Detailed Action
Claims 1-16 (dated 12/06/2024) are pending in this application and is now under consideration for examination.
Priority
Applicants’ claim for the benefit of priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application is a is DIV of 18/301,460 filed on 04/17/2023 now US 12,146,122, which is a DIV of 16/305,259 filed on 11/28/2018 now US 11,661,567, which is a 371 of PCT/US2017/035217 filed on 05/31/2017, which claims benefit of Provisional application 62/343,618 filed on 05/31/2016.
Information disclosure statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS statement is considered and initialed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 101
Non-Statutory Subject Matter
Claims 1-2 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon an analysis with respect to the claims as a whole, claims 1-2 and 5-13 do not recite something significantly different than a judicial exception as per the Supreme Court decision in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc (June 13, 2013) and in light of the Interim Guidance on Subject Matter Eligibility of December 16, 2014. The rationale for this determination is explained below.
Claims 1-2 and 5-13 are directed to naturally-occurring protein(s), or composition thereof, whether isolated, synthetic or recombinant or man-made mutation or not, that are not patent-eligible pursuant to the Supreme Court decision in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 106 USPQ2d 1972 (June 13, 2013), as they are not markedly different than the naturally-occurring protein(s) or composition thereof protein variants corresponding to amino acid residue positions of SEQ ID NO: 2 and having 86.3% and having protease activity (see UniProtKB/TrEMBL database Accession# A0A0T6BNC6 see provided sequence alignment); the occurrence of mutations within naturally occurring proteins is well known in the art and the encoded polypeptide (naturally occurring variant(s)) has the following mutations T77I-N184Q and T77I-N184Q-A202V, … corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application (see provided sequence alignment), thus the proteins of claims 1-2 and 5-13 are directed to natural products (see, the recent Office Guidance For Determining Subject Matter Eligibility Of Claims Reciting Or Involving Laws of Nature, Natural Phenomena, & Natural Products, available from http://www.uspto.gov/patents/law/exam/examguide.jsp). Although claims 5-13 are directed to inherent properties of the variant/mutant as structure and function are inseparable and detergent compositions and recite that the composition is “a detergent, a detergent additive” alone without anything else clearly meets the recitation of “a detergent, a detergent additive”. The terms surfactant and detergent also encompasses naturally occurring products (see Surfactants: the ubiquitous amphiphiles, and Saponins, provided in DIV application 18/301,460 Non-Final rejection 02/16/2024) and recite compositions additionally comprising ions and additional enzymes, ions and enzymes are also naturally occurring. Compositions that are mere aggregation of naturally occurring products, wherein upon aggregation the products are not markedly different, are also not patent eligible (see particularly Examples D and E of the recent “Guidance for Determining Subject Matter Eligibility of claims reciting or involving Laws of Nature, Natural Phenomena, & Natural Products” http://www.uspto.gov/patents/law/exam/examguide.jsp). Also see Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127 (1948), which held that a facially trivial implementation of a natural principle or phenomenon of nature is not eligible for a patent and Example 6 “Bacterial Mixtures” as the relevant “Nature Based Product Example” set forth by the USPTO at http://www.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/2014-interim-guidance-subject-matter-eligibility. There is no evidence that either the protein of SEQ ID NO: 2 and corresponding variant, a surfactant/detergent, an ion, or an enzyme, in the composition, is markedly different than the naturally occurring products. As such, the claims recite patent ineligible subject matter for the reasons stated.
A “product that is purified or isolated, for example, will be eligible when there is a resultant change in characteristics sufficient to show a marked difference from the product’s naturally occurring counterpart. If the claim recites a nature-based product limitation that does not exhibit markedly different characteristics, the claim is directed to a ‘product of nature' exception.” 79 FR, page 74623, right column. A change in biological activity, chemical or physical properties, and structure and form are given as non-limiting examples of possible “markedly different characteristics.” 79 FR, page 74623, right column. Here, as stated, the rejected claims encompass naturally-occurring proteases having the same structure, and therefore biological activity, chemical and physical properties, as a naturally-occurring product. As such, the claims appear to be directed towards nothing more than a judicial exception for the reasons stated. The claims recite ineligible subject matter for the reasons stated.
Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 102 (AIA )
Claims 1-2, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al., (Int. J. Syst. Evol. Microbiol., 2015. Vol. 65: 3586-3590) discloses variant/mutant of the subtilisin/serine protease, said reference protease having 86.3% and having protease activity (see UniProtKB/TrEMBL database Accession# A0A0T6BNC6 see provided sequence alignment); naturally occurring variant(s) reference polypeptide has the following mutation T77I-N184Q and T77I-N184Q-A202V, corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application (see provided sequence alignment). Said variant also has at least one of the structural limitation recited in each of claims 1-2, 5 and 8.
Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim et al., (Int. J. Syst. Evol. Microbiol., 2015. Vol. 65: 3586-3590) as applied to claims 1-2, 5 and 8 (see 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection above) and in view of Estell et al., (WO 2016/183509 A1; priority 05/13/2015, in IDS).
The disclosure of Kim et al., (Int. J. Syst. Evol. Microbiol., 2015. Vol. 65: 3586-3590) as applied to claims 1-2, 5 and 8 is described above in 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection above. However, Kim et al., is silent regarding parent comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 (as in claims 3-4); …improved cleaning performance in detergent … (as in claims 5-7 and 9) ; the composition further comprises one or more calcium ion… additional enzymes and a method of use/cleaning (as in claims 10-16).
Regarding claims 3-16, the following reference teaches the structural and functional elements of the instant invention: priority 05/13/2015, in IDS).
Regarding claims 3-16, Estell et al., (WO 2016/183509 A1; priority 05/13/2015, in IDS) discloses variants of the subtilisin/serine protease of SEQ ID NO: 2 therein (having 100% identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 herein), said variants having any amino acid at the position corresponding to one or more of the following residues A1Q, T3Q/V, P9E, L10M, K15I, A24Q, V26Q A29S, I35A, V45Q/R, A52R, A68S, V71A, N76K, T77D/E/H/N/Q, T78I, S86H/R, V87S/T, L95A, N96S, S98R, G99Q, S100G, S102, Y103, S108H, M123I, G127S/T/V, A128P/R/S, S129H/R, V147L, S115N, S158D, N160C/D, T161D/Q, G165A/E/Q, N184E/Q, S187E/P, A193D, A202V, G203E/N/QT210E/I, N217S, N239S/T, A242G/N, S258D/E/P, F260W, K264H/Q … (see Abstract; ¶ [01-07]; [0134-0145]; ¶ [03] clearly suggests “some embodiments are directed to an AprL-clade variant subtilisin enzyme or an active fragment thereof comprising one or more amino acid modification to a parent AprL-clade subtilisin enzyme”; (¶ [0155-0160]); Assays and Productive Positions and Combinable Mutations, (¶ [0294-0329]); and entire document) and the use of said reference protease variants in detergent compositions and additionally comprising enzymes such as amylases, cellulases … (¶ [0211-0224]and entire document). Said variants also have at least one of the structural limitation recited in each of claims 1-3. Estell et al., (WO 2016/183509 A1; priority 05/13/2015, in IDS) are silent regarding said subtilisin variant having specific combination of mutations in SEQ ID NO: 2; i.e., combinations of Claim 1; T77N-G165Q, T77N-S258P, N184Q-S258P, and T781-N1 84Q; and Claim 2: combinations T77N-G165Q-N184Q, T77N-G165Q-A202V; T77N-G165Q-S258P and T77N-N184Q-S258P. The many advantages of specific amino acid residue changes including the following substitutions in SEQ ID NO: 2, as claimed in the instant invention are disclosed in Estell et al., T77D/E/H/N/Q, T78I, N184E/Q, and S258D/E/P; said reference also in ¶ [03] clearly suggests “some embodiments are directed to an AprL-clade variant subtilisin enzyme or an active fragment thereof comprising one or more amino acid modification to a parent AprL-clade subtilisin enzyme”; Assays and Productive Positions and Combinable Mutations (¶ [0294-0329]).
As such, disclosure of a polypeptide annotated as subtilisin, said polypeptide having 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application including the claimed substitutions in SEQ ID NO: 2 as claimed in the instant invention T77D/E/H/N/Q, T78I, N184E/Q, and S258D/E/P, clearly suggests to a skilled artisan to modify the teachings of Estell et al., i.e., specific combinable mutations and the biochemical advantages of the claimed combination of substitutions as claimed in claims 1-2 of the instant invention: i.e., combinations Claim 1; T77N-G165Q, T77N-S258P, N184Q-S258P, and T781-N1 84Q; and Claim 2: combinations T77N-G165Q-N184Q, T77N-G165Q-A202V; T77N-G165Q-S258P and T77N-N184Q-S258P. In addition, examiner holds the position that the cited reference Estell et al., (WO 2016/183509 A1; priority 05/13/2015, in IDS) has taught with “sufficient specificity” and “predictable variables” clearly envisaging i.e., including “finite number and specific amino acid residue changes” as claimed in the instant invention; for details see the rejection above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine and modify the teachings of Kim et al., and employ the reference variant protease polypeptide of Kim et al., in a detergent composition and methods of use as disclosed in the reference of Estell et al. Motivation to generate such a detergent composition comprising the variant/mutant protease derives from the fact that such detergent compositions are commercial product of importance (Estell et al.,). The expectation of success is high, because the combined teachings of Kim et al., and Estell et al., teach the structural and functional elements of the instant invention including detergent compositions (Teaching, Suggestion and Motivation).
Therefore, claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim et al., (Int. J. Syst. Evol. Microbiol., 2015. Vol. 65: 3586-3590) as applied to claims 1-2, 5 and 8 (see 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection above) and in view of Estell et al., (WO 2016/183509 A1; priority 05/13/2015, in IDS).
Double Patenting rejection
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-16 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over allowed patents: (i) Claims 1-15 of Marquez et al., (US 11,661,567 B2); and (ii) Claims 1-13 of Basler et al., (US 12,146,122). An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims, because the examined claims are either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over reference claims. See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir.1993); In re Longi 759 F.2d 887,225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claims 1-16 of the instant application cannot be considered patentably distinct over allowed patents: (i) Claims 1-15 of Marquez et al., (US 11,661,567 B2); and (ii) Claims 1-13 of Basler et al., (US 12,146,122), when there is specifically disclosed embodiments and falls within the scope of the claims 1-16 herein. In the instant case, the allowed patent specifications and allowed patents: (i) Claims 1-15 of Marquez et al., (US 11,661,567 B2); and (ii) Claims 1-13 of Basler et al., (US 12,146,122) discloses as a preferred embodiment and reproduced below: said reference polypeptides have 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant invention.
ODP: US 11,661, 567
ODP: US 12,146,122
Therefore, claims 1-16 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over allowed patents: (i) Claims 1-15 of Marquez et al., (US 11,661,567 B2); and (ii) Claims 1-13 of Basler et al., (US 12,146,122).
Allowable Subject Matter
No claims are allowable.
/GANAPATHIRAMA RAGHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652