DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US 20230318786 A1), hereinafter “Takeda”, in view of Zhao et al. (US 20250253994 A1), hereinafter “Zhao”.
Per claim 1, 11 and 16:
Regarding claim 11, Takeda teaches ‘A terminal device’ (Takeda: [FIG.9]: block “115” => UE”; [0166]: “The device 905 may be … a UE”); ‘comprising: a transceiver’ (Takeda: [FIG.9]: block 915: “Transceiver”);
‘configured to
receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on a first time unit set in a case that a first resource element is overlapped with a second resource element’ (Takeda: [FIG.3]: UE receives PDCCH from network over resource elements (REs) in one slot (14 symbols with 12 REs per symbol); [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”; one to three symbols (time unit set) for PDCCH; [0112]: “the LTE reference signals may be transmitted during (e.g., may occur in) a number of symbols of the PDCCH … techniques which enable NR PDCCH reception in symbols with resources allocated for LTE reference signals (e.g., LTE reference signal resources, the reference signal resources 325) may be improve communication reliability and flexibility for wireless devices”; [0113]: “puncturing may be used to enable mapping of NR PDCCH candidates on symbols in which LTE reference signal resources are allocated”; receive PDCCH in symbols (time unit set) where PDCCH REs overlapping with LTE reference signal REs; [0063]: “a wireless communications system may support dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS), such that multiple network entities (e.g., neighboring network entities) may use a same radio frequency spectrum band or overlapping portions of a same radio frequency spectrum band”);
‘wherein the first resource element is a resource element occupied by a first reference signal, the first reference signal corresponding to a control channel resource of the PDCCH’ (Takeda: [FIG.3]: REs for PDCCH signals; [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”; [0110]: “resource of a control channel candidate (e.g., a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate) configured for monitoring PDCCH signals”; [0113]: “the UE 315 may receive a CORESET indication message 335 indicating a CORESET associated with an NR RAT”; [0003]: “a control resource set (CORESET)”; [0113]: “patterns for control channel puncturing, as described herein, may provide performance gains for communications between the UE 315 and the network by increasing the utilization of communication resources (e.g., by increasing available PDCCH resources)”; [0116]: “resources allocated for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions (e.g., NR DMRS transmissions by the network entity”). However, Takeda fails to expressly teach NR DMRS (a first reference signal) corresponding to a control channel resource of the PDCCH;
‘the second resource element is a resource element occupied by a second reference signal’ (Takeda: [FIG.3]: REs in one slot; [0112]: “the LTE reference signals may be transmitted during (e.g., may occur in) a number of symbols of the PDCCH … techniques which enable NR PDCCH reception in symbols with resources allocated for LTE reference signals”; [0114]: “the LTE reference signals (e.g., the LTE-CRS)”);
‘the first time unit set is a set consisting of time units corresponding to the control channel resource’ (Takeda: [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”, one to three symbols (time unit set) for PDCCH; [0110]: “resource of a control channel candidate (e.g., a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate) configured for monitoring PDCCH signals”; [0113]: “the UE 315 may receive a CORESET indication message 335 indicating a CORESET associated with an NR RAT”).
Zhao in the same field of endeavor teaches NR DMRS corresponding to a control channel resource of the PDCCH in conflict (overlap) with LTE CRS RE (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”, “CORESET”; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 16, Takeda teaches ‘A network device’ (Takeda: [FIG.10]: network device; [0175]: “The device 1005 may be an example of aspects of a network entity” ); ‘comprising: a transceiver’ (Takeda: [FIG.10]: “Receiver”, “Transmitter”);
‘configured to
transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on a first time unit set in a case that a first resource element is overlapped with a second resource element’ (Takeda: [FIG.3]: Network transmits PDCCH from network over resource elements (REs) in one slot (14 symbols with 12 REs per symbol); [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”; one to three symbols (time unit set) for PDCCH; [0112]: “the LTE reference signals may be transmitted during (e.g., may occur in) a number of symbols of the PDCCH … techniques which enable NR PDCCH reception in symbols with resources allocated for LTE reference signals (e.g., LTE reference signal resources, the reference signal resources 325) may be improve communication reliability and flexibility for wireless devices”; [0113]: “puncturing may be used to enable mapping of NR PDCCH candidates on symbols in which LTE reference signal resources are allocated”; transmit PDCCH in symbols (time unit set) where PDCCH REs overlapping with LTE reference signal REs; [0063]: “a wireless communications system may support dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS), such that multiple network entities (e.g., neighboring network entities) may use a same radio frequency spectrum band or overlapping portions of a same radio frequency spectrum band”);
‘wherein the first resource element is a resource element occupied by a first reference signal, the first reference signal corresponding to a control channel resource of the PDCCH’ (Takeda: [FIG.3]: REs for PDCCH signals; [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”; [0110]: “resource of a control channel candidate (e.g., a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate) configured for monitoring PDCCH signals”; [0113]: “the UE 315 may receive a CORESET indication message 335 indicating a CORESET associated with an NR RAT”; [0003]: “a control resource set (CORESET)”; [0113]: “patterns for control channel puncturing, as described herein, may provide performance gains for communications between the UE 315 and the network by increasing the utilization of communication resources (e.g., by increasing available PDCCH resources)”; [0116]: “resources allocated for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions (e.g., NR DMRS transmissions by the network entity”). However, Takeda fails to expressly teach NR DMRS (a first reference signal) corresponding to a control channel resource of the PDCCH;
‘the second resource element is a resource element occupied by a second reference signal’ (Takeda: [FIG.3]: REs in one slot; [0112]: “the LTE reference signals may be transmitted during (e.g., may occur in) a number of symbols of the PDCCH … techniques which enable NR PDCCH reception in symbols with resources allocated for LTE reference signals”; [0114]: “the LTE reference signals (e.g., the LTE-CRS)”);
‘the first time unit set is a set consisting of time units corresponding to the control channel resource’ (Takeda: [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”, one to three symbols (time unit set) for PDCCH; [0110]: “resource of a control channel candidate (e.g., a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate) configured for monitoring PDCCH signals”; [0113]: “the UE 315 may receive a CORESET indication message 335 indicating a CORESET associated with an NR RAT”).
Zhao in the same field of endeavor teaches NR DMRS corresponding to a control channel resource of the PDCCH in conflict (overlap) with LTE CRS RE (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”, “CORESET”; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the terminal device according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above).
Per claim 2, 12 and 17:
Regarding claim 12, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the terminal device according to claim 11 (discussed above).
Combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches ‘receive the PDCCH on the first time unit set in a case that the first resource element is overlapped with the second resource element’ (Takeda: [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”; one to three symbols (time unit set) for PDCCH; [0112]: “the LTE reference signals may be transmitted during (e.g., may occur in) a number of symbols of the PDCCH … techniques which enable NR PDCCH reception in symbols with resources allocated for LTE reference signals (e.g., LTE reference signal resources, the reference signal resources 325) may be improve communication reliability and flexibility for wireless devices”, receive PDCCH in symbols (time unit set) where PDCCH REs overlapping with LTE reference signal REs);
‘the first time unit set comprises at least one first time unit’ (Takeda: [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”; at least one symbol (one time unit) for PDCCH);
‘wherein a first overlap does not occur in the first time unit’ (Takeda: [0068]: “The patterns may be … non-overlapping in frequency”. Zhao: [0043]: “PDCCH candidates not overlapped with the LTE CRS”);
‘the first overlap comprising an overlap between a resource element occupied by the first reference signal and a resource element occupied by the second reference signal’ (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”, “CORESET”; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”);
‘be not required to monitor a PDCCH candidate in a case that the first resource element is overlapped with the second resource element on each time unit of the first time unit set; or not expect that the first resource element is overlapped with the second resource element on each time unit of the first time unit set’ (these are optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching of NR PDCCH DMRS with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 17, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the network device according to claim 16 (discussed above).
Combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches ‘transmit the PDCCH on the first time unit set in a case that the first resource element is overlapped with the second resource element’ (Takeda: [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”; one to three symbols (time unit set) for PDCCH; [0112]: “the LTE reference signals may be transmitted during (e.g., may occur in) a number of symbols of the PDCCH … techniques which enable NR PDCCH reception in symbols with resources allocated for LTE reference signals (e.g., LTE reference signal resources, the reference signal resources 325) may be improve communication reliability and flexibility for wireless devices”, transmit PDCCH in symbols (time unit set) where PDCCH REs overlapping with LTE reference signal REs);
‘the first time unit set comprises at least one first time unit’ (Takeda: [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”; at least one symbol (one time unit) for PDCCH);
‘wherein a first overlap does not occur in the first time unit’ (Takeda: [0068]: “The patterns may be … non-overlapping in frequency”. Zhao: [0043]: “PDCCH candidates not overlapped with the LTE CRS”);
‘the first overlap comprising an overlap between the resource element occupied by the first reference signal and the resource element occupied by the second reference signal’ (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”, “CORESET”; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching of NR PDCCH DMRS with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites the method implemented by the terminal device according to claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the method according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches ‘adjusting resources occupied by the first reference signal on a third time unit set from a first resource element set to a second resource element set’ (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”,
=> shift (adjust) the DMRS REs in first two symbols which overlap with LTE CRS REs to avoid conflicts; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”);
‘receiving the PDCCH on the first time unit set in the case that the first resource element is overlapped with the second resource element’ (Takeda: [0112]: “the LTE reference signals may be transmitted during (e.g., may occur in) a number of symbols of the PDCCH … techniques which enable NR PDCCH reception in symbols with resources allocated for LTE reference signals (e.g., LTE reference signal resources, the reference signal resources 325) may be improve communication reliability and flexibility for wireless devices”, receive PDCCH in symbols (time unit set) where PDCCH REs overlapping with LTE reference signal REs);
‘wherein the third time unit set is a subset of a second time unit set, and the second time unit set is a set consisting of time units where a first overlap occurs in the first time unit set’ (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”,
=> third time unit set = second time unit set = first two symbols);
‘the first overlap comprising an overlap between the resource element occupied by the first reference signal and the resource element occupied by the second reference signal’ (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”, “CORESET”; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching of NR PDCCH DMRS with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the method according to claim 4 (discussed above).
Combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches ‘adjusting the resources occupied by the first reference signal in the third time unit set from the first resource element set to the second resource element set’ (Zhao: FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”,
=> shift (adjust) the DMRS REs in first two symbols which overlap with LTE CRS REs to avoid conflicts; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”);
‘in a case that a quantity of time units in the second time unit set is equal to a quantity of time units in the first time unit set’ (Takeda: [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”. Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”,
; in case that PDCCH spans only two symbols => both first time unit set and second time unit set have two time units (symbols));
‘adjusting the resources occupied by the first reference signal in the third time unit set from the first resource element set to the second resource element set in a case that a ratio of a quantity of time units in the second time unit set to a quantity of time units in the first time unit set is greater than or equal to a second threshold’ (this is optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching of NR PDCCH DMRS with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the method according to claim 4 (discussed above).
Takeda does not expressly teach, but Zhao teaches ‘adjusting the resources occupied by the first reference signal on the third time unit set from the first resource element set to the second resource element set in a case that to a quantity of time units in the first time unit set is greater than 1’ (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”,
=> the first time unit set has 3 time units (3 symbols), shift (adjust) the DMRS REs in first two symbols which overlap with LTE CRS REs to avoid conflicts; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching of NR PDCCH DMRS with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the method according to claim 4 (discussed above).
Takeda does not expressly teach, but Zhao teaches ‘wherein at least one resource element of the second resource element set is shifted by X resource elements in a frequency domain relative to corresponding at least one resource element of the first resource element set, X being an integer’ (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”,
=> shift 1 RE above in frequency domain relative to the DMRS REs in first two symbols which overlap with LTE CRS REs to avoid conflicts; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching of NR PDCCH DMRS with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Per claim 8, 13 and 18:
Regarding claim 13, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the terminal device according to claim 11 (discussed above).
Takeda teaches ‘wherein the control channel resource comprises at least one of a PDCCH candidate resource or a control resource set’ (Takeda: [0110]: “resource of a control channel candidate (e.g., a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate) configured for monitoring PDCCH signals (e.g., NR PDCCH signals) by the UE”; [0003]: “a control resource set (CORESET)”).
Regarding claim 18, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the network device according to claim 16 (discussed above).
Takeda teaches ‘wherein the control channel resource comprises at least one of a PDCCH candidate resource or a control resource set’ (Takeda: [0110]: “resource of a control channel candidate (e.g., a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate) configured for monitoring PDCCH signals (e.g., NR PDCCH signals) by the UE”; [0003]: “a control resource set (CORESET)”).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites the method implemented by the terminal device according to claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above).
Per claim 9, 14 and 19:
Regarding claim 14, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the terminal device according to claim 11 (discussed above).
Combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches ‘wherein the first reference signal comprises a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)’ (Takeda: [0116]: “resources allocated for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions (e.g., NR DMRS transmissions by the network entity”. Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”);
‘the second reference signal comprises a cell-specific reference signal (CRS)’ (Takeda: [0114]: “The LTE reference signals may, in some examples, be LTE cell-specific reference signals (LTE-CRS)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching of NR PDCCH DMRS with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 19, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the network device according to claim 16 (discussed above).
Combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches ‘wherein the first reference signal comprises a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)’ (Takeda: [0116]: “resources allocated for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions (e.g., NR DMRS transmissions by the network entity”. Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”);
‘the second reference signal comprises a cell-specific reference signal (CRS)’ (Takeda: [0114]: “The LTE reference signals may, in some examples, be LTE cell-specific reference signals (LTE-CRS)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching of NR PDCCH DMRS with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 recites the method implemented by the terminal device according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above).
Per claim 10, 15 and 20:
Regarding claim 15, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the terminal device according to claim 11 (discussed above).
Takeda teaches ‘wherein a resource element of the CRS is configured by the network device via a high-level parameter’ (Takeda: [0114]: “LTE cell-specific reference signals (LTE-CRS) … the network entity 305 may indicate the one or multiple patterns through higher layer parameters, such as via a RateMachPatternLTE-CRS IE of an RRC configuration”);
‘the high-level parameter comprises a long-term evolution-cell-specific reference signal-to match around (LTE-CRS-to match around)’ (Takeda: [0114]: “the RateMachPatternLTE-CRS IE may be included in the lte-CRS-ToMatchAround field”); ‘a long-term evolution-cell-specific reference signal-pattern list (LTE-CRS-pattern list)’ (this is optional).
Regarding claim 20, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the network device according to claim 16 (discussed above).
Takeda teaches ‘wherein a resource element of the CRS is configured by the network device via a high-level parameter’ (Takeda: [0114]: “LTE cell-specific reference signals (LTE-CRS) … the network entity 305 may indicate the one or multiple patterns through higher layer parameters, such as via a RateMachPatternLTE-CRS IE of an RRC configuration”);
‘the high-level parameter comprises a long-term evolution-cell-specific reference signal-to match around (LTE-CRS-to match around)’ (Takeda: [0114]: “the RateMachPatternLTE-CRS IE may be included in the lte-CRS-ToMatchAround field”); ‘a long-term evolution-cell-specific reference signal-pattern list (LTE-CRS-pattern list)’ (this is optional).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites the method implemented by the terminal device according to claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Takeda and Zhao as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Sakhnini et al. (US 20230074563 A1), hereinafter “Sakhnini”.
Regarding claim 3, combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches the method according to claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Takeda and Zhao teaches ‘receiving the PDCCH on the first time unit set in a case that the first resource element is overlapped with the second resource element’ (Takeda: [0111]: “a PDCCH candidate may span a number (e.g., ranging from one to three) of symbols (e.g., OFDM symbols) of a slot”; one to three symbols (time unit set) for PDCCH; [0112]: “the LTE reference signals may be transmitted during (e.g., may occur in) a number of symbols of the PDCCH … techniques which enable NR PDCCH reception in symbols with resources allocated for LTE reference signals (e.g., LTE reference signal resources, the reference signal resources 325) may be improve communication reliability and flexibility for wireless devices”, receive PDCCH in symbols (time unit set) where PDCCH REs overlapping with LTE reference signal REs);
‘a ratio of a quantity of time units in a second time unit set to a quantity of time units in the first time unit set is greater than or equal to a first threshold; wherein the second time unit set is a set consisting of time units where a first overlap occurs in the first time unit set’ (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”,
=> 3 symbols (first time unit set has 3 time units): first two symbols (second time unit set has 2 time units) where NR PDCCH DMRS RE overlapping with LTE CRS REs, third symbol does not overlap with LTE CRS REs => ratio = 2/3; [FIG.19]: “
”; [TABLE 1]; [TABLE 2]; [0303]: “The LTE RS overhead factor α is determined, and the factor α (first proportion) is related to different available-RE index sets. The DMRS index defined by DMRS pattern is the remaining RE definition other than the RE indexes occupied by LTE RS. Illustratively, the correspondence between the factor α and the available-RE index set is as shown in Table 1, and the corresponding way of determining the available REs is as shown in FIG. 19”); However, combination of Takeda and Zhao fails to expressly teach a ratio is greater than or equal to a first threshold;
‘the first overlap comprising an overlap between the resource element occupied by the first reference signal and the resource element occupied by the second reference signal’ (Zhao: [FIG.5A]: “NR PDCCH DMRS”, “CORESET”; [0076]-[0077]: “the NR PDCCH DMRS is in conflict with the LTE CRS RE … the NR PDCCH DMRS shifts REs in frequency domain to avoid conflicts”; [0093]: “the terminal side may determine the candidate REs by shift in frequency domain and/or time domain and detect and receive the first DMRS on the available REs of the candidate REs. In the DSS scenario, the interference of the reference signal from the LTE system for the DMRS of the NR PDCCH can be effectively avoided while the system capacity of the NR PDCCH can be improved, thereby improving the NR system performance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhao’s teaching of NR PDCCH DMRS with that of Takeda in order to improve NR system performance (see reference quotes in element above).
Sakhnini in the same field of endeavor teaches perform communication if a ratio of a first amount of overlapping symbols to a second amount of symbols is greater than or equal to a threshold (Sakhnini: [FIG.11]: block 1108: “Communication the transmission”; [0140]: “the apparatus may select one of the actions based on the amount of overlapping time resources. For example, the apparatus may select block 1110 in response to a ratio of a first amount of overlapping time resources (e.g., in numbers of symbols) to a second amount of the second set of time resources (e.g., in numbers of symbols) being less than a threshold and block 1106 or 1108 in response to the ratio being greater than the threshold”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Sakhnini’s teaching with that of combination of Takeda and Zhao for terminal device to receive the PDCCH on the first time unit set in a case that the first resource element is overlapped with the second resource element and a ratio of a quantity of time units in a second time unit set to a quantity of time units in the first time unit set is greater than or equal to a first threshold in order to perform actions based on the amount of overlapping time resources (see reference quotes in element above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220182843 A1 see [FIG.7A]-[FIG.16], [0031]-[0057], [0091]-[0093];
US 20230180031 A1 see [FIG.6C]-[FIG.13], [0062]-[0081];
US 20220386342 A1 see [FIG.6C]-[FIG.20], [0081]-[0104];
US 20230337231 A1 see [FIG.3]-[FIG.4E], [0007]-[0025], [0089]-[0107];
US 20220345240 A1 see [FIG.8]-[FIG.12], [0063]-[0067];
US 20230081776 A1 see [FIG.4]-[FIG.10], [0199]-[0240];
US 20240414556 A1 see [FIG.1]-[FIG.5], [0070]-[0077].
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462