first identifier indicates that a first device corresponding to the first identifier executes a first intention corresponding to the first device, and the second identifier indicates that a second device corresponding to the second identifier does not execute a second intention corresponding to the second device (see FIG. 1-3, shown scenario (scene) interface where the user can drag the icons identifying appliances and devices into the scenario interface (trigger area), the icons that are not inside the target scene area will not perform actions as it has not been assigned by the user); receiving a first user operation; and generating a first scenario in response to the first user operation, wherein the first scenario comprises at least one of indicating the first device to execute the first intention, or indicating the second device to cancel execution of the second intention (see FIG. 1-3, shown scenario (scene) interface where the user can drag the icons identifying appliances and devices into the scenario interface (trigger area). Page 4 middle section: “dragging the icon of the target Internet of things equipment to the icon of the target scene. According to an embodiment of the application, optionally, in the method for constructing an intelligent scene, associating the target internet of things device with the target scene includes the following steps: displaying an icon of the target Internet of things device on the icon on the target scene; and the icon of the target Internet of things equipment is smaller than the icon of the target scene.”. Page 9 last paragraph “It can be understood that when the device dragged by the user meets the scene requirement, the device meeting the attribute is accepted (automatically adsorbed) on the icon of the target scene. and the historical operating parameters or tile preset operating parameters are automatically adapted,”).
In regards to claim 2 and 16, Chen discloses further comprising: in response to a second user operation on the second identifier, controlling the second identifier to move into the trigger area for display, and indicating the second device corresponding to the second identifier to execute the second intention corresponding to the second device (see FIG. 1-3 and page 4, first paragraphs which show that the user is presented with multiple devices that can be entered into the target scene area to execute an operation associated to the scene As such the user can enter a second or thirds icon of device. In page 4: “determining the matching degree of each Internet of things device in the target area and the target scene; and recommending the corresponding Internet of things equipment to the user in sequence according to the sequence from High to low of the matching degree of each Internet of things equipment and the target scene.”).
In regards to claim 11, Chen discloses wherein in the second identifier, identifiers corresponding to a same subsystem are displayed adjacent to each other (see FIG. 1-3: shows the devices adjacent to each other. On page 4, first paragraphs which show that the user is presented with multiple devices that can be entered into the target scene area to execute an operation associated to the scene As such the user can enter a second or thirds icon of device. In page 4: “determining the matching degree of each Internet of things device in the target area and the target scene; and recommending the corresponding Internet of things equipment to the user in sequence according to the sequence from High to low of the matching degree of each Internet of things equipment and the target scene”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 8, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN JIANJUN (CN113986073A) as applied to claims above.
In regards to claims 4 and 18, Chen doesn’t specifically teach wherein the generating the first scenario in response to the first user operation comprises: displaying a second interface in response to the first user operation; receiving a scenario editing operation in the second interface; and generating the first scenario in response to a fourth user operation.
However, Chen does teaches creating and editing the scenarios and allows for cancelling of operations for associating the device icon to the scene target (see FIG. 1-3, shown scenario (scene) interface where the user can drag the icons identifying appliances and devices into the scenario interface (trigger area). Page 4 middle section: “dragging the icon of the target Internet of things equipment to the icon of the target scene. According to an embodiment of the application, optionally, in the method for constructing an intelligent scene, associating the target internet of things device with the target scene includes the following steps: displaying an icon of the target Internet of things device on the icon on the target scene; and the icon of the target Internet of things equipment is smaller than the icon of the target scene.”. Page 9 fifth paragraph “That is, when the user clicks a cancel control in the prompt information, the association request is cancelled; and when the user clicks a continuous association control, associating the target Internet of things equipment with the target scene.” On Page 9, last paragraph “It can be understood that when the device dragged by the user meets the scene requirement, the device meeting the attribute is accepted (automatically adsorbed) on the icon of the target scene. and the historical operating parameters or tile preset operating parameters are automatically adapted,”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of Chen to have “different interfaces” which visibly show the different settings selected by the user when the user creates a scene as the user associates or cancels the association of the device icons to the target scene, since a person skilled in the art would have been motivated for means of providing visual feedback which shows the user his selection for the devices on the scene.
In regards to claim 5, Chen teaches wherein the scenario editing operation comprises one or more of the following: setting a scenario effective time, setting that the first device in the scenario cancels execution of the first intention, and setting that the second device in the scenario executes the second intention (see Page 9 fifth paragraph “That is, when the user clicks a cancel control in the prompt information, the association request is cancelled; and when the user clicks a continuous association control, associating the target Internet of things equipment with the target scene.”).
In regards to claim 6 and 19, Chen doesn’t specifically teach wherein the first device and the second device are devices in a same room, and the method further comprises: displaying a third interface in response to a fifth user operation on the first identifier; receiving a sixth user operation in the third interface, wherein the sixth user operation is used to adjust a parameter of a device corresponding to the first identifier; and sending, based on an adjustment result of the parameter, a parameter adjustment indication to the device corresponding to the first identifier.
However, Chen does teaches providing interface to allow the user to set the number of devices used on a room like the family room and also edit the parameters with interfaces like those in FIG. 5 and 6 (see FIG. 5-6 and at least page 10: “the user may also set the operation adoption number of the target internet of things device on the basis of the recommended operation parameter (the historical operation parameter or the preset operation parameter) according to needs, and in the setting process, the recommended operation parameter (the historical operation parameter or the preset operation parameter) may be referred to. For example, if the recommended amount of water dragged by the floor mopping machine is the amount of reclaimed water, the user feels that it is not enough to adjust the amount of water to a high amount. The opening mode of the setting menu can be realized by clicking the icon of the target scene, as shown in fig. 5 and 6” … “According to the method for setting up the intelligent scene, the intelligent terminals such as the mobile phone and the like are used for quickly controlling and managing the equipment for setting up the scene, and the related information of the equipment. such as the number of functions of the equipment which can be operated at the mobile terminal, the number of commonly used functions, the number of equipment used in a family room and the like”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of Chen to accomplish setting the devices and parameters for each device on a scene through interfaces, since a person skilled in the art would have been motivated for means of providing the user easy to navigate interfaces for editing and setting up the scene parameters.
In regards to claim 8, Chen doesn’t specifically teach the method further comprising: switching to display a fifth interface in response to a ninth user operation, wherein space corresponding to the fifth interface is the same as or different from space in which the first device is located or space in which the second device is located; or the space corresponding to the fifth interface comprises the space in which the first device is located and the space in which the second device is located; and the ninth user operation is a slide operation in the trigger area, or the ninth user operation is an operation on a preset control.
However, Chen teaches controlling scene on rooms of a user. The interface allows him to set many parameters and operations for the devices on the scene for the specific room in a household the user is setting up. Some of the setting or parameters used have preset values and controls to operate the device on the associated scene (see FIG. 5-6 and at least page 10: “the user may also set the operation adoption number of the target internet of things device on the basis of the recommended operation parameter (the historical operation parameter or the preset operation parameter) according to needs, and in the setting process, the recommended operation parameter (the historical operation parameter or the preset operation parameter) may be referred to. For example, if the recommended amount of water dragged by the floor mopping machine is the amount of reclaimed water, the user feels that it is not enough to adjust the amount of water to a high amount. The opening mode of the setting menu can be realized by clicking the icon of the target scene, as shown in fig. 5 and 6” … “According to the method for setting up the intelligent scene, the intelligent terminals such as the mobile phone and the like are used for quickly controlling and managing the equipment for setting up the scene, and the related information of the equipment. such as the number of functions of the equipment which can be operated at the mobile terminal, the number of commonly used functions, the number of equipment used in a family room and the like”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of Chen to accomplish setting the devices in the rooms of a household and use preset parameters for the device through interfaces, since a person skilled in the art would have been motivated for means of providing the user easy to navigate interfaces for editing and setting up the scene parameters, since by having preset parameters it facilitates the process to set the scene.
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN JIANJUN (CN113986073A) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, in view of Dettinger et al. (US 20060136833).
In regards to claims 3 and 17, Chen teaches canceling signal (see page 3 ending of the page: “when a canceling instruction corresponding to the association request is received, canceling the association request”), but doesn’t specifically teach the method further comprising: in response to a third user operation on the first identifier, controlling the first identifier to move to the outside of the trigger area for display, and indicating the first device corresponding to the first identifier to cancel execution of the first intention corresponding to the first device.
Dettinger teaches further comprising: in response to a third user operation on the first identifier, controlling the first identifier to move to the outside of the trigger area for display, and indicating the first device corresponding to the first identifier to cancel execution of the first intention corresponding to the first device (see para 55: teaches canceling operation include cancel button or canceling a drag when dropping outside a designated area “Another way to provide a cancel operation is to cancel any drag operation that is dropped outside of the current window.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Dettinger and combine them with Chen to have a canceling operation by dragging outside a designated area, since a person skilled in the art would have been motivated for means of providing the user different and intuitive ways to cancel operations within a GUI.
Claim(s) 7, 9, 10, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN JIANJUN (CN113986073A) as applied to claims 6, 8 and 19 above, in view of Kim et al. (US 10268354).
In regards to claims 7 and 20, Chen doesn’t specifically teach wherein the first device and the second device are devices corresponding to a same subsystem and/or different subsystems in a whole house, and the method further comprises: displaying a fourth interface in response to a seventh user operation on the first identifier, wherein the fourth interface comprises identifiers of a plurality of devices corresponding to the first identifier, and the plurality of devices are devices corresponding to a same subsystem in a same room; and in response to an eighth user operation on the identifiers of the plurality of devices, sending an indication for canceling execution of the first intention to the plurality of devices.
Kim teaches wherein the first device and the second device are devices corresponding to a same subsystem and/or different subsystems in a whole house, and the method further comprises: displaying a fourth interface in response to a seventh user operation on the first identifier, wherein the fourth interface comprises identifiers of a plurality of devices corresponding to the first identifier, and the plurality of devices are devices corresponding to a same subsystem in a same room; and in response to an eighth user operation on the identifiers of the plurality of devices, sending an indication for canceling execution of the first intention to the plurality of devices. (see FIG. 17 and at least Col 12, lines 55-65 and Col 14 lines 5-15: teaches providing the user with multiple interfaces for scene control and allowing a user to interact with certain controlled devices e.g. light source device and allow a user to select a light source icon and batch control all of the light sources within the same subsystem (within a room of the house) and also allows to control the devices in the whole house as shown FIG. 17. On Col 12: “(142) Each of the light group icon 1710 includes information about the number of lights belonging to the corresponding group and an individual control tap 1730 for individually controlling the lights belonging to the corresponding group. (143) Thus, the user may easily recognize the number of lights belonging to the group based on the light group icon 1710. (144) In addition, the user can batch control the lights belonging to the same group by using the individual control tap 1730. To the contrary, the user can batch control the lights belonging to the same group”. On Col 14: “In addition, the user may individually control the light corresponding to a specific light icon by selecting a light icon corresponding to the specific light from the location information included in the control picture. Differently from the above, the user may batch control a plurality of lights belonging to the light group through an input such as a long touch or short double-touch of the light group icon. (162) Meanwhile, a home icon 1770 is displayed on the light control picture 1700. (163) The home icon 1770 is a button for batch controlling all the lights belonging to all the light groups at once.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Kim and combine them with Chen to provide means to navigate interfaces which allow the user to batch control certain devices associated to an identifier e.g. light source devices, within a subsystem, since a person skilled in the art would have been motivated for means of providing the user different and intuitive ways to control single and multiple device as desired by a user.
In regards to claim 9, Although Chen teaches setting up scenes for rooms on a household environment as taught above (see at least Chen on page 10 for setting devices and parameters on family room), Chen fails to specifically teach wherein the switching to display the fifth interface in response to the ninth user operation comprises: displaying a room switching menu in response to the operation on the preset control; and switching to display the fifth interface in response to an operation of selecting a first room in the room switching menu, wherein the fifth interface corresponds to the first room, the first room is different from the room in which the first device and/or the second device is located, and a device corresponding to a device identifier displayed in the fifth interface is a device in the first room.
Kim teaches wherein the switching to display the fifth interface in response to the ninth user operation comprises: displaying a room switching menu in response to the operation on the preset control; and switching to display the fifth interface in response to an operation of selecting a first room in the room switching menu, wherein the fifth interface corresponds to the first room, the first room is different from the room in which the first device and/or the second device is located, and a device corresponding to a device identifier displayed in the fifth interface is a device in the first room. (Kim teaches interface which allow a user to set and then select certain scenes associated to control of devices e.g. light sources associated to each of the scenes. The interface allows a user to move between the scenes for example FIG. 17 provides interface which allows a user switch, it shows Bedroom, Kitchen and living room. The examples provided show how the user selects and interact with the bedroom light sources, however, in the same it can be interacted with the kitchen and the living room. See FIG. 17 and at least Col 12, lines 7-10: “(132) First, as described above, a plurality of lights are disposed at specific areas of photos corresponding to the installed places, so that the setting and registering of the installed locations are performed”. Col 12, lines 29-34: “Referring to FIG. 17, the light control picture 1700 includes a first area on which a light group icon 1710 for selecting at least one group previously registered is displayed, and a second area 1740 on which location information 1740 corresponding to one specific group icon preselected from the light group icons 1710 is displayed.”. Also, in Col 12 lines 66 to Col 13 line 17: “The location information corresponding to the light group preselected from the light group icons is displayed on the second area. The location information includes a photo photographed at the installed place of the corresponding light group. (146) That is, the location information includes a photo photographed at the installed place of the light group. In addition, when a light belonging to the corresponding light group exists, at least one light icon is displayed on the photo. The light icon is displayed on a specific area corresponding to the actual installation place of the corresponding light on the photo. (147) FIG. 17 shows a case that the bedroom light group icon is selected from the light group icons. As the bedroom light group icon is selected, the photo of the bedroom is displayed on the second area. (148) In addition, an icon representing the lights belonging to the bedroom group is displayed on the photo”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Kim and combine them with Chen to provide means to navigate interfaces which allow the user to navigate between rooms in a household environment, since a person skilled in the art would have been motivated for means of providing the user with easy and intuitive ways to control and switch between room scenes.
In regards to claim 10, Chen doesn’t specifically teach wherein the switching to display the fifth interface in response to the ninth user operation comprises: switching between a first device control scenario and a second device control scenario in response to the operation on the preset control, wherein the first device control scenario is used to control the first device and the second device in the same room, and the second device control scenario is used to control devices in the whole house.
Kim teaches wherein the switching to display the fifth interface in response to the ninth user operation comprises: switching between a first device control scenario and a second device control scenario in response to the operation on the preset control, wherein the first device control scenario is used to control the first device and the second device in the same room, and the second device control scenario is used to control devices in the whole house (see FIG. 17 and at least Col 12, lines 55-65 and Col 14 lines 5-15: teaches providing the user with multiple interfaces for scene control and allowing a user to interact with certain controlled devices e.g. light source device and allow a user to select a light source icon and batch control all of the light sources within the same subsystem (within a room of the house) and also allows to control the devices in the whole house as shown FIG. 17 element 1770. On Col 12: “(142) Each of the light group icon 1710 includes information about the number of lights belonging to the corresponding group and an individual control tap 1730 for individually controlling the lights belonging to the corresponding group. (143) Thus, the user may easily recognize the number of lights belonging to the group based on the light group icon 1710. (144) In addition, the user can batch control the lights belonging to the same group by using the individual control tap 1730. To the contrary, the user can batch control the lights belonging to the same group”. On Col 14: “In addition, the user may individually control the light corresponding to a specific light icon by selecting a light icon corresponding to the specific light from the location information included in the control picture. Differently from the above, the user may batch control a plurality of lights belonging to the light group through an input such as a long touch or short double-touch of the light group icon. (162) Meanwhile, a home icon 1770 is displayed on the light control picture 1700. (163) The home icon 1770 is a button for batch controlling all the lights belonging to all the light groups at once.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Kim and combine them with Chen to provide means to navigate interfaces which allow the user to batch control certain devices associated to an identifier e.g. light source devices, since a person skilled in the art would have been motivated for means of providing the user easy and intuitive ways to control single and multiple devices as desired by a user.
In regards to claim 12, Chen doesn’t specifically teach wherein the first interface further comprises a subsystem index, and the method further comprises: in response to a tenth user operation on a first subsystem in the subsystem index, displaying, in a first area outside the trigger area, an identifier corresponding to the first subsystem in the second identifier, wherein a start location of the first area is a preset start location, and a quantity of display locations comprised in the first area is adapted to a quantity of identifiers corresponding to the first subsystem.
Kim teaches wherein the first interface further comprises a subsystem index, and the method further comprises: in response to a tenth user operation on a first subsystem in the subsystem index, displaying, in a first area outside the trigger area, an identifier corresponding to the first subsystem in the second identifier, wherein a start location of the first area is a preset start location, and a quantity of display locations comprised in the first area is adapted to a quantity of identifiers corresponding to the first subsystem (see FIG. 19 and at least Col 16 lines 5-25: a subsystem index that appears in replacement on the first area outside the trigger area and provides identified associated to the subsystem: “(188) A plurality of operating mode icons are displayed on the first area 1910. (189) The brightness level or color temperature of a light is preset in the operating mode icon. Thus, the user may easily set the brightness level or color temperature of the light by selecting one icon from the operating mode icons displayed on the first area 1910. (190) As well as the operating mode icon, an icon (numeral icon) in which the operating information of a light arbitrarily designated by the user is included in the first area 1910. (191) In addition, an icon for setting the timer of the lighter or controlling power on or off of the light is further displayed on the first area 1910. (192) The information about the location of the light group to which the currently selected light belongs or the currently selected light group is displayed on the second area 1920. As described above, the location information includes a photo photographed at the actual place of the light group and light icons disposed at the actually installed locations on the photo”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Kim and combine them with Chen to provide means to navigate interfaces which allow the user to navigate subsystems associated to the devices outside the trigger area, since a person skilled in the art would have been motivated for means of providing the user means to facilitate navigation which represent an intuitive ways to allow selection of subsystem items associated to the devices for the scene.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN JIANJUN (CN113986073A) as applied to claims 6, 8 and 19 above, in view of Dayrell (US 20150081042).
In regards to claim 13, Chen teaches displaying a number of items outside the trigger area (see FIG. 1-3: shows the devices outside the trigger area which are dragged to the scene. On page 4, first paragraphs which show that the user is presented with multiple devices that can be entered into the target scene area to execute an operation associated to the scene. Page 4: “determining the matching degree of each Internet of things device in the target area and the target scene; and recommending the corresponding Internet of things equipment to the user in sequence according to the sequence from High to low of the matching degree of each Internet of things equipment and the target scene”),
but doesn’t specifically teach wherein a quantity of display locations that are used to display an identifier and that are outside the trigger area in the first interface is less than or equal to a first quantity, and when a quantity of second devices is greater than the first quantity, the displaying a first interface comprises: displaying the first quantity of second identifiers in a first page outside the trigger area in the first interface; and in response to an eleventh user operation, displaying a first remaining quantity of second identifiers in a second page outside the trigger area in the first interface, wherein the first remaining quantity is less than or equal to the first quantity, and the quantity of second devices is a sum of the first quantity and the first remaining quantity.
Dayrell teaches wherein a quantity of display locations that are used to display an identifier and that are outside the trigger area in the first interface is less than or equal to a first quantity, and when a quantity of second devices is greater than the first quantity, the displaying a first interface comprises: displaying the first quantity of second identifiers in a first page outside the trigger area in the first interface; and in response to an eleventh user operation, displaying a first remaining quantity of second identifiers in a second page outside the trigger area in the first interface, wherein the first remaining quantity is less than or equal to the first quantity, and the quantity of second devices is a sum of the first quantity and the first remaining quantity (see para 81: teaches organization of icons, when the total of icons does not fit a specific area, additional icons can be placed on a secondary card or page that can be access by swiping: “if there are too many icons to display in the available screen area, icons will be moved into additional pages that can be accessed by swiping the screen.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Dayrell and combine them with Chen to provide means to navigate pages by swiping when the total of icons doesn’t not fit the selection area outside the trigger area, since a person skilled in the art would have been motivated for means of providing the user an easy way to navigate and find the available icons representing the devices.
In regards to claim 14, Chen teaches a target scene area where the user drags the devices (see FIG. 1-3), but doesn’t specifically teach wherein a quantity of display locations that are used to display an identifier and that are in the trigger area in the first interface is less than or equal to a second quantity, and when a quantity of first devices is greater than the second quantity, the displaying the first interface comprises: displaying the second quantity of first identifiers in a third page in the trigger area in the first interface; and in response to a twelfth user operation, displaying a second remaining quantity of first identifiers in a fourth page in the trigger area in the first interface, wherein the second remaining quantity is less than or equal to the second quantity, and the quantity of first devices is a sum of the second quantity and the second remaining quantity.
Dayrell teaches wherein a quantity of display locations that are used to display an identifier and that are in the trigger area in the first interface is less than or equal to a second quantity, and when a quantity of first devices is greater than the second quantity, the displaying the first interface comprises: displaying the second quantity of first identifiers in a third page in the trigger area in the first interface; and in response to a twelfth user operation, displaying a second remaining quantity of first identifiers in a fourth page in the trigger area in the first interface, wherein the second remaining quantity is less than or equal to the second quantity, and the quantity of first devices is a sum of the second quantity and the second remaining quantity. (see para 81: teaches organization of icons, when the total of icons does not fit a specific area, additional icons can be placed on a secondary card or page that can be access by swiping: “if there are too many icons to display in the available screen area, icons will be moved into additional pages that can be accessed by swiping the screen.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings taught by Dayrell and combine them with Chen to provide means to navigate pages by swiping when the total of icons within one of the areas doesn’t not fit, since a person skilled in the art would have been motivated for means of providing the user an easy way to navigate and find the available icons representing the devices.
Conclusion
/MARIO M VELEZ-LOPEZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 2118
/SCOTT T BADERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2118