DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kaiser discloses a stator (10) for an electric machine (¶ [0016] electric motor), the stator (10) comprising:
a stator core (12) including a plurality of slots (14);
windings (16) positioned on the stator core (12), the windings (16) including a plurality of interconnected conductors (16) extending through the plurality of slots (14); and
an end ring (22) coupled to the stator core (12), the end ring (22) comprising a plurality of segments arranged circumferentially around the end ring (22), each of the plurality of segments comprising a pocket compartment (between ribs 24, see annotation below) defined between two radial ribs (24), each pocket compartment including a radially outward pocket floor (see annotation below) and a radially inward opening (between ribs 24) through the end ring (22), wherein the plurality of interconnected conductors (16) extend through the openings in the end ring (22; FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 1. Kaiser further discloses the end ring (22) comprising an axially-outward-facing side (upper side in FIG. 2) and an axially-inward-facing side (lower side in FIG. 2), wherein a chamfer (36) is formed around a perimeter of each opening on the axially-inward-facing side (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3/2, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 2. Kaiser further discloses wherein the stator slots (14) include axial openings (FIG. 2), and wherein the openings in the end ring (22) are greater in size than the axial openings to the stator slots (14; FIG.2 discloses the openings has angled portion 36 and curved portion 38 having openings larger than the slot).
Regarding claim 4/2, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 2. Kaiser further discloses a plurality of slot liners (30) arranged in the plurality of slots (14), the plurality of slot liners (30) extending axially through the slots (14) and through the openings in the end ring (22A, 22B), each of the plurality of slot liners (30) positioned between walls of a slot (14) and the conductors (16) extending through the slot (14).
Regarding claim 13/1, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 1. Kaiser further discloses the end ring (22) is a first insulative end ring (22A) positioned on a crown end (18) of the stator core (12), the stator (10) further comprising a second insulative end ring (22B) positioned on a weld end (20) of the stator core (12).
Regarding claim 14, Kaiser discloses an end ring (22) for a stator (10) comprising:
an axially-outward-facing side (upper side in FIG. 2) and an opposite axially-inward facing side (lower side in FIG. 2) the axially-outward-facing side including:
a plurality of radial ribs (24) arranged circumferentially around the end ring (22); and
a plurality of pocket compartments (between ribs 24, see annotation below) arranged circumferentially around the end ring (22), each pocket compartment positioned between two radial ribs (24) and including a radially outward pocket floor (see annotation below) and a radially inward opening (between ribs 24) through the end ring (22); and
the axially-inward-facing side including a flat surface with a chamfered perimeter (36) surrounding the radially inward opening (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 15/14, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 14. Kaiser further discloses the end ring (22) is a unitary monolithic structure comprised of a polymer material (¶ [0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 A1)
Regarding claim 5/4, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 4. While Kaiser does not explicitly disclose the slot liners extend at least 2.8 mm past an axial end of the stator core, it would be obvious to try for one of ordinary skill in the art, as there is a finite amount of length the slot liners can extends past an axial end of the stator core, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the appropriate length of the slot liners to extend from the stator core without causing damage to the slot liner during assembly.
Regarding claim 11/1, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 1. While Kaiser does not explicitly disclose the pocket floor has an axial thickness less than 3.2 mm, it would be obvious to try for one of ordinary skill in the art to keep the pocket floor, and in turn the end ring, as thin as possible. Keeping the size of the stator as compact as possible is a common goal within the art, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the appropriate length of the pocket floor axial length to keep the axial length of the stator.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 A1) in view of Katou et al. (US 6,674,211 B2).
Regarding claim 6/4, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 4. Kaiser does not disclose each of the plurality of slot liners include an overlapping portion arranged along a radially outward wall of the slot.
Katou discloses each of the plurality of slot liners (3) include an overlapping portion (37) arranged along a radially outward wall of the slot (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Katou to disclose each of the plurality of slot liners include an overlapping potion arranged along a radially outward wall of the slot, for the advantages of keeping the slot liner firmly kept in the slot without movement during insertion of conductors.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 A1) in view of Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1) and Hays et al. (US 2020/0368575 A1)
Regarding claim 7/1, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 1. Kaiser does not disclose an adhesive gasket positioned between the end ring and the stator core.
Yang discloses a gasket (¶ [0084] sealed by second silicon steel sheet 216) positioned between the end ring (23) and the stator core (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Yang to disclose an gasket positioned between the end ring and the stator core, for the advantages of allowing a coolant to flow through the stator to cool the stator.
Kaiser in view of Yang does not disclose the gasket is an adhesive gasket.
Hays discloses the gasket (236) is an adhesive gasket (¶ [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Yang, further in view of Hays to disclose the first gasket and the second gasket are adhesive gaskets, as disclosed by Hays in ¶ [0039], replacing a gasket with an adhesive or tape is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 A1) in view of Ito (US 2023/0069321 A1).
Regarding claim 7/1, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 1. Kaiser further discloses an outer edge (see annotation below) extending around an outer diameter of the end ring (22).
Kaiser does not disclose an inner lip extending around an inner diameter of the end ring.
Ito discloses the inner lip (52) extending around an inner diameter of first end ring (53; FIG. 15A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Ito to disclose the inner lip extending around an inner diameter of the end ring, for the advantages of separating stator coolant away from the rotor.
Regarding claim 10/8, Kaiser in view of Yang and Ito was discussed above in claim 8. Kaiser further discloses the radial ribs (24) connect the outer edge of the first end ring with the inner lip of the end ring (22; FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 16/14, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 14. Kaiser further discloses the each pocket compartment is further positioned between an inner lip (radial inner side in FIG. 5), and an outer edge (see annotation above) extending around an outer diameter of the end ring (22).
Kaiser does not disclose the inner lip extending around an inner diameter of the end ring.
Ito discloses the inner lip (52) extending around an inner diameter of the end ring (53; FIG. 15A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Ito to disclose the inner lip extending around an inner diameter of the end ring, for the advantages of separating stator coolant away from the rotor.
Regarding claim 17/16, Kaiser in view of Ito was discussed above in claim 16. Ito further discloses the inner lip (52) is defined by an axial dimension that is greater than that of the outer diameter (FIG. 15A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Ito to disclose the inner lip is defined by an axial dimension that is greater than that of the outer diameter, for the advantages of separating stator coolant away from the rotor.
Regarding claim 18/16, Kaiser in view of Ito was discussed above in claim 16. Kaiser further discloses the radial rib (24) connects the inner lip to the outer edge (FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 19/18, Kaiser in view of Ito was discussed above in claim 18. While Kaiser in view of Ito does not explicitly disclose the pocket floor has an axial thickness less than 3.2 mm, it would be obvious to try for one of ordinary skill in the art to keep the pocket floor, and in turn the end ring, as thin as possible. Keeping the size of the stator as compact as possible is a common goal within the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the appropriate length of the pocket floor axial length to keep the axial length of the stator.
Regarding claim 20/16, Kaiser in view of Ito was discussed above in claim 16. Kaiser further discloses the radial ribs (24) and the outer edge (see annotation above) have substantially the same axial height (FIG. 5).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 1) in view of Ito (US 2023/0069321 A1)as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1).
Regarding claim 9/8, Kaiser in view of Ito was discussed above in claim 8. Kaiser in view of Ito does not disclose an inner lip seal engaging the inner diameter of the end ring and an outer lip seal engaging the outer diameter of the end ring.
Yang discloses an inner lip seal (216) engaging the inner diameter of the end ring (23) and an outer lip seal (¶ [0086] the outer edge is sealed by the housing 1) engaging the outer diameter of the end ring (23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Ito, further in view of Yang to disclose an inner lip seal engaging the inner diameter of the end ring and an outer lip seal engaging the outer diameter of the end ring, for the advantages of allowing a coolant to flow through the stator to cool the stator.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 A1) in view of Yang (US 2025/0007339 A1).
Regarding claim 12/1, Kaiser was discussed above in claim 1. Kaiser does not disclose a cured insulative filler material in each pocket compartment.
Yang discloses a cured insulative filler material (¶ [0119 resin]) provided on the end ring (23).
Yang discloses the motor is covered in resin through trickle impregnation process, where resin is dripped on the coil winding and into the coil slot, indicating the resin would cover not only the coil winding but the end ring as well. In combination, Kaiser’s pocket compartment would also be filled with the resin as the motor is impregnated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kaiser in view of Yang to disclose a cured insulative filler material in each pocket compartment, for the advantages of improving strength and insulation effect of the stator.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser et al. (US 2010/0253175 A1) in view of Stubsgaard et al. (US 11,990,815 B2)
Kaiser does not disclose the plastic material is a high glass filled plastic.
Stubsgaard discloses the plastic material is a high glass filled plastic (Quartz based material such as glass; col. 15 ll. 48-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Stubsgaard to disclose the end ring is comprised of a high glass filled plastic material, as disclosed by Stubsgaard, replacing one electrically insulating material to another insulating material is a simple substitution to obtain predictable results (col. 15 ll. 48-57).
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834