DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of 1-17 in the reply filed on 04/22/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/22/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claim(s) 6, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the flame retardant” with unclear antecedent basis.
Claim 7 recites “high consistency” which is vague because it is unclear what is meant by “consistency” or what qualifies as a high vs low consistency.
Claim 8 recites an amount of the silicone base in parts per hundred rubber but it appears that the silicone base is the rubber component (such that it would have to be at 100 parts per hundred rubber).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takei (U.S. 2004/0067372).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 14, Takei teaches a thermally conductive composition with silicone rubber (considered “high consistency” compared to silicone oil), silicone oil, aluminum oxide filler, boron nitride filler, peroxide crosslinking agent, flame retardant, and colorant, with the filler being inherently functionalized or nonfunctinalized (see abstract, [0021], [0036]-[0040], [0049]-[0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takei (U.S. 2004/0067372), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Comparison of Thermally Conductive Fillers (2022) in view of Theodore (U.S. 4,292,223).
Regarding claims 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15-17, Takei teaches all of the above subject matter but does not anticipate these claims. However, the flame retardant is provided with an effect (flame retardant) such that it would have been obvious to adjust the amount to within the range of claims 4 and 6 as part of optimizing the level of flame retardant properties in the composition (citations above). Takei also discloses an overlapping overall amount and particle size of alumina and boron nitride for claims 10 and 12-13 (citations above). The particular relative amounts of alumina vs boron nitride in claim 17 is not disclosed when they are combined, however, the NPL document is also directed to thermally conductive filler and shows that alumina is cheaper but less thermally conductive than boron nitride (amongst other pros and cons), such that the ratio of amounts of the two fillers would have been obvious to adjust as part of optimizing the overall thermal conductivity of the filler ingredient vs the cost of the filler ingredient (as well as the other pros and cons of the different fillers).
Takei also discloses a functional silicon compound adhesion agent which may be linear and have vinyl groups ([0041]-[0045]) and generic silicone oil ([0049]) but does not disclose a mixture of methyl vinyl silicone oil and dimethyl silicone oil as in claims 16 and 17. However, Theodore is also directed to thermally conductive silicone compositions and discloses that linear siloxanes (i.e., silicone oil) may be added as viscosity modifiers and may be used as a combination of methyl vinyl and dimethyl silicone oils (see abstract, col. 5, lines 15-65). Furthermore, since Takei already discloses that vinyl functional silicon compounds may provide adhesion improvement, the methyl vinyl silicone oil would additionally provide adhesion improving properties as taught by Takei (as well as the viscosity modifying properties from Theodore). Thus, it would have been obvious to have used a mixture of methyl vinyl and dimethyl silicone oils in Takei because Theodore shows that such a mixture may help modify the viscosity of the composition (with the overall amount of such silicone oils being obvious to adjust based on the desired level of viscosity modification). Furthermore, the relative ratio of dimethyl silicone oil to methyl vinyl silicone oil would have been obvious to adjust based on the optimization of the desired level of additional adhesion improvement benefit being provided by the methyl vinyl silicone oil, as taught by Takei (furthermore, Takei teaches an overlapping range of vinyl functional adhesion promoter, [0044], when applied to the methyl vinyl silicone oil from Theodore).
Based on the above, modified Takei renders obvious all of the claimed ranges, either via overlapping ranges or result effective variable optimization. Additionally, the claimed ranges of amounts are prima facie obvious as part of optimizing the general conditions of the composition. See MPEP 2144.05 II A. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In reHoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc.v.Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In reKulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was “unexpectedly good”); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.”).
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787