DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed 10/14/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harris, IV, US 2007/0103833.
Re claim 1, Harris, IV teaches an electrical assembly [Figs 1, 6], comprising: a conductor [node]; a switch [50] electrically connected to the conductor; and a control circuit [20] connected to the switch, the control circuit including at least one of an electronic controller [microcomputer 30], a sensor, or a filter; wherein the control circuit is configured to operate the switch according to a maximum energy capacity [let-through energy] of the conductor and a net energy [total energy] of the conductor [paragraph 109].
Re claim 2, Harris, IV teaches wherein operating the switch includes opening the switch in accordance with determining that the net energy exceeds the maximum energy capacity [paragraph 109].
Re claim 5, Harris, IV teaches wherein the net energy of the conductor includes a sum of a present energy value and a prior energy value [paragraph 111, the next cycle calculates E total-1 for its previous cycle].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-20 are allowed.
Claims 3, 6, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or disclose:
Re claim 3 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “the control circuit is configured to determine an energy dissipation of the conductor and determine the net energy, at least in part, according to the energy dissipation” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 6 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “the prior energy value includes a prior present energy value and a second prior energy value; and the control circuit obtains the present energy value via the sensor” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 8 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “determines whether the conductor is in an equilibrium mode, a consumption mode, or a recovery mode; determines an energy capacity value of the conductor according to the determined mode; and controls the switch according to the energy capacity value” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Re claim 16 and its dependents thereof, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “determining a net energy of the conductor, at least in part, according to the present energy and the energy dissipation; opening a switch electrically connected with the conductor in accordance with determining that the net energy exceeds a maximum energy capacity of the conductor; and closing the switch or maintaining the switch in a closed position in accordance with determining that the net energy does not exceed the maximum energy capacity of the conductor” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/LaKaisha Jackson/
Examiner, Art Unit 2838