DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xia (US 2023/0180585).
Regarding claim 1, Xia discloses a display device (Fig. 1), comprising: an array substrate having a plurality of light-emitting elements disposed thereon (1044 & 1045 & 1046; Paragraph [0042]); a first organic layer on the array substrate and covering the light-emitting elements (105; Paragraph [0042]); a second organic layer on the first organic layer (1061; Paragraph [0046]); a third organic layer on the second organic layer, wherein the third organic layer has a portion extending downward through the second organic layer (1062; Paragraph [0046]); and a plurality of micro lenses over the third organic layer and disposed corresponding to the light-emitting elements, respectively (1064; Paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 11, Xia discloses a display device (Fig. 1), comprising: an array substrate having a light-emitting element disposed thereon (1044 & 1045 & 1046; Paragraph [0042]); a focusing layer over the array substrate and comprising: a first organic layer covering the light-emitting element (105; Paragraph [0042]); a second organic layer over the first organic layer and having a plurality of portions separated from one another (1061; Paragraph [0046]); and a third organic layer over the second organic layer and having an extending portion between two adjacent ones of the portions of the second organic layer (1062; Paragraph [0046]); and a micro lens over the third organic layer and over the light-emitting element (1064; Paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 12, Xia further discloses wherein the extending portion of the third organic layer is in contact with the first organic layer (Fig. 1, 1062 & 105).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, in claim 2, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the requirement wherein a first insulating layer covering the second organic layer, wherein the first insulating layer is between the second organic layer and the third organic layer and between the portion of the third organic layer and the first organic layer.
Claims 3-5 are objected to based on their dependence from claim 2.
Specifically, in claim 6, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the requirement wherein a fourth organic layer on the third organic layer, wherein the fourth organic layer has a portion extending downward through the third organic layer.
Claims 7-8 are objected to based on their dependence from claim 6.
Specifically, in claim 9, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the requirement wherein the array substrate comprises: a circuit substrate; a first passivation layer on the circuit substrate; a first metal layer on the first passivation layer, wherein the first metal layer has a portion extending downward through the first passivation layer and electrically connected to the circuit substrate; a second passivation layer covering the first metal layer and the first passivation layer; a second metal layer on the second passivation layer, wherein the second metal layer has a portion extending downward through the second passivation layer and electrically connected to the first metal layer; and a third passivation layer covering the second metal layer and having a portion extending downward through the second passivation layer.
Claim 10 is objected to based on its dependence from claim 9.
Specifically, in claim 13, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the requirement wherein the focusing layer further comprises a first insulating layer covering the second organic layer, wherein the first insulating layer is between the portions of the second organic layer and the extending portion of the third organic layer.
Claims 14-17 are objected to based on their dependence from claim 13.
/Anne M Hines/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2879