DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-20 are pending. Claims 2 and 5-6 are canceled. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 18, and 20 are amended. Claims 9-17 and 19 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments regarding claims 1 and 18 on pages 9-13 of the remarks that it would not have been obvious to modify primary reference JAMES with secondary reference HARTY to “add another DC/DC converter to the power system”, it is submitted that primary reference JAMES is not being modified to add another DC/DC converter, but the DC/DC converter of JAMES is modified to accept the battery as an input, as disclosed in secondary reference HARTY. In particular, in HARTY, the “DC charger” 50 operates as a DC/DC converter, accepting inputs from both the grid at 52 via rectifier 70 and also battery 40, wherein the battery 40 may be charged or discharged via the converter 50 (¶ 0025-0027). The DC/DC converter of JAMES is being modified to provide functionality of the DC/DC converter of HARTY. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize such a modification would not provide the disadvantages of an increase in size, complexity, and cost as argued by Applicant, and JAMES does not teach away from such a modification.
In response to arguments regarding claim 15 on pages 12-13 of the remarks that primary reference JAMES does not disclose “the DC/DC converter converting DC power it receives from the first battery into DC power of another voltage level for charging a battery in an EV”, it is noted that the charging of the EV in claim 15 does not specify if the power provided to the EV is AC or DC, whereas in claim 1, the EV connector is recited as transmitting DC power to the EV. For claim 15, the disclosure of JAMES providing AC power to vehicle 242/342 in Figs. 2 & 3 is relied upon to teach the recitation of “charging a battery in an EV”. The cited paragraphs disclose the battery power may be used to provide AC power to the system, and JAMES discloses various examples of how the power may flow in the system. For example, paragraph 0081 discloses the vehicle may receive power from a solar panel array, and paragraph 0079 discloses the solar panel array power may be supplemented by the storage batteries. When the vehicle 242/342 receives AC power, it is output from the combination of the bi-directional AC/DC converter and the DC/DC converter, and therefore the output of the DC/DC converter is “for charging a battery of an EV” within the broadest reasonable interpretation. It is submitted that JAMES teaches the recitations of the method of claim 15 within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JAMES (US PG Pub 2016/0176305; previously cited).
Regarding claim 15, JAMES discloses a method comprising:
a bidirectional AC/DC converter (210, Fig. 2; 310, Fig. 3) receiving AC power from a power grid (222, Fig. 2; 360, Fig. 3; ¶ 0056: the present design may include bi-directional AC to DC converter 210…The bi-directional AC to DC converter may be positioned between AC Interface module 220 and High Voltage DC interface module 230; ¶ 0058: an AC Interface Module 220 comprising grid connections for 240V AC/60 A single phase service; ¶ 0071: BDC 310 includes a two half bridge boost modules, DC bus capacitors, and a pair of 5 KW SiC full bridge modules; DC bus capacitors are evidence that AC power from grid is converted to DC; ¶ 0072: AC interface module 320 may be provided,…. providing power in this arrangement to AC power grid 360);
the bidirectional AC/DC converter converting the AC power it receives from the power grid into DC power for charging a first battery (234, Fig. 2; 334, Fig. 3; 1010, Fig. 10; ¶ 0051: Battery Charger module 118 may control switching and connecting either the AC grid or solar panel array to an energy storage device such as a depleted backup battery pack; ¶ 0057: BDC operation, from left to right in the FIG. 2 arrangement shown, may provide for conversion from AC Power Grid 222 to DC Energy Storage 234; ¶ 0084: Battery Charger System 1000 may maintain the backup battery charge by using a BDC such as the BDC of FIG. 2 between the grid, i.e. AC Grid 1020, and the battery);
a DC/DC converter (included in 310 and 370, Fig. 3; ¶ 0071: dual 5 KW module arrangement 370 includes components connected in series that conceptually belong to different components shown in FIG. 2… which includes the components shown such as DC disconnect and ACFI (Arc Fault Circuit Interrupter) elements, DC EMI filters, 5 KW SiC Full Bridge Modules and high frequency isolation transformers. BDC 310 includes a two half bridge boost modules, DC bus capacitors, and a pair of 5 KW SiC full bridge modules; transformer and full bridge modules on either side of transformer is evidence of a DC/DC converter) receiving DC power from the first battery (¶ 0057: the present design may transfer DC power stored within batteries in Energy Storage 234 and convert this power to AC power for delivery to Household AC Loads 224, AC Power Grid 222, and/or a combination of these two; ¶ 0078: Backup Power System 500 may convert DC power from either Energy Storage 520, comprising an energy source such as a battery, via power flow path 527, or PV Input source 525 via power flow path 522, to AC power in order to drive household AC loads at a sink at Home 510; ¶ 0086: the system may convert DC power received from Energy Storage 1130 to AC power and transfer this clean source of power to Home 1120 via power flow path 1140);
the DC/DC converter converting DC power it receives from the first battery into DC power of another voltage level for charging a battery in an EV (¶ 0079: power may be converted using a combination of power from PV Input 525 and Energy Storage 520, from DC to AC. In the situation where the backup power converter system 500 employs concurrent sourcing from ES 520 and PV Input 525, the amount of power available may be limited to the sum of the power delivered from the PV solar panel array and the ES batteries in combination; ¶ 0081: converter system 700 may receive DC power from the PV panels and convert the DC power to AC power for the AC charger module 720; ¶ 0086: the system may convert DC power received from Energy Storage 1130 to AC power and transfer this clean source of power to Home 1120 via power flow path 1140; first battery may supplement power from grid and solar panel array; ¶ 0049: Level 2 AC Charger module 111 may include an algorithm tailored for controlling the switching and connecting for single phase 208-240 volt AC energy source to a vehicle's on-board charger; ¶ 0062: a Level 2 AC Vehicle Charging Module 240; AC power for charging vehicle);
the bidirectional AC/DC converter receiving DC power from the first battery (¶ 0057: BDC operation,… right to left operation may… transfer DC power stored within batteries in Energy Storage 234 and convert this power to AC power for delivery to Household AC Loads 224, AC Power Grid 222, and/or a combination of these two; ¶ 0078: Backup Power System 500 may convert DC power from either Energy Storage 520, comprising an energy source such as a battery, via power flow path 527, or PV Input source 525 via power flow path 522, to AC power in order to drive household AC loads at a sink at Home 510; ¶ 0086: During times power from AC Grid 1110 is of poor quality, the system may convert DC power received from Energy Storage 1130 to AC power and transfer this clean source of power to Home 1120 via power flow path 1140);
the bidirectional AC/DC converter converting DC power it receives from the first battery into AC power for subsequent transfer to the power grid (¶ 0057, 0078, 0086: see above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JAMES (US PG Pub 2016/0176305; previously cited) in view of HARTY (US PG Pub 2013/0113413; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, JAMES discloses an apparatus (abstract) comprising:
an electric vehicle (EV) connector (¶ 0073: a J1772 DC plug and cable) for transferring direct current (DC) power to an EV (252, Fig. 2; 352, Fig. 3; ¶ 0068: a charger module such as AC Charger Module 340 or DC Charger Module 350 that suits the vehicle 342 and desired charging level; ¶ 0073: DC charger module 350 are shown connecting the foregoing circuits to… electric vehicle 352);
a first connector (connection to AC Grid of AC interface module 220, Fig. 2 / 320, Fig. 3; ¶ 0058: an AC Interface Module 220 comprising grid connections for 240V AC/60 A single phase service, connections for attaching to a home power service panel; ¶ 0072: AC interface module 320 may be provided, including a pair of AC line frequency output filters, a smart meter connected to a control board to monitor and possibly control power flow, and a GCFI, providing power in this arrangement to AC power grid 360);
a first bidirectional alternating (AC) to DC (AC/DC) converter (210, Fig. 3; 310, Fig. 3; ¶ 0056: the present design may include bi-directional AC to DC converter 210…The bi-directional AC to DC converter may be positioned between AC Interface module 220 and High Voltage DC interface module 230; ¶ 0071: BDC 310 includes a two half bridge boost modules, DC bus capacitors, and a pair of 5 KW SiC full bridge modules; DC bus capacitors are evidence that AC power from grid is converted to DC);
a first DC to DC (DC/DC) converter (included in 310 and 370, Fig. 3; ¶ 0071: dual 5 KW module arrangement 370 includes components connected in series that conceptually belong to different components shown in FIG. 2… which includes the components shown such as DC disconnect and ACFI (Arc Fault Circuit Interrupter) elements, DC EMI filters, 5 KW SiC Full Bridge Modules and high frequency isolation transformers. BDC 310 includes a two half bridge boost modules, DC bus capacitors, and a pair of 5 KW SiC full bridge modules; transformer and full bridge modules on either side of transformer is evidence of a DC/DC converter);
a first rechargeable battery (234, Fig. 2; 334, Fig. 3) electrically coupled to the first DC/DC converter and first bidirectional AC/DC converter (¶ 0051: Battery Charger module 118 may control switching and connecting either the AC grid or solar panel array to an energy storage device such as a depleted backup battery pack; ¶ 0057: BDC operation, from left to right in the FIG. 2 arrangement shown, may provide for conversion from AC Power Grid 222 to DC Energy Storage 234; ¶ 0084: Battery Charger System 1000 may maintain the backup battery charge by using a BDC such as the BDC of FIG. 2 between the grid, i.e. AC Grid 1020, and the battery; ¶ 0070: If the owner begins to experience power outages, or brownouts, in their area, he may add an energy storage device such as battery pack 334 to provide a backup power capability; ¶ 0071: there is provided a solar inverter 332 and battery pack 334 connected to DC interface module 330 of the dual 5 KW module arrangement 370);
a first switch system (¶ 0058: present design may include an AC Interface Module 220 comprising grid connections for 240V AC/60 A single phase service, connections for attaching to a home power service panel, AC voltage and current monitoring facilities, and safety disconnects; ¶ 0061: High Voltage DC Interface Module 230 includes connections for a solar panel array, connections for a high voltage energy storage device, such as a battery or batteries, an optional transfer relay positioned between the solar panel array and the energy storage device, and a DC disconnect; ¶ 0071: DC interface module 330 of the dual 5 KW module arrangement 370, which includes the components shown such as DC disconnect; ¶ 0073: AC charger module 340 includes an AC relay, an AC Level 2 pilot and proximity circuit, in this arrangement connected to a control board, either control board 360 or another appropriate AC control board, and J1772 AC plug and cable. DC charger module 350 includes a DC transfer relay, a DC Level 1 pilot proximity circuit in this arrangement, connected to either control board 360 or an appropriate DC control board, an isolation monitor, and a J1772 DC plug and cable. In this arrangement DC transfer relay is connected to both DC EMI filters and to both DC disconnect and AFCI elements);
wherein the first switch system is configured to transmit DC power between the first DC/DC converter and the EV connector (¶ 0068: exemplary modules, such as user control module 360 and BDC module 310, may provide for a flexible mechanism to tailor the system to meet many different configurations and also provide for future expansion or system upgrades. For example, if a homeowner… later to purchase an electric vehicle, the homeowner may add a charger module such as AC Charger Module 340 or DC Charger Module 350 that suits the vehicle 342 and desired charging level, where such a power module integrates with the existing or contemplated solar inverter 332 and AC Grid 360 infrastructure components; ¶ 0073: AC charger module 340 and DC charger module 350 are shown connecting the foregoing circuits to electric vehicle 342 and/or electric vehicle 352; ¶ 0082: a DC Fast Charger System 800 that delivers power from AC Grid 810 to DC Charger 820. In this arrangement, DC Charger 820 may provide DC Level 1 fast charging (capable of power levels up to 10 KW) via power flow path 825 through DC Fast Charger System 800 using the internal 10 kW BDC directly connected to batteries within EV 830);
wherein the first switch system is configured to transmit AC power between the first bidirectional AC/DC converter and the first connector (¶ 0050: Vehicle to Grid Charger module 114 may include an algorithm tailored for controlling the switching and connecting for an electric vehicle's battery pack for tying to a utility's power grid; ¶ 0051: Off-Grid Power module 117 may supply power to the home from a solar panel array or batteries; ¶ 0057: BDC operation,… right to left operation may… transfer DC power stored within batteries in Energy Storage 234 and convert this power to AC power for delivery to Household AC Loads 224, AC Power Grid 222, and/or a combination of these two; ¶ 0072: AC interface module 320 may be provided, including a pair of AC line frequency output filters, a smart meter connected to a control board to monitor and possibly control power flow, and a GCFI, providing power in this arrangement to AC power grid 360),
wherein the first DC/DC converter is configured to receive DC power of a first voltage from the first rechargeable battery (¶ 0057: BDC operation,… right to left operation may… transfer DC power stored within batteries in Energy Storage 234 and convert this power to AC power for delivery to Household AC Loads 224, AC Power Grid 222, and/or a combination of these two; ¶ 0070: If the owner begins to experience power outages, or brownouts, in their area, he may add an energy storage device such as battery pack 334 to provide a backup power capability; ¶ 0071: there is provided a solar inverter 332 and battery pack 334 connected to DC interface module 330 of the dual 5 KW module arrangement 370).
JAMES fails to disclose the first DC/DC converter is configured to convert the DC power it receives from the first rechargeable battery into DC power of a second voltage for subsequent transmission to the EV connector via the first switch system.
HARTY discloses the first DC/DC converter (50, Fig. 1) is configured to convert the DC power it receives from the first rechargeable battery (40, Fig. 1) into DC power of a second voltage for subsequent transmission to the EV connector (60, Fig. 1) via the first switch system (¶ 0026: The DC charger 50 is operable to receive DC power at a first voltage from a first source (e.g., from the solar panel 20, from the local battery 40, from a rectifier 70, etc.) and to provide the DC power to a second source (e.g., to the vehicle battery) at a second voltage; ¶ 0027: In a first mode, the DC charger 50 provides the DC power from the charger DC input 52 to the vehicle battery interface 60 for direct DC charging of the vehicle battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first DC/DC converter configured to convert the DC power as recited in order to provide greater control of the power delivered from the first rechargeable battery, and therefore increase the utility of the apparatus of JAMES.
Regarding claim 3, JAMES discloses the first bidirectional AC/DC is configured to receive AC power from the first connector via the first switch system (¶ 0058, 0072); wherein the first bidirectional AC/DC is configured to convert the AC power it receives into DC power for charging the first rechargeable battery (¶ 0057, 0061, 0070-0071, 0084).
Regarding claim 4, JAMES discloses the first bidirectional AC/DC is configured to receive DC power from the first rechargeable battery; wherein the first bidirectional AC/DC is configured to convert the DC power it receives from the first rechargeable battery into AC power for subsequent transmission to the first connector via the first switch system (¶ 0057, 0078, 0086).
Regarding claim 7, JAMES discloses the first switch system is configured to transmit DC power between the first DC/DC converter and the first connector; wherein the first DC/DC converter is configured to convert the DC power it receives from the first rechargeable battery into DC power of a second voltage for subsequent transmission to the first connector via the first switch system (¶ 0057, 0078, 0086).
Regarding claim 8, JAMES discloses the first DC/DC converter is a first bidirectional DC/DC converter; wherein the first DC/DC converter is configured to receive DC power from the EV connector via the first switch system; wherein the first DC/DC converter is configured to convert the DC power it receives from the EV connector (¶ 0050, 0054, 0060: vehicle to grid power transfer implies conversion to DC voltage before subsequent conversion to AC voltage).
Regarding claim 9, JAMES discloses the first switch system is configured to connect the first DC/DC converter to the first connector for transferring DC power from the first DC/DC converter to an EV via the first switch system and the first connector (¶ 0068, 0073, 0082).
Regarding claim 10, JAMES discloses the first switch system is configured to transmit DC power or AC power between the first connector and the EV connector (¶ 0068, 0073, 0082).
Regarding claim 11, JAMES discloses the first switch system comprises: a plurality of terminals; a plurality of switches (¶ 0058: safety disconnects; ¶ 0061, 0071, 0073: DC disconnect; ¶ 0073: relays); a controller for controlling the plurality of switches (¶ 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 12, JAMES discloses the plurality of switches are connected (¶ 0058, 0061, 0071, 0073).
Regarding claim 13, JAMES discloses the controller is configured to close one or more of the plurality of switches to electrically connect a terminal of the plurality of terminals to one or more of the plurality of terminals (¶ 0058, 0061, 0071, 0073).
Regarding claim 14, JAMES discloses the first bidirectional AC/DC converter, the first DC/DC converter, the EV connector, and the first connector are electrically connected to respective terminals of the plurality of terminals (¶ 0058, 0061, 0071, 0073).
Regarding claim 18, JAMES discloses an apparatus (abstract) comprising:
a switch system comprising a plurality of terminals (¶ 0058: present design may include an AC Interface Module 220 comprising grid connections for 240V AC/60 A single phase service, connections for attaching to a home power service panel, AC voltage and current monitoring facilities, and safety disconnects; ¶ 0061: High Voltage DC Interface Module 230 includes connections for a solar panel array, connections for a high voltage energy storage device, such as a battery or batteries, an optional transfer relay positioned between the solar panel array and the energy storage device, and a DC disconnect; ¶ 0071: DC interface module 330 of the dual 5 KW module arrangement 370, which includes the components shown such as DC disconnect; ¶ 0073: AC charger module 340 includes an AC relay, an AC Level 2 pilot and proximity circuit, in this arrangement connected to a control board, either control board 360 or another appropriate AC control board, and J1772 AC plug and cable. DC charger module 350 includes a DC transfer relay, a DC Level 1 pilot proximity circuit in this arrangement, connected to either control board 360 or an appropriate DC control board, an isolation monitor, and a J1772 DC plug and cable. In this arrangement DC transfer relay is connected to both DC EMI filters and to both DC disconnect and AFCI elements) and a controller for selectively connecting the plurality of terminals together (¶ 0042: User Control Module, wherein the User Control Module manages the switching in and out of use, connections, and like operations for the system components based on desired power conversion and power flow paths; ¶ 0043: a power conversion and management system comprising an energy resource controller further comprising integrated communications, switching and connection controls, and conversion electronics technology for managing the power conversion facilities within a household);
a bidirectional AC/DC converter (210, Fig. 3; 310, Fig. 3) comprising an input/output terminal connected to a first terminal of the plurality of terminals ¶ 0056: the present design may include bi-directional AC to DC converter 210…The bi-directional AC to DC converter may be positioned between AC Interface module 220 and High Voltage DC interface module 230; ¶ 0058: an AC Interface Module 220 comprising grid connections for 240V AC/60 A single phase service; ¶ 0071: BDC 310 includes a two half bridge boost modules, DC bus capacitors, and a pair of 5 KW SiC full bridge modules; DC bus capacitors are evidence that AC power from grid is converted to DC; one of ordinary skill would recognize the inputs/outputs comprise terminals, and are electrically connected with the terminals of the switch system in the circuit as shown in Figures 2 & 3);
a DC/DC converter (included in 310 and 370, Fig. 3; ¶ 0071: dual 5 KW module arrangement 370 includes components connected in series that conceptually belong to different components shown in FIG. 2… which includes the components shown such as DC disconnect and ACFI (Arc Fault Circuit Interrupter) elements, DC EMI filters, 5 KW SiC Full Bridge Modules and high frequency isolation transformers. BDC 310 includes a two half bridge boost modules, DC bus capacitors, and a pair of 5 KW SiC full bridge modules; transformer and full bridge modules on either side of transformer is evidence of a DC/DC converter) comprising an output connected to a second terminal of the plurality of terminals (one of ordinary skill would recognize the inputs/outputs of the converter comprise terminals, and are electrically connected with the terminals of the switch system in the circuit as shown in Figures 2 & 3);
a battery (234, Fig. 2; 334, Fig. 3) connected to the bidirectional AC/DC converter and the DC/DC converter (¶ 0051: Battery Charger module 118 may control switching and connecting either the AC grid or solar panel array to an energy storage device such as a depleted backup battery pack; ¶ 0057: BDC operation, from left to right in the FIG. 2 arrangement shown, may provide for conversion from AC Power Grid 222 to DC Energy Storage 234; ¶ 0084: Battery Charger System 1000 may maintain the backup battery charge by using a BDC such as the BDC of FIG. 2 between the grid, i.e. AC Grid 1020, and the battery; ¶ 0070: If the owner begins to experience power outages, or brownouts, in their area, he may add an energy storage device such as battery pack 334 to provide a backup power capability; ¶ 0071: there is provided a solar inverter 332 and battery pack 334 connected to DC interface module 330 of the dual 5 KW module arrangement 370);
a first connector connected to a third terminal of the plurality of terminals (connection to AC Grid of AC interface module 220, Fig. 2 / 320, Fig. 3; ¶ 0058: an AC Interface Module 220 comprising grid connections for 240V AC/60 A single phase service, connections for attaching to a home power service panel; ¶ 0072: AC interface module 320 may be provided, including a pair of AC line frequency output filters, a smart meter connected to a control board to monitor and possibly control power flow, and a GCFI, providing power in this arrangement to AC power grid 360);
an EV connector connected to a fourth terminal of the plurality of terminals (¶ 0073: a J1772 DC plug and cable);
wherein the switch system is configured to connect the first terminal to the third terminal for transferring AC power between the bidirectional AC/DC converter and the first connector (¶ 0050: Vehicle to Grid Charger module 114 may include an algorithm tailored for controlling the switching and connecting for an electric vehicle's battery pack for tying to a utility's power grid; ¶ 0051: Off-Grid Power module 117 may supply power to the home from a solar panel array or batteries; ¶ 0057: BDC operation,… right to left operation may… transfer DC power stored within batteries in Energy Storage 234 and convert this power to AC power for delivery to Household AC Loads 224, AC Power Grid 222, and/or a combination of these two; ¶ 0072: AC interface module 320 may be provided, including a pair of AC line frequency output filters, a smart meter connected to a control board to monitor and possibly control power flow, and a GCFI, providing power in this arrangement to AC power grid 360).
JAMES fails to disclose the switch system is configured to connect the second terminal to the fourth terminal to transfer DC power between the battery and the EV connector through the DC/DC converter.
HARTY discloses the switch system is configured to connect the second terminal to the fourth terminal to transfer DC power between the battery (40, Fig. 1) and the EV connector (60, Fig. 1) through the DC/DC converter (50, Fig. 1; ¶ 0026: The DC charger 50 is operable to receive DC power at a first voltage from a first source (e.g., from the solar panel 20, from the local battery 40, from a rectifier 70, etc.) and to provide the DC power to a second source (e.g., to the vehicle battery) at a second voltage; ¶ 0027: In a first mode, the DC charger 50 provides the DC power from the charger DC input 52 to the vehicle battery interface 60 for direct DC charging of the vehicle battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include transferring DC power between the battery and the EV connector through the DC/DC converter in order to provide greater control of the power delivered from the first rechargeable battery, and therefore increase the utility of the apparatus of JAMES.
Regarding claim 19, JAMES discloses the switch system is configured to connect the second terminal to the third terminal to transfer DC power between the DC/DC converter and the first connector (¶ 0057, 0078, 0086).
Regarding claim 20, JAMES discloses the bidirectional AC/DC converter is configured to charge or discharge the battery (¶ 0057, 0061, 0070-0071, 0078, 0084, 0086).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JAMES as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of NARLA (US PG Pub 2018/0037121; previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, JAMES discloses the method as applied to claim 15, and further discloses connecting an input/output of the bidirectional AC/DC converter to a first connector before the bidirectional AC/DC converter receives the AC power from the power grid; wherein the first connector is connected to the power grid and configured to receive the AC power therefrom (connection to AC Grid of AC interface module 220, Fig. 2 / 320, Fig. 3); connecting an output of the DC/DC converter to an EV connector before the DC/DC converter converts the DC power it receives from the first battery (¶ 0073: DC plug); wherein the EV connector is connected to the battery in the EV and configured to transfer the DC power of the other voltage level to the battery (¶ 0068, 0073, 0082); connecting the first connector to the output of the DC/DC converter; the DC/DC converter converting additional DC power it receives from the first battery into additional DC power of the other voltage level (¶ 0057, 0078, 0086).
JAMES fails to disclose transferring the additional DC power from the DC/DC converter to the first connector for subsequent transfer to charge another battery in another EV.
NARLA discloses transferring the additional DC power from the DC/DC converter (120, Fig. 1) to the first connector (154/155/123, Fig. 1) for subsequent transfer to charge another battery in another EV (¶ 0038, 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the transferring the additional DC power from the DC/DC converter to the first connector as recited in order to provide increased utility to the method of JAMES.
Regarding claim 17, JAMES discloses connecting the first connector to the EV connector; transferring AC power from the first connector to the EV connector while the first connector is connected to the EV connector (¶ 0068, 0073, 0082).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 10/20/2025
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859