DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 14 October 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent 12,171,189 has been reviewed and is NOT accepted.
The Applicant name must be exactly as listed on the Application Data Sheet and Filing Receipt.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 October 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s argument that the Terminal Disclaimer renders the rejection of claim 1 moot is not persuasive because the Terminal Disclaimer has not been accepted, and therefore the double patenting rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller (8,960,127).
With respect to claim 19, Miller discloses a waste containment article, as shown in figure 2, comprising an absorbent body 12 configured to receive waste, a perimeter region 20 surrounding the absorbent body 12, and a closure member 32 associated with the perimeter region 20, wherein actuation of the closure member 32 transforms the article from a waste-receiving configuration, as shown in figure 2, to a waste-containment configuration, as shown in figure 1, in which received waste is enclosed within the article, as disclosed in column 12, lines 27-33.
With respect to claim 20, Miller discloses a waste containment article, as shown in figures 2 and 8, comprising an absorbent body 12 configured to receive waste, a flexible liner 14 associated with the absorbent body 12 and defining a perimeter region 20, and a closure member 32 associated with the perimeter region 20, wherein manipulation of the closure member 32 coverts the article from an open waste-receiving configuration, as shown in figure 2, to a closed waste-containment configuration, as shown in figure 1, in which collected waste is retained within the article for disposal, as disclosed in column 12, lines 27-33.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,171,189. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim discloses all limitations of the present claim and therefore anticipates the present claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is U.S. Patent 7,249,570 to Roberson and U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0338606 to Takagi et al. Roberson discloses an absorbent pad 10 having adhesive sections 20 applied to the base liner of the pad, as shown in figure 8, to attach the pad to a hosting surface, as shown in figure 2. However, Roberson only discloses positioning the adhesive sections 20 at the corners of the pad, as shown in figure 6, and does not disclose positioning any adhesive at a center point of the base liner. Likewise, Takagi discloses an absorbent pad having adhesive sections 210 and 220 positioned only at the corners of the pad, as shown in figure 3, and not positioned at a center point. Additional prior art made herein of record but not relied upon for any rejection, U.S. Patent Publications 2003/0005891 and 2009/0114161 disclose absorbent pads having drawstring systems but do not disclose an adhesive section positioned at a center point of the pad. The prior art of record therefore does not disclose nor fairly suggest the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781