DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on July 17, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/17/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12146050. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reason.
Regarding present claims 1-7 and 14-20, the patented claims disclose the same core shell copolymer as claimed in present claims.
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 1167433. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reason.
Regarding present claims 1-7 and 14-20, the patented claims disclose the same core shell copolymer as claimed in present claims except that the patented claims disclose acrylonitrile butadiene styrene graft copolymer while present claims recite thermoplastic polymer chains. However, given that acrylonitrile butadiene styrene graft copolymer is one of the examples of thermoplastic polymer chains, the patented claims discloses the same core shell copolymer as presently claimed.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 5-7 be found allowable, claims 18-20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pepers et al. (WO 2012/080407) in view of Nakamura et al. (JP 2006-291051).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Pepers teaches process for preparing a core-shell graft copolymer by polymerizing acrylonitrile and styrene onto a graft comprising styrene-butadiene, i.e. elastic core particles and thermoplastic polymer chains, along with a surfactant comprising a potassium salt of fatty acids and potassium stearate coagulated with a magnesium sulphate solution resulting in molded articles. (Abstract; pages 32-34).
The present invention differs from Pepers in that the present invention requires multivalent metal salt is added to the latex. Nakamura teaches a core-shell graft copolymer with 0.5 – 8.0 wt. % calcium chloride (multi-valent salt comprising a halogenide added to the latex for coagulation. (0008-0031). In view of Nakamura, one having an ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Pepers by using calcium chloride as a coagulant because Nakamura discloses a core shell graft polymer obtained in the presence of a fatty acid based surfactant and coagulated with a calcium salt and metal plating is mentioned in [0004]. Such modification would be obvious because one would expect that the use of coagulant agent as taught by Pepers would be similarly useful and applicable to the core-shell graft copolymer preparation taught in Nakamura.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Pepers in view of Nakamura discloses the core shell graft copolymer of claim 1 comprising article having surface area comprising a core shell graft copolymer of claim 1 (pages 1-2).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Pepers in view of Nakamura discloses the core shell graft copolymer of claims 5 and 19 wherein the core shell graft copolymer is coated with a metallic coating (page 2).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Pepers in view of Nakamura discloses the core shell graft copolymer of claims 6 and 19, wherein Pepers in view of Nakamura is silent with regards to electroplating.
Although Pepers in view of Nakamura does not disclose , it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Pepers in view of Nakamura meets the requirements of the claimed metallic coating, Pepers in view of Nakamura clearly meets the requirements of the present claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 15-17, Pepers in view of Nakamura does not specifically teach such limitations recited in present claims.
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787