DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.03.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 04/03/2026 does not place the Application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-2 and 4-21 are currently pending. In response to Office Action mailed on 01/07/2026, Applicant has amended claims 1, 4, 7 and 11, cancelled claim 3, and added new claims 16-21. Claims 7-13 are withdrawn from consideration as being part of non-elected invention.
Status of the Rejections
Due to Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 4, all rejections from the Office Action mailed on 01/07/2026 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (WO 2021/031500 A1) (cited in IDS dated 11/14/2024) (refer to English translation as provided).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a solar cell (solar cell as shown in fig. 1, see pages 8 and 9 of translation), comprising:
a substrate (p-type silicon substrate 4) (fig. 1 and pages 8-9 of translation),
a doped conductive layer (emitter junction area 9) (fig. 1 and pages 8-9 of translation),
a third passivation film layer (combination of aluminum oxide film 2 and silicon nitride film 12) (fig. 1 and page 8 of translation), and
a second dielectric layer (silicon nitride film 1 or top horizontal portion silicon oxide film 3) (fig. 1 and pages 8-9 of translation)
the third passivation film layer (2+12) being made of a material including at least one of AlOx and SiNx (2 is made of AlOx and 12 is made of SiNx - see pages 8 and 9 of translation);
the second dielectric layer (1 or 3) being made of a material including at least one of SiNx and SiOx (layer 1 is made of SiNx and layer 3 is made of SiOx) (see pages 8 and 9 of translation);
the doped conductive layer (9) and the second dielectric layer (1 or 3top horizontal portion) being sequentially stacked on a first surface (top surface) of the substrate (4);
the doped conductive layer (9) and the second dielectric layer (1 or 3top horizontal portion) both covering the first surface (top surface) of the substrate (4);
the third passivation film layer (2+12) being stacked on a second surface (bottom surface) of the substrate (4);
the third passivation film layer (2+12) covering the second surface (bottom surface) of the substrate (4);
the first surface (top surface) and the second surface (bottom surface) of the substrate (4) being arranged opposite to each other (see fig. 1 or annotated fig.),
the substrate (4) further includes a plurality of first side surfaces (left and right-side surfaces) adjacent between the first surface (top surface) and the second surface (bottom surface),
wherein the third passivation film layer (2+12) further covers at least part of surfaces of the plurality of first side surfaces (left and right-side surfaces covered by aluminum oxide film 2 of third passivation film layer 2+12) (see annotated figure) and further covers at least part of the first surface (top surface) (top surface of substrate 4 is covered by silicon nitride film 12 of the third passivation film layer 2+12, see annotated figure), and
wherein the doped conductive layer (9) includes an edge region (left or right edge region, see annotated figure) on the first surface, and a part of the third passivation film layer (2+12) further covers the edge region on the first surface (silicon nitride film 12 of the third passivation film layer 2+12 covers the edge region of layer 9 on the top surface of the substrate 4, see annotated figure).
Regarding claim 2, Wang further discloses that the third passivation film layer (2+12) completely covers each of the first side surfaces (see annotated fig that shows layer 2 of the third passivation film layer 2+12 completely covering both left and right-side surfaces of the substrate 4).
Regarding claim 4, Wang further discloses on the first surface (the top surface of substrate 4), the part (12) of the third passivation film layer (2+12) covering the edge region (left or right edge of 9) is located between the second dielectric layer (1) and the doped conductive layer (9) (see annotated figure).
Regarding claim 6, Wang further discloses that the second surface (bottom surface) of the substrate (4) is provided with a local metal back surface field (local BSF 8), and the solar cell further comprises: a third electrode (6) and a fourth electrode (electrode pillars 11), the third electrode (6) passing through the second dielectric layer (1) and being in ohmic contact with the doped conductive layer (9), and the fourth electrode (11) passing through the third passivation film layer (2+12) and being in ohmic contact with the local metal back surface field (8) (see annotated fig.).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses a photovoltaic module comprising at least one solar cell string (series connected solar cells, page 3 of translation, paragraph before the “Summary of the invention”), the solar cell string comprising at least two solar cells according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1) (since the solar cells are connected in series, as disclosed in page 3, there must be at least two solar cells that are connected in series).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses a photovoltaic system comprising the photovoltaic module of claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14).
Regarding claim 16, Wang further discloses the material of the third passivation film layer (2+12) consists of at least one of AlOx and SiNx (2 is made of AlOx, and 12 is made of SiNx – see page 8 of translation); and the material of the second dielectric layer (1) consists SiNx (see page 8 of translation).
Regarding claim 17, Wang further discloses a third electrode (6) (see annotated figure), the third electrode (6) passing through the second dielectric layer (3top horizontal portion) and being in ohmic contact with the doped conductive layer (9), wherein on the first surface (top surface of substrate 4), the second dielectric layer (3top horizontal portion) is located between the part (12) of the third passivation film layer (2+12) covering the edge region (edge of 9) and the third electrode (6) (see annotated figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Wang further discloses wherein the part (12) of the third passivation film layer (2+12) covering the edge region (edge of 9) and the second dielectric layer (3top horizontal portion) are both in contact with the doped conductive layer (9) (see annotated figure).
Regarding claim 19, Wang further discloses the material of the second dielectric layer (3top horizontal portion) includes SiOₓ (see page 8); the second dielectric layer (3top horizontal portion) does not cover the second surface (bottom surface) of the substrate (4) (see annotated figure).
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses a solar cell (solar cell as shown in fig. 1, see pages 8 and 9 of translation), comprising:
a substrate (p-type silicon substrate 4) (fig. 1 and pages 8-9 of translation),
a doped conductive layer (emitter junction area 9) (fig. 1 and pages 8-9 of translation),
a third passivation film layer (combination of aluminum oxide film 2 and silicon nitride film 12) (fig. 1 and page 8 of translation),
a second dielectric layer (silicon nitride film 1 or top horizontal portion silicon oxide film 3) (fig. 1 and pages 8-9 of translation), and
a third electrode (6),
the third passivation film layer (2+12) being made of a material including at least one of AlOx and SiNx (2 is made of AlOx and 12 is made of SiNx - see pages 8 and 9 of translation);
the second dielectric layer (1 or 3) being made of a material including at least one of SiNx and SiOx (layer 1 is made of SiNx and layer 3 is made of SiOx) (see pages 8 and 9 of translation);
the doped conductive layer (9) and the second dielectric layer (1 or 3top horizontal portion) being sequentially stacked on a first surface (top surface) of the substrate (4);
the doped conductive layer (9) and the second dielectric layer (1 or 3top horizontal portion) both covering the first surface (top surface) of the substrate (4);
the third passivation film layer (2+12) being stacked on a second surface (bottom surface) of the substrate (4);
the third passivation film layer (2+12) covering the second surface (bottom surface) of the substrate (4);
the first surface (top surface) and the second surface (bottom surface) of the substrate (4) being arranged opposite to each other (see fig. 1 or annotated fig.),
the substrate (4) further includes a plurality of first side surfaces (left and right-side surfaces) adjacent between the first surface (top surface) and the second surface (bottom surface),
wherein the third passivation film layer (2+12) further covers at least part of surfaces of the plurality of first side surfaces (left and right-side surfaces covered by aluminum oxide film 2 of third passivation film layer 2+12) (see annotated figure) and further covers at least part of the first surface (top surface) (top surface of substrate 4 is covered by silicon nitride film 12 of the third passivation film layer 2+12, see annotated figure), and
wherein the doped conductive layer (9) includes an edge region (left or right edge region, see annotated figure) on the first surface, and a part of the third passivation film layer (2+12) further covers the edge region on the first surface (silicon nitride film 12 of the third passivation film layer 2+12 covers the edge region of layer 9 on the top surface of the substrate 4, see annotated figure),
wherein on the first surface (the top surface of substrate 4), the part (12) of the third passivation film layer (2+12) covering the edge region (left or right edge of 9) is located between the second dielectric layer (1) and the doped conductive layer (9) (see annotated figure), and
wherein the third electrode (6) passing through the second dielectric layer (3top horizontal portion) and being in ohmic contact with the doped conductive layer (9), wherein on the first surface (top surface of substrate 4), the second dielectric layer (3top horizontal portion) is located between the part (12) of the third passivation film layer (2+12) covering the edge region (edge of 9) and the third electrode (6) (see annotated figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied above.
Regarding claim 5, Wang further discloses the first passivation film layer (2) covers the edge region in the similar manner as shown in figure 8 of instant application. Although Wang does not explicitly disclose that a coverage area of the third passivation film layer in the edge region of the passivated contact layer ranges from 1 mm2 to 38220 mm2, instant application as original filed fails to disclose whether the claimed coverage area is critical. In absence of evidence of criticality, selection of element’s dimension is considered to be a matter of design choice, depending upon the dimensions and gradient present in the installation site, among other considerations. In the absence of evidence of criticality, selection of dimensions (and thus the area) of the first passivation film layer in the edge region as claimed is considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. Also note that in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jang et al. (US 2011/0197964 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses a photovoltaic module comprising at least one solar cell string (series connected solar cells, page 3 of translation, paragraph before the “Summary of the invention”), the solar cell string comprising at least two solar cells according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1) (since the solar cells are connected in series, as disclosed in page 3, there must be at least two solar cells that are connected in series).
Alternatively, Jang discloses a photovoltaic module (solar cell module 100, fig. 21, [0197-0199]) comprising at least two solar cells (1) connected in series ([0197]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used multiple series solar cells as taught by Jang to form the photovoltaic module of Wang such that more light can be harvested to electricity.
Regarding claim 15, Wang as modified discloses a photovoltaic system comprising the photovoltaic module of claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Wang discloses a solar cell as required by claim 21 (see rejection of claim 20), with only distinction between the claimed direct contact between the layers. It would not be obvious to modify Wang to have the direct contact.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-6 and 14-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by the amendments.
Applicant argues that Wang fails to disclose a solar cell as required by amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang explicitly discloses the third passivation film layer (2+12) further covers at least part of the first surface (top surface) (top surface of substrate 4 is covered by silicon nitride film 12 of the third passivation film layer 2+12, see annotated figure).
Wang further discloses that the doped conductive layer (9) includes an edge region (left or right edge region, see annotated figure) on the first surface, and a part of the third passivation film layer (2+12) further covers the edge region on the first surface (silicon nitride film 12 of the third passivation film layer 2+12 covers the edge region of layer 9 on the top surface of the substrate 4, see annotated figure).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence/Contact Information
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721