DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of foreign priority document(s) [CN-202210399444.1; CN-202210427549.3; CN-202211387676.1; CN-202310112752.6], however translation(s) of said application(s) have not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), certified English translation(s) of the foreign application(s) must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 22, 2025 was filed before the mailing of a First Office Action on the Merits. The information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lӧhr et al. [Lohr] (US 2013/0250925 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Lohr discloses an information obtaining method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal, target signaling sent by a network-side device (Lohr: ¶ 0534, In step 4 in FIG. 28, when the mobile terminal UE receives a timing advance command from the eNodeB using the downlink shared channel of a SCell or of one of group of SCells to which the timing advance shall be applied, the mobile terminal UE time aligns uplink transmissions using the conveyed timing advance value on the SCell or group of SCells (step 4a of FIG. 28); [Examiner’s Note: The “mobile terminal UE” is the claimed terminal; the “eNodeB” is the claimed network-side device; the “timing advance command” is the claimed target signaling. The terminal’s reception of this command from the eNodeB is expressly disclosed]); and obtaining, by the terminal, a timing advance TA value of the terminal for a first object according to the target signaling (Lohr: ¶ 0534, the mobile terminal UE time aligns uplink transmissions using the conveyed timing advance value on the SCell or group of SCells. ¶ 0204, in case the aggregation access point determines a second target timing advance, the aggregation access point transmits the second target timing advance within a medium access control, MAC, control element, and preferably the second target timing advance is transmitted using the downlink shared channel; [Examiner’s Note: The “conveyed timing advance value” is obtained directly from (i.e., “according to”) the timing advance command. The SCell to which to which the command applies is the claimed first object, and the value obtained is a TA “of the terminal … for” that SCell.]); wherein the target signaling is signaling obtained before the terminal accesses the first object (Lohr: ¶¶ 0464-465, the eNodeB can optionally calculate an accurate timing advance for the UE to be used with the SCell and optionally signal it to the UE (step 4 in FIG. 28). In other words, even though the SCell is deactivated (i.e. not used for transmission), the UE already knows which timing advance to use for this SCell…Thus, when the SCell is activated, the UE can immediately apply the previously-received timing advance for the SCell, and already transmit with the correct uplink time alignment (step 4a). ¶ 0328, no RACH procedure is needed for time alignment of the uplink component carrier in the second radio cell.; [Examiner’s Note: Lohr discloses the timing advance command is received while the SCell remains deactivated, meaning the terminal obtains this signaling prior to ever transmitting on or accessing the first object. This sequence is further reinforced by the disclosure that no RACH procedure is needed for time alignment, confirming that the terminal bypasses random access entirely before receiving this initial network signaling.]).
Regarding claim 2, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 1.
Lohr further discloses wherein the target signaling comprises at least one of the following: first signaling, wherein the first signaling is used for indicating configuration information of a plurality of objects and the plurality of objects comprise the first object; second signaling, wherein the second signaling is used for indicating information about the first object; and third signaling, wherein the third signaling is used for obtaining a TA value of the first object (Lohr: ¶ 0174, determined third target timing advance received within the random access procedure. ¶ 0534, the mobile terminal UE time aligns uplink transmissions using the conveyed timing advance value on the SCell or group of SCells; [Examiner’s Note: Lohr teaches the use of “third signaling” to convey a Timing Advance (TA) value for an uplink component carrier (SCell or group of SCells), which represents the “first object”; Only one limitation is required to meet the claimed subject matter. Emphasis Added.]).
Regarding claim 3, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 2.
Lohr further discloses wherein the first signaling, the second signaling, and the third signaling satisfy: the first signaling and the second signaling are different signaling, and the second signaling and the third signaling are same signaling; or the first signaling, the second signaling, and the third signaling are different signaling (Lohr: ¶ 0072, At intra-LTE handover, RRC can also add, remove, or reconfigure SCells for usage with the target PCell. When adding a new SCell, dedicated RRC signaling is used for sending all required system information of the SCell. ¶ 0179, determined misalignment is greater than a predefined misalignment threshold, the aggregation access point transmits to the mobile terminal at least one of: the RACH order message, the second target timing advance, and the timing advance update command. ¶ 0212, random access procedure on the uplink target cell for determining a third target timing advance value for uplink transmission on the uplink target cell; [Examiner’s Note: Lohr explicitly teaches these three signaling serve entirely different operational functions (RRC configuration vs. misalignment correction vs. target cell random access) and contain different information types];
Please note: Only one signal is required to meet the claimed subject matter of claim 2, then this claim is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where it further limits unselected option. Emphasis Added).
Regarding claim 4, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 2.
Lohr further discloses wherein the second signaling comprises a target field, and the target field is used for indicating the first object (Lohr: ¶ 0075, The MAC control element carries a bitmap for the activation and deactivation of SCells…It should be noted, that even though there is a maximum of 4 Scells a UE can aggregate, the MAC CE contains 7 entries, each of them corresponding to an SCell configured with SCellindex I; [Examiner’s Note: Lohr explicitly teaches that the activation/deactivation MAC control element is network-to-terminal signaling that carries information about a specific SCell (the claimed first object). Each bit/entry, the “target field”, corresponds to a specific SCellIndex, thereby indicating the first object]
Please note: Only one signal is required to meet the claimed subject matter of claim 2, then this claim is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where it further limits unselected option. Emphasis Added).
Regarding claim 7, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 2.
Lohr further discloses wherein the third signaling is used for activating at least one RACH resource of at least one object, and the activated RACH resource is used for obtaining a TA value of the at least one object (Lohr: ¶ 0144, The eNodeB provides 801 the user equipment with the preamble to use for random access so that there is no risk of collisions, i.e. multiple user equipment transmitting the same preamble. ¶ 0443, the information may include a RACH order triggering the mobile terminal, upon reception of the RACH order message, to perform a random access procedure on at least one of the SCells (step 9). As part of the random access procedure, the UE3 receives an accurate timing advance for the SCell(s) and time-aligns the SCell(s). ¶ 0521, The RACH order message preferably corresponds to message 801 in FIG. 8, which is a physical layer signalling (PDCCH with DCI format lA).; [Examiner’s Note: Lohr discloses that a physical layer RACH order message acts as the third signaling to activate a contention-free random access preamble resource on an SCell object. This triggered random access procedure explicitly allows the user equipment to receive an accurate timing advance value for time-aligning the activated object]).
Regarding claim 8, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 7.
Lohr further discloses wherein the third signaling comprises at least one of the following: first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating one or more preamble indexes; second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating one or more reference signal RS indexes; third indication information, wherein the third indication information is used for indicating a preamble mask index; fourth indication information, wherein the fourth indication information is used for indicating an identifier of the at least one object; fifth indication information, wherein the fifth indication information is used for indicating a configuration information index of the at least one object; and sixth indication information, wherein the sixth indication information is used for indicating frequency domain indication information of the at least one object; wherein the at least one object comprises the first object (Lohr: ¶ 0144, The eNodeB provides 801 the user equipment with the preamble to use for random access; [Examiner’s Note: “the preamble to use” is an indication of a preamble index provided to the terminal within the RACH-order signaling, satisfying the first enumerated disjunct; Only one limitation is required to meet the claimed subject matter. Emphasis Added]).
Regarding claim 9, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 2.
Lohr further discloses wherein the configuration information of the plurality of objects comprises at least one of the following: configuration information of a second object, wherein the second object is an object currently providing a service to the terminal; configuration information of at least one candidate object, wherein the at least one candidate object comprises the first object; a reference timing difference between each candidate object and the second object; uplink synchronization indication information of each candidate object; and downlink synchronization indication information of each candidate object (Lohr: ¶ 0072, When adding a new SCell, dedicated RRC signaling is used for sending all required system information of the SCell, i.e. while in connected mode, user equipments need not acquire broadcast system information directly from the SCells; [Examiner’s Note: This RRC signaling provides configuration information of a candidate object (the SCell being added), which comprises the first object among the plurality of objects configured].
Please note: Only one signal is required to meet the claimed subject matter of claim 2, then this claim is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where it further limit unselected option. Emphasis Added).
Regarding claim 10, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 9.
Lohr further discloses wherein the configuration information of the at least one candidate object comprises: all of configuration information of each candidate object configured in a unit of one candidate object; or part of configuration information of each candidate object configured in a unit of one candidate object (Lohr: ¶ 0072, dedicated RRC signaling is used for sending all required system information of the SCell; [Examiner’s Note: “All [not merely part] required system information of the SCell” is provided via dedicated (per-SCell) signaling]
Please note: Only one signal is required to meet the claimed subject matter of claim 2, then this claim is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where it further limit unselected option. Emphasis Added).
Regarding claim 11, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 2.
Lohr further discloses wherein the obtaining, by the terminal, a TA value of the terminal for a first object according to the target signaling comprises: determining, by the terminal, a reference timing difference between the first object and a second object and a downlink reception time difference between the first object and the second object according to the first signaling and the second signaling; and determining, by the terminal, the TA value of the terminal for the first object based on a TA value of the second object, the reference timing difference between the first object and the second object, and the downlink reception time difference between the first object and the second object (Lohr: ¶ 0414, the timing advance of the SCell can be calculated based on. ¶ 0415, the timing advance of the PCell. ¶ 0416, the downlink reception time difference between the PCell and the SCell. ¶ 0417, the downlink transmission time difference between the PCell and the SCell. ¶ 0418, the propagation delay difference between the uplink and the downlink on the SCell. ¶ 0423, The propagation delay difference between the uplink and the downlink of a serving cell, SCell, is assumed to be negligible; [Examiner’s Note: Lohr teaches calculating the timing advance (TA) of a first object (SCell) by combining the TA of a second object (PCell) with their reference timing difference and downlink reception time difference. By explicitly stating that the propagation delay difference may be neglected, Lohr establishes a streamlined operational structure using these specific timing parameters. This mathematical framework directly aligns with the claimed method for deriving the terminal's TA value based on the relationship between these objects]
Please note: Only one signal is required to meet the claimed subject matter of claim 2, then this claim is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where it further limit unselected option. Emphasis Added).
Features of claims 15-20 correspond to features of claims 1-4 and 7-11 and are therefore rejected using the same rationale(s) and same prior art(s) applied to claims 1-4 and 7-11, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr in view of TSENG et al. [Tseng] (US 2023/0112574 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 2.
Lohr does not explicitly disclose wherein the second signaling comprises beam indication information, and the beam indication information is associated with the first object.
However, Tseng teaches the second signaling comprises beam indication information, and the beam indication information is associated with the first object (Tseng: ¶ 0031, source gNB provides RRC configuration/PDCCH order to UE 401 for a set of active cells and for triggering RACH procedure with a neighbor cell. ¶ 0039, the DCI field of the PDCCH-order may carry information on which RACH occasion/resource from a configuration to perform. Thus, the DCI field carries information for providing QCL-typeD reference (beam) for deciding PRACH beam direction, power control reference signal (pathloss RS), etc.; [Examiner’s Note: The PDCCH order explicitly triggers a random access channel (RACH) procedure directed toward a specific neighbor cell, which serves as the claimed first object. Consequently, the quasi-co-location (QCL) type D beam reference embedded within that same downlink control information (DCI) field constitutes beam indication information associated with that neighbor cell]
Please note: Only one signal is required to meet the claimed subject matter of claim 2, then this claim is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where it further limits unselected option. Emphasis Added).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lohr by further including, the second signaling comprises beam indication information, and the beam indication information is associated with the first object, as taught by Tseng, in order to reduce connection latency, minimize PRACH power consumption through accurate pathloss references, and maximize the random access success rate by eliminating spatial beam uncertainty before transmitting the RACH preamble to the first object (the neighbor cell). Thereby, ensuring the User Equipment (UE) establishes an optimized, highly directional spatial link during the random access procedure with the target neighbor cell.
Regarding claim 6, Lohr and Tseng teach the method according to claim 5.
Lohr does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining, by the terminal, a TA value of the terminal for a first object according to the target signaling comprises: in a case that the second signaling and the third signaling are same signaling, obtaining, by the terminal, the TA value of the terminal for the first object based on a Random Access Channel RACH resource associated with a quasi co-location source Reference Signal RS corresponding to the beam indication information carried in the second signaling.
However, Tseng teaches wherein the obtaining, by the terminal, a TA value of the terminal for a first object according to the target signaling comprises: in a case that the second signaling and the third signaling are same signaling, obtaining, by the terminal, the TA value of the terminal for the first object based on a Random Access Channel RACH resource associated with a quasi co-location source Reference Signal RS corresponding to the beam indication information carried in the second signaling (Tseng: ¶ 0039, the DCI field of the PDCCH-order may carry information on which RACH occasion/resource from a configuration to perform. Thus, the DCI field carries information for providing QCL-typeD reference (beam) for deciding PRACH beam direction; [Examiner’s Note: By simultaneously providing the beam reference and the specific RACH allocation, the single DCI/PDCCH-order satisfies the condition where the second and third signalings are the same. Consequently, the terminal determines its PRACH beam direction and obtains its TA value using the RACH resource associated with that designated QCL source Reference Signal]
Please note: Only one signal is required to meet the claimed subject matter of claim 2, then this claim is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where it further limits unselected option. Emphasis Added).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lohr by further including, in a case that the second signaling and the third signaling are same signaling, obtaining, by the terminal, the TA value of the terminal for the first object based on a Random Access Channel RACH resource associated with a quasi co-location source Reference Signal RS corresponding to the beam indication information carried in the second signaling, as taught by Tseng, in order to reduce signaling overhead, minimize latency, and optimize terminal power consumption during random access procedures. By consolidating the beam indication information and the random access resource allocation into a single unified downlink control information (DCI) message (such as a PDCCH order), the network reduces the total number of control channel transmissions required to initiate random access.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr in view of Xin (WO 2021/203366 A1) [Submitted in IDS, PDF Machine-Translation provided in PTO-892].
Regarding claim 12, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 2.
Lohr does not explicitly disclose wherein the target signaling comprises the first signaling, and the obtaining, by the terminal, a timing advance TA value of the terminal for a first object according to the target signaling comprises: sending, by the terminal, a channel sounding reference signal SRS to the network-side device according to the target signaling, wherein the SRS is used for obtaining a TA value of the terminal for at least one object; receiving, by the terminal, second signaling, wherein the second signaling carries target information of the terminal for the at least one object, and the target information comprises a TA value, or the target information comprises a TA value and an object identifier corresponding to the TA value, or the target information comprises a TA group identifier and a TA value; wherein the TA group identifier is used for indicating a first TA group, the first TA group is associated with the at least one object, and the TA value is a TA value of the terminal for the at least one object associated with the first TA group; wherein an association relationship between the first TA group and the at least one object is explicitly or implicitly configured by a network, and the at least one object comprises the first object.
However, Xin teaches wherein the target signaling comprises the first signaling, and the obtaining, by the terminal, a timing advance TA value of the terminal for a first object according to the target signaling comprises: sending, by the terminal, a channel sounding reference signal SRS to the network-side device according to the target signaling, wherein the SRS is used for obtaining a TA value of the terminal for at least one object (Xin: Pg. 1, lines 40-43, first information includes channel sounding reference signal SRS configuration information …carried in a measurement configuration message or a handover command. Pg. 8, lines 33-35, when the first information further includes beam information and/or spatial direction information, the terminal device may send the SRS to the network device in the network device set information in the beam direction of the SRS resource concentration. Pg. 16, lines 51-52, The processing unit 820 is configured to determine the timing advance TA according to the location information; [Examiner’s Note: Xin teaches sending sounding reference signal to the network-side device according to target signaling (first information/SRS configuration)); receiving, by the terminal, second signaling, wherein the second signaling carries target information of the terminal for the at least one object, and the target information comprises a TA value, or the target information comprises a TA value and an object identifier corresponding to the TA value, or the target information comprises a TA group identifier and a TA value; wherein the TA group identifier is used for indicating a first TA group, the first TA group is associated with the at least one object, and the TA value is a TA value of the terminal for the at least one object associated with the first TA group; wherein an association relationship between the first TA group and the at least one object is explicitly or implicitly configured by a network, and the at least one object comprises the first object (Xin: Pg. 9, lines 52-56, the terminal device receives the location information from at least one of the first network device, the LMF, and the second network device; and the terminal device according to the The location information determines the TA. The first network device receives the location information from the LMF and/or the second network device; the first network device determines the TA according to the location information. Pg. 11, lines 7-15, the terminal device receives third information from the second network device, and the third information is carried in a resource scheduling message of the terminal device. The third information includes the location information and/or the TA…the third information may be a downlink resource allocation message, such as DCI. Pg. 16, lines 5-6, The terminal device receives third information from the second network device, where the third information includes the location information and/or TA.; [Examiner’s Note: Xin teaches a terminal receiving a resource scheduling message, such as downlink control information or a downlink resource allocation message, that serves as the second signaling. This signaling carries target information for at least one object, which includes a timing advance value or the underlying location information used to determine it]
Please note: Only one signal is required to meet the claimed subject matter of claim 2, then this claim is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where it further limits unselected option. Emphasis Added).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lohr by further including, the above-mentioned features, as taught by Xin, in order to enable the network-side device to accurately measure and provide object-specific timing advance (TA) adjustments based on terminal-transmitted channel sounding reference signals (SRS).
Regarding claim 13, Lohr and Xin teach the method according to claim 12.
Lohr does not explicitly disclose wherein the SRS is determined according to the configuration information in the first signaling; or the SRS is activated by the third signaling in a case that the target signaling further comprises the third signaling.
However, Xin teaches wherein the SRS is determined according to the configuration information in the first signaling; or the SRS is activated by the third signaling in a case that the target signaling further comprises the third signaling (Xin: Pg. 8, lines 11-13, first information includes SRS configuration information and PRS configuration information, the terminal device can randomly determine the configuration information used for positioning; [Examiner’s Note: Xin teaches the sounding reference signal is determined according to the configuration information in the first signaling]
Please note: Only one signal is required to meet the claimed subject matter of claim 2, then this claim is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where it further limits unselected option. Emphasis Added).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lohr by further including, SRS is determined according to the configuration information in the first signaling, as taught by Xin, in order to optimize resource utilization and minimize handover latency by enabling the network to dynamically adapt Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) allocation based on real-time signaling demands and terminal capabilities.
Regarding claim 14, Lohr and Xin teach the method according to claim 12.
Lohr does not explicitly disclose; however Xin teaches wherein beam indication information of the SRS is associated with an identifier of the at least one object, and the SRS is sent based on timing information of a second object, wherein the second object is an object currently providing a service to the terminal (Xin: Pg. 8, lines 33-35, when the first information further includes beam information and/or spatial direction information, the terminal device may send the SRS to the network device in the network device set information in the beam direction of the SRS resource concentration. Pg. 14, lines 52-55, the network device set information includes at least one of the following: the first network device, the second network device, and at least one adjacent network device of the first network device, and the first network device is the terminal The network device corresponding to the current serving cell of the device, and the second network device is the network device corresponding to the target cell. Pg. 8 lines, 26-27, terminal device may periodically send the SRS to the network device in the network device set information according to the SRS transmission period. Pg. 11, lines 1-2, terminal device may identify the location information and/or TA carried in the handover request to indicate whether the location information and/or TA are currently acquired; [Examiner’s Note: Xin links the SRS beam indication information to the identifier of a network device within a defined network device set, which includes the current serving cell. Furthermore, the terminal transmits this SRS using timing advance parameters derived from the active serving object, thereby satisfying the claimed association and timing dependencies]
Please note: Only one signal is required to meet the claimed subject matter claim 2, then this claim is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 2, where it further limits unselected option. Emphasis Added).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lohr by further including, wherein beam indication information of the SRS is associated with an identifier of the at least one object, and the SRS is sent based on timing information of a second object, wherein the second object is an object currently providing a service to the terminal, as taught by Xin, in order to ensure that the terminal can efficiently transmit Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) with precise spatial orientation and proper time alignment relative to the network devices within the designated set during a handover or multi-connectivity operation, thereby minimizing interference and optimizing signaling reliability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2023/0127817 A1); Lee et al. teaches using the random-access procedure in a wireless network to support positioning of a device, especially when the device is in RRC idle or inactive mode. Instead of waiting for a full connection setup, the device can send a PRACH preamble together with a PUSCH payload as part of a two-step random access message. The preamble can be assigned to different positioning-related purposes, such as sending capability information, requesting assistance data, or reporting measurement results. The network can use that grouping to understand what kind of positioning action the device is trying to perform. The application also describes how the device may monitor positioning reference signals and retransmit if the signal is not received in time. It further addresses how to allocate preambles, timing, and payload bits for positioning-related reporting. In some cases, the MsgA PUSCH carries reduced-resolution measurement information because the available bits are limited. The approach is intended to support positioning without forcing the device into a full connected state. It also aims to reduce ambiguity between random access signaling and positioning signaling. Overall, the invention combines access and positioning signaling so the network can trigger and collect positioning information more efficiently. See [¶¶ 0349-352, 395-405, 421-439, 516-551].
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJDI ALSOMIRI whose telephone number is (571) 270-0427. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465