DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the power pressure device is provided to be used in the hydraulic unit solely to generate a brake pressure on at least one wheel brake of the vehicle brake system”. Page 4, line 25 to page 5, line 6 of the original disclosure and claim 11 appear to indicate that the power pressure device is the only pressure generator for the brake system, whereas claim 2 appears to require that the power pressure device is used only to generate a brake pressure on at least one wheel brake of the vehicle brake system (presumably not generating pressure for other devices or purposes). It is not clear what is intended by the language of claim 2.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 8 recites the broad recitation “a radial sealing element is in each case provided axially on both sides of each of the first and second feed lines,” and the claim also recites “in particular along the cylinder axis” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ganzel (US# 2024/0359674).
Ganzel discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a power pressure device 100 for a hydraulic unit of a vehicle brake system, comprising: a housing 110/138 having a motor side for installing a motor 136 driving the power pressure device, and a control unit side, opposite the motor side, for installing a control unit 154 controlling the motor; a cylinder (bore of 110) arranged in the housing 110/138 and extending with a cylinder axis from the motor side to the control unit side; and a piston 106 axially displaceably guided in the cylinder and delimiting, with a piston end face, a cylinder chamber 112; wherein the cylinder chamber is a first cylinder chamber, and an additional second cylinder chamber 116 is provided in the cylinder.
Regarding claim 2, the power pressure device is provided to be used in the hydraulic unit solely to generate a brake pressure on at least one wheel brake of the vehicle brake system.
Regarding claim 3, the second cylinder chamber 116 is arranged axially downstream of the first cylinder chamber 112 in a pressure direction of the piston.
Regarding claim 4, a further piston 108 coupled in a force-transmitting manner (via 128) to the piston 106 is arranged axially downstream of the piston in the pressure direction of the piston.
Regarding claim 5, the further piston 108 is coupled in a force-transmitting manner to the piston using a spring 128.
Regarding claim 6, the piston 108 is configured to be displaced axially by a screw drive 102/104 drivable by the motor 136.
Regarding claim 7, a first discharge line 180, using which a first brake circuit is supplied with pressure medium, extends from the first cylinder chamber 112, and a second discharge line 182, using which a second brake circuit is to be supplied with pressure medium, extends from the second cylinder chamber 116.
Regarding claim 8, a first feed line 172, which is connected to a first reservoir chamber of a two-part reservoir 188, extends into the first cylinder chamber 112 and a second feed line 174, which is connected to a second reservoir chamber of the two-part reservoir 188, extends into the second cylinder chamber 116, wherein a radial sealing element 158 is in each case provided axially on both sides of each of the first 172 and second 174 feed lines, in particular along the cylinder axis.
Regarding claim 9, a pressure sensing device is provided, using which a pressure present in the first cylinder chamber and/or a pressure present in the second cylinder chamber is sensed. Note pressure sensors [P] shown in figure 6.
Regarding claim 10, Ganzel discloses a method of using a power pressure device in a hydraulic unit of a vehicle brake system with a first brake circuit (right side, figure 6) and a second brake circuit (left side, figure 6) for generating hydraulic pressure on at least one associated wheel brake 184 in each case, wherein the first brake circuit includes a first supply line, to which at least one first wheel brake (top right brake 184) is to be connected, and the second brake circuit includes a second supply line, to which at least one second wheel brake (top left brake 184) is to be connected, and an electrically controllable power pressure device 100 is provided, which is designed with a housing 110/138 having a motor side, on which a motor 136 driving the power pressure device is arranged, and a control unit side, which is opposite the motor side and on which a control unit 154 configured to control the motor 136 is arranged, the controllable power pressure device further including a cylinder, which is arranged in the housing and extends with its cylinder axis from the motor side to the control unit side, and includes a piston 106, which is axially displaceably guided in the cylinder and delimits, with a piston end face, a cylinder chamber 112 filled with pressure medium, wherein the cylinder chamber is a first cylinder chamber filled with pressure medium, and an additional second cylinder chamber 116 filled with pressure medium is provided in the cylinder, the method comprising: selecting connecting the first cylinder chamber 112 to the first supply line in a pressure-medium-conducting manner; and selectively connecting the second cylinder chamber 116 to the second supply line in a pressure-medium-conducting manner. [0039]
Regarding claim 11, Ganzel discloses a method wherein a brake pressure on the at least one first wheel brake 184 and/or on the at least one second wheel brake 184 is generated solely via the power pressure device 100. Note the PTU 100 is the sole source of pressure for the wheel brakes in situations other than the backup or failed situation [0045].
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ganzel (US# 2023/0001903).
Ganzel discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a power pressure device 108 for a hydraulic unit of a vehicle brake system, comprising: a housing 264 having a motor side for installing a motor 132 driving the power pressure device, and a control unit side, opposite the motor side, for installing a control unit 114a/b controlling the motor; a cylinder (bore of 264) arranged in the housing 264 and extending with a cylinder axis from the motor side to the control unit side; and a piston 252 axially displaceably guided in the cylinder and delimiting, with a piston end face, a cylinder chamber; wherein the cylinder chamber is a first cylinder chamber 138, and an additional second cylinder chamber 136 is provided in the cylinder.
Regarding claim 2, the power pressure device is provided to be used in the hydraulic unit solely to generate a brake pressure on at least one wheel brake of the vehicle brake system.
Regarding claim 3, the second cylinder chamber 136 is arranged axially downstream of the first cylinder chamber 138 in a pressure direction of the piston.
Regarding claim 4, a further piston 250 coupled in a force-transmitting manner (integral with piston 252) to the piston 252 is arranged axially downstream of the piston in the pressure direction of the piston.
Regarding claim 6, the piston 252 is configured to be displaced axially by a screw drive 244/246 drivable by the motor 132.
Regarding claim 7, a first discharge line 134b, using which a first brake circuit is supplied with pressure medium, extends from the first cylinder chamber 138, and a second discharge line 134a, using which a second brake circuit is to be supplied with pressure medium, extends from the second cylinder chamber 136.
Regarding claim 9, a pressure sensing device 140a/b is provided, using which a pressure present in the first cylinder chamber and/or a pressure present in the second cylinder chamber is sensed. .
Regarding claim 10, Ganzel discloses a method of using a power pressure device in a hydraulic unit of a vehicle brake system with a first brake circuit 2 and a second brake circuit 1 for generating hydraulic pressure on at least one associated wheel brake 102 in each case, wherein the first brake circuit includes a first supply line (line downstream of 124a), to which at least one first wheel brake 102b/102c is to be connected, and the second brake circuit includes a second supply line (line downstream of 122a), to which at least one second wheel brake 102a/102d is to be connected, and an electrically controllable power pressure device 108 is provided, which is designed with a housing 264 having a motor side, on which a motor 132 driving the power pressure device is arranged, and a control unit side, which is opposite the motor side and on which a control unit 114 configured to control the motor 132 is arranged, the controllable power pressure device further including a cylinder, which is arranged in the housing and extends with its cylinder axis from the motor side to the control unit side, and includes a piston 252, which is axially displaceably guided in the cylinder and delimits, with a piston end face, a cylinder chamber 138 filled with pressure medium, wherein the cylinder chamber is a first cylinder chamber 138 filled with pressure medium, and an additional second cylinder chamber 136 filled with pressure medium is provided in the cylinder, the method comprising: selecting connecting the first cylinder chamber 138 to the first supply line in a pressure-medium-conducting manner; and selectively connecting the second cylinder chamber 136 to the second supply line in a pressure-medium-conducting manner. [0030][0038]
Regarding claim 11, Ganzel discloses a method wherein a brake pressure on the at least one first wheel brake 102b/102c and/or on the at least one second wheel brake 102a/102d is generated solely via the power pressure device 108. Note the PTU 108 is the sole source of pressure for the wheel brakes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK