DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 10/28/2024 and 08/13/2026 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,3,7 and 8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al ;( A squeezed quantum microcomb on a chip -2021 attached) in view of Ali et al; (Coherent light squeezing states within a modified microring system – 2018 attached).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a squeezed light generator ;(generation of deterministic, two-mode squeezed quantum microbomb on a chip, see figure 1) comprising: optical resonator having a triplet resonance with a split-resonant frequency spacing Ω,( A continuous-wave (cw) pump laser is coupled to a micro-resonator, which has thousands of longitude resonance modes with their frequencies separated by the resonator free-spectral-range (FSR),see figure 1b) wherein the triplet resonance includes a center split-resonant frequency and two sideband split-resonant frequencies;( the two-sided squeezing/anti-squeezing spectral line shape is measured for each pair of qumodes, and the center frequency of the spectral
line shape yields the relative qumode frequency. In the measurement, the ±N-th LO frequencies are detuned by ±δ from the equidistant frequencies, ±N × FSR, (side band frequencies), see page 3 column 2 and paragraph and figure 1b) a laser source configured to generate light with the center split-resonant frequency;( a continuous-wave (cw) pump laser is coupled to a micro resonator which has thousands of longitude resonance modes with their frequencies separated by the resonator free-spectral-range (FSR),see figure 1a) and an optical modulator driven by the split-resonant frequency spacing,(the LOs are derived from an electro-optic modulation (EOM) frequency comb, with a comb spacing (modulation frequency) of fm, see figure 2a) wherein the optical modulator is configured to receive the light from the laser source and generate pump light with the two sideband split-resonant frequencies, wherein the triply-coupled optical resonator receives the pump light and generates squeezed light at the center split-resonant frequency ;( A continuous wave (cw) laser is split to pump the resonator and drive the local oscillators (LOs). The LOs are derived from an electro-optic modulation (EOM) frequency comb, with a comb spacing (modulation frequency) of fm. A line-by-line waveshaper (WS) is used to select a pair of comb lines as the bichromatic local oscillators. The phase of the LOs can be tuned by a phase modulator (PM), see figure 2a and 2b).
However, Yang does not explicitly disclose a triply-coupled resonator.
In a related field of endeavor, Ali disclose a triply-coupled resonator ;( the quantum harmonic oscillator of angular frequency can be distributed by the two side ring photons to create photon distribution, that will be randomly coupled from the simultaneous creation and annihilation operations carried through the induced FWM behavior, see page 2 column 1 and paragraph 2 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the triply coupled resonator of Ali with Yang to provide observed squeezed states, from which the photons will be squeezed from the ring resonator system and the motivation is to provide generation of squeezed photon states.
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the squeezed light generator of claim 1, further comprising: a filter to pass the squeezed light at the center split-resonant frequency and reject residual light at the two sideband split-resonant frequencies ;( In the squeezed microcomb path, a fiber-Bragg grating (FBG) filter is used to block the strong pump light, see figure 2 description).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the squeezed light generator of claim 2, wherein the filter has an insertion loss equal to or less than 1 dB ;( In the squeezed microcomb path, a fiber-Bragg grating (FBG) filter is used to block the strong pump light and a dashed black line indicates 1dB below the shot noise level, see figure 2 description).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses the squeezed light generator of claim 1, further comprising: one or more filters between the optical modulator and the triply-coupled optical resonator configured to reject the center split-resonant frequency from the pump light;( In the squeezed microcomb path, a fiber-Bragg grating (FBG) filter is used to block the strong pump light. Erbium-doped fiber amplifiers (EDFAs) and optical bandpass filter (BPF), wherein the FBG filter is between the Ker cavity micro resonator and the Electro-optic modulation (EOM), see figure 2a).
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses the squeezed light generator of claim 1, wherein the triply-coupled optical resonator includes,( a continuous-wave (cw) pump laser is coupled to a micro-resonator, which has thousands of longitude resonance modes with their frequencies separated by the resonator free-spectral-range (FSR),see figure 1b)
However, Yang does not explicitly disclose three triply-coupled traveling-wave resonators.
In a related field of endeavor, Ali discloses three triply-coupled traveling-wave resonators;( the quantum harmonic oscillator of angular frequency can be distributed by the two side ring photons to create photon distribution, that will be randomly coupled from the simultaneous creation and annihilation operations carried through the induced FWM behavior, see page 2 column 1 and paragraph 2 and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al ;( A squeezed quantum microcomb on a chip -2021 attached) in view of Ali et al; (Coherent light squeezing states within a modified microring system – 2018 attached) and further in view of Shi et al; (Continuous Variable Quantum Teleportation Network- November 2022 attached).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yang and Ali does not explicitly disclose the squeezed light generator of claim 1, wherein the optical modulator is configured to at least partially suppress the center split-resonant frequency.
In a related field of endeavor, Shi discloses the squeezed light generator of claim 1, wherein the optical modulator is configured to at least partially suppress the center split-resonant frequency; (Utilizing ring filter cavity to achieve spatial separation of entangled sideband and suppressing the center frequency, see figure 1b and 1C).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the suppression of the center frequency of Shi with Yang and Ali to achieve spatial separation of entangled sidebands and the motivation is to implement many tasks of deterministic quantum information processing.
Claims 9**** rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al ;( A squeezed quantum microcomb on a chip -2021 attached) in view of Ali et al; (Coherent light squeezing states within a modified microring system – 2018 attached) and further in view of Shi et al; (Continuous Variable Quantum Teleportation Network- November 2022 attached).
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses a sensor comprising: an optical resonator having a triplet resonance with a split-resonant frequency spacing Ω, (a continuous-wave (cw) pump laser is coupled to a micro-resonator, which has thousands of longitude resonance modes with their frequencies separated by the resonator free-spectral-range (FSR),see figure 1b) wherein the triplet resonance includes a center split-resonant frequency and two sideband split-resonant frequencies; ;(the two-sided squeezing/anti-squeezing spectral line shape is measured for each pair of qumodes, and the center frequency of the spectral line shape yields the relative qumode frequency. In the measurement, the ±N-th LO frequencies are detuned by ±δ from the equidistant frequencies, ±N × FSR, (side band frequencies), see page 3 column 2 and paragraph and figure 1b) a laser source configured to generate light with the center split-resonant frequency;( a continuous-wave (cw) pump laser is coupled to a micro resonator which has thousands of longitude resonance modes with their frequencies separated by the resonator free-spectral-range (FSR),see figure 1a) an optical modulator driven by the split-resonant frequency spacing,(the LOs are derived from an electro-optic modulation (EOM) frequency comb, with a comb spacing (modulation frequency) of fm, see figure 2a) wherein the optical modulator is configured to receive the light from the laser source and generate pump light with the two sideband split-resonant frequencies, wherein the optical resonator receives the pump light and generates squeezed light at the center split-resonant frequency ;(a continuous wave (cw) laser is split to pump the resonator and drive the local oscillators (LOs). The LOs are derived from an electro-optic modulation (EOM) frequency comb, with a comb spacing (modulation frequency) of fm. A line-by-line waveshaper (WS) is used to select a pair of comb lines as the bichromatic local oscillators. The phase of the LOs can be tuned by a phase modulator (PM), see figure 2a and 2b) and a homodyne detector configured to receive the squeezed light and signal light at the center split-resonant frequency, wherein the homodyne detector generates a detection signal associated with the signal light,(the quadrature noise variances of 20 sets of comb pairs (40 qumodes) are measured by means of balanced homodyne detection, see page 2, column 2 and paragraph 3 and figure 2a).
However, Yang does not explicitly disclose a triply-coupled resonator.
In a related field of endeavor, Ali disclose a triply-coupled resonator ;( the quantum harmonic oscillator of angular frequency can be distributed by the two side ring photons to create photon distribution, that will be randomly coupled from the simultaneous creation and annihilation operations carried through the induced FWM behavior, see page 2 column 1 and paragraph 2 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the triply coupled resonator of Ali with Yang to provide observed squeezed states, from which the photons will be squeezed from the ring resonator system and the motivation is to provide generation of squeezed photon states.
Regarding claim 10, Yang discloses the sensor of claim 9, wherein the signal light is generated by tapping a portion of the light from the laser source ;(a continuous
wave (cw) laser is split to pump the resonator and drive the local oscillators (LOs). The LOs are derived from an electro-optic modulation (EOM) frequency
comb, with a comb spacing (modulation frequency) of fm, see figure 2a).
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses the sensor of claim 9, further comprising: a filter to receive the light from the optical modulator, wherein the filter provides the pump light with the two sideband split-resonant frequencies to the triply-coupled optical resonator and provides light with the center split-resonant frequency as the signal light ;(a continuous wave (cw) laser is split to pump the resonator and drive the local oscillators (LOs). The LOs are derived from an electro-optic modulation (EOM) frequency comb, with a comb spacing (modulation frequency) of fm. A line-by-line waveshaper (WS) is used to select a pair of comb lines as the bichromatic local oscillators. The phase of the LOs can be tuned by a phase modulator (PM). The LOs and the squeezed microcombs are combined by a 50/50 coupler and
are detected on balanced photodiodes (PDs). The noise level is characterized on an electrical spectrum analyzer (ESA). In the squeezed microcomb path, a
fiber-Bragg grating (FBG) filter is used to block the strong pump light, see figure 2a).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses the sensor of claim 9, further comprising: one or more filters between the triply-coupled optical resonator and the homodyne detector ,(the quadrature noise variances of 20 sets of comb pairs (40 qumodes) are measured by means of balanced homodyne detection, see page 2, column 2 and paragraph 3 and figure 2a) to pass the squeezed light at the center split-resonant frequency and reject residual light at the two sideband split-resonant frequencies ;( In the squeezed microcomb path, a fiber-Bragg grating (FBG) filter is used to block the strong pump light. Erbium-doped fiber amplifiers (EDFAs) and optical bandpass filter (BPF), wherein the FBG filter is between the Ker cavity micro resonator and the Electro-optic modulation (EOM), see figure 2a).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses the sensor of claim 12, wherein the triply-coupled optical resonator includes one more phase shifters to tune the split-resonant frequency spacing Ω of the triplet resonance; (the modulators are driven by amplified electrical signals that are synchronized by electrical phase shifters (PSs). It should be noted that the relative phase between the local oscillator and the squeezed field could be different from the phase shift applied by the PM in the LO optical path, see page 5, column 2 and paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses the sensor of claim 13, further comprising: control circuitry to lock the triply-coupled optical resonator with the pump light ;(an amplified continuous wave (cw) laser is used as the pump of the resonator, and its frequency (ωp) is phase-locked to the resonance mode at 1550.5 nm through Pound–Drever–Hall (PDH) locking technique, see page 2, column 2 and paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses the sensor of claim 14, wherein the optical modulator is further driven by a monitoring frequency ξ to generate monitoring frequency peaks surrounding the two sideband split-resonant frequencies of the pump light, wherein the control circuitry include Pound-Driver-Hall control circuitry ;(an amplified continuous wave (cw) laser is used as the pump of the resonator, and its frequency (ωp) is phase-locked to the resonance mode at 1550.5 nm through Pound–Drever–Hall (PDH) locking technique, see page 2, column 2 and paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses the sensor of claim 9, wherein the triply-coupled optical resonator includes ;(a continuous-wave (cw) pump laser is coupled to a micro-resonator, which has thousands of longitude resonance modes with their frequencies separated by the resonator free-spectral-range (FSR),see figure 1b).
However, Yang does not explicitly disclose three triply-coupled traveling-wave resonators.
In a related field of endeavor, Ali discloses three triply-coupled traveling-wave resonators;( the quantum harmonic oscillator of angular frequency can be distributed by the two side ring photons to create photon distribution, that will be randomly coupled from the simultaneous creation and annihilation operations carried through the induced FWM behavior, see page 2 column 1 and paragraph 2 and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 9.
Regarding claim18, Yang discloses the sensor of claim 9, further comprising: one or more filters between the optical modulator and the triply-coupled optical resonator configured to reject the center split-resonant frequency from the pump light ;( In the squeezed microcomb path, a fiber-Bragg grating (FBG) filter is used to block the strong pump light. Erbium-doped fiber amplifiers (EDFAs) and optical bandpass filter (BPF), wherein the FBG filter is between the Ker cavity micro resonator and the Electro-optic modulation (EOM), see figure 2a).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al ;( A squeezed quantum microcomb on a chip -2021 attached) in view of Ali et al; (Coherent light squeezing states within a modified microring system – 2018 attached) and further in view of Shi et al; (Continuous Variable Quantum Teleportation Network- November 2022 attached).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yang and Ali does not explicitly disclose the sensor of claim 9, wherein the optical modulator is configured to at least partially suppress the center split-resonant frequency.
In a related field of endeavor, Shi discloses the sensor of claim 9, wherein the optical modulator is configured to at least partially suppress the center split-resonant frequency ; (Utilizing ring filter cavity to achieve spatial separation of entangled sideband and suppressing the center frequency, see figure 1b and 1C).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the suppression of the center frequency of Shi with Yang and Ali to achieve spatial separation of entangled sidebands and the motivation is to implement many tasks of deterministic quantum information processing.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al ;( A squeezed quantum microcomb on a chip -2021 attached) in view of Ali et al; (Coherent light squeezing states within a modified microring system – 2018 attached) and further in view of Shi et al; (Continuous Variable Quantum Teleportation Network- November 2022 attached).
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses a method comprising: generating light ;(generation of deterministic, two-mode squeezed quantum microbomb on a chip, see figure 1) with an optical frequency corresponding to a center split-resonant frequency of a optical resonator, wherein optical resonator provides triplet resonance with a split-resonant frequency spacing Ω, ( A continuous-wave (cw) pump laser is coupled to a micro-resonator, which has thousands of longitude resonance modes with their frequencies separated by the resonator free-spectral-range (FSR),see figure 1b) wherein the triplet resonance includes the center split-resonant frequency and two sideband split-resonant frequencies; (the two-sided squeezing/anti-squeezing spectral line shape is measured for each pair of qumodes, and the center frequency of the spectral line shape yields the relative qumode frequency. In the measurement, the ±N-th LO frequencies are detuned by ±δ from the equidistant frequencies, ±N × FSR, (side band frequencies), see page 3 column 2 and paragraph and figure 1b) generating, with an optical modulator, pump light with the two sideband split-resonant frequencies; (the LOs are derived from an electro-optic modulation (EOM) frequency comb, with a comb spacing (modulation frequency) of fm, see figure 2a) and generating, with the triply-coupled optical resonator, squeezed light with the center split-resonant frequency based on the pump light;(a continuous wave (cw) laser is split to pump the resonator and drive the local oscillators (LOs). The LOs are derived from an electro-optic modulation (EOM) frequency comb, with a comb spacing (modulation frequency) of fm. A line-by-line waveshaper (WS) is used to select a pair of comb lines as the bichromatic local oscillators. The phase of the LOs can be tuned by a phase modulator (PM), see figure 2a and 2b).
However, Yang does not explicitly disclose a triply-coupled resonator.
In a related field of endeavor, Ali disclose a triply-coupled resonator ;( the quantum harmonic oscillator of angular frequency can be distributed by the two side ring photons to create photon distribution, that will be randomly coupled from the simultaneous creation and annihilation operations carried through the induced FWM behavior, see page 2 column 1 and paragraph 2 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the triply coupled resonator of Ali with Yang to provide observed squeezed states, from which the photons will be squeezed from the ring resonator system and the motivation is to provide generation of squeezed photon states.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5,6 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Vernon et al; (US 2019/0339587) discloses a pump light source in optical communication with the optical medium and configured to send a pump light beam to the optical medium. The pump light beam includes a pulsed light beam. The apparatus also includes a drive light source in optical communication with the optical medium and configured to send a drive light beam to the optical medium. The drive light beam includes a continuous wave (CW) light beam. The pump light beam and the drive light beam are configured to generate a signal light beam in a squeezed state of light via spontaneous four-wave mixing in the optical medium, see figure 1.
b. Dutt et al; (US 10809592) discloses an apparatus for producing squeezed light including a substrate and a first beam splitter integrated onto the substrate. The apparatus also includes a Mach-Zehnder interferometer integrated onto the substrate. The Mach-Zehnder interferometer has a first input coupled to a first output of the first beam splitter and a first output coupled to a second output of the first beam splitter, see figure 3A).
c. Popovic (US 8655114) discloses A hitless tunable filter may include a ring resonator, a Mach-Zehnder coupler, and first and second phase shifters. The Mach-Zehnder coupler may include a switching arm that is coupled to the ring resonator at first and second coupling points, see figure 22.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634