DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Carlson (US 2005/0095698).
With regards to claim 1, Carlson discloses an optical sensing element (Abstract; combinational artificial receptors in electromagnetic (e.g. optical) sensors) for detection of a narcotic ([0212]; “…drug of abuse diagnostics or therapy (such as clinical or field analysis of cocaine or other drugs of abuse)…”)[0236], the optical sensing element comprising a fluorescent sensing compound (FIG. 5; [0144]; “… multiple fibers can be configured together to detect light or other radiation….fluoresced by receptors 310…”)[0116][0143] provided on a substrate 340, wherein emission of the fluorescent sensing compound is quenched [0147][0156][0157] in the presence of the narcotic [0212][0231][0233], and wherein the fluorescent sensing compound is non-polymeric and comprises an electron donor moiety [0372][0385], an electron acceptor moiety [0372][0385] and a moiety that influences solubility of the compound in a solvent ([0372]; . “A building block can provide one or more structural characteristics such as… hydrophilicity, hydrophobicity,…”) [0394][0395].
With regards to claim 2, Carlson discloses the optical sensing element of claim 1, wherein the fluorescent sensing compound is represented by general formula (IA):
AaBbCcDdEe (IA) ([0378]; Formula 1b)
in which:
A is an electron donor moiety [0385][0386][0392];
B is an electron acceptor moiety [0385][0386];
C is a moiety that influences solubility of the compound in a solvent ([0385][0386]; The recognition element can be substituted with a group that imparts hydrophilicity or hydrophobicity. With the solvent being water.)
D is a modifier moiety that enables fine tuning of the optoelectronic properties of the sensing compound ([0369]; dendrimer)([0430]; fluorophore or enzyme);
E is a branching moiety [0360];
a is an integer of 1 or more ([0385] teaches that the recognition element can provide one or more structural characteristics such as an electron donor. Recognizing one or more integers relating to electron donor moiety would have been obvious to one skilled within the art.);
b is an integer of 1 or more ([0385] teaches that the recognition element can provide one or more structural characteristics such as an electron acceptor. Recognizing one or more integers relating to electron acceptor moiety would have been obvious to one skilled within the art.);
c is an integer of 1 or more ([0385] teaches that the recognition element can provide one or more structural characteristics such as hydrophilicity or hydrophobicity. Recognizing one or more integers relating to hydrophilicity or hydrophobicity moiety would have been obvious to one skilled within the art.);
d is an integer equal to b ([0369]; dendrimer)([0430]; fluorophore or enzyme); and
e is 1 [0360].
With regards to claim 3, Carlson discloses the optical sensing element of claim 1, wherein the element is for vapour phase detection. [0118][0194][0195]
With regards to claim 4, Carlson discloses the optical sensing element of claim 1, wherein the element is for solution phase detection. [0118][0321]
With regards to claim 5, Carlson discloses the optical sensing element of claim 1, wherein the emission of the fluorescent sensing compound is increased when the narcotic is removed. [0157]
With regards to claim 6, Carlson discloses a method for detection of a narcotic in a sample [0229], which method comprises:
(a) irradiating an optical sensing element as defined in claim 1 thereby causing fluorescent emission by the fluorescent sensing compound [0143];
(b) contacting the sample with the optical sensing element [0118];
(c) measuring the luminescence of the fluorescent optical sensing element after contacting with the sample [0142]; and
(d) determining whether the narcotic is present in the sample based on the measurement obtained in step (c) [0230][0231].
With regards to claim 7, Carlson discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the method is for vapour phase detection. [0118][0194][0195]
With regards to claim 8, Carlson discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the element is for solution phase detection. [0118][0321]
With regards to claim 9, Carlson discloses a sensing device for detection of a narcotic in a sample, the sensing device comprising: an optical sensing element as defined in claim 1;
an irradiation source for irradiating the optical sensing element with stimulating radiation (FIG. 4; [0143]; light source 230);
a detector ([0143]; electromagnetic detection system 260) for measuring luminescence of the optical sensing element [0160]; means for delivering the sample for contacting with the optical sensing element [0127][0194]; and
means for relating to an operator the luminescence measured by the detector ([0143]; processing system 270, such as a computer system).
With regards to claim 10, Carlson discloses the sensing device according to claim 9, wherein the sensing device is for vapour phase detection. [0118][0194][0195]
With regards to claim 11, Carlson discloses the sensing device according to claim 9, wherein the sensing device is for solution phase detection. [0118][0321]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LeBoeuf et al. (US 2007/0086915)
Oki et al. (US 2014/0231274)
Butlin et al. (US 2008/0213780)
Isobe (US 2011/0195408)
Isobe (US 2007/0154890)
Lu et al. (US 8,043,802)
Zang et al. (US 2020/0080978)
/HUGH MAUPIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884