DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of 10/2/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11 and 20 under 35 USC 102 on 10/2/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the prior art to teach the new limitations. New prior art has been also provided that could read onto the new claim language. The claim language can read onto many impeller that blow fluid that have a shroud covering an inlet end with an inner edge, outer edge and hub end of a blade. There is an abundance of prior art that could read onto the generic blades being covered for an fan wheel/ impeller such as Rao et al. US 20230136866, Gruber et al. US 20200040904, Sawada et al. US 20180100517, and Liang et al. US 20190010955.
The rejection is updated below and made FINAL necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee US 20020028138.
Fan Wheel 1
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses: A ventilation fan (Fig 1) comprising
a fan housing (7) formed to define an interior space (area within 7),
an inlet opening (3i), and
an outlet opening (11e) spaced apart from the inlet opening (11e is spaced from 3i);
a fan wheel (13) arranged to lie within the interior space defining an axis of rotation about which the fan wheel is configured to rotate (Par 10: 15 rotates 13),
the fan wheel (Fig 8) comprising a hub (32),
a plurality of fan blades (40) having a hub end (end of blades secured to hub 32; as seen in the clip below) secured to the hub and
an opposing inlet end (end of blade towards the inlet; as seen in the clip below) configured to be located adjacent to the inlet opening,
wherein at least one of the fan blades defines an inner edge (Inner edge of the blade; as seen in the clip below) and an outer edge (Outer edge of the blade; as seen in the clip below), and
a plate (50) extending over the fan blade inlet ends (50 extends over the inlet ends of the blades) and covering the at least one fan blades inlet end from the inner edge to the outer edge (Plate 50 covers the blades inlet end from the inner edge to the outer edge; as seen in the clip below).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses:
a scroll (Fig 1: 9) and the fan wheel located within the scroll (13 is located in 9).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses:
wherein the plate defines an annulus (Fig 7: 50 is annulus).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses:
Wherein the plate outer edge is aligned with the blade outer edge at the blade inlet end (outer edge of the plate is aligned with the blade outer edge; as seen in the clip below).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses:
wherein the fan blade inner edge is angled with respect to the axis of rotation (Blades inner edge is angled with respect to the axis of rotation; as seen in the clip below).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses:
wherein the fan blade outer edge is parallel with the axis of rotation (rotation axis is parallel with the blade outer edge).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses:
wherein the at least one fan blade extends beyond an outer perimeter of the hub (Fig 8: 40 extends beyond the outer perimeter edge of 32).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses:
wherein the hub end of the at least one of the fan blades defines a secured portion secured to the hub (Fig 8: par of 40 hub end that is secured to 32) and a free portion, which extends radially beyond the hub (Free end of the hub end of 40 that extends past 32).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses:
wherein the hub end of at least one of the fan blades defines a secured portion secured to the hub (Fig 8: par of 40 hub end that is secured to 32) and a free portion, which extends radially beyond the hub (Free end of the hub end of 40 that extends past 32).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses: A fan wheel (Fig 1: 13) for a ventilation fan, the fan wheel comprising:
a hub (32),
a plurality of fan blades (40) having a hub end (end of blades secured to hub 32; as seen in the clip below) secured to the hub and
an opposing inlet end (end of blade towards the inlet; as seen in the clip below) configured to be located adjacent to the inlet opening of the ventilation fan,
wherein at least one of the fan blades defines an inner edge (Inner edge of the blade; as seen in the clip below) and an outer edge (Outer edge of the blade; as seen in the clip below), and
a plate (50) extending over the fan blade inlet ends (50 extends over the inlet ends of the blades) and covering the at least one fan blades inlet end from the inner edge to the outer edge (Plate 50 covers the blades inlet end from the inner edge to the outer edge; as seen in the clip below).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses:
wherein the plate defines an annulus (Fig 7: 50 is annulus).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses:
wherein the plate outer edge is aligned with the blade outer edge at the blade inlet end (outer edge of the plate is aligned with the blade outer edge; as seen in the clip below).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses:
Wherein the inner edge of the at least one of the fan blades is angled with respect to the axis of rotation (Blades inner edge is angled with respect to the axis of rotation; as seen in the clip below).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses:
wherein the outer edge of the at least one of the fan blades is parallel with the axis of rotation (rotation axis is parallel with the blade outer edge).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses:
wherein the at least one fan blade extends beyond an outer perimeter of the hub (Fig 8: 40 extends beyond the outer perimeter edge of 32).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses:
wherein the hub end of the at least one of the fan blades defines a secured portion secured to the hub (Fig 8: par of 40 hub end that is secured to 32) and a free portion, which extends radially beyond the hub (Free end of the hub end of 40 that extends past 32).
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses:
wherein the hub end of at least one of the fan blades defines a secured portion secured to the hub (Fig 8: par of 40 hub end that is secured to 32) and a free portion, which extends radially beyond the hub (Free end of the hub end of 40 that extends past 32).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses: A fan wheel (Fig 1: 13) comprising:
a hub (32),
a plurality of fan blades (40) having a hub end (end of blades secured to hub 32; as seen in the clip below) secured to the hub and
an opposing inlet end (end of blade towards the inlet; as seen in the clip below) configured to be located adjacent to the inlet opening of a ventilation fan,
wherein at least one of the fan blades defines an inner edge (Inner edge of the blade; as seen in the clip below) and an outer edge (Outer edge of the blade; as seen in the clip below), and
a plate (50) extending over the fan blade inlet ends (50 extends over the inlet ends of the blades) and covering the at least one fan blades inlet end from the inner edge to the outer edge (Plate 50 covers the blades inlet end from the inner edge to the outer edge; as seen in the clip below).
Fan Wheel 2
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses: A ventilation fan (Fig 1) comprising
a fan housing (7) formed to define an interior space (area within 7),
an inlet opening (3i), and
an outlet opening (11e) spaced apart from the inlet opening (11e is spaced from 3i);
a fan wheel (13) arranged to lie within the interior space defining an axis of rotation about which the fan wheel is configured to rotate (Par 10: 15 rotates 13),
the fan wheel (Fig 4) comprising a hub (42),
a plurality of fan blades (43) having a hub end (end of blades secured to hub 42; as seen in the clip below) secured to the hub and
an opposing inlet end (end of blade towards the inlet; as seen in the clip below) configured to be located adjacent to the inlet opening,
wherein at least one of the fan blades defines an inner edge (Inner edge of the blade; as seen in the clip below) and an outer edge (Outer edge of the blade; as seen in the clip below), and
a plate (44) extending over the fan blade inlet ends (44 extends over the inlet ends of the blades) and covering the at least one fan blades inlet end from the inner edge to the outer edge (Plate 44 covers the blades inlet end from the inner edge to the outer edge; as seen in the clip below).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses:
wherein the plate has an inner edge aligned with the blade inner edge at the blade inlet end (Plates inner edge is aligned with the blades inner edge).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses: A fan wheel (Fig 1: 13) for a ventilation fan, the fan wheel comprising:
a hub (42),
a plurality of fan blades (43) having a hub end (end of blades secured to hub 42; as seen in the clip below) secured to the hub and
an opposing inlet end (end of blade towards the inlet; as seen in the clip below) configured to be located adjacent to the inlet opening,
wherein at least one of the fan blades defines an inner edge (Inner edge of the blade; as seen in the clip below) and an outer edge (Outer edge of the blade; as seen in the clip below), and
a plate (44) extending over the fan blade inlet ends (44 extends over the inlet ends of the blades) and covering the at least one fan blades inlet end from the inner edge to the outer edge (Plate 44 covers the blades inlet end from the inner edge to the outer edge; as seen in the clip below).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses:
wherein the plate has an inner edge aligned with the blade inner edge at the blade inlet end (Plates inner edge is aligned with the blades inner edge).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rao et al. US 20230136866, Gruber et al. US 20200040904, Sawada et al. US 20180100517, and Liang et al. US 20190010955 discloses an impeller that can read onto many of the claims in the present application; such as the free up and inlet end cover. Huang et al. US 20220099106 discloses the covered inlet area of the blades that could be used as a modification and motivation to do so in paragraph 6-7.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrew J Marien/Examiner, Art Unit 3745