Claim Status
Claims 1-18 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks, filed on 2/12/2026, with respect to the teachings of Sedarat (US 11,777,835) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “one or more validation data collectors;” “a safety validator” recited in claims 1, 2 and 5-9.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in paragraphs [0020]-[0022], [0028]-[0030], [0036] and [0041], [0043]-[0046] of the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-12, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for unpatentable over Iacaruso et al. (US 2020/0241987), hereinafter Iacaruso in view of Sedarat et al. (US 11,777,835), hereinafter Sedarat.
As for claim 1, Iacaruso teaches an automotive network system in a vehicle, the system comprising:
one or more non-compliant network components configured to receive, process and send packets (Figs. 1&2, paragraphs [0028]-[0034] describe a vehicle includes a safety system which includes various components; paragraphs [0046]-[0048] describe vehicle components are determined to be unable to satisfy the requirements of new Functional Safety Standards (FSS). And, a procedure is developed for reusing legacy components to satisfy one or more Functional Safety Requirements), wherein the non-compliant network devices are installed in the vehicle but are not compliant with specified vehicle-safety requirements (paragraphs [0044]-[0048] describe vehicle components are determined to be unable to satisfy the requirements of the new FSS. And, it is desirable to develop a procedure for reusing legacy components to satisfy one or more Functional Safety Requirements), and ;
one or more validation data collectors, coupled to the non-compliant network components (Fig. 4; Safety Monitor; paragraph [0059] describes a safety monitor is bi-directionally connected to an orchestrator IP),
a safety validator, configured to verify whether the non-compliant network switches function in a manner that in actuality is compliant with the vehicle-safety requirements based on the validation data collected by the one or more validation data collectors (paragraphs [0072] and [0073] describe a self-test verification device determines for a received result of the one or more device self-tests, whether a difference between the received result and a target result; and if the difference between the received result and the target result is within a predetermined range, generates a signal representing a passed self-test).
Iacaruso fails to teach
wherein vehicle components are switches;
validation data collectors being configured to derive validation data from at least some of the packets traversing the network components.
Sedarat discloses
wherein vehicle components are switches (col. 5, lines 14-28 describe vehicle nodes that include switches);
validation data collectors being configured to derive validation data from at least some of the packets traversing the network components (col. 9, lines 55-68 describe the management module gathers diagnostic data describing behavior and performance of the vehicle networking system during the testing mode. The diagnostic data includes information about the state of the functional elements as each packet was traversing through them).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for . gathering diagnostic data form vehicle nodes. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 2, Iacaruso fails to teach wherein validation data collectors are configured to derive validation data from time-protocol packets traversing network switches.
Sedarat discloses
wherein validation data collectors are configured to derive validation data from time-protocol packets traversing network switches (col. 7, lines 1-13 describe a functional safety system sends a request to generate test traffic. The request includes time information so that the test packet generators are synchronized alongside with the time of preset of the function elements; col. 18, lines 48-59 describe the diagnostic data analysis model analyzes diagnostic data gathered during the testing mode and uses the timestamp value to determine and characterize performance of the vehicle networking system during the testing mode, such as determining an order in which the sequence of data packets was transmitted and received by the various nodes of the vehicle networking system).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for . gathering diagnostic data form vehicle nodes. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 3, Iacaruso fails to teach wherein the time-protocol packets comprise Precision Time Protocol (PTP) packets.
Sedarat discloses wherein the time-protocol packets comprise Precision Time Protocol (PTP) packets (col. 7, lines 1-13 describe a functional safety system sends a request to generate test traffic. The request includes time information so that the test packet generators are synchronized alongside with the time of preset of the function elements. The synchronization of disjoint elements of network is achieved through a timing mechanism such as Precision Timing Protocol (PTP)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for applying test packets using Precision Time Protocol. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 5, Iacaruso teaches wherein the safety validator is configured to verify that the non-compliant network switches comply in actuality with the vehicle-safety requirement by verifying a criterion (paragraph [0073] describes a device determines for a received result of the self-tests, determines a difference between the received result and a target result, and if the predefined receive time criterion is fulfilled and if the difference between the received result and the target result is within a predetermined range, generates a signal representing a passed self-test).
Iacaruso fails to teach wherein verifying criterion includes verifying an accuracy of one or more time-stamps in the time-protocol packets.
Sedarat discloses
wherein verifying a criterion includes verifying an accuracy of one or more time-stamps in the time-protocol packets (col. 15, lines 3-21 describe a reconfiguration module reconfigures the vehicle networking system in an attempt to correct network features that are not performing as expected. Reconfiguring the vehicle networking system includes transmitting commands to individual network nodes to modify the networking rules and policies implemented by the respective nodes. In response to receiving the command, the network node adjusts the networking rule and policy as instructed. Note: the reconfiguring is performed to made the nodes satisfying a safety function; col. 18, lines 33-59 describe a preset mechanisms and a data packet injectors uses the times included in the commands along with internal clocks to synchronize configuration of the vehicle networking system and execution of the testing mode. The diagnostic data analysis module uses the timestamp value to determine and characterize performance of the vehicle networking system during the testing mode).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for applying test packets using Precision Time Protocol. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 8, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches wherein at least one of the validation data collectors is configured to store the validation data in a memory (Sedarat: col. 7, lines 14-18 describe the state of a functional element of the network as a packet traverses through it is recorded in a correspond node as the diagnostic information), and to provide at least part of the validation data to the safety validator in response to a request from the safety validator (Sedarat: col. 7, lines 30-33 describe the functional safety system requests the network to gather and send the diagnostic information during normal operation).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for applying test packets using Precision Time Protocol. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 9, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches wherein at least one of the validation data collectors is configured to transmit at least part of the validation data to the safety validator, irrespective of any request from the safety validator (col. 7, lines 14-25 describe the diagnostic information is sent to the functional safety system).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for applying test packets using Precision Time Protocol. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 10, Iacaruso teaches a method in an automotive network system in a vehicle (paragraph [0045] describes methods that are implemented to attain a functional safety level based on compliance with standards), the method comprising:
receiving, processing and sending packets by one or more non-compliant network components (paragraphs [0048] and [0055] describe the methods are generally applied to many different functional safety aspects and component types. An Orchestrator IP is responsible for loading a signed Network Tap (TAP) script from external memory; running the tests corresponding to the signed TAP script; and sending the test results to a Safety Monitor), wherein the non-compliant network switches are installed in the vehicle but are not compliant with specified vehicle-safety requirements (paragraphs [0044]-[0048] describe vehicle components are determined to be unable to satisfy the requirements of the new FSS. And, it is desirable to develop a procedure for reusing legacy components to satisfy one or more Functional Safety Requirements);
using one or more validation data collectors coupled to the non-compliant network components, deriving validation data from at least some of the packets traversing the network components (paragraph [0052] describes a safety monitor is bi-directionally connected to an orchestrator IP; paragraphs [0055]-[0056] describe the orchestrator IP operates self-test using a signed TAP script and reports test results to a safety monitor; paragraph [0064] describes a safety monitor compares each test result with an expected test results); and
verifying whether the non-compliant network components function in a manner that in actuality is compliant with the vehicle-safety requirements based on the validation data collected by the one or more validation data collectors (paragraphs [0072] and [0073] describe a self-test verification device determines for a received result of the one or more device self-tests, whether a difference between the received result and a target result; and if the difference between the received result and the target result is within a predetermined range, generates a signal representing a passed self-test).
Iacaruso fails to teach
wherein vehicle components are switches;
Sedarat discloses
wherein vehicle components are switches (col. 5, lines 14-28 describe vehicle nodes that include switches);
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for performing tests on vehicle nodes that include switches. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 11, Iacaruso fails to teach wherein deriving the validation data comprises obtaining the validation data from time-protocol packets traversing the network switches.
Sedarat discloses
wherein deriving the validation data comprises obtaining the validation data from time-protocol packets traversing the network switches (col. 7, lines 1-13 describe a functional safety system sends a request to generate test traffic. The request includes time information so that the test packet generators are synchronized alongside with the time of preset of the function elements; col. 18, lines 48-59 describe the diagnostic data analysis model analyzes diagnostic data gathered during the testing mode and uses the timestamp value to determine and characterize performance of the vehicle networking system during the testing mode, such as determining an order in which the sequence of data packets was transmitted and received by the various nodes of the vehicle networking system).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for applying test packets using Precision Time Protocol. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 12, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches wherein the time-protocol packets comprise Precision Time Protocol (PTP) packets (Sedarat: col. 7, lines 1-13 describe a functional safety system sends a request to generate test traffic. The request includes time information so that the test packet generators are synchronized alongside with the time of preset of the function elements. The synchronization of disjoint elements of network is achieved through a timing mechanism such as Precision Timing Protocol (PTP)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for applying test packets using Precision Time Protocol. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 14, Iacaruso teaches wherein verifying that the non-compliant network components comply in actuality with the vehicle-safety requirement comprises verifying a criterion (paragraph [0073] describes a device determines for a received result of the self-tests, determines a difference between the received result and a target result, and if the predefined receive time criterion is fulfilled and if the difference between the received result and the target result is within a predetermined range, generates a signal representing a passed self-test).
Iacaruso fails to teach
wherein vehicle components are switches;
wherein verifying criterion includes verifying an accuracy of one or more time-stamps in the time-protocol packets.
Sedarat discloses
wherein vehicle components are switches (col. 5, lines 14-28 describe vehicle nodes that include switches);
wherein verifying a criterion includes verifying an accuracy of one or more time-stamps in the time-protocol packets (col. 15, lines 3-21 describe a reconfiguration module reconfigures the vehicle networking system in an attempt to correct network features that are not performing as expected. Reconfiguring the vehicle networking system includes transmitting commands to individual network nodes to modify the networking rules and policies implemented by the respective nodes. In response to receiving the command, the network node adjusts the networking rule and policy as instructed. Note: the reconfiguring is performed to made the nodes satisfying a safety function; col. 18, lines 33-59 describe a preset mechanisms and a data packet injectors uses the times included in the commands along with internal clocks to synchronize configuration of the vehicle networking system and execution of the testing mode. The diagnostic data analysis module uses the timestamp value to determine and characterize performance of the vehicle networking system during the testing mode).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for applying test packets using Precision Time Protocol. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 17, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches in at least one of the validation data collectors, storing the validation data in a memory (Sedarat: col. 7, lines 14-18 describe the state of a functional element of the network as a packet traverses through it is recorded in a correspond node as the diagnostic information), and providing at least part of the validation data in response to a request (Sedarat: col. 7, lines 30-33 describe the functional safety system requests the network to gather and send the diagnostic information during normal operation).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for applying test packets using Precision Time Protocol. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 18, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches in at least one of the validation data collectors, transmitting at least part of the validation data irrespective of any request (Sedarat: col. 7, lines 14-25 describe the diagnostic information is sent to the functional safety system).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Sedarat for . gathering diagnostic data form vehicle nodes. The teachings of Sedarat, when implemented in the Iacaruso system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sedarat in the Iacaruso system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iacaruso (US 2020/0241987) in view of Sedarat (US 11,777,835) further in view of Weber et al. (US 2021/0014257), hereinafter Weber.
As for claim 4, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches wherein the validation data collectors are configured to derive validation records comprising one or more of:
time-stamps extracted from one or more of the time-protocol packets (Sedarat: col. 18, lines 48- describe the diagnostic data analysis module uses the timestamp value to determine and characterize performance of the vehicle network).
The combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat fails to teach
one or more parameters of switch ports used for communicating one or more of time-protocol packets; and
error events relating to one or more of the time-protocol packets.
Weber discloses wherein validation records comprising one or more of:
one or more parameters of switch ports used for communicating one or more of time-protocol packets (Fig. 3; paragraphs [0093]-[0098] describe at the switch’s input or output, a DHCP packet IP v4 and IPv6 including DHCP port 67 and port 68 is established, a deviation is detected when a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol filter at the switch’s input or output establishes a DHCP packet, the content of which, in particular, timestamp, sequence number, correction field, is stored at least temporarily in a register for context information); and
error events relating to one or more of the time-protocol packets (paragraphs [0093]-[0098] describe a deviation is detected when a PTP filter at the input or output establishes a PTP message. This makes it possible to detect a protocol-specific irregularity with respect to the data packet in the first stage of the network intrusion detection and prevention system (NIDS)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Weber for determining a deviation of data packet at the input and output of a switch. The teachings of Weber, when implemented in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect a network intrusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Weber in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system in order to enable the switch hardware to analyze each data packet of the network traffic without analyzing the entire network traffic to identify the presence of a deviation.
As for claim 13, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches wherein deriving the validation data comprises deriving validation records comprising one or more of:
time-stamps extracted from one or more of the time-protocol packets (Sedarat: col. 18, lines 48- describe the diagnostic data analysis module uses the timestamp value to determine and characterize performance of the vehicle network).
The combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches fails to teach
one or more parameters of switch ports used for communicating one or more of time-protocol packets; and
error events relating to one or more of the time-protocol packets.
Weber discloses wherein validation records comprising one or more of:
one or more parameters of switch ports used for communicating one or more of time-protocol packets (Fig. 3; paragraphs [0093]-[0098] describe at the switch’s input or output, a DHCP packet IP v4 and IPv6 including DHCP port 67 and port 68 is established, a deviation is detected when a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol filter at the switch’s input or output establishes a DHCP packet, the content of which, in particular, timestamp, sequence number, correction field, is stored at least temporarily in a register for context information); and
error events relating to one or more of the time-protocol packets (paragraphs [0093]-[0098] describe a deviation is detected when a PTP filter at the input or output establishes a PTP message. This makes it possible to detect a protocol-specific irregularity with respect to the data packet in the first stage of the network intrusion detection and prevention system (NIDS)).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Weber for determining a deviation of data packet at the input and output of a switch. The teachings of Weber, when implemented in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect a network intrusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Weber in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system in order to enable the switch hardware to analyze each data packet of the network traffic without analyzing the entire network traffic to identify the presence of a deviation.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iacaruso (US 2020/0241987) in view of Sedarat (US 11,777,835) further in view of Rentschler et al. (US 2019/0386763), hereinafter Rentschler.
As for claim 6, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches wherein the safety validator is configured to verify that the non-compliant network switches comply in actuality with the vehicle-safety requirement by performing a testing of a network feature (Iacaruso: paragraphs [0048] and [0064] describe methods of testing of functional safety of vehicle components and the test results are verified to match the golden results, the safety monitor returns a pass result; Sedarat: col. 5, lines 14-28 describe vehicle nodes that include switches).
The combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat fails to teach wherein performing a testing of a network feature comprises verifying that a temporal pattern of the time-protocol packets matches an expected pattern.
Rentschler discloses
wherein performing a testing of a network feature comprises verifying that a temporal pattern of the time-protocol packets matches an expected pattern (paragraph [0042] describes a PHY is configured to perform pattern matching before performing timestamping).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Reitchler for performing a timestamp synchronization based on a pattern matching signal. The teachings of Reitchler, when implemented in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Reitchler in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
As for claim 15, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches wherein verifying that the non-compliant network switches comply in actuality with the vehicle-safety requirement comprises performing a testing of a network feature (Iacaruso: paragraphs [0048] and [0064] describe methods of testing of functional safety of vehicle components and the test results are verified to match the golden results, the safety monitor returns a pass result; Sedarat: col. 5, lines 14-28 describe vehicle nodes that include switches).
Sedarat fails to teach wherein performing a testing of a network feature comprises verifying that a temporal pattern of the time-protocol packets matches an expected pattern.
Rentschler discloses
wherein performing a testing of a network feature comprises verifying that a temporal pattern of the time-protocol packets matches an expected pattern (paragraph [0042] describes a PHY is configured to perform pattern matching before performing timestamping).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Reitchler for performing a timestamp synchronization based on a pattern matching signal. The teachings of Reitchler, when implemented in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to detect network events. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Reitchler in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system in order to provide accurate timing and synchronization for measurement and control applications.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iacaruso (US 2020/0241987) in view of Sedarat (US 11,777,835) further in view of Soryal et al. (US 2021/0389140), hereinafter Soryal.
As for claim 7, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches wherein the safety validator is configured to verify that the non-compliant network switches comply in actuality with the vehicle-safety requirement by performing a testing of a network feature (Iacaruso: paragraphs [0048] and [0064] describe methods of testing of functional safety of vehicle components and the test results are verified to match the golden results, the safety monitor returns a pass result; Sedarat: col. 5, lines 14-28 describe vehicle nodes that include switches).
The combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat fails to teach wherein performing a testing of a network feature comprises verifying a topology of the automotive network system.
Soryal discloses
wherein performing a testing of a network feature comprises verifying a topology of the automotive network system (paragraph [0040] describes a local controller determines the non-compliance of various factors by submitting a request to servers to verify topology of the request from a vehicle).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Soryal for verifying aspect of requests to operate a dual-mode vehicle. The teachings of Soryal, when implemented in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure the safety of operating a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Soryal in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system in order to include other factors associated with an electronic system of a vehicle to ensure that the vehicle satisfies all the safety rules, regulations, policies and manufacturer guidelines.
As for claim 16, the combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat teaches wherein verifying that the non-compliant network switches comply in actuality with the vehicle-safety requirement comprising performing a testing of a network feature (Iacaruso: paragraphs [0048] and [0064] describe methods of testing of functional safety of vehicle components and the test results are verified to match the golden results, the safety monitor returns a pass result; Sedarat: col. 17, lines 23-37 describe a process of executing a testing mode to test a network feature; col. 15, lines 3-21 describe a reconfiguration module reconfigures the vehicle networking system in an attempt to correct network features that are not performing as expected. Reconfiguring the vehicle networking system includes transmitting commands to individual network nodes to modify the networking rules and policies implemented by the respective nodes. In response to receiving the command, the network node adjusts the networking rule and policy as instructed. Note: the reconfiguring is performed to made the nodes satisfying a safety function).
The combined system of Iacaruso and Sedarat fails to teach wherein performing a testing of a network feature comprises verifying a topology of the automotive network system.
Soryal discloses
wherein performing a testing of a network feature comprises verifying a topology of the automotive network system (paragraph [0040] describes a local controller determines the non-compliance of various factors by submitting a request to servers to verify topology of the request from a vehicle).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Soryal for verifying aspect of requests to operate a dual-mode vehicle. The teachings of Soryal, when implemented in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure the safety of operating a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Soryal in the Iacaruso and Sedarat system in order to include other factors associated with an electronic system of a vehicle to ensure that the vehicle satisfies all the safety rules, regulations, policies and manufacturer guidelines.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pullman et al. (US 2006/0214515) teach safety switch for reliably switching off a dangerous device
Teshler et al. (US 2018/0189103) teach specially programmed computing systems with associated devices configured to implement centralized services ECU.
/L. T. N/
Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459