DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the first paragraph does not provide the most current status for the related application. That is, the parent application is referenced as a U.S. application even though it has issued as a patent. The paragraph should be amended to include the appropriate patent number.
Furthermore, the lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "ratio of a collective proximal height… to a collective distal height… at the distal tip portion" in claims 7-9. The antecedent basis for this limitation is confusing, since it’s unclear which “distal tip portion” is being referred to. Appropriate correction is required.
It should be noted that all other cited claims have been rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,376,062. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patented claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-17 of copending Application No. 17/856,001 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the copending claims. Here, the more specific copending claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Artale, U.S. 9,498,279 (hereinafter Artale).
Regarding claim 1, Artale discloses (note figs. 4A-5C) an electrosurgical forceps comprising: a first jaw member (110) including a first ‘distal tip portion’ and a second jaw member (120) including a second ‘distal tip portion’; and a pivot (66) coupling the first and second jaw members with one another such that the first and second jaw members are movable relative to one another between an open position (see fig. 5A) and a closed position (see fig. 5B), wherein a ratio of a ‘collective proximal height’ of the first jaw member and the second jaw member to a ‘collective distal height’ of the first jaw member and the second jaw member ‘at the distal tip portion’ when the first jaw member and second jaw member are disposed in the closed position is necessarily in a range from ‘about’ 1.80 to ‘about’ 2.10 (necessarily met since these heights could be measured at a variety of locations along the jaws - see breadth of the term “at the distal tip portion”; the location of the proximal measurement is not specified).
Regarding claims 2-4, Artale discloses (see above) an electrosurgical forceps wherein the ratio is necessarily about 1.94 (as above, this ratio is necessarily met since these heights could be measured at a variety of locations along the jaws - see breadth of ratio and the term “at the distal tip portion”; the location of the proximal measurement is not specified).
Regarding claim 5, Artale discloses (see above) an electrosurgical forceps wherein the distal tip portion of each of the first and second jaw members necessarily defines a half-ellipse (note figs. 4B-C).
Regarding claim 6, Artale discloses (see above) an electrosurgical forceps wherein a ‘lockbox configuration’ (see ‘box’ around pivot ‘66’) necessarily surrounds the pivot.
Regarding claim 7, Artale discloses (see above) an electrosurgical forceps further comprising a shaft member (‘12a’ or ‘12b’) necessarily having a distal ‘clevis portion’ (see distal end of ‘box’ around pivot ‘66’), wherein the collective proximal height is taken at a position where the first jaw member emerges from the distal clevis portion (see junction between jaws and ‘box’ around pivot).
Regarding claim 8, Artale discloses (note figs. 4A-5C) an electrosurgical forceps comprising: a first jaw member (110) including a first distal tip portion and a second jaw member (120) including a second distal tip portion; a pivot (66) coupling the first and second jaw members with one another such that the first and second jaw members are movable relative to one another between an open position (see fig. 5A) and a closed position (see fig. 5B); and a ‘lockbox configuration’ (see ‘box’ around pivot ‘66’) necessarily surrounding the pivot, wherein a ratio of a length extending from a midpoint of the pivot ‘to the first distal tip portion’ to a distance from the midpoint of the pivot ‘to a distal end of the lockbox configuration’ is necessarily in a range from about 1.80 to 2.40 (necessarily met since these lengths could be measured up to a variety of locations along the jaws - see breadth of the terms “to”, “distal tip portion”, and “distal end of the lockbox configuration”).
Regarding claims 9-11, Artale discloses (see above) an electrosurgical forceps wherein the ratio is necessarily about 2.09 (as above, this ratio is necessarily met since these lengths could be measured up to a variety of locations along the jaws - see breadth of ratio and the terms “to”, “distal tip portion”, and “distal end of the lockbox configuration”).
Regarding claim 12, Artale discloses (see above) an electrosurgical forceps wherein the ‘distal end’ of the lockbox configuration ‘corresponds’ to a position at which the first jaw member emerges from a distal ‘clevis portion’ (see distal end of ‘box’ around pivot ‘66’) of a shaft member (‘12a’ or ‘12b’) of the electrosurgical forceps (see junction between jaws and ‘box’ around pivot).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. 2015/0066026 (Hart).
U.S. 2008/0312653 (Arts).
U.S. 2003/0199869 (Johnson).
U.S. 2005/0119655 (Moses).
U.S. 7,909,823 (Moses).
/THOMAS A GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794