DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 10/14/2024. Accordingly, claims 1- 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012187984 A (hereinafter 984) in view of JP 2007030845 A (hereinafter 845).
984 discloses:
1: A driving force control apparatus, configured to determine a front and rear wheel drive distribution which is a ratio of driving force between front wheels and rear wheels in a four-wheel drive vehicle (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 9 and Abstract; front/rear driving force distribution ratio control device), and configured to:
calculate positive or negative standard driving acceleration obtained based on an input amount from a driving force instruction device of the vehicle and a vehicle speed, and based on the standard driving acceleration (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 9 and Abstract; front/rear driving force distribution ratio control device, changing the driving force in the front and/or rear wheels—4-wheel drive),
switch between and perform dynamic load ratio distribution control that determines the front and rear wheel drive distribution in accordance with a dynamic load ratio distribution curve which is a curve of a dynamic load ratio applied to the front wheels and the rear wheels with respect to the standard driving acceleration (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; changing the driving force in the front and/or rear wheels for acceleration and deceleration—i.e., power--performance).
984 discloses the invention as detailed above.
However, 984 does not appear to explicitly disclose rear wheel-biased distribution control that determines the front and rear wheel drive distribution in accordance with a rear wheel-biased distribution curve which increases a rear wheel drive distribution compared to the dynamic load ratio distribution curve.
Nevertheless, 845 who is in the same field of endeavor discloses rear wheel-biased distribution control that determines the front and rear wheel drive distribution in accordance with a rear wheel-biased distribution curve which increases a rear wheel drive distribution compared to the dynamic load ratio distribution curve (see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the force distribution between the front and rear wheels to the rear wheel side).
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention would have been motivated to combine 984’s apparatus for controlling driving force allocation ratio of a vehicle with 845’s teachings of controlling the distribution of the force/load to either the front and/or rear wheels in order to form a more efficient and manageable system (i.e., control unit utilizes ground load and braking force distribution to desired ratio and minimizing power consumption—see 845 at least fig. 5-8 and Abstract).
Motivation to combine 984 and 845 not only comes from knowledge well known in the art but also from 845 (see 845 at least fig. 5-8 and Abstract).
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 2: wherein the dynamic load ratio distribution curve and the rear wheel-biased distribution curve are curves in which the rear wheel drive distribution increases as the standard driving acceleration increases, except for a transition curve therebetween (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 3: wherein the rear wheel-biased distribution control is performed in response to the standard driving acceleration being equal to or smaller than a first input amount (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above. Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 4: wherein the first input amount is standard driving acceleration that provides acceleration at a limit at which drive wheels do not slip on a road surface in a predetermined condition (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 5: wherein the rear wheel-biased distribution control is performed in response to the standard driving acceleration being equal to or larger than a second input amount (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 6: wherein the second input amount is standard driving acceleration that provides deceleration at a limit at which drive wheels do not slip on a road surface in a predetermined condition (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 7: wherein a value of the first input amount is changeable by a mode switching operation of a driver (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 8: wherein a value of the second input amount is changeable by a mode switching operation of a driver (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 9: wherein the rear wheel-biased distribution control is not performed in response to standard lateral acceleration calculated based on a steering amount of a steering device of the vehicle and the vehicle speed being equal to or larger than a third input amount (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 10: wherein the third input amount is standard lateral acceleration at a limit at which drive wheels do not slip on a road surface in a predetermined condition (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 11: wherein the rear wheel-biased distribution control is not performed in response to the vehicle speed of the vehicle being lower than a first predetermined speed (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 12: wherein the rear wheel-biased distribution control is not performed in response to the vehicle speed of the vehicle being higher than a second predetermined speed (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; vehicle speed value, control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 13: wherein a drive source for the front wheels of the vehicle is a drive source comprising an electric motor (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; engine or electric motor, vehicle speed value, control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 14: wherein a drive source for the rear wheels of the vehicle is a drive source comprising an electric motor (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; engine or electric motor, vehicle speed value, control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 15: wherein a drive source for the front wheels and the rear wheels of the vehicle is a drive source comprising an electric motor (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; engine or electric motor, vehicle speed value, control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 16: further comprising a map in which the vehicle speed, standard lateral acceleration calculated based on a steering amount of a steering device, standard driving acceleration calculated based on the input amount from the driving force instruction device, and the front and rear wheel drive distribution are recorded, wherein the front and rear wheel drive distribution is determined based on the map (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; engine or electric motor, vehicle speed value, control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 17: wherein the driving force instruction device is at least one of an accelerator operator and a brake operator, and the input amount from the driving force instruction device is at least one of an operation amount of the accelerator operator and an operation amount of the brake operator (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; engine or electric motor, vehicle speed value, control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 18: wherein the rear wheel-biased distribution control is not performed in response to the vehicle speed of the vehicle being lower than a first predetermined speed (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; engine or electric motor, vehicle speed value, control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 19: wherein the rear wheel-biased distribution control is not performed in response to the vehicle speed of the vehicle being lower than a first predetermined speed (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; engine or electric motor, vehicle speed value, control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 984 and 845 disclose claim 20: wherein the rear wheel-biased distribution control is not performed in response to the vehicle speed of the vehicle being lower than a first predetermined speed (see 984 at least 1-9 and in particular fig. 1, 9 and Abstract; and see 845 at least fig. 1-8 but in particular fig. 5- 8 and Abstract; engine or electric motor, vehicle speed value, control mode, lateral steering forces during lateral slip amount, proportional slip amount, favorably setting front and rear wheel load ratio, biasing the rear wheel).
Motivation to combine 984 an d845, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
MACEEH . ANWARI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3663
/MACEEH ANWARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663