DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A, in the reply filed on 5/27/26 is acknowledged. Claims 37-38 and 51-52 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33-36 and 39-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pervan et al. (US 2013/0189534).
As to claim 33 and 36, Pervan discloses a method to produce a building panel, comprising providing a core 6, applying a thermosetting adhesive binder 19/6a (para 65-67, 72) on a first surface of the core, applying refined (para 11) lignocellulosic fibres 14 on the first layer (para 65, fig 2e), applying a wood veneer layer 5 (para 78) above the lignocellulosic fibres (para 34), applying pressure to the core, the first layer, the lignocellulosic fibres, and the wood veneer layer to form a building panel (para 11, 34, 51-78, figs 2a-2e; 3a-4b).
As to claims 34-35, Pervan discloses the adhesive is applied in liquid form, which can be an aqueous solution (para 74).
As to claim 39, Pervan discloses adhesive is applied in an amount of 50-300 g/m2 (pra 74)
As to claim 40, Pervan discloses during applying pressure, the adhesive at least partly permeates the wood veneer layer (para 72, fig 2e)
As to claims 41-44, Pervan discloses the method further comprising applying a resin impregnated overlay decorative paper layer 10 on the refined lignocellulosic fibres prior to applying the wood veneer layer and prior to applying pressure (para 37-40, 46-47, 78, 87, 91-92) .
As to claim 45, Pervan discloses the method wherein the refined lignocellulosic fibres are resinated refined lignocellulosic fibres (fiber resonated, see at least para 49-50, 69).
As to claim 46, Pervan discloses the method wherein refined lignocellulosic fibres originate from a refining step in a MDF or HDF manufacturing process.
As to claim 47, Pervan discloses the method wherein the refined lignocellulosic fibres are applied as a powder (para 46-47).
As to claim 48, Pervan discloses the method wherein wherein the core is formed prior to producing the building panel (at least para 44, 48, claim 1).
As to claim 49, Pervan discloses the method wherein an open structure in the wood veneer layer is at least partly filled by the refined lignocellulosic fibres after applying pressure (open structure filled with 29, para 90-92, fig 7a-7e).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pervan.
While Pervan does not expressly disclose the refined lignocellulosic fibres are applied in an amount of 25-75 g/m2, Pervan discloses the number of fibers per area can be varied
depending on the cost/quality/flexibility/sound proofing requirements. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the refined lignocellulosic fibres in an amount of 25-75 g/m2 as such is a design choice obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 33-36, 39, 40, and 45-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,139,909. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in claims 1-12 of ‘909 encompass all of the limitation of claims 33-36, 39, 40, and 45-50 of the current application.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746